Pioneer DV-400V Owners Thread - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 1139 Old 04-29-2007, 04:41 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ptelles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I purchased a DV-400V from Best Buy yesterday. I was shopping for a DVD player that featured USB flash drive support and was capable of playing AVI files encoded with the Xvid codec. Based upon that criteria, the DV-400V was an excellent fit.

I tested AVI playback using DVD+R DL media and a 16GB Corsair Flash Voyager USB 2.0 drive. So far it has played every AVI file that I have thrown at it, including those using external subtitle files.

Interestingly enough, although Pioneer makes no mention of this in their specifications, I was able to successfully play a multi-region PAL DVD. The DV-400V itself is region locked.

One quirk that I discovered is that my unit appears to suffer from video clock jitter. When connected to my Samsung SPN4235X/XAA EDTV plasma and set to 1080i output, the horizontal and vertical sync signals fluctuate sufficiently to cause a band of distortion along the right side of the display. The Samsung reported frequencies alternating between 33.76 kHz H / 60.08 Hz V and 33.84 kHz H / 60.22 Hz V.

My Westinghouse LVM-42W2 HDTV LCD did not appear to be affected by the clock jitter and was able to display all signals, including 1080p, without distortion.
ptelles is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 1139 Old 04-29-2007, 02:00 PM
Member
 
polyscroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I too purchased a DV-400V from Best Buy and despite not having a TV at the moment to hook it up to, I'd like to report on a few things about it that really has me excited.

The following info is taken right from the owners manual:

TV Aspect Ratio
4:3 (Letter Box)
4:3 (Pan & Scan)
16:9 (Wide)
16:9 (Compressed)

HDMI Resolution
720x480i (rare)
720x480p
1280x720p
1920x1080i
1920x1080p

Component Out
Interlaced
Progressive

HDMI Colorspace
Full range RGB
RGB
YCbCr (Default for HDMI) (Called "Component" in menu)

Video Adjust Menu
Sharpness (Soft, Standard, Fine)
Brightness (-20 to +20)
Contrast (-16 to +16)
Gamma (Off, Low, Medium, High)
Hue (Green 9 to Red 9)
Chroma Level (-9 to +9)

Audio DRC (Dynamic Range Control)
Off, Low, Medium, High

Virtual Surround
Off, On

Equalizer
Off, Rock, Pop, Live, Dance, Techno, Classic, Soft

Dialog Enhancement
Off, Low, Medium, High

Digital Out
Off, On

Dolby Digital Out
Dolby Digital
Dolby Digital --> PCM

DTS Out
DTS
DTS --> PCM

96 kHz PCM Out
96 kHZ
96 kHz --> 48 kHz

MPEG Out
MPEG
MPEG --> PCM

HDMI Audio Out
LPCM (2CH)
Auto
Off

DTS Downmix
Stereo
Lt/Rt (compatible with Dolby surround matrix decoders)

General Features
Will do Zoom X2 and X4
Will play DivX, VCD, MP3, WMA, WMV (discs), MPEG-4 AAC, CD, JPEG, and of course DVD
Will display a multi camera/angle icon on-screen when it detects a multi-angle scene. (Defeatable)
USB input on front face
DVD/USB Button on player and remote
17 button functions on the player. (Full menu controls)

Downside: No Optical Out....Only digital coaxial out. This might be a big deal to some but not to me. My Audio system has Coax in and TV is HDMI.


A little more info....after removing the case, I found it to be using the MediaTek MT1389FE chip

Now I just have to hook it up and check picture quality.

By the way, BB had it for $30 more than what Pioneer was listing it for on their website . Once I pointed that out and they checked Pioneer's site, they gladly beat that price.


