OPPO Digital Presents: DV-980H (1080p, SACD DSD, 7.1 Surround, USB 2.0) - Page 111 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3301 of 6369 Old 03-17-2008, 01:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sam S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 4,138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Can anyone offer any observations on how the 980H handles bad edit transitions? I am sensitve to this, I notice the 970H fails the bad edit tests according to the Secrets review, does the 980H improve upon this?
Sam S is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3302 of 6369 Old 03-17-2008, 02:03 PM
Senior Member
 
Jeffhdz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam S View Post

Cool thanks Neuro.

Are there any 980H owners who have tried a backup of a DVD-A? Most players will choke after 30 seconds.

This actually depends on whether the orginal DVD-A is keyed or not. A keyed DVD-A cannot be backed up. A back up will choke as soon as the first track starts playing. If the original is not keyed, a backup will work. For example, the "Beatles - Love" DVD-A is not keyed.
Jeffhdz is offline  
post #3303 of 6369 Old 03-17-2008, 02:05 PM
Senior Member
 
Jeffhdz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam S View Post

Can anyone offer any observations on how the 980H handles bad edit transitions? I am sensitve to this, I notice the 970H fails the bad edit tests according to the Secrets review, does the 980H improve upon this?

I would say about the same as the 970 - it recovers from bad edit very quickly, but if you are sensitive to it, you can still see combing for a split moment.
Jeffhdz is offline  
post #3304 of 6369 Old 03-18-2008, 07:24 AM
Newbie
 
rayman1701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rayman1701 View Post

I recently got the 980H and LOVE it. I can't believe how good my SACD's & DVD-A's sound through HDMI with proper bass management. I do however have one question that I haven't found the answer to (even though I've been through all 110 pages of this thread).

My AVR does not decode HDCD so to get the player to decode and send it to my AVR do I have to use the Analog outs or can I set the optical/coaxial to PCM and then it send the decoded signal to my AVR or even set the HDMI to LPCM (instead of auto) to send the decoded signals to the AVR? Which way would decode the HDCD correctly?

Anybody willing to answer a site newbie question?:
rayman1701 is offline  
post #3305 of 6369 Old 03-18-2008, 08:22 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,421
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 123
AFAIK, you have to use the analog outs so that the player can decode the HDCD signals. Sending it as PCM won't work since your AVR ignores HDCD.

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is offline  
post #3306 of 6369 Old 03-18-2008, 09:13 AM
Newbie
 
rayman1701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks.
rayman1701 is offline  
post #3307 of 6369 Old 03-18-2008, 04:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Dirac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Kal is correct. You'll still get "normal" digital audio from HDMI and optical/coax, but it will not be HDCD. Just as if you took a legacy CD player and connected its optical out to your receiver.
Dirac is offline  
post #3308 of 6369 Old 03-19-2008, 12:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
David Scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chico, California
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam S View Post

Hi,

2) Has anyone tried playing DVD-R backups of your DVD-A discs (Verance watermarked) with the Oppos? These work on some brands of players, but not all. Most stop playback after 30 seconds.

I made backups and they play all the way through. I also authored my own dvd-a from mlp files from various discs and it played fine. This is one of the main reasons I bought this player.
David Scott is offline  
post #3309 of 6369 Old 03-20-2008, 06:17 AM
Member
 
abelincoln's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'd like to jump in for a brief moment and answer a question that nobody seems to have asked:

I was relieved to find that my new 980h will play mp3 (and other compressed but NOT uncompressed flac, wav, etc.) music files from my rockbox equipped iPod. The music I've manually put on the iPod shows up just fine and the iTune'd music will play as well although the folder and song names are unintelligible.

