Netflix streaming quality - Page 223 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 293Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6661 of 7350 Old 11-07-2014, 06:33 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 18,864
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1639 Post(s)
Liked: 953
My TiVo Roamio is now my favorite device for streaming Netflix, Amazon and VUDU since it can output their 24p video encodes at 24Hz, which my new television can display with even pulldown and no added judder (they just released Amazon and VUDU for it); those three services are my most frequently used. It also has the Netflix stream info display. Its Hulu Plus player outputs 30Hz video, which I assume is the native framerate of Hulu's video encodes.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6662 of 7350 Old 11-08-2014, 11:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 338 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Wow. Don't even bother watching Netflix in Chrome on the computer. As we all know it is restricted to 720p only but all the Disney content at best only gives you 480p content which looks like mud. Netflix should just get rid of PC playback and only make it that you can watch Netflix on the TV only as it is the stupid studios making these restrictions.

EarthLink Extreme powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
ASUS RT-N66W Router 374.43 (Merlin Build) 208.67.222.220, 8.8.4.4.
Toshiba 39L2300U (My Bedroom) - Amazon Fire TV, Apple TV, Sony BDPS5200, Sony PS4.
Toshiba 32RV530U (Living Room) - Amazon Fire TV, Sony PS3 Slim.
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
post #6663 of 7350 Old 11-08-2014, 12:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Conrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Martinez, CA, USA
Posts: 4,631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 453 Post(s)
Liked: 234
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
Thats it, the upper left corner.

I've used Netflix on a PS3, multiple sony stand alone players, roku's of many types, ATV, the Fire TV, 2 different Oppo players and 3 different Panasonic's, and NONE of them other than a Sony showed a popup, so it was an assumption.

Back to the original comment, I wish all devices allowed the same info by simply hitting the display button on a Sony remote. It is helpful info.


Speaking of features move devices should do, the Roku Stick (MHL) plugged into an Oppo 103 does 1080p/24 from Netflix. Sure wish other devices would get on these things. For a company who runs their app so tightly (Netflix), it is a shame that can't combine all these nice features into every device.
Are you getting the popup on the 1200 with Netflix? I tried it a couple times and didn't but maybe the player didn't see the command from the remote. I get it with files off the USB. The 1200 was also able to play Hulu+ ads in HD without choking like the Chromecast does. I think those ads are a separate stream and the title buffer is being filled while the ads play.
Brian Conrad is offline  
post #6664 of 7350 Old 11-08-2014, 12:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3,515
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 455 Post(s)
Liked: 476
Yes, I get it on the 1200. Watched some Dexter last night in the bedroom and it pops up fine.

Panasonic 65" VT50 / Oppo 103D
Marantz AV7702 / Outlaw Model 7500
Klipsch RF7II (2) and RC62II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Panamax MR5100
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #6665 of 7350 Old 11-08-2014, 02:10 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 18,864
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1639 Post(s)
Liked: 953
Quote:
Originally Posted by reddice View Post
Wow. Don't even bother watching Netflix in Chrome on the computer. As we all know it is restricted to 720p only but all the Disney content at best only gives you 480p content which looks like mud. Netflix should just get rid of PC playback and only make it that you can watch Netflix on the TV only as it is the stupid studios making these restrictions.
PC playback is there primarily for the benefit of people who want to watch on their laptops when they're away from home and/or a TV. Many of them probably don't care so much about resolution.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #6666 of 7350 Old 11-08-2014, 03:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 338 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Most PC viewing is close up so resolution matters. This is why I do very little PC viewing because the big studios restrict lower resolution playback. What are they afraid someone is going to copy a stream. Please.