Anyone else out there that has tried this unit out yet ???
polyscroll is offline  
post #3 of 1139 Old 04-29-2007, 03:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MCaugusto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: BOSTON --- MA ---
Posts: 1,223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 39
???? I was at Best Buy last Thursday and asked a salesman about the availability of the Pioneer DV-400V and was told that they only carry the Pioneer ELITE line and not the standard Pioneer line of electronics; So, what's going on here ?
By the way, did Best Buy have the DV-400V in both finishes, black and/or silver ?
--------------------------------------------
Marcos
MCaugusto is offline  
post #4 of 1139 Old 04-29-2007, 03:52 PM
Member
 
polyscroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MCaugusto View Post

???? I was at Best Buy last Thursday and asked a salesman about the availability of the Pioneer DV-400V and was told that they only carry the Pioneer ELITE line and not the standard Pioneer line of electronics; So, what's going on here ?
By the way, did Best Buy have the DV-400V in both finishes, black and/or silver ?
--------------------------------------------
Marcos

You must have gotten a clueless sales person.

They DO carry the DV-400V-K Pioneer now. It is the Black model and looks great aesthetically.

I went to the store and looked for the DV-400V but didn't see it on display so I asked a sales associate. He said they just had one and they weren't allowed to put it on display yet. I asked if I could buy it and he said "Sure as long as you specifically ask for it, I can sell it to you."

Next time you go to your store, ask for it and if they say they don't carry it, ask them to look it up in their system....it should be there.

By the way, they do carry other "non-Elite" stuff. The Pioneer PDP-5071HD Plasma for one.
polyscroll is offline  
post #5 of 1139 Old 04-29-2007, 05:02 PM
Member
 
ultimix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by polyscroll View Post

I too purchased a DV-400V from Best Buy and despite not


A little more info....after removing the case, I found it to be using the MediaTek MT1389FE chip

Now I just have to hook it up and check picture quality.




Anyone else out there that has tried this unit out yet ???

Is the MediaTek Chip suppose to be a good one.. sorry I dont know..

thanks

Mark
ultimix is offline  
post #6 of 1139 Old 04-29-2007, 10:00 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ptelles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MCaugusto View Post

???? I was at Best Buy last Thursday and asked a salesman about the availability of the Pioneer DV-400V and was told that they only carry the Pioneer ELITE line and not the standard Pioneer line of electronics; So, what's going on here ?
By the way, did Best Buy have the DV-400V in both finishes, black and/or silver ?
--------------------------------------------
Marcos

The local Best Buy had one on display and one on the shelf which I purchased. Black was the only finish available.

The Pioneer web site doesn't show anything other than black.

http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/pn...756832,00.html
ptelles is offline  
post #7 of 1139 Old 04-29-2007, 10:11 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ptelles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ultimix View Post

Is the MediaTek Chip suppose to be a good one.. sorry I dont know..

thanks

Mark

This is my first experience with it. It appears to be used in a number of DVD players.

http://www.videohelp.com/dvdplayers?...Tek%20MT1389FE
ptelles is offline  
post #8 of 1139 Old 04-30-2007, 10:21 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ptelles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To display the region and ROM information:

1) Power on the unit with no disc or USB flash drive inserted.

2) Press Home Menu on the remote.

3) Select Initial Settings

4) Scroll down to Options

5) Press Display on the remote.

Here is what I get:

REGION: 1
ROM VERSION: YGB7328I
ptelles is offline  
post #9 of 1139 Old 04-30-2007, 10:53 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ptelles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by polyscroll View Post

Downside: No Optical Out....Only digital coaxial out. This might be a big deal to some but not to me. My Audio system has Coax in and TV is HDMI.

