Netflix streaming quality - Page 270 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 448Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8071 of 8093 Old 02-04-2016, 10:07 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Seattle, WA USA
Posts: 396
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 223 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by reddice View Post
Link still does not work.
Try a DNS-proof link. If this works, then your DNS server/cache is bogus.
kitti is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8072 of 8093 Old 02-04-2016, 10:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,533
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 499 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by kitti View Post
Try a DNS-proof link. If this works, then your DNS server/cache is bogus.
Link works. Even the old link now works too.

EarthLink Extreme powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
Netgear R7000 - DD-WRT v3.0-r29020M (02/04/16) using OpenDNS.
Toshiba 39L2300U - Apple TV 4 (2015), Fire TV (2015), PS4 (2013), Roku 2 (2015).
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
post #8073 of 8093 Old 02-05-2016, 09:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mailiang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Springsteen Country
Posts: 7,689
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 652 Post(s)
Liked: 480
Lightbulb No More 1080 SD

They finally changed 1080 SD to HD on the older UI!


Ian

The best way to succeed in life is to act on the advice you give to others

mailiang is offline  
post #8074 of 8093 Old 02-07-2016, 05:02 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Still looking for maybe a test file like example short 23.976 to see if I can get the 7500 kbs encodes on all my devices if anyone sees one would appreciate a link. Maybe my old sony blu-ray htib can maybe get access to these though I doubt it since it couldnt get the 5800 kbps encodes
AaronY is offline  
post #8075 of 8093 Old 02-07-2016, 10:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Murilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 4,792
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Dont know if this is the proper place or where to ask, my router is right beside my tv, and I am thinking of getting a 4k tv, has anyone streamed netflix 4k content over wireless with a good signal and has it worked reliably?

Thank you in advance.
Murilo is offline  
post #8076 of 8093 Old 02-07-2016, 11:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
maddog510's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fairfield, CA
Posts: 685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 180 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Murilo View Post
Dont know if this is the proper place or where to ask, my router is right beside my tv, and I am thinking of getting a 4k tv, has anyone streamed netflix 4k content over wireless with a good signal and has it worked reliably?

Thank you in advance.
It would be OK with an AC router. Not so sure about N.
maddog510 is offline  
post #8077 of 8093 Old 02-08-2016, 01:48 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 21,672
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2206 Post(s)
Liked: 1179
Quote:
Originally Posted by AaronY View Post
Still looking for maybe a test file like example short 23.976 to see if I can get the 7500 kbs encodes on all my devices if anyone sees one would appreciate a link. Maybe my old sony blu-ray htib can maybe get access to these though I doubt it since it couldnt get the 5800 kbps encodes

I haven't run across an example clip which uses an alternative bit rate ladder. If your device can display resolution, watch Season 1, Episode 1 of The 100; the only 1080p encode is at 7500 Kbps. At least that's true for the Win10 app and Edge on Win10.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #8078 of 8093 Old 02-08-2016, 06:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 255 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by Murilo View Post
Dont know if this is the proper place or where to ask, my router is right beside my tv, and I am thinking of getting a 4k tv, has anyone streamed netflix 4k content over wireless with a good signal and has it worked reliably?

Thank you in advance.
I've tested with both Wi-Fi (802.11N) and Ethernet. Since the TV only has Fast Ethernet (100 BaseT), the Wi-Fi, even at .N speed, is faster than wired. Of course, with wired you don't have to worry about interference. I have streamed Netflix, Amazon and YouTube 4K, and they are fine either way. The highest bitrate I've seen streaming was over YouTube, where I saw a little over 40 Mbps. Netflix tops out at about 12 Mbps, and I haven't seen a measurement using Amazon. My router doesn't show speed, so I have to rely on the apps themselves, or as with Netflix, playing a test stream that displays real-time status. As an FYI, my wired network is gigabit.

Samsung JU7100 4K TV, home media server using Serviio and 18TB of movies/TV shows.
atc98092 is offline  
post #8079 of 8093 Old 02-08-2016, 11:04 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 21,672
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2206 Post(s)
Liked: 1179
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
The highest bitrate I've seen streaming was over YouTube, where I saw a little over 40 Mbps. Netflix tops out at about 12 Mbps...