EarthLink Extreme powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
ASUS RT-N66W Router 374.43 (Merlin Build) 208.67.222.220, 8.8.4.4.
Toshiba 39L2300U (My Bedroom) - Amazon Fire TV, Apple TV, Sony BDPS5200, Sony PS4.
Toshiba 32RV530U (Living Room) - Amazon Fire TV, Sony PS3 Slim.
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
post #6667 of 7350 Old 11-08-2014, 04:15 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 18,864
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1639 Post(s)
Liked: 953
The reason why PC resolution doesn't matter is that few people expect to get great streaming resolution on their small laptop screen.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #6668 of 7350 Old 11-08-2014, 07:44 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11,288
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1134 Post(s)
Liked: 608
Quote:
Originally Posted by reddice View Post
...What are they afraid someone is going to copy a stream
You nailed it. Same reason, HBO, Showtime, Hulu, DirecTV, Comcast, you name it, all look like crap on a PC and beautiful on a Rokku.
reddice likes this.
mdavej is offline  
post #6669 of 7350 Old 11-08-2014, 08:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mailiang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Springsteen Country
Posts: 7,184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 425 Post(s)
Liked: 398
Netflix 720p looks just fine on my 15'' Laptop. Though I rarely ever use it since a prefer watching movies on a bigger screen.


Ian

The best way to succeed in life is to act on the advice you give to others

mailiang is offline  
post #6670 of 7350 Old 11-09-2014, 01:39 AM
Member
 
passingbat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by reddice View Post
Netflix should just get rid of PC playback and only make it that you can watch Netflix on the TV only.

Just don't use it on a PC if you don't like it, but don't take options away from those who do have a use for it.
Gary J and mailiang like this.
passingbat is online now  
post #6671 of 7350 Old 11-09-2014, 08:25 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: New York City
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Netflix 2160 is back (Sony FMPX10 users take note)...

For us Sony FMPX10 Media Player users take note:
Netflix 2160 is back....
Just turned on Netflix on the FMPX10 and tried Ultra 4K programming and 2160 is back in all it's clarity and detail/sharpness. No longer does it say 2160SD. Now it just displays 2160 (neither SD nor HD is attached to it). And the difference to me is noticeable. I watched the Netflix 4K nature shorts "FLOWERS" and "DESERTS" and they look amazing (again). The 2160SD we all had for the last weeks was definitly less sharp then the original 2160HD. Some say it was the same and not to pay attention to the "lettering" after 2160 but I (and others) did notice a substantial difference. Now it's back where it belongs. Try it and let me know if the improvement is visable to you. It may not say 2160HD anymore..now it just says simply 2160 but the HD is apparently there (again)
aflorida is offline  
post #6672 of 7350 Old 11-09-2014, 08:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 338 Post(s)
Liked: 67
I don't think it would look less sharper 2160SD or 2160HD but now it just shows 2160. Most likely a placebo affect.
GGA likes this.

EarthLink Extreme powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
ASUS RT-N66W Router 374.43 (Merlin Build) 208.67.222.220, 8.8.4.4.
Toshiba 39L2300U (My Bedroom) - Amazon Fire TV, Apple TV, Sony BDPS5200, Sony PS4.
Toshiba 32RV530U (Living Room) - Amazon Fire TV, Sony PS3 Slim.
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
post #6673 of 7350 Old 11-09-2014, 11:42 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 18,864
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1639 Post(s)
Liked: 953
The whole freaking "1080 SD" and "2160 SD" were just bugs in a piece of undocumented, unsupported debug code. There are no such things as resolutions above 480p which are SD; all are HD by definition. People had convinced themselves that they were getting softer video when it said "1080 SD" or "2160 SD"; it's possible that they weren't getting the highest bit rate video encode but it was just a coincidence. I played "El Fuente: 60 MP10", a test clip with bit rate/resolution information printed on each of its constituent video encodes and it said "1080 SD" for 1080 res at either 4300- or 5800 Kbps on devices which max out at 1080 and "2160 SD" for all four 2160 res bit rates (8000-, 10000-, 12000- and 16000 Kbps).

I'd suggested in posts here that they remove the "SD" and "HD" from all resolutions and they finally did it. They were no doubt fielding too many idiotic service calls complaining about it .

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #6674 of 7350 Old 11-09-2014, 12:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 338 Post(s)
Liked: 67
They should add 1080p letter at the end.

EarthLink Extreme powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
ASUS RT-N66W Router 374.43 (Merlin Build) 208.67.222.220, 8.8.4.4.
Toshiba 39L2300U (My Bedroom) - Amazon Fire TV, Apple TV, Sony BDPS5200, Sony PS4.
Toshiba 32RV530U (Living Room) - Amazon Fire TV, Sony PS3 Slim.
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
post #6675 of 7350 Old 11-09-2014, 12:44 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 18,864
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1639 Post(s)
Liked: 953
Quote:
Originally Posted by reddice View Post
They should add 1080p letter at the end.