It looks like the Japanese version has optical out.

http://pioneer.jp/dvdld/player/dv_400v/img/zoom_06.jpg
ptelles is offline  
post #10 of 1139 Old 04-30-2007, 01:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
TonyS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by polyscroll View Post

A little more info....after removing the case, I found it to be using the MediaTek MT1389FE chip

So, the question now becomes... does the 400V suffer from the "vertical compression" error when upconverting like some of the other players that use the Mediatek chipset?!?
TonyS is offline  
post #11 of 1139 Old 04-30-2007, 02:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MCaugusto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: BOSTON --- MA ---
Posts: 1,223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 39
The DV-400V is listed as having "PureCinema 2:3 progressive scan" which to my understanding would imply that it uses Pioneer's in-house developed de-interlacer/scaler chip.... Pioneer has been using this nomenclature for at least a couple of years to describe it and, as tested by Home Theater magazine, was one of only three manufacturers (Pioneer, JVC, Hitachi) that passed all de-interlacing and upscaling testings without having to resort to "hunting" and selecting different options in the user's menu to find the best settings for such purpose.
Perhaps the DV-400V uses the MediaTek MT1389FE only for MPEG2 decoding and for DivX playback leaving all de-interlacing/upscaling up to its own processing chip ?
By the way, after going to BestBuy and calling Tweeter etc plus J&R just to find out that none of them would have/were planning on stocking the DV-400V, i placed my order with the Pioneer Store and should be getting my unit by tomorrow...I certainly don't think that for $100 there is a better dvd player out there right now.
-----------------------------------------
Marcos
MCaugusto is offline  
post #12 of 1139 Old 04-30-2007, 04:43 PM
Newbie
 
edsspam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Am I the only one excited about the USB option for MP3 playback? I plugged my flash drive into the slot and was playing tunes in 5 seconds.

I also did a sound check on my test bench and found the USB sound quality (@ 320Kbps) to be only slightly lower than CD on my $3000 amp/speaker system. As such, I consider this playback quality to be near-audiophile grade. This is a big concern for me because many of the MP3 players have inferior sound quality, and the high-end stores still refuse to acknowledge a bit stream as a legitimate audio source.

What I want to know is: what are the compatibility options for USB devices? The Owner's Manual is very vague:

"Compatible USB devices include portable flash memory (particularly keydrives) and digital audio players (MP3 players) of format FAT16/32. It is not possible to connect this personal computer for USB playback."

So I purchased a Seagate/FreeAgent 250GB external drive (also at best buy for $99). It is NTFS. If I convert to FAT, will it play back via USB on the DV-400V ?

This to me is HUGE because it is a much cheaper solution than using a dedicated media PC with sound card upgrade. Of course I got passed back and forth from blue shirt kid to blue shirt kid at Best Buy, but the asst mgr in the Magnolia section was a true geek - he said Pioneer TVs already play back hard drives via USB direct to the TV, and that technically an I-Pod is a hard drive (and a proprietary one at that).

Any bitheads out there have an opinion about this????

Cheers,

Ed
edsspam is offline  
post #13 of 1139 Old 04-30-2007, 05:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
dr0s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by MCaugusto View Post

The DV-400V is listed as having "PureCinema 2:3 progressive scan" which to my understanding would imply that it uses Pioneer's in-house developed de-interlacer/scaler chip

The predecessor (DV-490V) is also listed as having "PureCinema 2:3 progressive scan". Most likely this unit is just an incremental updating of the 490V, with the added ability to scale to 1080p and the inclusion of the USB capability.

edsspam, on other players with USB and the same chipset (Philips, Oppo), there seems to be a wide variation of which disks are compatible, and there is even some sensitivity to what formatting software works. I would expect the 400V to accept essentially the same drives. The following thread on videohelp, though about the Philips 5960, might be useful for you: http://forum.videohelp.com/viewtopic.php?t=301465 - DR
dr0s is online now  
post #14 of 1139 Old 04-30-2007, 05:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
TonyS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MCaugusto View Post

The DV-400V is listed as having "PureCinema 2:3 progressive scan" which to my understanding would imply that it uses Pioneer's in-house developed de-interlacer/scaler chip.... Pioneer has been using this nomenclature for at least a couple of years to describe it and, as tested by Home Theater magazine, was one of only three manufacturers (Pioneer, JVC, Hitachi) that passed all de-interlacing and upscaling testings without having to resort to "hunting" and selecting different options in the user's menu to find the best settings for such purpose.

