Onkyo DV-SP1000 firmware! - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 88 Old 09-19-2008, 05:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lsarver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

According to Onkyo 1.24 is the final firmware for the 1000...

The CD they sent me a while back had v 1.24 printed on its face, but internally the software was identified as 1.22A. My correspondent said it was final.

I compared it to the firmware posted above: all files identical.

Don't know what it changed besides the splash screen: mine now says Integra, rather than Onkyo.

Even with a Samsung BD-UP5000 in the same rack, we use the DV-SP1000 for audio and SD DVDs.
lsarver is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 88 Old 10-22-2008, 09:49 AM
Senior Member
 
yuppi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What is the change after firmware, will have a better picture or sound ?
yuppi is offline  
post #63 of 88 Old 10-23-2008, 12:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lsarver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by yuppi View Post

What is the change after firmware, will have a better picture or sound ?

I have no idea, other than that the splash screen now says Integra. The person at Onkyo who sent it didn't know either. Setup looks the same. The previous installed version was 1.20; judging by the version number (1.24), the difference must not be large.

I had hoped that it would make the DV-SP1000 play nice(r) with the TX-NR905. (HDMI has dropouts when passing audio only--without video, e.g., playing CD.)
lsarver is offline  
post #64 of 88 Old 10-23-2008, 11:56 AM
Moderator
 
PooperScooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Leominster MA
Posts: 19,753
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 72
For CD/SACD/DVD-A audio listening you should be using analog out. However, a lot depends on the rest of the system. The SP-1000 outputs superb audio. The player is a "sleeper" that many people missed in the audio world, especially for what you can get one now on the used market.

larry

Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work. -- Thomas Alva Edison
PooperScooper is offline  
post #65 of 88 Old 10-24-2008, 04:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lsarver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PooperScooper View Post

For CD/SACD/DVD-A audio listening you should be using analog out.

I am, but DVD-V uses HDMI (previously directly to TV, now through 905) and my wife was confused by multiple connections.
lsarver is offline  
post #66 of 88 Old 10-30-2008, 01:35 AM
Senior Member
 
yuppi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by astrojeff View Post

I would like to make my player region free. However, the remote that comes with the unit is RC-563DV. This does not have a button labeled "DV." Do you know a hack for the standard remote?

What is the latest FW version? Mine says 1.23, but also says software 1.22A on the monitor.

Thanks, Jeff

The remote RC-498DV or RC 484M do not have a button labeled "DV."
Anyone know how to hack?
yuppi is offline  
post #67 of 88 Old 10-31-2008, 02:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lsarver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by yuppi View Post

The remote RC-498DV or RC 484M do not have a button labeled "DV."
Anyone know how to hack?

Not a clue. Sorry. I have the RC-563DV.

I read here (a looong time ago) that the magic DV button was on some kind of "service" remote. Larry, do you know anything about this?

Lee
lsarver is offline  
post #68 of 88 Old 11-05-2008, 05:45 AM
Member
 
Dano_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Guys,
quick question. I just purchased a DV-SP1000 to listen to SACD's and to use as a back up DVD player to my Sharp Blue Ray. I will be hooking this up to my TX-NR905. From the experience's of everyone here, what is the best hookup? Is it HDMI? Please let me know. I would prefer to hook it up once without a lot of fuss. Thanks for your help.
Dano_1 is offline  
post #69 of 88 Old 11-06-2008, 11:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lsarver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dano_1 View Post

I just purchased a DV-SP1000 to listen to SACD's and to use as a back up DVD player to my Sharp Blue Ray. I will be hooking this up to my TX-NR905. From the experience's of everyone here, what is the best hookup?

For SACD you can use use either the multi-channel analog or i.Link (Firewire) output, but the TX-NR905 has no i.Link input. Unfortunately, the HDMI 1.0 port cannot handle SACD. Fortunately, the DV-SP1000 has a very good analog stage. See pages 28, 33 and 75 of the manual for audio-output details.
lsarver is offline  
post #70 of 88 Old 11-07-2008, 05:13 AM
Member
 
Dano_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lsarver View Post

For SACD you can use use either the multi-channel analog or i.Link (Firewire) output, but the TX-NR905 has no i.Link input. Unfortunately, the HDMI 1.0 port cannot handle SACD. Fortunately, the DV-SP1000 has a very good analog stage. See pages 28, 33 and 75 of the manual for audio-output details.

