Netflix streaming quality - Page 28 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 143Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #811 of 6399 Old 10-23-2010, 09:31 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 28,222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 384
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgkdragn View Post

Man, that 3% credit compensation for the outage is so generous .. I'm now going on vacation ..

Well, it is just about a day's worth of my monthly bill, and it was only for a few hours of downtime, I'd say it was fairly generous on their part.
Keenan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #812 of 6399 Old 10-23-2010, 12:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mproper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Palmyra, PA
Posts: 7,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgkdragn View Post

Man, that 3% credit compensation for the outage is so generous .. I'm now going on vacation ..

What were you expecting for a few hours of downtime? 50% (i.e. two weeks worth of compensation)?

By my calculations, if they were down 6 hours, that's about 0.8% of the month. So they are compensating you more than 3 times what you should expect.

Most companies wouldn't give you squat.
mproper is offline  
post #813 of 6399 Old 10-23-2010, 12:18 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mgkdragn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Illinois, East of St Louis
Posts: 10,642
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 204 Post(s)
Liked: 606
Humor always seems to draw out some of the best counter posts ..

Uncle Willie


Oddball: Why don't you knock it off with them negative waves? Why don't you dig how beautiful it is out here? Why don't you say something righteous and hopeful for a change?
mgkdragn is offline  
post #814 of 6399 Old 10-23-2010, 12:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Conrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Martinez, CA, USA
Posts: 3,994
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 115
I got an email on it too. In my case I had selected an SD offering last night which first said "this movie is not available watch instantly". Now I've seen that before so I just tried again and got a message about technical problems and I should contact Samsung support. Seen that one before too and tried again. Third time was a charm.
Brian Conrad is offline  
post #815 of 6399 Old 10-23-2010, 05:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
subavision212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 25
So that's why when I was watching Is Anyone in There the other night it stopped and said that this movie is not available to watch instantly. I waited about an hour tried it again and it played fine, though not in HD. Didn't get any emails, though.

subavision212 is offline  
post #816 of 6399 Old 10-30-2010, 12:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
b_scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 6,676
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 17
my PS3 randomly lost my login for Netflix and I had to enter it all in again one letter at a time. Most annoying thing ever. WTF?
b_scott is offline  
post #817 of 6399 Old 10-30-2010, 04:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mproper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Palmyra, PA
Posts: 7,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by b_scott View Post

my PS3 randomly lost my login for Netflix and I had to enter it all in again one letter at a time. Most annoying thing ever. WTF?

I was just coming here to complain about that. That's twice I've had to do that since it came out. And of course the keyboard thingy sucks. Was hoping it would at least give me a different app (instead of the sucky version I have) but nope.
mproper is offline  
post #818 of 6399 Old 10-30-2010, 07:30 PM
Member
 
cubiczee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by b_scott View Post

my PS3 randomly lost my login for Netflix and I had to enter it all in again one letter at a time. Most annoying thing ever. WTF?

Just happened to me for the first time.
cubiczee is offline  
post #819 of 6399 Old 10-30-2010, 09:18 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Great thing about the PS3 is it works with pretty much every bluetooth keyboard/mouse. Works fine with the Netflix app and makes searching a breeze.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #820 of 6399 Old 11-01-2010, 08:05 AM
Member
 
claw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by b_scott View Post

my PS3 randomly lost my login for Netflix and I had to enter it all in again one letter at a time. Most annoying thing ever. WTF?

Happened 3 times over the weekend. But instead of trying to type in my Netflix credentials, I closed the Netflix app and reopened it. Did not need to enter credentials.

Maybe some kind of timeout is occurring when the app has been running for extended period. Happened while I was watching both seasons of the BBC series Survivors.

I also thought perhaps it was a indication that a new version of the app was being downloaded - but I saw no difference in the UI after restarting.
claw is offline  
post #821 of 6399 Old 11-01-2010, 08:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
b_scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 6,676
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 17
thanks for the tip
b_scott is offline  
post #822 of 6399 Old 11-01-2010, 08:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
b_scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 6,676
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 17
FYI, from Netflixhelps on twitter:

"a download speed of at least 1.5Mbps, 3Mbps for DVD quality and 5Mbps for HD quality for the duration of a film. 8Mbps for 1080p on PS3"
b_scott is offline  
post #823 of 6399 Old 11-02-2010, 08:59 AM
Member
 
scionracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by b_scott View Post

FYI, from Netflixhelps on twitter:

"a download speed of at least 1.5Mbps, 3Mbps for DVD quality and 5Mbps for HD quality for the duration of a film. 8Mbps for 1080p on PS3"

Good info. Does anyone know if Netflix is using a different video codec now for the PS3 streams, or the same one as always?
scionracing is offline  
post #824 of 6399 Old 11-02-2010, 09:12 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mgkdragn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Illinois, East of St Louis
Posts: 10,642
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 204 Post(s)
Liked: 606
Quote:
Originally Posted by b_scott View Post

FYI, from Netflixhelps on twitter:

"a download speed of at least 1.5Mbps, 3Mbps for DVD quality and 5Mbps for HD quality for the duration of a film. 8Mbps for 1080p on PS3"

Maybe a bit conservative .. I stream HD at an average of 2.5mbps at my business with AT&T DSL .. at home, I can run two consecutive streams, one PS3 and one PC at an average of 10mbps on HD ..

