Pioneer DV48AV - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 300 Old 07-21-2007, 06:52 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
peteavnj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone have any info. on this player or get their hands on one yet?
peteavnj is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 300 Old 07-21-2007, 07:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JohnAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 6,983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 398 Post(s)
Liked: 551
Quote:
Originally Posted by peteavnj View Post

Anyone have any info. on this player or get their hands on one yet?

Only a 1080P update of the DV-46AV model I guess. No dealers have received them. Soon.

Oppo Beta Group
JohnAV is online now  
post #3 of 300 Old 07-23-2007, 04:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
dicey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think this is the US version of the DV-600AV. If this is the case, this will be the first player to be able to output DSD via HDMI. I can't wait to get one! Here's a link to the DV-600AV thread:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...ht=pioneer+600

You are all WEIRDOS! - Sam the Eagle
dicey is offline  
 
post #4 of 300 Old 07-23-2007, 06:50 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
peteavnj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Dicey, A local store in my area had the 48AV in its flier a few weeks ago, but Pioneer has yet to release (looks like they jumped the gun) and I have not been able to find any info. on it whatsoever. Hope it comes out soon, as I need a new player for my new plasma.
peteavnj is offline  
post #5 of 300 Old 07-23-2007, 07:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
dicey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can't find any info on the DV-48 either. But it looks like it will be part of the Elite product range in the US. I'll be buying this player primarily for use as a CD, DVD-music, DVD-A, SACD via HDMI transport. I'll be getting the Denon 2808, which supports native DSD. I wanted to get a Denon player that could output DSD, but after speaking to a Denon rep the other day, it doesn't look like Denon will make a player that can do it any time soon. Oh well. So its looking like Pioneer's getting my money this time!

You are all WEIRDOS! - Sam the Eagle
dicey is offline  
post #6 of 300 Old 07-23-2007, 07:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
dicey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This Just In!!!

It looks like Oppo just released the DV-980H, which can also output DSD via HDMI! And it retails for only $169.99! This is gettin' good!!!

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=879341

You are all WEIRDOS! - Sam the Eagle
dicey is offline  
post #7 of 300 Old 07-23-2007, 08:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JohnAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 6,983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 398 Post(s)
Liked: 551
Quote:
Originally Posted by dicey View Post

I think this is the US version of the DV-600AV. If this is the case, this will be the first player to be able to output DSD via HDMI. I can't wait to get one! Here's a link to the DV-600AV thread:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...ht=pioneer+600

I disagree. The DV-600 is of the same regular Pioneer DVD player family as the earlier DV-578A -> DV-588AV.
The DV-48AV is from the Pioneer Elite family, which encompasses the earlier DV-45A -> DV-46AV.
The DV-600 is a universal Pioneer player of much lower audio quality then the DV-46AV (soon to be replaced by the DV-48AV).
The manual for the DV-400/DV-600 I looked at puts the audio specs no better then my older DV-578A except it is now a upconversion universal player.

Oppo Beta Group
JohnAV is online now  
post #8 of 300 Old 07-23-2007, 09:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JohnAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 6,983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 398 Post(s)
Liked: 551
For more information check out this link to a DV-600AV-S/DV-400VS manual .

Oppo Beta Group
JohnAV is online now  
post #9 of 300 Old 08-14-2007, 08:01 AM
Member
 
allenshelley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got off the phone with an on-line retailer who said he had the 48AV in stock...I guess they are getting out to the market now, although still nothing on the Pioneer website?

-Allen
allenshelley is offline  
post #10 of 300 Old 08-29-2007, 06:38 PM
Senior Member
 
Run4Cuvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.marketnews.ca/news_detail.asp?nid=2843

This article also speaks of a dv 58..I can't wait to see what it has......I wish pioneer would come on with the specs.
Run4Cuvr is offline  
post #11 of 300 Old 08-30-2007, 12:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Run4Cuvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Run4Cuvr is offline  
post #12 of 300 Old 09-27-2007, 01:21 PM
Senior Member
 
Craig F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Winter Haven, FL
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DV-48AV is now listed on the Pioneer site.
Craig F is offline  
post #13 of 300 Old 09-28-2007, 11:22 AM
Member
 
allenshelley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have one of these players...the dealer gave it to me as part of my buying a 110FD and a 150FD. It seems to work good enough I suppose...I had a Blu-Ray player for a few weeks (took it back because it was $550 and there are really no blu-ray movies to rent), so going from it to the 48av kinda makes the 48av look pretty bad. I know it's a very unfair comparison, but I guess once you've gone HD, it's hard to go back.