Marcos -

While I'd love for that to be the case, Pioneer has also slapped their "PureCinema Progressive" on their players regardless of whether or not it uses their proprietary de-interlacing solution. Check out Kris Deering's review of the DV-588A here, specifically the second paragraph where, despite the "Pioneer Pure Progressive" written on the unit, the Mediatek MT1389EE chip does all the de-interlacing and MPEG duties.

That said, has anyone checked the upscaling on the DV-400V for any signs of vertical compression?!?
TonyS is offline  
post #15 of 1139 Old 04-30-2007, 06:10 PM
Member
 
polyscroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TonyS View Post

Marcos -

...Pioneer has also slapped their "PureCinema Progressive" on their players regardless of whether or not it uses their proprietary de-interlacing solution...despite the "Pioneer Pure Progressive" written on the unit, the Mediatek MT1389EE chip does all the de-interlacing and MPEG duties.

That statement appears to be correct in the case of the DV-400V as well. I just thoroughly checked the main board and there is a System Ram chip, Flash Memory chip, Video Driver chip, DVD driver chip, and the MT1389FE. There are NO proprietary Pioneer ICs at all. (Unless the MT1389FE in this unit is a special Pioneer only version)

My assumption is that the MediaTek chip does the Scaling AND De-interlacing.

That being said, the fact that this unit will do 1080p AND 480i over HDMI, will do DivX AND WMV from the USB port, and is around a C-note is a good thing.

If the PQ is sub-standard however, then "all bets are off" and it must be relegated to the pretty paper weight category.

I am unable to hook mine up as I'm in the middle of moving from VA to NY and my TVs are boxed-up.

Anyone out there that can review the operation, and, more importantly the PQ, Scaling, and De-interlacing abilities? I plan to do an A-B comparison with 3 other HDMI equipped players I have once I get the TVs unpacked.
polyscroll is offline  
post #16 of 1139 Old 04-30-2007, 06:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MCaugusto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: BOSTON --- MA ---
Posts: 1,223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 39
polyscroll >>> Does the DV-400V come packaged with a HDMI cable included in the box ?
>>>> Thanks > Marcos
MCaugusto is offline  
post #17 of 1139 Old 04-30-2007, 07:04 PM
Member
 
polyscroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MCaugusto View Post

polyscroll >>> Does the DV-400V come packaged with a HDMI cable included in the box ?
>>>> Thanks > Marcos

Nope...just Composite Video & Audio...Standard Fare.
polyscroll is offline  
post #18 of 1139 Old 05-01-2007, 06:20 AM
Newbie
 
edsspam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DR -

Thanks for the post - I am working on the reformat issue as we speak - got my fingers crossed!

Marcos -

I found much better deals on cables online...retail outlets seem to have two options: very cheap and very expensive. I ordered an open-box NXG cable for $15 (retails for $50).

Cheers,

Ed
edsspam is offline  
post #19 of 1139 Old 05-01-2007, 12:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MCaugusto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: BOSTON --- MA ---
Posts: 1,223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Thanks for the tip eddsspam, however, yesterday i ordered a HDMI cable from MonoPrice, one of the sponsors listed at the top of this page, which is a company that's been highly recommended by several posters at AVS - and it only cost me $9 for a 3ft length, shipping included !
On a side note, i'm not too pleased with Pioneer either (besides Samsung and the "HQV fiasco") for advertising the DV-400V as having "PureCinema 2:3 progressive scan", which to my innocent ears meant that it has the same video processing chip as the one used by its premier video displays and dvd players, and now i find out that it does not, it simply implies that the unit "correctly" de-interlaces film-based material....Talk about false advertisement : had i known that last week when i placed my order for the DV-400V i wouldn't have rushed so much to purchase it and would continue my research for a very inexpensive dvd player with 1080p HDMI output and a good, reliable video processing chip onboard; At this point, even a player with a Faroudja/DCDi chip would be high in my list.
Amazon is advertising a Sylvania dvd player with the above described features (1080p HDMI output plus DCDi) but upon further research i found out that the particular model number is not even listed at Sylvania's website and the closest dvd player to it does not have DCDi listed as an option...
-----------------------------------------
Marcos
MCaugusto is offline  
post #20 of 1139 Old 05-02-2007, 04:28 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,057
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Region free hack please
zoro is offline  
post #21 of 1139 Old 05-02-2007, 08:09 PM
Member
 
