Pioneer DV-400V Owners Thread - Page 38 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1111 of 1139 Old 02-26-2010, 02:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Big C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 1,376
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhego View Post

I did the firmware upgrade to YGB8827A_V31_CP1252 without knowing what it does, lol.... It was successful and noticed the Pioneer logo has changed. Besides that, what other features does it add?

If you hold he ENTER button next to the 0 until the player turns off, the player's EEPROM will maintain a multi-region setting regardless of what firmware you install after the fact. That is untill you put StM V3.1 back in and hold the CLEAR button next to the 0 until the player turns off to restore the original EEPROM multi-regional setting. If you send interlaced 480i NTSC video via Composite, S-video, or Component, the black level shift drops from 7.5 IRE to 0 IRE, allowing for deeper blacks. If you have trouble with darker scenes, go back to one of the Pioneer original firmwares. If you have a TV that can accept raw NTSC and Pal video, set TV Type to Multi. If not, set it to whatever system corresponds with your TV. The DVD Fast Start feature allows most movies to start without disc menus. If the movie doesn't start, press TOP MENU and start the movie by making the appropriate DVD menu selections. Prohibited User Operations has been partially disabled so you can change the audio and subtitle streams while certain movies are playing which normally didn't let you do this. If you're into compressed audio and video files such as AVI, DivX, MP3, MPEG4, WMA, and WMV, the StM V3.1 can display longer file names than the Pioneer original firmwares. You can switch back and forth between firmwares as much as you want to. I do it all the time with players that cost between $200 and $500. I luck out every time! Another thing that's been reported by the experts to work is success when installing next-generation DV-410V firmware on this model. By doing that, you just increased the range of the Gamma control. Right now, you can only choose between High, Medium, Low, and Off. The next-generation DV-410V firmware changes it from -3 to +3. In order for the DV-400V to think it's a DV-410V, you must rename a DV-410V firmware file. For instance, change YJB8A13A to YGB8A13A. From now on, the 400 will think it's a 410 and recognize YJB firmware files. DV-420V firmware will safely load in the DV-400V, but you might lose USB until you go back to either 400 or 410 firmware. Well, I said a lot. I hope you found it useful. Good luck!
Big C is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1112 of 1139 Old 02-26-2010, 03:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Hkan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhego View Post

I did the firmware upgrade to YGB8827A_V31_CP1252 without knowing what it does, lol.... It was successful and noticed the Pioneer logo has changed. What features does the firmware add?

There is a readme file inside the zip file you downloaded!
It has all the info you need!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Has "everything" for your Pioneer!
!!We need your support!!
Hkan is offline  
post #1113 of 1139 Old 02-26-2010, 03:25 PM
Member
 
jhego's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry i didn't look at the read me file. I appreciate the info.
jhego is offline  
post #1114 of 1139 Old 02-27-2010, 06:00 PM
Member
 
MothAudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Arg. I downloaded the plasma break on Memorex DVD-R and it plays on my PC but I can't get my Pioneer DV400V to read it! Guess I'll haver to go the SD card route and look a little closer at that Panasonic Blu-Ray!
MothAudio is offline  
post #1115 of 1139 Old 02-28-2010, 10:11 PM
Member
 
grolschie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello. Is there a way to reduce the volume on these players slightly? Firmware with such a feature? I find when playing CDs via digital coax my amp clips in places on some (loud?) CDs. I haven't noticed it with Dolby Digital & DTS DVDs. So I am trying to troubleshoot. Thanks in advance.

-

grolschie is offline  
post #1116 of 1139 Old 09-15-2010, 05:50 AM
Newbie
 
marcos7684's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello. I recently ran into an issue where .avi files (on a 4G verbatim USB key)stopped playing after about an hour on my Pioneer DV400. I poked around and think that this is due to Cinavia DRM.

Has anyone else encountered this? Any ideas on a workaround?

Thanks very much for your help.
marcos7684 is offline  
post #1117 of 1139 Old 09-16-2010, 06:42 AM
Member
 
sister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by marcos7684 View Post

Hello. I recently ran into an issue where .avi files (on a 4G verbatim USB key)stopped playing after about an hour on my Pioneer DV400. I poked around and think that this is due to Cinavia DRM.

Has anyone else encountered this? Any ideas on a workaround?

Thanks very much for your help.

Since this is a DVD player, I don't think Cinavia DRM is the fault here. My understanding is that regular DVD players don't support that but Bluray players and PS3s do.

