Onkyo DV-SP1000 firmware! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-22-2007, 02:27 PM - Thread Starter
dxc
Newbie
 
dxc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello:
I recently bougth 2 Onkyo DV-SP1000 on Ebay. They are both the US version.
I would like to know if anyone has the newest firmware on CD(version 1.25, I believe).
I've twice tried to contact Onkyo USA about a firmware and they haven't responded. Pretty awful support, I think. I also asked Onkyo Europe, but they didn't have the firmware and didn't know if the firmware for the European version could the used on the US version...

So I'm desperately looking for the firmware.

The reason I want to update is that one of the players only got firmware 1.10 while the other got 1.24.
The one with the oldest firmware have a hard time reading dvd+r and dvd-r. When it sometimes does load a dvd, it often have trouble reading the end of the dvd.
The other player with 1.24 doesn't have so many troubles reading dvds.
Of course it could be the laser, but I thought maybe a firmware update could help. At least an Onkyo dealer told me it might be a solution.

What it the general experience with this dvd player reading dvd+r and dvd-r?

So could any present or previous owners of this otherwise wonderful player please help me.
Could someone rip the CD and upload the firmware?
I would even be willing to pay a small fee it anyone could copy the cd and ship to me. I live in Denmark by the way.

Thanks
dxc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-23-2007, 11:36 AM
Newbie
 
sringstad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,
You might have solved your problems, but I have a contact in Onkyo US. I can ask him for you. I will be in touch with him medio december. Could you please give me the excact question I should ask him for you?

I have just bought the same player from US myself and have experienced the problems of getting answers from Onkyo and their service centres. I live in Norway, which is region 2. Do you know how to make this player region free?

I have found the follwing instructions on the net, but have not got it confirmed yet.
Using Onkyo remote RC-498DV or RC 484M:

Power on. No disc
Press "DV" & "1", release both at the same time
Press "return"
Press "setup" quickly
Press "9" quickly (for multi-region)
Power off

Regards,
Svein
sringstad is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 01:54 AM - Thread Starter
dxc
Newbie
 
dxc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Svein:
I really just want Onkyo support to tell me how to get the newest firmware for the DV-SP1000. If your contact in Onkyo USA could get and send the firmware, it would be great.
However I just thought that there might be some users that have it on cd. Don't Onkyo use to send firmware upgrades by cd to their costumers? If so couldn't someone please make an image of it and upload somewhere?
Must be somebody out there who can help.

About the region free setting, I don't know how to do it, but instead had it done by an Onkyo dealer.
He did use a special remote(read somewhere it was a service remote)
The procedure was something like what you have descriped, but I can't tell if it's precisely like that. Don't know either if the remotes you mention are the right ones. You could ask your contact about procedure and remotes as well.

By the way, what if the firmware in your player and do you have any problems playing dvd+r and dvd-r?

Thanks
dxc is offline  
Old 11-25-2007, 11:41 AM - Thread Starter
dxc
Newbie
 
dxc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are there really no one in this huge community who can or wants to help?
dxc is offline  
Old 11-25-2007, 12:58 PM
Moderator
 
PooperScooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Leominster MA
Posts: 19,960
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 330
I don't believe Onkyo sends the FW discs to all registered owners, they only ship it if you ask. I would just keep bugging customer support until they succumb. One of the "prices" you pay when you buy used gear - you can't make your dealer do all the work. I'm amazed at how "cheap" these players are now on the used market. They are built like a tank, have great analog sections, and can hold their own with audio against players costing more (MSRP).

larry

Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work. -- Thomas Alva Edison
PooperScooper is offline  
Old 11-29-2007, 04:08 PM
Newbie
 
sringstad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,
I have just asked my contact in Onkyo and will report back as soon as I get an answer.
Regards,
Svein
sringstad is offline  
Old 11-30-2007, 02:45 AM - Thread Starter
dxc
Newbie
 
dxc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Svein:
Thank you very much for your help.
I've now also tried to contact a Onkyo supporter directly on email(he had previuosly helped me with another issue), but no response there as well.
I think you are my only hope Svein as my local Onkyo dealer doesn't seem to be able to find a solution either.

By the way, have you tested if your player is capable of reading burned dvd+r and dvd-r?