Just in case anybody tries to google this question like I did.
abelincoln is offline  
post #3310 of 6369 Old 03-20-2008, 09:40 AM
Member
 
callous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There isnt a single player out there that does flac. I am surprised my wav files wont play though - my cheaper player by a factor of 1/3 the price does do wav
callous is offline  
post #3311 of 6369 Old 03-20-2008, 11:27 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 10,959
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 171
WAV is likely not supported due to licensing.
Neuromancer is offline  
post #3312 of 6369 Old 03-20-2008, 11:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
markabuckley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,077
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 19
come on Oppo - so close yet so FAR away

http://www.opposhop.com/en/help/51/o...rmware_release

wonder what the problem was ...
markabuckley is offline  
post #3313 of 6369 Old 03-20-2008, 11:38 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 10,959
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 171
This firmware breaks a lot of NTSC support. Thereby, OPPO Digital will not be releasing it any time soon.
Neuromancer is offline  
post #3314 of 6369 Old 03-20-2008, 03:52 PM
Senior Member
 
movie_fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neuromancer View Post

This firmware breaks a lot of NTSC support. Thereby, OPPO Digital will not be releasing it any time soon.

Which firmware? The one at Opposhop.com ?
movie_fan is offline  
post #3315 of 6369 Old 03-20-2008, 03:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
markabuckley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,077
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Neuromancer - you sure about that ? I'd heard about that in betas - but not for release version ?

so if I install the firmware (when it is out) - then it will make PAL better, but cause problems for NTSC ?

the only point of buying the Oppo was as a multi-region player

cheers, Mark.
markabuckley is offline  
post #3316 of 6369 Old 03-20-2008, 04:14 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 10,959
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 171
If the release OPPOShop has is like the firmware OPPO sent me (which should be the same build) it still has issues with NTSC discs.
Neuromancer is offline  
post #3317 of 6369 Old 03-20-2008, 04:20 PM
Member
 
callous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Neuromancer - is there any news from Opposhop on whether they are working on xvid/divx subtitling problems? Specifically 40 characters or more will get cut off by the player, as clearly shown by divxcdtest 2.0
callous is offline  
post #3318 of 6369 Old 03-20-2008, 04:35 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 10,959
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 171
The only way around this is to edit the font window size with tools like MTK Font and MTK Remaker. OPPO I don't think will ever make an official firmware with a larger font window for whatever reason.
Neuromancer is offline  
post #3319 of 6369 Old 03-20-2008, 11:35 PM
Member
 
Waverboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My Oppo 980H, which I've only played a few times, has a problem: when I first start playing a disc, it plays fine, but many times, if I scan forward or back, or pause, when I resume normal play, it plays jerky-strobey. If I hit the stop button, then play again, it plays fine. Until the next time I scan or pause. Is this an issue that might be fixed with a future firmware upgrade, or do I have a defective player? Sorry if this issue has been brought up before, but this thread is over 100 pages...I tried a few searches, but didn't come up with anything. Thanks in advance for any light anyone may be able to shed on this.
Waverboy is offline  
post #3320 of 6369 Old 03-21-2008, 02:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lyris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,441
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neuromancer View Post

This firmware breaks a lot of NTSC support. Thereby, OPPO Digital will not be releasing it any time soon.

Hey Neuromancer

I've compared the most recent American firmware for the 980H which OppoDigital.com posted against the new version OppoShop are due to release. As far as I can tell, this version doesn't break any NTSC features which were working before.

Are you sure we're looking at the same version - just so we can easily tell the difference, the one OppoShop are ready to release changes the OSD font into a Serif/Times New Roman font instead of the previous Sans-Serif/Arial. Have you seen this version?

David Mackenzie
DVD/BD Compressionist/Author
Reviewer & Tech Consultant, HDTVtest
lyris is offline  
post #3321 of 6369 Old 03-21-2008, 03:41 AM
Member
 
tuleggi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lyris View Post

Hey Neuromancer

I've compared the most recent American firmware for the 980H which OppoDigital.com posted against the new version OppoShop are due to release. As far as I can tell, this version doesn't break any NTSC features which were working before.

Are you sure we're looking at the same version - just so we can easily tell the difference, the one OppoShop are ready to release changes the OSD font into a Serif/Times New Roman font instead of the previous Sans-Serif/Arial. Have you seen this version?