-Allen
allenshelley is offline  
post #14 of 300 Old 10-07-2007, 01:30 PM
Member
 
evivbulgroz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone has any comments on that player? How does it compare to the 59?
evivbulgroz is offline  
post #15 of 300 Old 11-11-2007, 02:22 PM
Senior Member
 
adamf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: SE Pennsylvania
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I too am interested in what people think of this player or should I wait for the 58av? I just picked up a 48av (still unopened) but am wondering if I shouldn't take it back and wait. Anyone have a release date on the 58av?

Thanks,
Adam

Adam
Our Home Theater
The Bunker
adamf is offline  
post #16 of 300 Old 12-17-2007, 05:05 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
bobpaule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 55
DV-48AV bad news.

After about one week any resolution above 480i/p stopped working, the SACD DSD does not work in multichannel mode, and the manual and specs are subversive, because you have to read all the way to "Troubleshooting" to learn that the unit ONLY DOES 2 CHANNEL DSD !!!

Will the 58 do 5.1 DSD via HDMI?

The above, along with the BD/HDDVD-esque command lag times (no beep to confirm either) make the 48 a loser.

Very sad, as apart from a few recordings most of my SACDs are 5.1.

Suddenly I can live with having to restart the Oppo every time i insert a new disc, the machine is a definite keeper until i can sell it, the A35 and BD30 for a truly universal A/V transport
bobpaule is offline  
post #17 of 300 Old 12-23-2007, 02:41 AM
Member
 
philspice1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bixby, OK
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobpaule View Post

DV-48AV bad news.

After about one week any resolution above 480i/p stopped working, the SACD DSD does not work in multichannel mode, and the manual and specs are subversive, because you have to read all the way to "Troubleshooting" to learn that the unit ONLY DOES 2 CHANNEL DSD !!!

Will the 58 do 5.1 DSD via HDMI?

The above, along with the BD/HDDVD-esque command lag times (no beep to confirm either) make the 48 a loser.

Very sad, as apart from a few recordings most of my SACDs are 5.1.

Suddenly I can live with having to restart the Oppo every time i insert a new disc, the machine is a definite keeper until i can sell it, the A35 and BD30 for a truly universal A/V transport

I picked up a 48AV yesterday and it outputs 5.1 SACD just fine. Connected to a brand-new Yamaha RX-V661 via HDMI (sharing the input with my Toshiba HD-A2 through an HDMI switch). Haven't played any DVD's (Video or Audio) on it yet.
philspice1 is offline  
post #18 of 300 Old 12-23-2007, 03:46 PM
Member
 
philspice1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bixby, OK
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One thing I have discovered about this player is that it will not output DSD if I turn off my TV or switch the TV to a different input so that I can have the news on while listening to music. Does anyone else have this problem and if so, is there a work-around? I really love the fact that I finally have a player that can output DSD digitally, I just wish I didn't have to have the TV on to use it.
philspice1 is offline  
post #19 of 300 Old 06-25-2008, 01:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PRO-630HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,589
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 300 Post(s)
Liked: 192
Looks like this is getting clearanced out at a lot of stores. Anyone have any info on a replacement.
PRO-630HD is offline  
post #20 of 300 Old 06-25-2008, 01:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WilliamZX11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 28
I have seen a DV-49AV listed at a couple of stores as a pre-order for $149.

http://www.customsoundco.com/Product...=145&Special=1

It's also listed on Divx.com as a Divx certified player. No real information though.

I decided to just order the 48 from Vanns for $129, though it won't be back in stock for a month.
WilliamZX11 is offline  
post #21 of 300 Old 06-26-2008, 05:58 PM
Member
 
crabjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will the 48 play both PAL and NTSC? If not, does anyone know if it's possible to make it multi region (instructions or some hacked firmware)?

Thanks!
crabjoe is offline  
post #22 of 300 Old 06-27-2008, 10:40 AM
Member
 
dalidvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by philspice1 View Post

One thing I have discovered about this player is that it will not output DSD if I turn off my TV or switch the TV to a different input so that I can have the news on while listening to music. Does anyone else have this problem and if so, is there a work-around? I really love the fact that I finally have a player that can output DSD digitally, I just wish I didn't have to have the TV on to use it.

I have the same problem with my 58av. What I do is to disable HDMI output on my pre-pro (Integra 9.8), and then it works fine without the TV. Unfortunately, that might not solve your problem since you want to have the TV on. If you have the cable box directly connected to the TV through HDMI, that would obviously work.
dalidvd is offline  
post #23 of 300 Old 06-27-2008, 08:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WilliamZX11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by dalidvd View Post

I have the same problem with my 58av. What I do is to disable HDMI output on my pre-pro (Integra 9.8), and then it works fine without the TV. Unfortunately, that might not solve your problem since you want to have the TV on. If you have the cable box directly connected to the TV through HDMI, that would obviously work.

