Netflix streaming quality - Page 196 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 66Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5851 of 6079 Old 07-14-2014, 03:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Funny DNS changed the CDN as for me no matter what DNS I use it connects me to the same CDN now Atlanta for me.

Earthlink Standard powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
ASUS RT-N66W Router 374.43 (Merlin Build) using OpenDNS.
Amazon Fire TV, Apple TV 3, Roku 3, Sony PS3 Slim, Sony PS4 all Wired. Chromecast Wireless.
Toshiba 39L2300U 39-Inch 1080p. Nexus 5 on T-Mobile and
Nexus 7 (2013).
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5852 of 6079 Old 07-14-2014, 04:33 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 16,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 172 Post(s)
Liked: 478
Quote:
Originally Posted by reddice View Post
Funny DNS changed the CDN as for me no matter what DNS I use it connects me to the same CDN now Atlanta for me.

I believe that the server that you get connected to when you start (probably an Amazon server or a server of equivalent function in Open Connect) decides what streaming server that you get connected to. The DNS spoofers like Unblock-US (a VPN is something altogether different and more complex) take the role of that initial server so that they can route you to CDN servers in other countries. Unblock with region set to USA was sending me to NYC Netflix CDN servers, Cox's Open-Connect-tuned DNS servers were sending me somewhere closer to home.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #5853 of 6079 Old 07-14-2014, 04:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
SkOrPn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Tijeras, NM USA
Posts: 527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Ok instead of me wondering what is happening I installed the #1 bandwidth meter gadget called Network Meter and its showing me that IE11 is in fact maxing out my connection but only in spurts, ie 47 Mbit/s and then nothing for a few seconds and then back up to 47 and so on. Sometimes it is only 15, or 25 etc etc, but it is definitely using a large portion of my bandwidth, just in on/off increments. I assume that is perfectly normal.

One thing is absolute, the VPN is a must have for our enjoyment of Netflix on a computer. It's still Ok on the Rokus as well but takes longer for HD to kick in.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
SkOrPn is online now  
post #5854 of 6079 Old 07-14-2014, 04:54 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 16,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 172 Post(s)
Liked: 478
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkOrPn View Post
Ok instead of me wondering what is happening I installed the #1 bandwidth meter gadget called Network Meter and its showing me that IE11 is in fact maxing out my connection but only in spurts, ie 47 Mbit/s and then nothing for a few seconds and then back up to 47 and so on. Sometimes it is only 15, or 25 etc etc, but it is definitely using a large portion of my bandwidth, just in on/off increments. I assume that is perfectly normal.

One thing is absolute, the VPN is a must have for our enjoyment of Netflix on a computer. It's still Ok on the Rokus as well but takes longer for HD to kick in.

Read-as-fast-as-you-can-to-top-off-the-buffer-then-play-from-the-buffer-until-it-drops-to-a-certain-point-rinse-repeat is a common buffering strategy. Here's a graph of my old Roku 2 XS streaming from Amazon using such an algorithm (from about 3 years ago):




Who's your provider?

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #5855 of 6079 Old 07-14-2014, 05:29 PM
Senior Member
 
NickyD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Souderton, Pa.
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Ok, I grabbed a shot of my screen to share. I took this shot 8:24pm, so it's peak time and my video is horrible. I can't stand the picture, but yet it doesn't bother my wife & kids!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Jack Reacher.JPG (111.6 KB, 36 views)

Nick

360 GT: Nicky D
NickyD is offline  
post #5856 of 6079 Old 07-14-2014, 06:02 PM
Senior Member
 
NickyD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Souderton, Pa.
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just tried the same movie on Amazon Instant Video and the picture was beautiful with in few seconds. I even skipped ahead and it had to buffer but came in HD right away. Are there any shortcuts for Amazon that gives you the same type of info?

Nick

360 GT: Nicky D
NickyD is offline  
post #5857 of 6079 Old 07-14-2014, 06:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
SkOrPn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Tijeras, NM USA
Posts: 527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Not sure if Amazon has an overlay for that but they probably do for the same reasons. Amazon does not have a tenth of what Netflix has in the way of active users. Not yet anyway.

