Netflix streaming quality - Page 225 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 171Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6721 of 6725 Old 11-22-2014, 08:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mailiang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Springsteen Country
Posts: 6,867
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 252 Post(s)
Liked: 349
Well they finally removed 'Super' in the HD designation on my Panasonic S60 TV. Still haven't removed the 'SD' when showing the 1080p format when I check the streaming info.


Ian

The best way to succeed in life is to act on the advice you give to others

mailiang is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6722 of 6725 Old 11-22-2014, 02:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Conrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Martinez, CA, USA
Posts: 4,222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 223 Post(s)
Liked: 164
I picked up a TP-Link range extender at Fry's yesterday since it was on sale and worth the risk to see if it could help my Chromecast with the low power U-Verse router. Setup was no problem but by itself it didn't want to connect so I checked and they had blown the firmware when set for the US so I updated it and it worked. Seemed to help the Chromecast but it still looses connections with the phone app. It'll mainly be used for services not I don't have on the Ethernet connected Sony S1200.

Speaking of the latter I decided to watch the first episode of Lilyhammer season 3 and guess everyone must've been jumping on it as I got a grainy 1080 playback which must be the lower bitrate one.
Brian Conrad is offline  
post #6723 of 6725 Old 11-22-2014, 04:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mailiang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Springsteen Country
Posts: 6,867
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 252 Post(s)
Liked: 349
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Conrad View Post
I picked up a TP-Link range extender at Fry's yesterday since it was on sale and worth the risk to see if it could help my Chromecast with the low power U-Verse router. Setup was no problem but by itself it didn't want to connect so I checked and they had blown the firmware when set for the US so I updated it and it worked. Seemed to help the Chromecast but it still looses connections with the phone app. It'll mainly be used for services not I don't have on the Ethernet connected Sony S1200.
You would think they would set up their system so you could use your own equipment. With Cablevision I'm using my own router and I also have the option to supply my own modem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Conrad View Post
Speaking of the latter I decided to watch the first episode of Lilyhammer season 3 and guess everyone must've been jumping on it as I got a grainy 1080 playback which must be the lower bitrate one.
Of course everyone was jumping on it, the star of the show is from Jersey!


Ian

The best way to succeed in life is to act on the advice you give to others

mailiang is offline  
post #6724 of 6725 Old 11-23-2014, 02:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Conrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Martinez, CA, USA
Posts: 4,222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 223 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by mailiang View Post
You would think they would set up their system so you could use your own equipment. With Cablevision I'm using my own router and I also have the option to supply my own modem.
Ian
I have their phone too so that requires one of their gateways with the phone out. Also from what I learned from the tech a regular router may not work if you have U-Verse broadband. However I talked to someone last week who has U-Verse and they were able to trade in their gateway for a more powerful one from AT&T because the old one didn't reach the whole house. And remember I may have another option shortly so I'm holding off doing anything rash at the moment and the extender was only $23.
Brian Conrad is offline  
post #6725 of 6725 Old Yesterday, 02:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Conrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Martinez, CA, USA
Posts: 4,222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 223 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Anyone watching "Lilyhammer" season 3 notice that the subtitles on the Norwegian are often as much as 2 seconds behind? I reported it to Netflix.
Brian Conrad is offline  
post #6726 of 6725 Old Yesterday, 03:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,648
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 97
They are precisely on time for me. I can tell when they switch between Norwegian and English like at the beginning of Ep. 5.
Gary J is online now  
post #6727 of 6725 Old Today, 12:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Conrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Martinez, CA, USA
Posts: 4,222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 223 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Which makes me wonder if it is a problem with my BD player.
Brian Conrad is offline  
Reply Video Download Services & Hardware

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off