Netflix's highest quality 4K encode is at 16 Mbps, with additional encodes at 8-, 10- and 12 Mbps. Play "El Fuente: 60 main10" and you can see the bit rate of the highest quality 2160p encode that you're receiving.

You actually saw a sustained 40 Mbps from YouTube? As in, looking at a graph of consumption it was flat 40 Mbps for the entire time? This would surprise me, as YouTube suggests submission of 2160p at 35-40 Mbps and would certainly re-encode and reduce the bit rate of that.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill

Last edited by michaeltscott; 02-08-2016 at 11:08 AM.
michaeltscott is online now  
post #8080 of 8093 Old 02-08-2016, 12:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 255 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post
Netflix's highest quality 4K encode is at 16 Mbps, with additional encodes at 8-, 10- and 12 Mbps. Play "El Fuente: 60 main10" and you can see the bit rate of the highest quality 2160p encode that you're receiving.

You actually saw a sustained 40 Mbps from YouTube? As in, looking at a graph of consumption it was flat 40 Mbps for the entire time? This would surprise me, as YouTube suggests submission of 2160p at 35-40 Mbps and would certainly re-encode and reduce the bit rate of that.
With my issues with CenturyLink, I count my blessings to see 12M Nice to know they have some even higher.

On my Samsung TV, it graphs the actual bitrate being received. My Roku 4 only shows the current bitrate. While watching a 4K video of London, I watched it continue to climb, peaking around 41-42 Mbps. It held there as long as I was watching. I have to say I haven't seen it quite that high recently, although right now I can't get the video information screen to open on either my Roku or Samsung. I enable it in the menu, but it doesn't show.

Samsung JU7100 4K TV, home media server using Serviio and 18TB of movies/TV shows.
atc98092 is offline  
post #8081 of 8093 Old 02-08-2016, 01:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Conrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Martinez, CA, USA
Posts: 5,491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 965 Post(s)
Liked: 405
Sometime early last night, probably right as the Super Bowl ended and while I was working on a project Internet dependent my broadband went out. I waited about a half hour even rebooted the U-Verse gateway and it didn't want to come up. So I called on cellphone (not ATT) and got the ATT robot, hit "0" and got tech support to have them check if there was an outage. They checked and said there seemed to be a problem but evaded whether it was in their system and instead wanted to send out a truck this morning. Checking again around 11 PM the gateway was back to normal and this morning I canceled the repair call.

I think that the problem was people now en masse hitting the Internet to watch something streaming and probably bringing down systems in some areas. In fact checking an online site showed this happened in an number of areas with ATT. They really need to build out more.
Brian Conrad is offline  
post #8082 of 8093 Old 02-08-2016, 01:46 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 30,528
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1634 Post(s)
Liked: 1252
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Conrad View Post
Sometime early last night, probably right as the Super Bowl ended and while I was working on a project Internet dependent my broadband went out. I waited about a half hour even rebooted the U-Verse gateway and it didn't want to come up. So I called on cellphone (not ATT) and got the ATT robot, hit "0" and got tech support to have them check if there was an outage. They checked and said there seemed to be a problem but evaded whether it was in their system and instead wanted to send out a truck this morning. Checking again around 11 PM the gateway was back to normal and this morning I canceled the repair call.

I think that the problem was people now en masse hitting the Internet to watch something streaming and probably bringing down systems in some areas. In fact checking an online site showed this happened in an number of areas with ATT. They really need to build out more.
That's always been the knock with AT&T, they always talk about their fabulous network and how they're even building it out more but it never really seems to happen. The joke is that when AT&T talks about FTTP(fiber to the premise) rollouts it really means FTTPress, lots of PR about it but nothing ever seems to happen.
Keenan is offline  
post #8083 of 8093 Old 02-08-2016, 03:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Conrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Martinez, CA, USA
Posts: 5,491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 965 Post(s)
Liked: 405
As far as I can tell I have fiber to pole. They took out the POTS line about 3-4 years ago.
Brian Conrad is offline  
post #8084 of 8093 Old 02-08-2016, 04:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mailiang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Springsteen Country
Posts: 7,689
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 652 Post(s)
Liked: 480
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Conrad View Post
As far as I can tell I have fiber to pole. They took out the POTS line about 3-4 years ago.
These are the only line of pots I have.