As well, I find that during busy times on the Web, the stream will sometimes go in and out of HD during the buffering process ..

Uncle Willie


Oddball: Why don't you knock it off with them negative waves? Why don't you dig how beautiful it is out here? Why don't you say something righteous and hopeful for a change?
mgkdragn is offline  
post #825 of 6399 Old 11-02-2010, 09:53 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 16,646
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 307 Post(s)
Liked: 515
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgkdragn View Post

I stream HD at an average of 2.5mbps at my business with AT&T

According to the old "Encoding for streaming" Netflix blog entry, 2.5 Mbps is less than the supposed bit rate for the lower-quality HD stream; there are supposed to be 2.6 and 3.8 Mbps streams at 720p.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #826 of 6399 Old 11-02-2010, 09:55 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mgkdragn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Illinois, East of St Louis
Posts: 10,642
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 204 Post(s)
Liked: 606
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post

According to the old "Encoding for streaming" Netflix blog entry, 2.5 Mbps is less than the supposed bit rate for the lower-quality HD stream; there are supposed to be 2.6 and 3.8 Mbps streams at 720p.

Don't know what to tell you on that .. I'm getting it at that speed consistently .. unless my bandwidth meter is off base ..

Uncle Willie


Oddball: Why don't you knock it off with them negative waves? Why don't you dig how beautiful it is out here? Why don't you say something righteous and hopeful for a change?
mgkdragn is offline  
post #827 of 6399 Old 11-02-2010, 10:14 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 16,646
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 307 Post(s)
Liked: 515
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgkdragn View Post

Don't know what to tell you on that .. I'm getting it at that speed consistently .. unless my bandwidth meter is off base ..

Maybe. I also think that 2.6 Mbps is an average of a VBR rate--even if it were CBR, they'd require some amount of headroom to keep from constantly banging into bandwidth fluctuations and rebuffering. That's why they say 5 Mbps for HD, which is 31.6% headroom over the maximum 3.8 Mbps HD stream.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #828 of 6399 Old 11-02-2010, 10:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Wendell R. Breland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgkdragn View Post

unless my bandwidth meter is off base ..

Click here for info on bandwidth meters and why I believe they are useless.
Wendell R. Breland is offline  
post #829 of 6399 Old 11-02-2010, 10:44 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 28,222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 384
The bandwidth meter I use is very accurate. It will have nearly identical readings to what a browser download manager will read and it usually comes within 2% of what Comcast says I've used during the month. It also allows for differentiating between LAN traffic and Internet traffic. I'm quite happy with it.

If we're talking about speed tests, then the only one I trust is Shaper Probe, sample readout below. The 'shaping rate' is indicative of what I'll get most anytime day or night. I'm on Comcast's 12/2 service, recently dropped down from their 16/2 service and apparently they never re-provisioned my modem for the lower speed tier.

Quote:


DiffProbe beta release. October 2009. Build 1002.
Shaper Detection Module.

Connected to server 38.106.70.149.

Estimating capacity:
Upstream: 3494 Kbps.
Downstream: 24866 Kbps.

The measurement will take upto 2.5 minutes. Please wait.

Checking for traffic shapers:

Upstream: Burst size: 7006-7056 KB;
Shaping rate: 2128 Kbps.

Downstream: Burst size: 19924-20082 KB;
Shaping rate: 21242 Kbps.

For more information, visit: http://www.cc.gatech.edu/~partha/diffprobe

Keenan is offline  
post #830 of 6399 Old 11-02-2010, 01:13 PM
Newbie
 
chamburg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently upped our internet service to 12 Mbps. Have enjoyed HD quality content through netflix streaming since then. Except for last night and now into today. I am not able to stream netflix. My internet connection does not to be significantly different, and I am downloading podcasts through iTunes at the same fast rate.

Did the Canada xbox 360, Windows 7 Phones, etc. rollout of Netflix streaming slow down all of their servers.

Is anyone else experiencing the same thing?

Thanks
chamburg is offline  
post #831 of 6399 Old 11-02-2010, 01:14 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mgkdragn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Illinois, East of St Louis
Posts: 10,642
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 204 Post(s)
Liked: 606
I usually use CNET's meter .. just tried keenan's suggestion and they measure pretty close .. perhaps I'm actually getting a faster speed than the meter indicates .. now that's good news ..

Uncle Willie


Oddball: Why don't you knock it off with them negative waves? Why don't you dig how beautiful it is out here? Why don't you say something righteous and hopeful for a change?
mgkdragn is offline  
post #832 of 6399 Old 11-02-2010, 01:19 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mgkdragn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Illinois, East of St Louis
Posts: 10,642
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 204 Post(s)
Liked: 606
VUDU meter about the same as CNET and Shaper Probe

Uncle Willie


Oddball: Why don't you knock it off with them negative waves? Why don't you dig how beautiful it is out here? Why don't you say something righteous and hopeful for a change?
mgkdragn is offline  
post #833 of 6399 Old 11-02-2010, 03:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
undecided's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wendell R. Breland View Post

Click here for info on bandwidth meters and why I believe they are useless.