Yeah Michael I figured that was the strategy being used. I'm on CenturyLink 40/5 but the modem syncs at 50/5 and my location is 87059 Tijeras NM. About 24 miles southeast of Albuquerque NM. Bandwidth is great but latency is in the 50ms range. For whatever reason we do not seem to have much difference from say 8pm or 3am or Mondays, Saturdays etc. I can download a Linux iso at the same speed pretty much any day of the week. When I was in the city on Comcast it was not like that. My only conclusion is I think CenturyLink came into an area with few customers, and even fewer willing to fork out for the fastest Internet package. I can not find any wireless N or AC anywhere near me, not within 5 miles anyway. Which seems to suggest every one is still on older modems or routers. Or I'm lucky to be on a good node with very little in the way of congestion. My brother was on CenturyLink in Albuquerque and it was terrible so he left them for Comcast business class.

Edit: oh wow my graph looks just like yours Mike. Lol

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

Last edited by SkOrPn; 07-14-2014 at 06:39 PM.
SkOrPn is online now  
post #5858 of 6079 Old 07-14-2014, 06:33 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 16,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 172 Post(s)
Liked: 478
Quote:
Originally Posted by NickyD View Post
I just tried the same movie on Amazon Instant Video and the picture was beautiful with in few seconds.
What is the film? The only thing I'm aware of featuring Liv Tyler with blonde hair is that new HBO series, The Leftovers, which couldn't be available on Netflix yet. I'm sure that other people in other circumstances get great quality streaming whatever it is from Netflix.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #5859 of 6079 Old 07-14-2014, 08:04 PM
Senior Member
 
NickyD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Souderton, Pa.
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post
What is the film? The only thing I'm aware of featuring Liv Tyler with blonde hair is that new HBO series, The Leftovers, which couldn't be available on Netflix yet. I'm sure that other people in other circumstances get great quality streaming whatever it is from Netflix.
The movie is Jack Reacher, I forget what the actress name is but it's not Liv Tyler.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

Nick

360 GT: Nicky D
NickyD is offline  
post #5860 of 6079 Old 07-14-2014, 08:53 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 16,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 172 Post(s)
Liked: 478
Quote:
Originally Posted by NickyD View Post
The movie is Jack Reacher, I forget what the actress name is but it's not Liv Tyler.

Rosamund Pike. She doesn't really look like Liv Tyler in general, but there was a resemblance in that shot.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #5861 of 6079 Old 07-14-2014, 09:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 43
I had some issues tonight. Once upon a time played in HD on the Roku 3 but looked more like 720p only towards the end it looked like regular 1080p which I am fine with. I then watched the 4400 on the PS3. It took about 6 restarts to get it to start in 480p but it ramped up to super HD quickly and stayed there the entire program although the led lights blinked the entire time and the end buffer was only about 1:05 minutes. After Generator Rex started out better at 480p to 720p after a couple of minutes it stayed at Super HD but the end buffer was only about a minute. This is what is good about the PS3 that the buffer under no congestion is at least 2:30 minutes so it can keep up under congestion when the buffer is smaller. Other devices with small buffers like the ATV3 and Fire TV can't handle it so they drop down to SD midstream.

Earthlink Standard powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
ASUS RT-N66W Router 374.43 (Merlin Build) using OpenDNS.
Amazon Fire TV, Apple TV 3, Roku 3, Sony PS3 Slim, Sony PS4 all Wired. Chromecast Wireless.
Toshiba 39L2300U 39-Inch 1080p. Nexus 5 on T-Mobile and
Nexus 7 (2013).
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
post #5862 of 6079 Old 07-15-2014, 03:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,736
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 280
For some reason I cant get ctrl shift alt d to work right on my laptop.

65" VT50 / BDP-S6200
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #5863 of 6079 Old 07-15-2014, 03:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Scratch that. The PS3 is still crap for Netflix. Not only do I have to restart streams more than 5 times to even lock in at least 480p instead of that horrible 240p but in the afternoon when I don't even have congestion and I can watch things even on the Fire TV old Netflix app. Well anyway watching Phineas and Ferb which is even only in 720p half way though the episode it dropped down to 480p then it had the nerve to drop down to that utter worthless 240p where I could not even make out what was on the screen. I exited the app, closed the PS3 and watched it on the Roku 3 with little problems with just resuming the episode in poor quality but once it ramped up to HD it was fine.