Why? It's all progressive, regardless of the resolution.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #6676 of 7350 Old 11-09-2014, 02:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Conrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Martinez, CA, USA
Posts: 4,631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 453 Post(s)
Liked: 234
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
Yes, I get it on the 1200. Watched some Dexter last night in the bedroom and it pops up fine.
Yes, I found it last night. I was looking for something like the old player display which is still there in an updated design for Amazon and for USB files. The display is in the upper left corner and I could see the ramp up from 240, 384, 480, 720 and finally to 1080. I miss the bitrate display though.
Brian Conrad is offline  
post #6677 of 7350 Old 11-09-2014, 08:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 338 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Netflix buffered on me watching a movie the last 14 minutes on the Fire TV but it was my Internet as it went out what I like though is that the buffer screen is better than the old UI where it just blacked out with a loading screen which would startle me.

EarthLink Extreme powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
ASUS RT-N66W Router 374.43 (Merlin Build) 208.67.222.220, 8.8.4.4.
Toshiba 39L2300U (My Bedroom) - Amazon Fire TV, Apple TV, Sony BDPS5200, Sony PS4.
Toshiba 32RV530U (Living Room) - Amazon Fire TV, Sony PS3 Slim.
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
post #6678 of 7350 Old 11-11-2014, 08:39 AM
Senior Member
 
9179mhb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 480
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 61
I find it hilarious (and good) to see that after settling their peering dispute w/Netflix, Verizon now tops their ISP Speed Index.
9179mhb is offline  
post #6679 of 7350 Old 11-11-2014, 09:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3,515
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 455 Post(s)
Liked: 476
I know since they settled with ATT in the spring and it got implemented in August, I get "1080" all the time with 6mbps DSL.

Glad it was worked out, not happy about how...

I actually dropped Netflix streaming for months because of it. Wasn't worth the money to get 384 or maybe 480 on a 65" display.

Panasonic 65" VT50 / Oppo 103D
Marantz AV7702 / Outlaw Model 7500
Klipsch RF7II (2) and RC62II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Panamax MR5100
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #6680 of 7350 Old 11-11-2014, 03:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 338 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Yep same here with TWC. Once Netflix payed extortion I did not have no more annoying dropouts to 720p and 480p like I had in June. Also looking at this months speed index it shows much improvement. I just wish I did not waste my money on newer streaming devices like the PS4 which before the extortion deal made little difference in reliable 1080p streaming.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2014-11-11_181919_cr.png
Views:	35
Size:	74.1 KB
ID:	362401  

EarthLink Extreme powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
ASUS RT-N66W Router 374.43 (Merlin Build) 208.67.222.220, 8.8.4.4.
Toshiba 39L2300U (My Bedroom) - Amazon Fire TV, Apple TV, Sony BDPS5200, Sony PS4.
Toshiba 32RV530U (Living Room) - Amazon Fire TV, Sony PS3 Slim.
Cats are the best pets.

Last edited by reddice; 11-11-2014 at 03:22 PM.
reddice is offline  
post #6681 of 7350 Old 11-12-2014, 06:57 AM
Senior Member
 
9179mhb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 480
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
I actually dropped Netflix streaming for months because of it. Wasn't worth the money to get 384 or maybe 480 on a 65" display.
I did the same also. I won't pay for (or watch) content that isn't presented in HD.

I am a self-professed wine snob too.

I see Verizon dropped its Redbox Instant service.
9179mhb is offline  
post #6682 of 7350 Old 11-12-2014, 09:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 338 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9179mhb View Post
I did the same also. I won't pay for (or watch) content that isn't presented in HD.
Also widescreen 16:9 content in SD looks way worse than anything. SD at 4:3 can look great though but of course that is what it is originally made for.