Good!
I will wait the new firmware version and if still unsatisfied with the font dimension and police I will modify it.
Although I do not have the cable to reset it in case of malfunction, someone has it? could I send the modified version to some of you for testing?
I used to do small modifications with my previous MTK player (pioneer 470) and I had someone who tested it - never had a problem, but better to be sure - before the publication, see here:
http://www.quellicheilpc.com/forum/v...t=25127&hilit=
http://forum.surdvd.com/viewtopic.php?p=235167#235167
tuleggi is offline  
post #3322 of 6369 Old 03-21-2008, 10:01 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 10,959
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by lyris View Post

I've compared the most recent American firmware for the 980H which OppoDigital.com posted against the new version OppoShop are due to release. As far as I can tell, this version doesn't break any NTSC features which were working before.

When I tested the latest build there were errors associated to tearing and judder with NTSC media. Unlike the previous firmware (where Cadences were broken) the Cadence detection seemed proper, but it introduced playback errors.

Quote:


Have you seen this version?

Yes, the firmware I tried was this one. The dates are different (internal betas always are).
Neuromancer is offline  
post #3323 of 6369 Old 03-21-2008, 10:03 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 10,959
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by Waverboy View Post

Is this an issue that might be fixed with a future firmware upgrade, or do I have a defective player?

Try updating your firmware to ensure that your error is not software related. The DV-980H is also slow at cadence detection, so you may notice some judder and other visual errors for several seconds as it tries to lock-on to the proper cadence.
Neuromancer is offline  
post #3324 of 6369 Old 03-21-2008, 11:26 AM
Member
 
WRXpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

The Oppos use 709 for HD YCrCb signals and 601 for 480i/p.

-Bill

Am I interpreting this correctly to mean that the 980 will twist YCrCb values output over HDMI to 709 when upscaling to 1080/720 is engaged, and pass the native YCrCb signal encoded on the DVD (which should be mastered at 601, but isn't always) when outputting 480i/p?

When in RGB mode, presumably the same resolution-dependent color decodings are applied by the Oppo to generate the digital RGB signal?

Also, I assume the 980 will pass BTB (<16,16,16) and WTW (>235,235,235) RGB values without clipping/clamping them?
WRXpilot is offline  
post #3325 of 6369 Old 03-21-2008, 12:10 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,148
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 328 Post(s)
Liked: 337
Quote:
Originally Posted by WRXpilot View Post

Am I interpreting this correctly to mean that the 980 will twist YCrCb values output over HDMI to 709 when upscaling to 1080/720 is engaged, and pass the native YCrCb signal encoded on the DVD (which should be mastered at 601, but isn't always) when outputting 480i/p?

Yes.

Quote:


When in RGB mode, presumably the same resolution-dependent color decodings are applied by the Oppo to generate the digital RGB signal?

There is only one color standard for RGB, so the mapping is not resolution dependent.

Quote:


Also, I assume the 980 will pass BTB (<16,16,16) and WTW (>235,235,235) RGB values without clipping/clamping them?

Others report that it does. I am not seeing WTW or BTB on my current LCD, but I suspect there is something wrong with it.

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
post #3326 of 6369 Old 03-21-2008, 02:03 PM
GSB
AVS Special Member
 
GSB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 3,570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WRXpilot View Post

I assume the 980 will pass BTB (<16,16,16) and WTW (>235,235,235) RGB values without clipping/clamping them?

Yes, the 980 passes BTB and WTW properly.

Gary
GSB is offline  
post #3327 of 6369 Old 03-21-2008, 02:20 PM
Member
 
bhrvatin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got a 980H this week and I seem to have a problem with multichannel SACDs that do not have a .1 channel, i.e. 5.0, 4.0, 3.0 multichannel. It seems like the Oppo is choosing the 2.0 Stereo layer on these disc types. SACDs that are 5.1 multichannel are properly recognized and passed to my preprocessor as 6 channel, 88.2 kHz. So it seems to not be the SACD priority setting.