I find the Vudu Speed Test to be pretty good. It seems to be effectively doing what you recommend in the link - downloading a large file.

http://speedtest.vudu.com

Speedtest is a joke - I have had results of 20Mb/s from my ~5Mbps DSL (I wish)
undecided is offline  
post #834 of 6399 Old 11-02-2010, 03:21 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 28,222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 384
The problem with the Vudu test, or any Ookla-based speed test, of which there are many, is that they don't account for any initial boost such as Comcast's Powerboost feature which is only effective on the first 30-40mbs downloaded. After that, the available speed drops down to the actual provisioned speed, what ever that may be. That's why I like Shaper Probe so much, it shows you both numbers, the "powerboosted" number(which is what you see with an Ookla-based test) and the actual provisioned speed, which is what you'll get with a large file upload or download after the "boost" as long expired.
Keenan is offline  
post #835 of 6399 Old 11-02-2010, 04:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
undecided's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by keenan View Post

The problem with the Vudu test, or any Ookla-based speed test, of which there are many, is that they don't account for any initial boost such as Comcast's Powerboost feature which is only effective on the first 30-40mbs downloaded. After that, the available speed drops down to the actual provisioned speed, what ever that may be. That's why I like Shaper Probe so much, it shows you both numbers, the "powerboosted" number(which is what you see with an Ookla-based test) and the actual provisioned speed, which is what you'll get with a large file upload or download after the "boost" as long expired.

You know I don't see that with the Vudu test. Typically I see it start at a slighly lower number a gradually increase as the test runs. It seems to be consistant and matches well during the test with the (albeit approximate) network throughput I can see in task manager.

It also seems to corrrelate well with my actual download numbers on large files.

I'm on Verizon DSL - don't know if they are using anything similar to Comcast Powerboost.
undecided is offline  
post #836 of 6399 Old 11-02-2010, 05:28 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 28,222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 384
Quote:
Originally Posted by undecided View Post

You know I don't see that with the Vudu test. Typically I see it start at a slighly lower number a gradually increase as the test runs. It seems to be consistant and matches well during the test with the (albeit approximate) network throughput I can see in task manager.

It also seems to corrrelate well with my actual download numbers on large files.

I'm on Verizon DSL - don't know if they are using anything similar to Comcast Powerboost.

If there is no such feature with your provider, then of course my comments about it would not apply. I've don't recall ever seeing the feature with any DSL lines as they are low speed anyways, not enough bandwidth there to do any "boosting" with.
Keenan is offline  
post #837 of 6399 Old 11-02-2010, 11:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
undecided's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by keenan View Post

If there is no such feature with your provider, then of course my comments about it would not apply. I've don't recall ever seeing the feature with any DSL lines as they are low speed anyways, not enough bandwidth there to do any "boosting" with.

Well I tried Shaper Probe - it is reporting about 3 Mbps vs ~5Mbps on Vudu Speed Test etc.

I get HDX on Vudu and HD on Netflix - plus I am seeing the HD + 1080P light up on XBOX Zune downloads - so I am doubting the Shaper Probe number.

My DSL Connection is supposed to be 5Mbps and that seems to be what I get. Task Manager seems to confirm this.
undecided is offline  
post #838 of 6399 Old 11-03-2010, 01:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Wytchone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: LaPlace, La.
Posts: 4,589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by chamburg View Post

I recently upped our internet service to 12 Mbps. Have enjoyed HD quality content through netflix streaming since then. Except for last night and now into today. I am not able to stream netflix. My internet connection does not to be significantly different, and I am downloading podcasts through iTunes at the same fast rate.

Did the Canada xbox 360, Windows 7 Phones, etc. rollout of Netflix streaming slow down all of their servers.

Is anyone else experiencing the same thing?

Thanks

Blame Canada

On Sept. 22, Netflix began offering its streaming movie service in Canada. This was Netflix's first venture outside of the United States, and because the company wasn't offering its traditional DVD-by-mail plan to Canadians, its prospects seemed questionable. How many people would pay $7.99 per month (Canadian) for the chance to watch Superbad whenever they wanted?

"A lot, it turns out"
Wytchone is offline  
post #839 of 6399 Old 11-04-2010, 06:32 AM
Member
 
rocketwidget's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone have any idea when Netflix will add 5.1 sound and 1080p to the
Xbox 360, like they did with the PS3?
rocketwidget is offline  
post #840 of 6399 Old 11-05-2010, 09:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
tazz3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: East islip N.Y
Posts: 761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My friend told me that his PS3 streams Netflix better then his tivo.
i can get Netflix on my ps3 for a month free. it sounds cool.
also do u need a pc to pick a Netflix moive to play on blu-ray??
tazz3 is offline  
Reply Video Download Services & Hardware

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off