FatElvis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by polyscroll View Post

Next time you go to your store, ask for it and if they say they don't carry it, ask them to look it up in their system....it should be there.

I went to the Princeton NJ store today and was told they couldn't sell it until the 6th. I was looking right at 3 boxes high on the rack, but no go.
FatElvis is offline  
post #22 of 1139 Old 05-02-2007, 08:28 PM
Member
 
polyscroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by FatElvis View Post

I went to the Princeton NJ store today and was told they couldn't sell it until the 6th. I was looking right at 3 boxes high on the rack, but no go.

They sold me one here in a Syracuse, NY store this past Sunday.

They must have GOOFED with me!
polyscroll is offline  
post #23 of 1139 Old 05-02-2007, 09:44 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,057
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 17
It is a heck of a $100 unit with tons of settings.

btw what is enhanced rgb, could it be hdmi 1.3? I cant wait for 600v in june!I am impressed!
zoro is offline  
post #24 of 1139 Old 05-02-2007, 10:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
dr0s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoro View Post

Region free hack please

Pioneer players are not the easiest to make region-free. For example, here are the options for the 400's predecessor, the 490V:
http://www.pioneerfaq.info/english/d...on=Multiregion

It could be worse - the Sony players can't be made region-free no matter what you do. - DR
dr0s is online now  
post #25 of 1139 Old 05-03-2007, 09:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WaldorfSalad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Nr. Boulder, CO
Posts: 4,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dr0s View Post

Pioneer players are not the easiest to make region-free. For example, here are the options for the 400's predecessor, the 490V:
http://www.pioneerfaq.info/english/d...on=Multiregion

It could be worse - the Sony players can't be made region-free no matter what you do. - DR

Or you can pay a premium and get one that has been modded to be region free with PAL-to-NTSC conversion such as these...
http://www.hkflix.com/hardware/xq/as...qx/details.htm
http://www.regioncodefreedvd.com/pioneer490.html
http://www.zonefreedvd.com/codefreedvd/dv490vs.php
http://www.barrel-of-monkeys.com/gra...ppioneer.shtml
They'll probably carry the new DV-400V model when its more widely available.
WaldorfSalad is offline  
post #26 of 1139 Old 05-03-2007, 07:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MCaugusto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: BOSTON --- MA ---
Posts: 1,223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 39
OK guys, so i got my DV-400V and connected its HDMI output to my HDTV input and its coaxial digital output to my receiver's input (i bought an inexpensive JVC receiver to use in my dining/kitchen area that does not have HDMI inputs).
After making sure that i selected "HDMI RESOLUTION" at 1920x1080P and "HDMI DIGITAL AUDIO" to " ON", i get no sound from my speakers when watching dolby digital/DTS encoded dvds, and i found out that whenever one connects the DV-400V via HDMI to a tv that can accept such input, the audio coming through " COAXIAL DIGITAL OUTPUT" is DISABLED !!!! Damn you, Pioneer !
So now i'm stuck : either i connect the dvd player to my HDTV using analog video connections and bypass the HDMI connection (which doesn't make sense, since i made sure that my HDTV had HDMI inputs when i purchased it) and get dolby digital/DTS through the coaxial digital output from the DV-400V, or use the HDMI connection and not get any dolby digital/DTS through its coaxial digital output (which doesn't make sense either), or sell my JVC receiver and buy another receiver that has HDMI inputs (why should we be forced to do so due to poor implementation of basic features of a dvd player ?), or find another dvd player that outputs dolby digital/DTS through both its HDMI and coaxial digital and sell my brand-new Pioneer DV-400V ! .....Great, thanks Pioneer, the fun never ends....
I wonder now whether or not this applies to all dvd players that have HDMI outputs : when one uses the HDMI connection, all other digital audio output connections are automatically disabled ?
Any suggestions would be appreciated >>>
-------------------------------------------
Marcos
MCaugusto is offline  
post #27 of 1139 Old 05-03-2007, 07:14 PM
Member
 