Thank you for your advise.
Dano_1 is offline  
post #71 of 88 Old 11-07-2008, 08:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lsarver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You're welcome.
lsarver is offline  
post #72 of 88 Old 12-16-2008, 11:08 PM
Member
 
pdjmwj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mount Airy MD
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just purchased a DV-SP1000 new on Ebay to suppliment my PS3 and A3 players. I wanted a universal player with excellent audio and picked this over the Pioneer DV-58AI.

Noticed the lip sync issue on HDMI and the HDMI drop out using CD just flipped to analog. It is a pain but this is still one sweet player.

I have a dedicated theater in my basement running Aerial 7's on the front powered by a classic Classe DR9. The other 5 channels are powered by my trusty Rotel 1075. My brother in law came over this weekend to burn this DVD player in and it sounded very good I mean sweet. I have all 7.1 analong cables connected and the two channel connections to the CD inputs and ove course the HDMI is hooked up. What a snake pit and that's just for one player. Everything else is just hooked up using HDMI.

I'm able to use my PS3 as a picture browser and then listen to CD's using the SP1000 at the same time with this setup.

My Epson 1080UB projector also loved this thing. Running diagonally 133 thru my Onkyo 885P produced a very smooth picture and I think bested my A3 on regular DVD's.

Love the build quality.

Lifes a beach and then you die....
pdjmwj is offline  
post #73 of 88 Old 12-17-2008, 04:41 AM
Moderator
 
PooperScooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Leominster MA
Posts: 19,753
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 72
If you don't mind, what did you pay for the SP1000? If it wasn't for the lip sync issue some people experience, this player would have been one of the premier players until the ABT and Silicon Optix based players came out. And then we're starting to split hairs and the SP1000 is probably equal or better in audio.

larry

Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work. -- Thomas Alva Edison
PooperScooper is offline  
post #74 of 88 Old 03-07-2009, 08:12 PM
Member
 
joarda2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Poconos, Pa.
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by yuppi View Post

The remote RC-498DV or RC 484M do not have a button labeled "DV."
Anyone know how to hack?

Anyone???
joarda2 is offline  
post #75 of 88 Old 04-27-2009, 02:39 PM
Senior Member
 
duggy40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the Onkyo SP1000 hooked to my Yamaha RX-Z9 via a 2m Monster IEEE G cable (their top,silver plated cable )and I love it!
Fast,clear and transparent sound.
duggy40 is offline  
post #76 of 88 Old 04-28-2009, 01:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lsarver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There's one born every minute.
lsarver is offline  
post #77 of 88 Old 06-23-2009, 01:10 PM
Senior Member
 
duggy40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You all with CD HDMI drop outs have to set CD to DTS in setup and NO more drop outs.
I had same issue until I saw and read that detail in an advisement from Onkyo,and low behold it cured the CD HDMI audio skipping or drop outs.
Hope the same for anyone else.
duggy40 is offline  
post #78 of 88 Old 06-26-2009, 04:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lsarver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by duggy40 View Post

You all with CD HDMI drop outs have to set CD to DTS in setup and NO more drop outs.
I had same issue until I saw and read that detail in an advisement from Onkyo,and low behold it cured the CD HDMI audio skipping or drop outs.
Hope the same for anyone else.

I can confirm this. CDs are still transmitted as PCM.

In order to access the CD Audio Setup menu item (bottom of Audio menu), you first have to set the DTS Out item to PCM (DTS->PCM) on the Digital Out/Digital 1 or 2 menu item (top of Audio Menu). See p. 80 of the manual.