Ian

The best way to succeed in life is to act on the advice you give to others

mailiang is offline  
post #8085 of 8093 Old 02-08-2016, 04:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Westly-C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Techno World
Posts: 3,388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 259 Post(s)
Liked: 152
He'll be here all week....
azz7686 likes this.

Dazed and confused over high tech.

Sigh...Concrap. The Internet Overlord Cometh
They're not com-tastic!
Westly-C is online now  
post #8086 of 8093 Old Yesterday, 01:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Conrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Martinez, CA, USA
Posts: 5,491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 965 Post(s)
Liked: 405
Quote:
Originally Posted by mailiang View Post
These are the only line of pots I have.




Ian
You mean you've never had copper to receiver?
Brian Conrad is offline  
post #8087 of 8093 Old Yesterday, 01:14 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
gwsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 15,983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1102 Post(s)
Liked: 1182
Quote:
Originally Posted by Westly-C View Post
He'll be here all week....
Try the veal.
gwsat is offline  
post #8088 of 8093 Old Today, 05:46 PM
Senior Member
 
jinj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: PNW
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Been watching Netflix recently (in the daytime, so Centurylink isn't limiting the speeds).

It seems as most of the films/tv I'm watching just look washed out, even though they in 1080, they just look ... bad.

Has something changed?
jinj is offline  
post #8089 of 8093 Old Today, 05:46 PM
Senior Member
 
jinj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: PNW
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Been watching Netflix recently (in the daytime, so Centurylink isn't limiting the speeds).

It seems as most of the films/tv I'm watching just look washed out, even though they in 1080, they just look ... bad.

Has something changed?
jinj is offline  
post #8090 of 8093 Old Today, 05:48 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 21,672
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2206 Post(s)
Liked: 1179
Quote:
Originally Posted by jinj View Post
Been watching Netflix recently (in the daytime, so Centurylink isn't limiting the speeds).

It seems as most of the films/tv I'm watching just look washed out, even though they in 1080, they just look ... bad.

Has something changed?

Could be unsuccessful tinkering with the bit rate ladders. What titles have you noticed looked "washed out" and what platform were you watching on?

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #8091 of 8093 Old Today, 06:05 PM
Senior Member
 
jinj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: PNW
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post
Could be unsuccessful tinkering with the bit rate ladders. What titles have you noticed looked "washed out" and what platform were you watching on?
Roku3
The Diabolical [film]
3rd Rock from the sun, S3:E17

I looked on my pfsense router, and the bit rate was hovering around 5Mbps all the way up to 14 Mbps.
jinj is offline  
post #8092 of 8093 Old Today, 06:44 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 21,672
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2206 Post(s)
Liked: 1179
Quote:
Originally Posted by jinj View Post
Roku3
The Diabolical [film]
3rd Rock from the sun, S3:E17

I looked on my pfsense router, and the bit rate was hovering around 5Mbps all the way up to 14 Mbps.

The Diabolical does have a funky bit rate ladder (110-, 140-, 210-, 320-, 440-, 620-, 1100-, 1690- and 3010 Mbps, where the last one is 1080p). It was okay looking in the Win10 app, though certainly not noteworthy. Seems like a low-budget production. That episode of 3rd Rock was encoded with the standard bit rate ladder (235-, 375-, 560-, 750-, 1050-, 1750-, 2350-, 3000-, 4300- and 5800 Kbps); not very sharp but it's 20-year-old pre-HDTV stuff; cut it some slack.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #8093 of 8093 Old Today, 08:40 PM
Senior Member
 
jinj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: PNW
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Thanks for checking those out.
jinj is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Video Download Services & Hardware



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off