Earthlink Standard powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
ASUS RT-N66W Router 374.43 (Merlin Build) using OpenDNS.
Amazon Fire TV, Apple TV 3, Roku 3, Sony PS3 Slim, Sony PS4 all Wired. Chromecast Wireless.
Toshiba 39L2300U 39-Inch 1080p. Nexus 5 on T-Mobile and
Nexus 7 (2013).
Cats are the best pets.

Last edited by reddice; 07-15-2014 at 03:36 PM.
reddice is offline  
post #5864 of 6079 Old 07-15-2014, 03:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
SkOrPn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Tijeras, NM USA
Posts: 527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 39
If it sucks on the PS3 why even bother trying it when you have a Roku 3?
SkOrPn is online now  
post #5865 of 6079 Old 07-15-2014, 03:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkOrPn View Post
If it sucks on the PS3 why even bother trying it when you have a Roku 3?
Since I have multiple streamers I like to try them after a update the PS3 app was just updated to 2.16 to see if it improved. I do that with my ATV3, Chromecast and even the Fire TV whenever they update the software. If I did not do this then I would have not known that the Roku 3 is currently now the best streamer for Netflix.

Earthlink Standard powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
ASUS RT-N66W Router 374.43 (Merlin Build) using OpenDNS.
Amazon Fire TV, Apple TV 3, Roku 3, Sony PS3 Slim, Sony PS4 all Wired. Chromecast Wireless.
Toshiba 39L2300U 39-Inch 1080p. Nexus 5 on T-Mobile and
Nexus 7 (2013).
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
post #5866 of 6079 Old 07-15-2014, 03:50 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 20,864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 298 Post(s)
Liked: 604
Quote:
Originally Posted by reddice View Post
Scratch that. The PS3 is still crap for Netflix. Not only do I have to restart streams more than 5 times to even lock in at least 480p instead of that horrible 240p but in the afternoon when I don't even have congestion and I can watch things even on the Fire TV old Netflix app. Well anyway watching Phineas and Ferb which is even only in 720p half way though the episode it dropped down to 480p then it had the nerve to drop down to that utter worthless 240p where I could not even make out what was on the screen. I exited the app, closed the PS3 and watched it on the Roku 3 with little problems with just resuming the episode in poor quality but once it ramped up to HD it was fine.
The PS4 is working great for Netflix. I think it has been the device that goes to SuperHD the fastest for me. It's typically at SuperHD within a few seconds. Although it does use alot more power, but at least Netflix is useable unlike the XBOne. Since a recent update the PS4 Netflix audio output will automatically change between 5.1 and 2.0. I just wish it worked that way with the other apps. And I hope that MS gets their act together for their audio output from the XBOne.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is online now  
post #5867 of 6079 Old 07-15-2014, 04:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 43
I was thinking about a PS4 with its more powerful processor but since I won't use it to play games and just use it for a multimedia system $400 is kind of expensive to drop down for it. I will most likely replace my PS3 with a PS4 once the price drops.

Also what is wrong with the XBox One Netflix app which I only considered because you don't need Xbox Gold anymore to watch Netflix?

Earthlink Standard powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
ASUS RT-N66W Router 374.43 (Merlin Build) using OpenDNS.
Amazon Fire TV, Apple TV 3, Roku 3, Sony PS3 Slim, Sony PS4 all Wired. Chromecast Wireless.
Toshiba 39L2300U 39-Inch 1080p. Nexus 5 on T-Mobile and
Nexus 7 (2013).
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
post #5868 of 6079 Old 07-15-2014, 04:07 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 16,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 172 Post(s)
Liked: 478
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
For some reason I cant get ctrl shift alt d to work right on my laptop.

You have to click the video window (not it's window frame) to give it keyboard focus and you have to do it when it's not blown up full screen.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #5869 of 6079 Old 07-15-2014, 04:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,736
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 280
Thanks.

65" VT50 / BDP-S6200
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #5870 of 6079 Old 07-15-2014, 04:39 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 20,864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 298 Post(s)
Liked: 604
Quote:
Originally Posted by reddice View Post
I was thinking about a PS4 with its more powerful processor but since I won't use it to play games and just use it for a multimedia system $400 is kind of expensive to drop down for it. I will most likely replace my PS3 with a PS4 once the price drops.