AVI (XviD/DivX) files can be problematic for stand alone players if they weren't encoded for compatibility.
sister is offline  
post #1118 of 1139 Old 09-16-2010, 06:49 AM
Member
 
sister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MothAudio View Post

Arg. I downloaded the plasma break on Memorex DVD-R and it plays on my PC but I can't get my Pioneer DV400V to read it! Guess I'll haver to go the SD card route and look a little closer at that Panasonic Blu-Ray!

There's a few factors that could've gone wrong.
Right off the bat, Memorex DVDrs are terrible quality discs. They can be "hit or miss" and if you get lucky and it works now, it might not later on. Use better quality media, especially for anything important.

Also, what speed did you burn at and what program did you burn with?
My personal rule of thumb is to set the burn speed to half of what the disc's top rated speed is and use ImgBurn and do not run any other programs while burning.

If after doing those things and the burn still fails or you still get faulty play back, I would suspect the burner may be going belly up.
sister is offline  
post #1119 of 1139 Old 11-03-2010, 04:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 9,813
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Does this player have a setting for 0 IRE black level from SD outputs?
Looked through all the menu's but found nothing about a black level setting for non N. American use.
jjeff is offline  
post #1120 of 1139 Old 11-03-2010, 11:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Hkan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjeff View Post
Does this player have a setting for 0 IRE black level from SD outputs?
Looked through all the menu's but found nothing about a black level setting for non N. American use.
Not in the original firmware.
You need a modified firmware for that!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Has "everything" for your Pioneer!
!!We need your support!!
Hkan is offline  
post #1121 of 1139 Old 11-07-2010, 05:01 AM
Newbie
 
vjdave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Pioneer DV-400V and would like to turn OFF the OSD while playing. I do not want the words "PLAY, STOP, REW, etc" to show on the screen when I press controls. If this is not possible to turn off the OSD, please recommend a DVD player that lets me turn off the OSD.

Thanks for your help!
vjdave is offline  
post #1122 of 1139 Old 11-07-2010, 06:21 AM
Senior Member
 
Hkan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by vjdave View Post

I have a Pioneer DV-400V and would like to turn OFF the OSD while playing. I do not want the words "PLAY, STOP, REW, etc" to show on the screen when I press controls. If this is not possible to turn off the OSD, please recommend a DVD player that lets me turn off the OSD.

Thanks for your help!

The DV-400 dont support that!
The DV-420 does!


//Håkan


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Has "everything" for your Pioneer!
!!We need your support!!
Hkan is offline  
post #1123 of 1139 Old 03-21-2011, 05:33 PM
Member
 
saudagar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I updated my dvd player with YGB7328I firmware posted in this thread. Then i changed my Player settings to PAL (instead of Auto or NTSC .. i am in US which is NTSC) Now after i restarted, no image shows up on my TV.. when i connect a USB movie, it shows that there's a GUI (on menu select) but no image shows up on TV. It was all working fine after the update but before PAL switch. I tried FF and then "ON" btn.. but it does not show any display settings on TV as well!!


Any help will be appreciated
saudagar is offline  
post #1124 of 1139 Old 03-21-2011, 09:00 PM
Senior Member
 
Hkan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
You could try this:

Press Home Menu
Press Down Arrow
Press Down Arrow
Press Enter
Press Down Arrow
Press Right Arrow
Press Down Arrow
Press Down Arrow
Press Down Arrow
Press Down Arrow
Press Down Arrow
Press Right Arrow
Press Down Arrow
Press Down Arrow
Press Enter
Press Home Menu
Restart the player!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Has "everything" for your Pioneer!
!!We need your support!!
Hkan is offline  
post #1125 of 1139 Old 03-22-2011, 05:10 PM
Member
 
saudagar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hakan, You are Great!! Hats OFF!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hkan View Post

You could try this:

Press Home Menu
Press Down Arrow
Press Down Arrow
Press Enter
Press Down Arrow
Press Right Arrow
Press Down Arrow
Press Down Arrow
Press Down Arrow
Press Down Arrow
Press Down Arrow
Press Right Arrow
Press Down Arrow
Press Down Arrow
Press Enter
Press Home Menu
Restart the player!

saudagar is offline  
post #1126 of 1139 Old 05-23-2011, 10:00 PM
Newbie
 
ccoutts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi, I have A DV-400V which won't power up any more. I haven't been trying to update firmware or anything, it just won't turn on any more. It had been fairly slow to start up over the last few years (ie screen was blank for a while after pressing power).

Anyone have any idea?

I opened it up, and the only fuse is fine. Caps look good too (not bulging). I guess they could be stuffed internally though.