EarthLink Extreme powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
ASUS RT-N66W Router 374.43 (Merlin Build) 208.67.222.220, 8.8.4.4.
Toshiba 39L2300U (My Bedroom) - Amazon Fire TV, Apple TV, Sony BDPS5200, Sony PS4.
Toshiba 32RV530U (Living Room) - Amazon Fire TV, Sony PS3 Slim.
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
post #6683 of 7350 Old 11-12-2014, 09:46 AM
Senior Member
 
9179mhb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 480
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 61
I'm curious though to know why all HD Netflix content reports 1080... rather than Super HD... as it did before their peering dispute with Verizon?

More than likely the content is being streamed at the same bit rate as before but the conspiracy theorist in me wonders if something more nefarious is in play?
9179mhb is offline  
post #6684 of 7350 Old 11-12-2014, 09:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3,515
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 455 Post(s)
Liked: 476
They changed the reporting to 384, 480, 720 and 1080 to reduce confusion.

720p and SuperHD was kinda stupid anyways, when Super HD was just 1080p.

On my 40" it is real hard to tell 480 from 720, and on the 65" it is hard to tell 720 from 1080. 720/1080 looks good.

Panasonic 65" VT50 / Oppo 103D
Marantz AV7702 / Outlaw Model 7500
Klipsch RF7II (2) and RC62II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Panamax MR5100
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #6685 of 7350 Old 11-12-2014, 10:44 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 18,864
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1639 Post(s)
Liked: 953
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9179mhb View Post
I'm curious though to know why all HD Netflix content reports 1080... rather than Super HD... as it did before their peering dispute with Verizon?

More than likely the content is being streamed at the same bit rate as before but the conspiracy theorist in me wonders if something more nefarious is in play?

That display is undocumented, unsupported debug code, but so many people know about it at this point that it might as well be a feature. If available, it's bound to a remote key so many people who don't know about it might stumble upon it by chance. (Not all devices have a remote key to bring it up--for example, my Rokus and my Panasonic BDP don't). Occasionally there's a bug in it and being debug code fixing such a bug is bottom-of-the-barrel priority. That, however, doesn't stop people from complaining. There've been times when a bug caused it to say "1080 SD" instead of "1080 HD" (or "2160 SD" instead of "2160 HD" for 4K content on 4K devices). Of course, there's no such thing as a resolution 720x1280 and above which is "SD"; all such resolutions are HD by definition. But I'm sure that people called them and complained that they were no longer getting "1080 HD" (having convinced themselves that "1080 SD" was not as sharp ). I have no doubt that this is the reason why they removed the redundant SD and HD labels.

"Super HD" is an obsolete term. They never used it in the new common Netflix UI at all. It used to connote 1080p at 4300- and 5800 Kbps, as opposed to non-super 1080p at 3850 Kbps, but they've since eliminated the 3850 Kbps video encode. My devices with the old common Netflix UI still use the term. There are some titles which are 720p-only for which the descriptions would say only "HD" but there's no way to tell which they are in the new UI (in that picture in the last link you can see that "Daydream Nation" is 720p-only).

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #6686 of 7350 Old 11-12-2014, 10:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cardoski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Beyond The Wall.
Posts: 1,080
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Have been watching Season 6 of SOA and am pretty impressed with the quality, to me it appears 1080p. Most of what I watch is of good quality, but SOA is the best I have seen on Netflix. As i have stated earlier in this thread, I am in Canada and have extremely good INTERNET speeds. I use an OPPO 103 going to a JVC X500.

James Reid:D
cardoski is offline  
post #6687 of 7350 Old 11-12-2014, 12:12 PM
Senior Member
 
9179mhb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 480
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
On my 40" it is real hard to tell 480 from 720, and on the 65" it is hard to tell 720 from 1080. 720/1080 looks good.
I stopped watching all SD content years ago, but agree with your observations regarding 720p/1080i/p content all looking very good.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cardoski View Post
Have been watching Season 6 of SOA and am pretty impressed with the quality, to me it appears 1080p. Most of what I watch is of good quality, but SOA is the best I have seen on Netflix. As i have stated earlier in this thread, I am in Canada and have extremely good INTERNET speeds. I use an OPPO 103 going to a JVC X500.
I have recently discovered SOA and have been doing a Netflix binge-a-thon myself.