It's not a problem with your 58, it's normal for HDMI. You should only have to disable "HDMI Audio" out. That's what I did with the 885 when I had an Oppo. You will still get video that way.
WilliamZX11 is offline  
post #24 of 300 Old 06-28-2008, 08:23 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 29,503
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 803 Post(s)
Liked: 569
Has anyone experienced this problem with the DV-48?

While my DV-58AV has been consistent in outputting DSD over HDMI, it has been very inconsistent about outputting DSD as PCM for HDMI output. With about half the SACDs that I have tried, it will output 5.1 as PCM but, with the others, the processor (Anthem D2) is only getting stereo even though the DV-58 is playing the 5.1 tracks. The problem is not associated simply with the label. Some labels seem to be OK, some are always played in stereo and some are 50:50. All the tested SACDs will play in 5.1 PCM (converted from DSD) on a different player connected to the same processor.

Has anyone else observed this? Does anyone have an idea what is going on?

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is offline  
post #25 of 300 Old 06-29-2008, 06:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Big C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 1,401
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by crabjoe View Post

Will the 48 play both PAL and NTSC? If not, does anyone know if it's possible to make it multi region (instructions or some hacked firmware)?

Thanks!

Check out all my posts on this site, as well as my posts at www.videohelp.com/dvdhacks for various Pioneer players. If you try my procedure, please let us know if it works for you. If it does not, please feel free to post your area of difficulty and we will try to help.
Big C is offline  
post #26 of 300 Old 07-23-2008, 12:51 PM
Member
 
crabjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big C View Post

Check out all my posts on this site, as well as my posts at www.videohelp.com/dvdhacks for various Pioneer players. If you try my procedure, please let us know if it works for you. If it does not, please feel free to post your area of difficulty and we will try to help.

I checked there before ordering it and there was nothing. The reason I order the DV-48AV was because I've seen posts here and there saying some of the new units were region free out of the box. Plus, I kept seeing this chip that a lot of companies were using to make the players region free.

If I could just find a simple hack using the remote, it would be great!!
crabjoe is offline  
post #27 of 300 Old 07-23-2008, 03:49 PM
Senior Member
 
ValjeanPhantom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: United States Region 1 NTSC
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by crabjoe View Post

I checked there before ordering it and there was nothing. The reason I order the DV-48AV was because I've seen posts here and there saying some of the new units were region free out of the box. Plus, I kept seeing this chip that a lot of companies were using to make the players region free.

If I could just find a simple hack using the remote, it would be great!!

Let me explain. This player is not region-free out of the box. However, all of the Pioneer players manufactured as of 2002 have a similar operating system loaded in their firmware. This operating system can be found in Pioneer's 2007 DVD player line-up, including the DV-300, DV-400V, DV-600AV (aka the DV-48AV in the US), and DV-800AV (aka the DV-LX50 in Europe, as well as the DV-58AV in the US). All of these players can be made region-free with the following procedure:

Using a One for All modem-upgradable remote, send the WAV file found at http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dl...d&file_id=5558 to it. Once the remote has been programmed, set it to VCR/2000. Turn on the DVD player via the front pannel or its supplied remote. Using the One for All, press POWER. Turn your DVD player back on once again via the front pannel or its supplied remote. Insert a previously unplayable DVD. It should play as normal. It worked on my 2004 Region 1 US model DVD player/receiver. This in my opinion is much more convenient, as well as less expensive, than Prontos, PDAs, celphones, soldering homemade cables, etc. Unfortunately, downloadable, burnable, multi-region compatible firmware does not exist for all Pioneer models. Also, when I installed downloadable, multi-region compatible firmware on an internal computer DVD drive, the drive had disc-reading problems ever since. As a result, I personally am not going to install such firmware on my set top DVD players.
ValjeanPhantom is offline  
post #28 of 300 Old 07-24-2008, 11:27 AM
Member
 
crabjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ValjeanPhantom View Post

Using a One for All modem-upgradeable remote

Valjean,

Do you have a specific One For All remote model I should be looking for? I can't seem to find one that states it's modem upgradeable.

Thanks!
crabjoe is offline  
post #29 of 300 Old 07-24-2008, 03:42 PM
Senior Member
 
ValjeanPhantom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: United States Region 1 NTSC
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by crabjoe View Post

Valjean,

Do you have a specific One For All remote model I should be looking for? I can't seem to find one that states it's modem upgradeable.

Thanks!

I got mine for $25 at Amazon. It was one of my best investments. Good luck!
ValjeanPhantom is offline  
post #30 of 300 Old 07-24-2008, 08:50 PM
Member
 
crabjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ValjeanPhantom View Post

I got mine for $25 at Amazon. It was one of my best investments. Good luck!

Can you give me the model number of your remote? All the ones I see listed on Amazon say that the upgradeable ones are just learning remotes. I can't find anything that uses a modem cable.

Thanks!
crabjoe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply DVD Players (Standard Def)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off