Thanks for any help
Chris
ccoutts is offline  
post #1127 of 1139 Old 05-24-2011, 06:52 AM
Member
 
compaddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Auburn, CA
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
twenty plus twenty for my old one to the lower 48!

Vince
compaddict is offline  
post #1128 of 1139 Old 05-24-2011, 02:41 PM
Newbie
 
ccoutts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks Vince... but I live in New Zealand ;-)

Found a Service Manual for it, so will diagnose it somehow. Other people must just drop them in the bin at this stage.
ccoutts is offline  
post #1129 of 1139 Old 05-24-2011, 02:50 PM
Member
 
compaddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Auburn, CA
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Np!
compaddict is offline  
post #1130 of 1139 Old 05-25-2011, 11:03 PM
Newbie
 
ccoutts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Got it sorted. A rectifier diode was blown in the power supply circuit. I found the service manual for it, and diagnosed from there. If anyone else has this issue, PM me.
mieschl likes this.
ccoutts is offline  
post #1131 of 1139 Old 05-26-2011, 12:03 AM
Member
 
grolschie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good news. And good on you. I like the DV-400V.

-

grolschie is offline  
post #1132 of 1139 Old 06-01-2011, 09:58 AM
Newbie
 
charles123krik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bought this DVD player and im very interested in playing DivX or avi via USB. I have a lacie 100 gb HD laptop i tried a few files at first and I answer using the format of the fat 32 himself, still nothing. i then powered externally through the USB power connection and other pioneer then showed me the root menu i tried a few divx and played, but the problem is to show a little choppy, and missing frames. I tried to file a long time at about 400 mb and another at 700 mb.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
charles123krik is offline  
post #1133 of 1139 Old 10-03-2011, 11:22 PM
Newbie
 
smeedles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am just wondering if it is possible for my DV-400v that already plays PAL will be able to play NTSC?
smeedles is offline  
post #1134 of 1139 Old 10-03-2011, 11:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
aasoror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by smeedles View Post

I am just wondering if it is possible for my DV-400v that already plays PAL will be able to play NTSC?

Yes it will, you just need to update the firmware with the multi-region hacked one.
aasoror is offline  
post #1135 of 1139 Old 10-03-2011, 11:44 PM
Newbie
 
smeedles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aasoror View Post

Yes it will, you just need to update the firmware with the multi-region hacked one.

I have had a look around and everything I find says that it is for the region 2 players, I have a region 4 player. Will the Firmware still still work on my player?
smeedles is offline  
post #1136 of 1139 Old 10-04-2011, 10:49 AM
Senior Member
 
Hkan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by smeedles View Post

I am just wondering if it is possible for my DV-400v that already plays PAL will be able to play NTSC?

Yes your player will be able to play a NTSC disc, how ever you also need a TV that is caple to recive a NTSC signal or the picture will be in black&white.

If you by "able to play NTSC" mean that you want to look at a region 1 disc. Then it depends on if your player is mukltiregional or not.
If your in Australia you player should be multiregional when you buy it, this is due to import/export laws of Australia.

If you player is not multiregional you need to install the modified firmware that you find over at www.pioneerfaq.info


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Has "everything" for your Pioneer!
!!We need your support!!
Hkan is offline  
post #1137 of 1139 Old 09-16-2012, 09:25 AM
Newbie
 
tottallayman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

my tv is a loewe lcd tv (no hd)
i connected my toshiba external hard drive (has usb 3.0 port) to the dvd player, nothing happened, just the pink pioneer-logo kept moving the same way as before i connected it. It has mostly mkv files on it, but also divx-files, who (as i searched) should be able to be played by the dv 400v.
Also, i burned an mkv file to a dvd via aimersoft dvd creator, when i put it in the dvd player, the menu showed good, the song was good quality, but when i played the actual movie, the sound was really, really (really) bad, like talking robots...
when i

Can anyone provide a cause for these problems and a solution if possible?

Thanks!
tottallayman is offline  
post #1138 of 1139 Old 09-18-2012, 09:14 PM
Senior Member
 
em-t-wallitt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is the Toshiba a 3.5 inch external drive? If so, you'll need to power the Toshiba drive with an AC adapter. Sorry, can't help with the aimersoft dvd playback.
em-t-wallitt is offline  
post #1139 of 1139 Old 01-03-2014, 04:50 PM
Newbie
 
John McMartin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hello Mate,

 

I have a problem with my Dv400..  Its been a great machine, but just wont power up anymore..  Inside all looks ok, but i don't really know what I'm looking at....

 

Perhaps its the same problem you had..  any ideas?

 

Thanks John

John McMartin is offline  
Reply DVD Players (Standard Def)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off