Also what is wrong with the XBox One Netflix app which I only considered because you don't need Xbox Gold anymore to watch Netflix?
With the XBOne and a 7.1 system. All the apps, including Netflix, and the HDMI input erroneously send the surround audio from the rear surround channels. And the XBOne does not automatically change the number of output channels to match the source input. So 2.0 audi0 will be sent in a 5.1 or 7.1 wrapper unless you manually change the audio output to 2.0. WHich will result in dead audio channels if you don't change the output and post processing can't be applied or applied properly. But at least it has the option to change it. The PS4 doesn't. (5.1 audio will also be sent in a 7.1 wrapper unless you manually change the audio output to 5.1)

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is online now  
post #5871 of 6079 Old 07-15-2014, 04:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
SkOrPn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Tijeras, NM USA
Posts: 527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by reddice View Post
Since I have multiple streamers I like to try them after a update the PS3 app was just updated to 2.16 to see if it improved. I do that with my ATV3, Chromecast and even the Fire TV whenever they update the software. If I did not do this then I would have not known that the Roku 3 is currently now the best streamer for Netflix.
Ah OK, yeah I would do that also after an update.
SkOrPn is online now  
post #5872 of 6079 Old 07-15-2014, 04:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,736
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 280
I keep getting 4.6-5 down today with every test I can think of, even the vudu speedtest. Get on Netflix on the laptop and use the A/V screen, after 10 minutes the throughput is staying around 2.2mbps and I can get the 720p but it never holds and falls back to 480. This is ridiculous...
reddice likes this.

65" VT50 / BDP-S6200
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #5873 of 6079 Old 07-15-2014, 06:12 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 16,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 172 Post(s)
Liked: 478
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
I keep getting 4.6-5 down today with every test I can think of, even the vudu speedtest. Get on Netflix on the laptop and use the A/V screen, after 10 minutes the throughput is staying around 2.2mbps and I can get the 720p but it never holds and falls back to 480. This is ridiculous...

Generally when that happens I reboot my modem and router.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #5874 of 6079 Old 07-15-2014, 06:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,736
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 280
Did that before the test.

Seeing as how, without all this scientific mumbo jumbo and secret menu's, I can jump on Amazon VOD and get HD with streaming easily, I think Netflix has the issue...

Ive chased this ghost before, I won't do it again. I just laugh, with the state of this country's HSI services, at how streaming is going to take over any time soon. I would have preferred they pushed downloads (like Tivo and Amazon) first. Gimme a box I can download the encrypted Netflix file too and watch it that way.

I guess Apple was smart with the buffer they have for any of the itunes stuff.
reddice likes this.

65" VT50 / BDP-S6200
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #5875 of 6079 Old 07-15-2014, 07:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 43
My streaming is crap tonight even on the Roku 3 so I actually called Netflix and spoke to a nice but clueless woman. She told me that it is my internet providers fault and I should contact them because I am not getting the speeds I am paying for. I told her but I can stream YouTube and Amazon Instant perfect and I can download files at least 2 megabytes. She said that we stream differently from the other services and that it is my connection not getting the speeds and she can only lower my playback settings which gives me even worse picture quality. I even told her that things got worse when you added those new original series and I said why it affects programs not even related to it. She said it could not but she still said to contact my service provider. I even told her that I hate there adaptive streaming and that they should ditch those low def (240, 288, 388) encodes but she was clueless. It was a long but useless conversation.

Well off to Amazon Instant I am on my Fire TV.

Earthlink Standard powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
ASUS RT-N66W Router 374.43 (Merlin Build) using OpenDNS.
Amazon Fire TV, Apple TV 3, Roku 3, Sony PS3 Slim, Sony PS4 all Wired. Chromecast Wireless.
Toshiba 39L2300U 39-Inch 1080p. Nexus 5 on T-Mobile and
Nexus 7 (2013).
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
post #5876 of 6079 Old 07-15-2014, 08:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 43
First I tried the ATV3 and the quality was horrible would not get out of 240p for nothing. Tried the PS3 watching Green Lantern: The Animated Series: Season 1: "Blue Hope" for the past hour and a half. Started out bad but ramped right up to Super HD in 1 minute and it was great until 9 minutes into the episode it dropped down to 480p then that horrible 240p which started to give me a headache. I quit it. Tried it on the Fire TV and it played good then it also kept dropping down to SD. I am not going to bother to try the Chromecast. I give up. I am really in a bad mood I never had it this bad on every one of my freaking streaming devices. Those crap originals should not freaking affect what I am trying to watch. If this keeps up I might cancel Netflix until the Comcast merger goes though.

