Netflix streaming quality - Page 277 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 528Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-26-2016, 06:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Dude111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,361
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 475
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Conrad
Oh yeah, a PS3. Sony probably has forgotten it exists. Don't know know you're supposed to get a new game console every two years?
 
Yup its sad how greedy they have become isnt it??

Atari worked with ALL THIER GAMES (Atari 7800 worked with all games before it (5200,2600))
Dude111 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-26-2016, 02:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Conrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Martinez, CA, USA
Posts: 6,185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1330 Post(s)
Liked: 661
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dude111 View Post
Yup its sad how greedy they have become isnt it??

Atari worked with ALL THIER GAMES (Atari 7800 worked with all games before it (5200,2600))
CEOs become afraid stockholders will demand it. When you become a publicly held company you lose control and work for the stockholder's and analysts. The customers be damned.
Brian Conrad is offline  
Old 06-26-2016, 02:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 8,227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 391 Post(s)
Liked: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Conrad View Post
CEOs become afraid stockholders will demand it. When you become a publicly held company you lose control and work for the stockholder's and analysts. The customers be damned.
Do you mean like perhaps the most successful company of this century, Amazon, who has made customer service a priority over even earnings?

http://www.ripenecommerce.com/blog/a...stomer-service
Gary J is offline  
Old 06-26-2016, 03:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Conrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Martinez, CA, USA
Posts: 6,185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1330 Post(s)
Liked: 661
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post
Do you mean like perhaps the most successful company of this century, Amazon, who has made customer service a priority over even earnings?

http://www.ripenecommerce.com/blog/a...stomer-service
The one which you have a lot of holdings in?
Brian Conrad is offline  
Old 06-26-2016, 03:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 8,227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 391 Post(s)
Liked: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Conrad View Post
The one which you have a lot of holdings in?
Yes an s-load. But that is a bit besides the point of the rebuttal of a silly statement lacking business sense.
Gary J is offline  
Old 06-26-2016, 06:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Conrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Martinez, CA, USA
Posts: 6,185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1330 Post(s)
Liked: 661
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post
Yes an s-load. But that is a bit besides the point of the rebuttal of a silly statement lacking business sense.
I'm sure that folks here are as surprised as I am that Amazon developed and manufactured the PS3. I always thought it was Sony.

BTW, have you ever helped with taking a company public?
Brian Conrad is offline  
Old 06-26-2016, 09:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mailiang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Springsteen Country
Posts: 7,991
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 798 Post(s)
Liked: 564
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post
Yes an s-load. But that is a bit besides the point of the rebuttal of a silly statement lacking business sense.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Conrad View Post
I'm sure that folks here are as surprised as I am that Amazon developed and manufactured the PS3. I always thought it was Sony.

BTW, have you ever helped with taking a company public?


Let's Get Ready To Rum....ble!


Ian
Brian Conrad likes this.

The best way to succeed in life is to act on the advice you give to others

mailiang is offline  
Old 06-28-2016, 01:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Conrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Martinez, CA, USA
Posts: 6,185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1330 Post(s)
Liked: 661
Checking my U-Verse bill which now lists the data usage I used 168 GB (600 GB is the cap) last billing period. Definitely a sign that the more efficient codecs are having their effects though that might not be a complete month being that they started tracking on May 26th. I'll see next month.
Brian Conrad is offline  
Old 07-02-2016, 02:56 PM
Senior Member
 
DRC72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Greater Hartford, CT
Posts: 348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Netflix streaming quality

Quote:
Originally Posted by JP32 View Post
Yeah, but the only problem is they DIDN'T forget it exists, and instead updated it to disable DD+.


I just updated my PS3 today, and I can confirm Dolby Digital Plus has been disabled. I'm only getting Dolby Digital now. My Sony BDP 7200 will still play back in DD+. Anybody have any idea why it's been disabled on the PS3?
JP32 likes this.
DRC72 is offline  
Old 07-06-2016, 08:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 818
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 449 Post(s)
Liked: 165
I don't think there's any way you can influence what stream Netflix will send to you. It all depends on how they've encoded the media at their end and what they determine they can send across the Internet.