Duggy, can you point us to that advisement from Onkyo?
lsarver is offline  
post #79 of 88 Old 12-06-2009, 10:27 PM
Newbie
 
grossi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Need help! Recently, my DV SP1000 has been rejecting SACD hybrid discs ( display no disc). However, the player continues to play SACD only discs (non hybrid types). What could have gone wrong? I am using analogue out in stereo only to a Yamaha AZ1 receiver that is hooked up to a new Dynaudio Focus 360 speakers. I have since reset the impedance to 4 ohms to match the speaker rating.
grossi is offline  
post #80 of 88 Old 12-07-2009, 04:53 AM
Moderator
 
PooperScooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Leominster MA
Posts: 19,753
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by grossi View Post

Need help! Recently, my DV SP1000 has been rejecting SACD hybrid discs ( display no disc). However, the player continues to play SACD only discs (non hybrid types). What could have gone wrong? I am using analogue out in stereo only to a Yamaha AZ1 receiver that is hooked up to a new Dynaudio Focus 360 speakers. I have since reset the impedance to 4 ohms to match the speaker rating.

Most likely something wrong with the transport. Could be just a dirty laser lens or maybe something happened and the discs somehow are not "aligned" quite right when loaded.

larry

Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work. -- Thomas Alva Edison
PooperScooper is offline  
post #81 of 88 Old 12-23-2012, 05:06 PM
Member
 
kpodolski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PooperScooper View Post


Most likely something wrong with the transport. Could be just a dirty laser lens or maybe something happened and the discs somehow are not "aligned" quite right when loaded.


larry

If the player is acting up just change the optical block. The block is relatively cheap (bought mine for 17.99 shipped on ebay) and not too difficult to install. My player stopped reading SACD so I swapped out the transport last week. Working fine and sounds like the champ that it is!

Here is the new transport...



Some free advise. Don't forgot to de-solder the two anti-static spots on the laser circuit board. I forgot mine and had to un-install the board after installing it. Doh!

kpodolski is offline  
post #82 of 88 Old 01-19-2013, 05:35 AM
Moderator
 
PooperScooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Leominster MA
Posts: 19,753
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Nice job!

larry

Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work. -- Thomas Alva Edison
PooperScooper is offline  
post #83 of 88 Old 06-24-2013, 04:03 PM
Newbie
 
Strlok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
kpodolski, thanks for the pictures on the transport.

Can you tell me what tools I need to get in order to install this?

I am really nervous opening it up since the Service Guide Onkyo provided isn't really that helpful on dissembling and reassembling the parts. If you could do a step by step walkthrough that would be fantastic.

My player won't read certain CDs, either that's how the CD was encoded (these are not CD-R or CD-RW. These are straight from the label as if you bought the album in as tore) or maybe my laser is going bad. But it can play most of my CDs just fine.

I just am not sure.
Strlok is offline  
post #84 of 88 Old 06-26-2013, 09:03 AM
Moderator
 
PooperScooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Leominster MA
Posts: 19,753
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by Strlok View Post

kpodolski, thanks for the pictures on the transport.

Can you tell me what tools I need to get in order to install this?

I am really nervous opening it up since the Service Guide Onkyo provided isn't really that helpful on dissembling and reassembling the parts. If you could do a step by step walkthrough that would be fantastic.

My player won't read certain CDs, either that's how the CD was encoded (these are not CD-R or CD-RW. These are straight from the label as if you bought the album in as tore) or maybe my laser is going bad. But it can play most of my CDs just fine.

I just am not sure.
In case you didn't notice, you have to also de-solder a couple of spots on the new assembly. If you are not comfortable doing that you may check around your area and see if there's still a place that does electronic equipment repair. They're getting scarce, but you may get lucky. So for a labor charge you could get the new assembly installed and the unit cleaned inside for a small fee. These are great players, it's worth it.

larry

Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work. -- Thomas Alva Edison
PooperScooper is offline  
post #85 of 88 Old 06-26-2013, 10:06 AM
Newbie
 
Strlok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Larry for the reply. I guess I'm just nervous one of those kind of places would screw something up or take out a part inside. Thats why I was leaning on doing it myself. Just get an ESD mat and desolder it myself.

The problem is the DV-SP1000 looks pretty complex and requires removal of boards before even getting to the transport. I would like some step by step guides on how to do it maybe even with pictures.