resnbl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ashburn, VA
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I went to the Sterling, VA store tonight and they had several units on the shelf, but none on display and no posted price.

Then I went to the Leesburg, VA store which had several on the shelf, a display model (powered with the remote sitting there!), but the posted price was $30 over MSRP!! A "helpful" salesperson confirmed the price, but couldn't get out to the web to verify the actual MSRP.

What does it take to get BB to come down to MSRP (or lower)?
resnbl is offline  
post #28 of 1139 Old 05-03-2007, 07:33 PM
Member
 
polyscroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by resnbl View Post

...What does it take to get BB to come down to MSRP (or lower)?

When I bought mine, I simply told the sales rep at the store about Pioneer's $99 MSRP on their website. He confirmed Pioneer's price online, went and talked to the manager, then came back and said they could sell it to me for $103 (which was $1 less than Pioneer's price with $5 shipping).

Worked for me....
polyscroll is offline  
post #29 of 1139 Old 05-03-2007, 07:48 PM
Member
 
polyscroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MCaugusto View Post

OK guys, so i got my DV-400V and connected its HDMI output to my HDTV input and its coaxial digital output to my receiver's input (i bought an inexpensive JVC receiver to use in my dining/kitchen area that does not have HDMI inputs).
After making sure that i selected "HDMI RESOLUTION" at 1920x1080P and "HDMI DIGITAL AUDIO" to " ON", i get no sound from my speakers when watching dolby digital/DTS encoded dvds, and i found out that whenever one connects the DV-400V via HDMI to a tv that can accept such input, the audio coming through " COAXIAL DIGITAL OUTPUT" is DISABLED !!!! Damn you, Pioneer !
So now i'm stuck : either i connect the dvd player to my HDTV using analog video connections and bypass the HDMI connection (which doesn't make sense, since i made sure that my HDTV had HDMI inputs when i purchased it) and get dolby digital/DTS through the coaxial digital output from the DV-400V, or use the HDMI connection and not get any dolby digital/DTS through its coaxial digital output (which doesn't make sense either), or sell my JVC receiver and buy another receiver that has HDMI inputs (why should we be forced to do so due to poor implementation of basic features of a dvd player ?), or find another dvd player that outputs dolby digital/DTS through both its HDMI and coaxial digital and sell my brand-new Pioneer DV-400V ! .....Great, thanks Pioneer, the fun never ends....
I wonder now whether or not this applies to all dvd players that have HDMI outputs : when one uses the HDMI connection, all other digital audio output connections are automatically disabled ?
Any suggestions would be appreciated >>>
-------------------------------------------
Marcos

Marcos,

In the "Digital Audio Out" category of the Settings Menu, try setting "HDMI Out" to "OFF". This should disable all audio from being sent to HDMI and hopefully enable digital audio through the Digital Coax output. I assume you just want to listen to digital Audio piped through your JVC receiver and not your TV. I believe this may work but can't confirm because I don't have mine set-up yet. (waiting on TV)

Let us know if that works.
polyscroll is offline  
post #30 of 1139 Old 05-03-2007, 07:49 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,057
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 17
btw tried hard drive via usb, only plays divx, jpegs not dvds, video files
zoro is offline  
Reply DVD Players (Standard Def)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off