I did a quick search and it seems that all Netflix audio is no higher than 192 Kbps.

Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Yamaha RX-V679, Windows 10 home media server with Serviio and Plex, 18TB of movies/TV shows.
atc98092 is offline  
Old 07-06-2016, 09:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mailiang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Springsteen Country
Posts: 7,991
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 798 Post(s)
Liked: 564
Does your PC support Dolby Digital 5.1 audio? My Lenovo laptop does and I haven't experienced any issues receiving Dolby surround sound when streaming Netflix or Amazon videos.

Ian

The best way to succeed in life is to act on the advice you give to others

mailiang is offline  
Old 07-06-2016, 10:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 818
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 449 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by JesWhite View Post
i saw some devices allow 5.1 dolby digital audio etc..
but i dont know how can i capture.
maybe i need capture card to record...
i dont know how can i detect to netflix..
and there is a problem i dont know how can i download.
is there a way to get 5.1 audio from pc connection or not?
only pc is 192kbps.
but i dont know maybe if i connect pc to smart tv etc..with hdmi and set pc default sound device to hdmi, netflix detect sound device 5.1 640 audio
but i dont know.
maybe someone know.
i dont have smart tv because of i cant try it.
but if i know i will try somewhere.
It isn't legal to capture the Netflix stream, but I know there is software that will do so. I have no idea what it is.

Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Yamaha RX-V679, Windows 10 home media server with Serviio and Plex, 18TB of movies/TV shows.
atc98092 is offline  
Old 07-06-2016, 12:52 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
gwsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 17,122
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1797 Post(s)
Liked: 1945
I mostly enjoy Netflix and appreciate its service but one thing they do makes me crazy. For reasons that pass my understanding, they zoom the old pre widescreen 4:3 films to 16:9 in order to avoid pillar boxes. While this eliminates pillar boxes, it cuts off the top and bottom portion of the picture. Yuk! My most recent bad experiences with Netflix on this score were Gentlemen Prefer Blondes and Roman Holiday. Check them out and you'll see what I mean.
gwsat is offline  
Old 07-06-2016, 03:01 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 22,352
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2559 Post(s)
Liked: 1355
Netflix titles have 4 potential audio tracks, stereo in 64- and 96 Kbps HE-AAC, 5.1 surround in 192 Kbps Dolby Digital Plus and 384 Kbps basic DD. On PCs most browsers get the 64 Kbps stereo (I'd guess that portable media device apps get that as well). Edge and IE11 get 96 Kbps stereo and I'd guess that the Windows Netflix app gets that if your PC is incapable of 5.1 output. If your PC can output 5.1 (HDMI only) then the Win app gets the 192 Kbps DD+ 5.1 track. Almost all stationary streamers get the 192 Kbps DD track (for titles with surround sound when attached to devices which can handle it). The exception is Apple TV, which for some reason gets 384 Kbps DD. Some can receive DD+ and convert it to basic DD, but it will be inferior to the basic DD track that ATVs receive.

Netflix introduced DD+ audio encoded at 384 Kbps, but after Dolby announced that they'd made their DD+ encoder twice as efficient, Netflix cut that in half. They store and transmit such a humongous amount of video that every bit they can save counts.
aaronwt likes this.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
Old 07-07-2016, 05:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 818
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 449 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by JesWhite View Post
i saw somewhere netflix allow this year to download movies.
but i dont know.
maybe like itunes.
i cant pm you.
There has been talk about Netflix allowing off-line viewing, but I don't think it's happened yet. Not sure why you can't PM, although it might be a forum limitation for new members. I've seen that on other forums where some actions are not permitted until you've been a member for so many days or posted so many times.

Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Yamaha RX-V679, Windows 10 home media server with Serviio and Plex, 18TB of movies/TV shows.
atc98092 is offline  
Old 07-07-2016, 07:23 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 28,989
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4771 Post(s)
Liked: 2808
Quote:
Originally Posted by JesWhite View Post
i decoded 192kbps 6ch audio and i saw really 5.1
What are you saying? 5.1 is six channel audio.