Earthlink Standard powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
ASUS RT-N66W Router 374.43 (Merlin Build) using OpenDNS.
Amazon Fire TV, Apple TV 3, Roku 3, Sony PS3 Slim, Sony PS4 all Wired. Chromecast Wireless.
Toshiba 39L2300U 39-Inch 1080p. Nexus 5 on T-Mobile and
Nexus 7 (2013).
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
post #5877 of 6079 Old 07-15-2014, 09:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Kicking it played great no problems on the Roku 3 . Maybe it was that video having problems. I was just in a bad mood that I did not try another video or played El Fuente example clip.

Also forget before trying to watch Green Lantern I watched the 4400 on the Roku 3 no real issues there at 9 PM except I had to restart it a couple of times.
Edit. The 4400 played but at lower quality maybe the 3850 kbps 1080p stream which looks fine to me. But it still took a few restarts and a rewind to get that. As I said 9 PM on the dot.

Earthlink Standard powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
ASUS RT-N66W Router 374.43 (Merlin Build) using OpenDNS.
Amazon Fire TV, Apple TV 3, Roku 3, Sony PS3 Slim, Sony PS4 all Wired. Chromecast Wireless.
Toshiba 39L2300U 39-Inch 1080p. Nexus 5 on T-Mobile and
Nexus 7 (2013).
Cats are the best pets.

Last edited by reddice; 07-16-2014 at 08:11 AM.
reddice is offline  
post #5878 of 6079 Old 07-15-2014, 10:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
undecided's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,457
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 60
reddice you know it is your connection (Netflix - TWC- to you) not your devices (which come and go which one works best)

I understand you can do nothing about Netflix to TWC (may be good may be not) - but again have you checked your modem signal levels and do you have a Docsis 3 modem?

Last edited by undecided; 07-15-2014 at 11:02 PM.
undecided is offline  
post #5879 of 6079 Old 07-16-2014, 07:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 43
As I said to the woman that I called speedtests show 16/1 and ping tests show A with very little latency. Also Amazon Instant and YouTube stream perfectly so it is not my connection. It is Netflix crappy CDN now which connects me to Atlanta but it does not matter if it connects me next door or across the country performance is the same. Not the same with Amazon, YouTube and Watch apps as they can connect me to California and perform flawless. Also performance on Netflix suffers starting at 9 PM on the dot. The woman on the phone said that well that is when people come home to use Netflix and I told her that people come home from work anytime from around 5PM, 6 PM to 7 PM so why at exactly 9 PM quality suffers? She did not understand.

Also I have white retail SB6141 Docsis 3.0 modem running firmware version "SB_KOMODO-1.0.6.12-SCM00-NOSH".

Earthlink Standard powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
ASUS RT-N66W Router 374.43 (Merlin Build) using OpenDNS.
Amazon Fire TV, Apple TV 3, Roku 3, Sony PS3 Slim, Sony PS4 all Wired. Chromecast Wireless.
Toshiba 39L2300U 39-Inch 1080p. Nexus 5 on T-Mobile and
Nexus 7 (2013).
Cats are the best pets.

Last edited by reddice; 07-16-2014 at 08:14 AM.
reddice is offline  
post #5880 of 6079 Old 07-16-2014, 08:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,736
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 280
I called Mediacom a little while ago and they claim they are on my street now (I still dont believe it), but I am waiting on a call to schedule service installation. There is no coax ran to my house since they were not here previously, so I won't get my hopes up. For a little more than I spend now on 6mbps DSL I can get 50mbps down and 5mbps up. If I can get it, at least I know my end is more than fast enough. This 6mbps DSL sucks for more than one reason...

65" VT50 / BDP-S6200
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is online now  
Reply Video Download Services & Hardware

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off