If you want to check the firmware this is the procedure:
1) Turn on the dvd. There must not be any disc in the player.
2) On the front plate, press the "Display" and then the "Video Circuit OFF" button and the release. The display will now show "SYS.XXXXX"
3) Press "Display" again. The display will now show the firmware: SYS.R. 1.XX

Best regards

Duc
dxc is offline  
Old 11-30-2007, 09:18 AM
Newbie
 
sringstad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I haven't tested the player yet, so I don't know. I just bought it on eBay and had it sent to an US adress I use for items bought in North America. I live in Norway and the player is in Hamden, CT, but I will pick it up there next week and start it up and check which version it has. I have been in contact with OnkyoUS concerning firmware and they have given me an address near by Hamden (in Litchfield) and I am now waiting for their reply.
Regards,
Svein
sringstad is offline  
Old 12-04-2007, 11:43 PM
Newbie
 
trubluluc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
...on the firmware update procedure?

I also have a sp1000 that I would like to install the latest firmware on.
With all the praise being sung around here for this player a couple years back, I would have thought surely more than two people would have something to say about this.

-Luc
trubluluc is offline  
Old 12-05-2007, 12:47 PM
Newbie
 
sringstad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi again,
I just received the new firmware from a very helpful Onkyo Service Center. It is a zipped file of 15 mb and a pdf instruction. Please mail me on sringstad@gmail.com and I will send it to you. Another source in the Onkyo system has confirmed that the player is made regionfree with this procedure:

Using Onkyo remote RC-498DV or RC 484M:

Power on. No disc
Press "DV" & "1", release both at the same time
Press "return"
Press "setup" quickly
Press "9" quickly (for multi-region)
Power off


Regards
Svein
sringstad is offline  
Old 12-05-2007, 03:04 PM
Newbie
 
trubluluc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for making this happen Svein!

-Luc
trubluluc is offline  
Old 12-05-2007, 03:08 PM
Moderator
 
PooperScooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Leominster MA
Posts: 19,960
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 330
Thanks. And, AVS doesn't recommend putting email addresses in posts. PMs are more "private". I'll leave it there, it's your inbox.

larry

Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work. -- Thomas Alva Edison
PooperScooper is offline  
Old 12-05-2007, 11:40 PM - Thread Starter
dxc
Newbie
 
dxc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Svein:
It's great to hear that you already got the firmware.
I've sent you a mail regarding the firmware. 15 mb might be too much to send via email, so If you could upload to a free file server it would be best for all parts.

Again you have been a great help for me and probably many others as well.

Regards

Duc
dxc is offline  
Old 12-06-2007, 10:52 AM
Newbie
 
sringstad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, all friends.
Here are the links for new firmware to your Onkyo DV-SP1000:

http://gamerlamers.com/Onkyo_DV-SP1000_firmware_update/

Regards
Svein
sringstad is offline  
Old 12-06-2007, 11:17 AM
Newbie
 
sringstad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PooperScooper View Post

Thanks. And, AVS doesn't recommend putting email addresses in posts. PMs are more "private". I'll leave it there, it's your inbox.

larry

Hi,
Yes, I know. I take the risk. I don't think Al-Qaida has Onkyo! :-)
Svein
sringstad is offline  
Old 12-06-2007, 01:51 PM
Moderator
 
PooperScooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Leominster MA
Posts: 19,960
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 330
Well, I don't put spammers and such in the same category but some may.

larry

Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work. -- Thomas Alva Edison
PooperScooper is offline  
Old 12-07-2007, 12:45 AM
Newbie
 
trubluluc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Downloaded and burned to cd, will install tomorrow.

It looks pretty easy to make the sp1000 region free.
I'm just curious if there is any downside to being region free?
I'm in the states and all my dvd's are region 1,
would it be best just leave it that way?


Thanks,

-Luc
trubluluc is offline  
Old 12-07-2007, 03:26 AM - Thread Starter
dxc
Newbie
 
dxc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had my first dv-sp1000 made region free at an Onkyo dealer.
Apart from making it capable of playing all region dvds, I don't think there is any downside.

By the way, can anyone recommend a way of cleaning the laser.
Is it recommended to use the special cleaning disc(I've heard different opinions of that) or it is difficult to open up the player and clean the laser with alcohol or some kind of detergent?
dxc is offline  
Old 12-07-2007, 08:18 AM
Newbie
 
trubluluc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks dcx.

Good question, as I'm also just acquiring this beauty, I want to do what ever is necessary/recommended to insure it's in top condition.

I have several toshiba sd-9200 dvd players (tosh's top of the line for the time) and I had to open them up to replace bushings in the transport.
The laser was easy to get to. So I would imagine this could be reached in the onkyo as well.