I'm receiving a solid 1080 video stream and while it looks very good I believe content produced well (e.g. The Walking Dead) still looks a wee-bit better w/FiOS TV.

I haven't rented any BDs for a long time but maybe I'll go to a Redbox kiosk someday and pick one up to see what I'm missing.
9179mhb is offline  
post #6688 of 7350 Old 11-12-2014, 12:47 PM
Senior Member
 
9179mhb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 480
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post
That display is undocumented, unsupported debug code, but so many people know about it at this point that it might as well be a feature. If available, it's bound to a remote key so many people who don't know about it might stumble upon it by chance. (Not all devices have a remote key to bring it up--for example, my Rokus and my Panasonic BDP don't). Occasionally there's a bug in it and being debug code fixing such a bug is bottom-of-the-barrel priority. That, however, doesn't stop people from complaining. There've been times when a bug caused it to say "1080 SD" instead of "1080 HD" (or "2160 SD" instead of "2160 HD" for 4K content on 4K devices). Of course, there's no such thing as a resolution 720x1280 and above which is "SD"; all such resolutions are HD by definition. But I'm sure that people called them and complained that they were no longer getting "1080 HD" (having convinced themselves that "1080 SD" was not as sharp ). I have no doubt that this is the reason why they removed the redundant SD and HD labels.

"Super HD" is an obsolete term. They never used it in the new common Netflix UI at all. It used to connote 1080p at 4300- and 5800 Kbps, as opposed to non-super 1080p at 3850 Kbps, but they've since eliminated the 3850 Kbps video encode. My devices with the old common Netflix UI still use the term. There are some titles which are 720p-only for which the descriptions would say only "HD" but there's no way to tell which they are in the new UI (in that picture in the last link you can see that "Daydream Nation" is 720p-only).
I'm a BIG fan of applying firmware updates to my devices when available so my Netflix UI is current for my (2) PS3s, but I'm not sure where my Samsung Netflix App stands. I'm receiving a solid 1080 stream w/Netflix & Verizon and the HD content from 10' - 12' looks good to me. Thanks for the clarification.

BTW... w/the HBO Go App the reported playback status is HD 5.1 DD.
9179mhb is offline  
post #6689 of 7350 Old 11-12-2014, 03:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Conrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Martinez, CA, USA
Posts: 4,631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 453 Post(s)
Liked: 234
Watching "Gallows Hill" last night it played in HD then I took a "pause for the cause" and the rest of the show only played in 480 which I thought was odd. I'll try a few minutes again tonight but I'm wondering if it being a new title (actually listed for today but Netflix sent an email yesterday about it) if there was a lot of demand so that is why it got stuck at 480.
Brian Conrad is offline  
post #6690 of 7350 Old 11-12-2014, 04:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mark12547's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Salem, Oregon, United States
Posts: 968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 279 Post(s)
Liked: 173
At one time when Netflix was relatively new to streaming it was common for the lower resolutions to come online first and while higher-resolution encodes were made available they would be placed online, so, for a number of titles, first day or two of it being available one would get only a low-resolution stream. The rationale was that everyone could view a low-resolution stream but higher-resolution streams would benefit fewer people.

Since then I suspect the whole process of creating streams had been totally revamped, and that wouldn't explain why you could get a higher resolution stream and, after a delay, could no longer get that resolution, though increasing pathway usage and server load could explain a lower resolution.

And, from what I had read, it looks like when certain titles and encodes for those titles become popular, during the graveyard shift Netflix will deploy copies of those encodes to more servers, especially to servers "closer" to the consumers of those encodes, but that is a bit more of a reactive action, so it doesn't benefit those watching the first evening the title is available, but should benefit those watching the second evening.

My very humble setup:
Man Cave:Vizio E500i-A1 "Smart TV" (50-in 1080p 120Hz LED/LCD, has Netflix app.), Sony BDP-S3100 Blu-ray player, Roku N1000 (original model), PC (Windows 7), Comcast Internet (120Mbps/12Mbps).
Bedroom:LG 32LV3400-UA TV (32-in 768p 60Hz LED/LCD), HD DVR (Motorola RNG200N), Xfinity Comcast cable (Digital Preferred Plus), DVD/VHS player.
Mark12547 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Video Download Services & Hardware

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off