53TB unRAID2--41TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
Sony 65x850C--Samsung UBD-K8500--Sony HT-NT3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
Old 07-07-2016, 07:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 818
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 449 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by JesWhite View Post
because there is a limit to send pm to another users i'm newbie.
I'm confused.
your tv allow dolby digital plus or dolby digital?
which sound is better?
dolby digital plus is newer but i saw 384kbps dd+ and another 640kbps dd...
which is the best quality?
i look at bitrate i will say 640 but dolby digital plus is newer becuase uf i'm confused.
which quality are you watching?
No TV to my knowledge offers DD+, only standard Dolby Digital. From what has been listed here, as well as other sites I've read, DD+ is a more efficient codec than standard DD, so they send it at a lower bitstream rate. However, to my knowledge it still isn't sent out of the TV via the optical connection. It isn't a bandwidth issue, so it must be the cost of adding an additional decoder to the TV hardware/firmware.

I've never noticed higher quality audio from DD+ vs. DD, but perhaps someone with a higher quality sound system might. You have to move into the HD audio streams (Dolby TrueHD and DTS Master Audio) to really notice an improved audio experience.

Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Yamaha RX-V679, Windows 10 home media server with Serviio and Plex, 18TB of movies/TV shows.
atc98092 is offline  
Old 07-07-2016, 08:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 818
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 449 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by JesWhite View Post
have you got capture card?
Yes, but it doesn't capture the computer screen. I can only capture video from external devices, which I am using to convert a whole lot of VHS tapes into video files.

Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Yamaha RX-V679, Windows 10 home media server with Serviio and Plex, 18TB of movies/TV shows.
atc98092 is offline  
Old 07-07-2016, 09:07 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 22,352
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2559 Post(s)
Liked: 1355
What your streamer sends to your device over HDMI depends upon what that device's stated capabilities are; it obtains a structure from the device called E-EDID, a description of the device's capabilities. Some TVs will claim to be able to handle DD and DD+ 5.1 because they can decode it for output over internal speakers and pass it on to a connected device (AVR, sound bar) via S/PDIF or ARC (to send DD+ back in that fashion, it has to convert it to basic DD).

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
Old 07-07-2016, 09:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mr.G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sconi
Posts: 4,637
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 580 Post(s)
Liked: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post

I've never noticed higher quality audio from DD+ vs. DD, but perhaps someone with a higher quality sound system might. You have to move into the HD audio streams (Dolby TrueHD and DTS Master Audio) to really notice an improved audio experience.
I'd have to agree. I've watched/listened to several Netflix movies using both my Roku 3 (DD+ 5.1) and Apple TV 3 (DD 5.1). Truthfully I couldn't tell the difference audio-wise. With these low bitrates I don't think it matters if it's a high end audio system or not. But as you say once you move into the Blu-ray HD audio streams the difference becomes more noticeable. Someone obsessing over one Kbps stream over another seems trivial.

All I Really Need to Know I Learned in Kindergarten Movies
Mr.G is offline  
Old 07-07-2016, 09:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 7,467
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 632 Post(s)
Liked: 2099
Well after years of ADSL torture, and even Sat internet, Mediacom finally trenched our hood and I got on this:



I feel like Im out of the stone ages being able to ramp to 1080p/2160 in seconds not minutes and not having to worry about a cap.
aaronwt and kitti like this.

65" EF9500 / Xbox One S
AV7702 MKII / Model 7125
Klipsch stuff and Rythmik stuff
gadgtfreek is offline  
Old 07-07-2016, 10:26 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
Yes, but it doesn't capture the computer screen. I can only capture video from external devices, which I am using to convert a whole lot of VHS tapes into video files.
VHS woww )
capture tv too
it is very nice .
i want to buy a new.
which model is yours ?
JesWhite is offline  
Old 07-07-2016, 10:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 818
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 449 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
Well after years of ADSL torture, and even Sat internet, Mediacom finally trenched our hood and I got on this:



I feel like Im out of the stone ages being able to ramp to 1080p/2160 in seconds not minutes and not having to worry about a cap.
I'm jealous Although with CenturyLink I have 50 Mbps down and 5 Mbps up DSL that is pretty stable. However, I still have Netflix issues that CL has traced to someone outside their internet access point. Even with my speeds, I still wait a long time for 2160, if it ever comes...

Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Yamaha RX-V679, Windows 10 home media server with Serviio and Plex, 18TB of movies/TV shows.
atc98092 is offline  
Old 07-07-2016, 10:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 818
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 449 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by JesWhite View Post
VHS woww )
capture tv too
it is very nice .
i want to buy a new.
which model is yours ?
My capture "card" is actually an external USB connected device. I believe it was from Pinnacle. It only supports composite/component video and stereo audio, so not valuable at all for higher resolutions, and has no way to capture anything from a TV. I only bought it to archive all my VHS tapes from my kids growing up.

Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Yamaha RX-V679, Windows 10 home media server with Serviio and Plex, 18TB of movies/TV shows.
atc98092 is offline  
Old 07-07-2016, 10:56 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
My capture "card" is actually an external USB connected device. I believe it was from Pinnacle. It only supports composite/component video and stereo audio, so not valuable at all for higher resolutions, and has no way to capture anything from a TV. I only bought it to archive all my VHS tapes from my kids growing up.
i understood. your capture card is vhs capture card type.
JesWhite is offline  
Old 07-07-2016, 12:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Conrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Martinez, CA, USA
Posts: 6,185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1330 Post(s)
Liked: 661
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.G View Post
I'd have to agree. I've watched/listened to several Netflix movies using both my Roku 3 (DD+ 5.1) and Apple TV 3 (DD 5.1). Truthfully I couldn't tell the difference audio-wise. With these low bitrates I don't think it matters if it's a high end audio system or not. But as you say once you move into the Blu-ray HD audio streams the difference becomes more noticeable. Someone obsessing over one Kbps stream over another seems trivial.
Or VUDU HDX streams where I need to turn down the volume.
Brian Conrad is offline  
Old 07-09-2016, 08:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 7,467
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 632 Post(s)
Liked: 2099
Question for any of you using a newer Fire TV (UHD version). When watching Netflix UHD or HD, does it have the debug popup ability to see current resolution tier? I know some Android devices do not.

Thanks.

65" EF9500 / Xbox One S
AV7702 MKII / Model 7125
Klipsch stuff and Rythmik stuff
gadgtfreek is offline  
Old 07-09-2016, 10:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mailiang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Springsteen Country
Posts: 7,991
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 798 Post(s)
Liked: 564
Post Broadband

Quote:
Originally Posted by JesWhite View Post
your connection is very nice ))
my speed is


Can I can assume you are using DSL? According to the FCC, a minimum of 25 Megs is required from your ISP for it to be qualified as broadband.


Ian

The best way to succeed in life is to act on the advice you give to others

mailiang is offline  
Old 07-09-2016, 10:44 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 28,989
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4771 Post(s)
Liked: 2808
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
Question for any of you using a newer Fire TV (UHD version). When watching Netflix UHD or HD, does it have the debug popup ability to see current resolution tier? I know some Android devices do not.

Thanks.
If it does I don't know how to access it. None of the buttons on the remote enabled it when I tried last weekend. I also realized that I won't be using my FireTV 4K for any Netflix content. It was easily the worst looking video from all of my 4K devices when I tested them out last weekend. It was the only one that didn't look right. It had banding in some scenes for some reason that my other six 4K devices didn't have with Netflix.
gadgtfreek likes this.

53TB unRAID2--41TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
Sony 65x850C--Samsung UBD-K8500--Sony HT-NT3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
Old 07-09-2016, 10:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mailiang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Springsteen Country
Posts: 7,991
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 798 Post(s)
Liked: 564
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
Well after years of ADSL torture, and even Sat internet, Mediacom finally trenched our hood and I got on this:



I feel like Im out of the stone ages being able to ramp to 1080p/2160 in seconds not minutes and not having to worry about a cap.
I'm on a 50 meg program, with Cablevision and my uploads are around 26 mbps. (My actual downloads are a bit higher then what I'm paying for). I have no data caps.

Ian

The best way to succeed in life is to act on the advice you give to others

mailiang is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off