-Luc
trubluluc is offline  
Old 12-07-2007, 09:47 AM
Moderator
 
PooperScooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Leominster MA
Posts: 19,960
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 330
The region free change is just software/firmware in the transport. Probably 8bits get changed from a 1 to 0.

larry

Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work. -- Thomas Alva Edison
PooperScooper is offline  
Old 12-07-2007, 02:59 PM - Thread Starter
dxc
Newbie
 
dxc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Woo, so today just after receiving the firmware from Svein, I finally got my answer from Onkyo regarding the firmware:

"I apologize for the email delay. We are sorry for the inconvenience but there's no firmware upgrade available for the DV-SP1000."
dxc is offline  
Old 12-07-2007, 03:15 PM
Moderator
 
PooperScooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Leominster MA
Posts: 19,960
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 330
Upgrade from which version? When the SP-1000 and DPS-10.5 were released I was the person who reported to them that they screwed up the video levels going from HDMI->DVI - they converted to PC RGB. They eventually sent out a firmware upgrade to fix it.

larry

Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work. -- Thomas Alva Edison
PooperScooper is offline  
Old 12-07-2007, 10:35 PM
Newbie
 
trubluluc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
whoops
trubluluc is offline  
Old 12-07-2007, 10:35 PM
Newbie
 
trubluluc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If thats all that is changed....and it has no "downside".....why aren't all players just made region free?
I mean why did they start having regions in the first place?
Why not just one big video world?

-Luc



Quote:
Originally Posted by PooperScooper View Post

The region free change is just software/firmware in the transport. Probably 8bits get changed from a 1 to 0.

larry

trubluluc is offline  
Old 12-08-2007, 01:20 AM - Thread Starter
dxc
Newbie
 
dxc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PooperScooper View Post

Upgrade from which version? When the SP-1000 and DPS-10.5 were released I was the person who reported to them that they screwed up the video levels going from HDMI->DVI - they converted to PC RGB. They eventually sent out a firmware upgrade to fix it.

larry

When I mailed them, I told them that my firmware version was only 1.10 and that I wanted to update it. But what I quoted, was their only answer to me.
I know from Svein as well that Onkyo does give some confusing answers.
For some reason they also thinks that the US version DV-SP1000 might not be capable of playing PAL dvd discs, which is just not true.
dxc is offline  
Old 12-08-2007, 07:05 AM
Moderator
 
PooperScooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Leominster MA
Posts: 19,960
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 330
I think 1.10 was the original FW. The first update was 1.20, again, IIRC. There is a big SP-1000 thread which may be in the archives. It's all there.

I was lucky when I called Onkyo support because the person I talked to was very knowledgeable and actually went and reproduced the PC RGB issue while I was on the phone. If it wasn't for that issue I would probably still have the DPS-10.5. At that time it was unclear if they would fix the problem. The FW update did take a few months or more.

larry

Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work. -- Thomas Alva Edison
PooperScooper is offline  
Old 12-08-2007, 09:45 PM
Member
 
Bill Misencik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did Onkyo ever fix the much dreaded lipsynch issue with the 1000? I remember that affected alot of players and wondered if that had ever been successfully addressed.
Bill Misencik is offline  
Old 12-09-2007, 07:14 AM
Moderator
 
PooperScooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Leominster MA
Posts: 19,960
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 330
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Misencik View Post

Did Onkyo ever fix the much dreaded lipsynch issue with the 1000? I remember that affected alot of players and wondered if that had ever been successfully addressed.

Good question. I seems there's been FW updates since the first update given the version numbers. However, not everybody experienced the problem which may indicate the issue would not be easy to diagnose and fix.


larry

Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work. -- Thomas Alva Edison
PooperScooper is offline  
Old 12-10-2007, 09:47 PM
Newbie
 
trubluluc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Svein and dxc-

I'm having trouble updating my player.
I downloaded the firmware and burned it first to a cdr and then a dvd-r.
I did this because the display would not show "stop" with a cdr inside,
only the track and time. With the dvd-r it did display "stop", so I was able to begin the update process.
I followed the instructions to the letter, but each time after I press display for the final time, which should start the updating process, it just says
"please insert FRM data disc" Which is already inserted.
Any suggestions?

-Luc
trubluluc is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 08:37 AM - Thread Starter
dxc
Newbie
 
dxc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Luc:
Well, one of my players were succesfully updated.
I haven't updated the other as it works with no problem.
I just used a normal cdr, burned with Nero as a CD-ROM ISO.
Both players were able to read the CD.
Maybe you could try a slower burning speed with the cdr?
dxc is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off