If not I guess I might as well have someone service it.
Strlok is offline  
post #86 of 88 Old 06-28-2013, 06:09 AM
Moderator
 
PooperScooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Leominster MA
Posts: 19,753
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Ok, cool. I wasn't sure of your experience or comfort level. I would take the cover off and check things out to get an idea what it would take to R/R the board. A lot of the assembly is done by hand so it can't be too complex (since they were mass produced).

larry

Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work. -- Thomas Alva Edison
PooperScooper is offline  
post #87 of 88 Old 03-01-2014, 04:54 AM
Newbie
 
HiFi-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hi,

 

Just wanted to let the readers of this forum topic know that:

 

1. the firmware version 1.24 files and instruction in this thread also apply to the Integra Research RDV-1.1 (in addition to the Onkyo DV-SP1000(E))

Onkyo DV-SP1000 is pretty much identical to the Integra Research RDV-1.1
Onkyo DV-S939 is pretty much identical to the Integra Research RDV-1

 

2. the firmware update actually improves the reading capabilities of a RDV-1.1 with an older, previous FW version (< 1.24)

3. in order to use the FW files one has to write a CD-R (or CD+R) in ISO9660 mode. This ensures the CD will be recognized as a VCD

4. Once the CD-R has been entered, "update" appears on the display, after waiting a bit longer "stop" will appear. Once "stop" has appeared the update process can be started.

 

http://i1006.photobucket.com/albums/af190/ALH93C/ResIMG_0013__zps3cc62835.jpg

HiFi- is offline  
post #88 of 88 Old 03-01-2014, 05:32 AM
Newbie
 
HiFi-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hi,

 

I just wanted to let the readers of this topic know that:

 

1. Firmware release 1.24 for Onkyo DV-SP1000(E) can also be applied to the Integra Research RDV-1.1

Integra Research RDV-1.1 is pretty much identical to the Onkyo DV-SP1000(E)

Integra Research RDV-1 is pretty much identical to the Onkyo DV-S939

 

2. The firmware release 1.24 actually improves the reading capabilities of the DVD player compared to the previous, older FW releases (<1.24)

 

3. One should burn the FW files on a CD-R with ISO9660 standard so the Onkyo or Integra Research player will recognize the CD-R as a VCD

 

4. Once the CD-R has been entered, "update" appears on the display. When waiting a bit longer "Stop" will appear.
Once the status "stop" is shown on the diplay one can commence with the actual FW update process.

 

5. Updating the FW does not impact the Region Code (i.e. Region Free) settings in my opinion.

 

http://rs1006.pbsrc.com/albums/af190/ALH93C/ResIMG_0009__zps6b8cf8cc.jpg
http://rs1006.pbsrc.com/albums/af190/ALH93C/ResIMG_0025__zps388f32a8.jpg
http://rs1006.pbsrc.com/albums/af190/ALH93C/ResIMG_0026__zps0fc14755.jpg
http://rs1006.pbsrc.com/albums/af190/ALH93C/ResIMG_0020__zps8e702a46.jpg
http://rs1006.pbsrc.com/albums/af190/ALH93C/ResIMG_0015__zps7b5a0c7e.jpg
http://rs1006.pbsrc.com/albums/af190/ALH93C/ResIMG_0013__zps3cc62835.jpg
http://rs1006.pbsrc.com/albums/af190/ALH93C/ResIMG_0018__zpsf5bccab8.jpg
http://rs1006.pbsrc.com/albums/af190/ALH93C/ResIMG_0019__zps0e2eaa37.jpg
http://rs1006.pbsrc.com/albums/af190/ALH93C/ResIMG_0016__zpscfd05097.jpg
http://rs1006.pbsrc.com/albums/af190/ALH93C/ResIMG_0029_zpse8d4ad24.jpg
http://rs1006.pbsrc.com/albums/af190/ALH93C/ResIMG_0033_zps9ee38202.jpg
http://rs1006.pbsrc.com/albums/af190/ALH93C/ResIMG_0030_zps20029f1a.jpg
http://rs1006.pbsrc.com/albums/af190/ALH93C/ResIMG_0028_zpsdc5f8aaa.jpg
http://rs1006.pbsrc.com/albums/af190/ALH93C/ResIMG_0032_zps9fe42636.jpg
http://rs1006.pbsrc.com/albums/af190/ALH93C/ResIMG_0031_zpsf15b9097.jpg

HiFi- is offline  
Reply DVD Players (Standard Def)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off