I have my 980H connected to an Anthem D2 (HDMI of course.) I have tried 720p, 1080i and 1080p and get the same result with each setting. DVD-Audio discs work perfectly, I have tried a number (at least five) of DVD-A discs and the stereo and surround tracks are passed to the D2 correctly.

One question that can help me in my troubleshooting: is there a way that I can verify that the Oppo is selecting the stereo layer? The OSD doesn't show anything for SACD discs for some reason. FWIW, I am pretty sure that by listening to the stereo layers I can hear that what is being played is not only the L/R channels of a 5.0 but infact the stereo layer of the SACD. Also, I tried with many different discs (at least 15) and I have the same issue with anything that doesn't have the .1 channel (from recording labels Harmonia Mundi, Channel Classics, BIS, etc. like 75% of my multichannel SACD collection.)

I am a little bummed out about this; hi-rez audio via HDMI was my whole reason behind getting an Oppo. Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated, thanks!

Bart
bhrvatin is offline  
post #3328 of 6369 Old 03-21-2008, 02:33 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,421
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhrvatin View Post

I just got a 980H this week and I seem to have a problem with multichannel SACDs that do not have a .1 channel, i.e. 5.0, 4.0, 3.0 multichannel. It seems like the Oppo is choosing the 2.0 Stereo layer on these disc types. SACDs that are 5.1 multichannel are properly recognized and passed to my preprocessor as 6 channel, 88.2 kHz. So it seems to not be the SACD priority setting.

I have my 980H connected to an Anthem D2 (HDMI of course.) I have tried 720p, 1080i and 1080p and get the same result with each setting. DVD-Audio discs work perfectly, I have tried a number (at least five) of DVD-A discs and the stereo and surround tracks are passed to the D2 correctly.

One question that can help me in my troubleshooting: is there a way that I can verify that the Oppo is selecting the stereo layer? The OSD doesn't show anything for SACD discs for some reason. FWIW, I am pretty sure that by listening to the stereo layers I can hear that what is being played is not only the L/R channels of a 5.0 but infact the stereo layer of the SACD. Also, I tried with many different discs (at least 15) and I have the same issue with anything that doesn't have the .1 channel (from recording labels Harmonia Mundi, Channel Classics, BIS, etc. like 75% of my multichannel SACD collection.)

I am a little bummed out about this; hi-rez audio via HDMI was my whole reason behind getting an Oppo. Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated, thanks!

Bart

Well, it is not a design flaw since I am now listening to a Harmonia Mundi 5.0 disc in 5.0 on the 980 and I would have noticed the problem in the past, if it was a problem chez moi. Can you list your setup preferences?

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is offline  
post #3329 of 6369 Old 03-21-2008, 03:19 PM
Member
 
bhrvatin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kal Rubinson View Post

Well, it is not a design flaw since I am now listening to a Harmonia Mundi 5.0 disc in 5.0 on the 980 and I would have noticed the problem in the past, if it was a problem chez moi. Can you list your setup preferences?

Thanks Kal for the response, here are the audio-related parameters from my player:

SACD Priority - Multi Channel
DVD Audio Mode - DVD Audio

Downmix - 5.1 Channel
Front Speaker - Large
Center Speaker - Large
Surround Speaker - Large
Subwoofer - On

EQ Type - None
Sound Field - Off
Digital Output - Raw
LPCM Rate - 96k
HDMI Audio - Auto (Not Audio as Kal pointed out)
SACD over HDMI - PCM

As another test, I am going to check the analog multichannel output later tonight. I will turn off the HDMI Audio so that I can eliminate the Anthem/HDMI audio as a variable.

Bart
bhrvatin is offline  
post #3330 of 6369 Old 03-21-2008, 03:34 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,421
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 123
HDMI Audio - Audio? Is that an option?

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is offline  
Reply DVD Players (Standard Def)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off