Is netflix ever going to offer HD streaming on the PC? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 32 Old 01-22-2009, 04:58 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
hindukid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
New to netflix but really like the streaming service. Couldn't understand why my tivo in the bedroom looked better streaming netflix over wireless G then my hardwired HTPC.

I measured the incoming content of various movies and shows that are supposedly HD coming to my HTPC and keep getting 1.3 mbps. Not close to HD. Tivo has full bars and says its an HD signal.

After googling a bunch I guess I am realizing that you can stream HD to just about any sort of netflix video device but for some reason can't do it to the PC. Seems strange to me as I would think the PC should be easiest for them to do.

So any idea when netflix might stream in HD to a PC. If never then I think it might be wise to invest in a roku or return my blu ray player while I still can and trade up to the netflix players.
hindukid is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 32 Old 01-28-2009, 08:33 AM
Member
 
speedklz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
As of right now there is no set date to stream HD to computers.. The actually say they see no need to persue that option at this time.

Rotting my brain one movie at a time!

Sony 55A3000

Sony 5100 BD

Mitsu 73837

speedklz is offline  
post #3 of 32 Old 01-28-2009, 08:42 AM
 
PSound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They are probably focusing their resources (including bandwidth) on trying to make the service a true consumer level offering. By limiting HD to set top devices, they are targeting those most likely to have it connected to their primary "TV".

You may want to look into getting an XBox 360 (even used) to get access to Netflix VOD. They you can resell it when BD players with Netflix VOD built-in are released later this year.
PSound is offline  
post #4 of 32 Old 01-28-2009, 11:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Everdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 4,278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Build your base. Build brand loyalty. Then go after the HD market which is only 7% of their rental base right now. You go after the 93% first.

Also, the new stimulus package should have over $6 billion for broadband infrastructure. We won't know for sure until it passes.
Everdog is offline  
post #5 of 32 Old 01-28-2009, 03:55 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
hindukid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not really that familiar with the X360. I did see that I can buy one on ebay with a broken dvd drive for under $50. Any reason this would not work.

Anybody know if a logitech harmoney remote will work on the X360. I would probably need to get an IR sensor I am guessing, but could I avoid the remote. I do have the remote and sensor for the old Xbox. Any chance those work.
hindukid is offline  
post #6 of 32 Old 01-29-2009, 06:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Everdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 4,278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hindukid View Post

Not really that familiar with the X360. I did see that I can buy one on ebay with a broken dvd drive for under $50. Any reason this would not work.

Anybody know if a logitech harmoney remote will work on the X360. I would probably need to get an IR sensor I am guessing, but could I avoid the remote. I do have the remote and sensor for the old Xbox. Any chance those work.

The old Xboxes used IR remotes and I thought only th e PS3 does not. I think there is even an Xbox Harmony remote.

As long as you do not want to play games and update firmware via the network port, you would not need a DVD drive. I would look for the arcade version that is cheap and does not have a hard drive too.
Everdog is offline  
post #7 of 32 Old 01-29-2009, 07:41 AM
Member
 
lassen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hindukid View Post

Not really that familiar with the X360. I did see that I can buy one on ebay with a broken dvd drive for under $50. Any reason this would not work.

XBox will also require an annual XBox Live Gold subscription ($50/yr, but often discounted) to stream Netflix. If you just want another Netflix streaming device, your original post about getting the Roku or upgrading your Blu-Ray player to Netflix compatible would be less costly over time.
lassen is offline  
post #8 of 32 Old 01-29-2009, 07:50 AM
 
PSound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The XBox 360 uses IR and can be controlled by the Harmony Remote. The device codes should already be up on their site.
PSound is offline  
post #9 of 32 Old 01-29-2009, 09:23 AM
Senior Member
 
hdnola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lassen View Post

XBox will also require an annual XBox Live Gold subscription ($50/yr, but often discounted) to stream Netflix. If you just want another Netflix streaming device, your original post about getting the Roku or upgrading your Blu-Ray player to Netflix compatible would be less costly over time.

and lets not forget less noisy
hdnola is offline  
post #10 of 32 Old 01-29-2009, 10:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Everdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 4,278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdnola View Post

and lets not forget less noisy

Than what? I had a 20GB PS3 (one of the first ones) and that sucker sounded like a jet engine!
That's not even a option though because Sony won't do Netflix.
Everdog is offline  
post #11 of 32 Old 01-29-2009, 11:43 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,219
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 514 Post(s)
Liked: 668
Quote:
Originally Posted by Everdog View Post

Than what? I had a 20GB PS3 (one of the first ones) and that sucker sounded like a jet engine!
That's not even a option though because Sony won't do Netflix.


Mine never sounded that bad but neither did the 360. The thing that made the most noise on the 360 is the DVD drive. Which isn't used for streaming so the 360 is not loud when streaming content.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is online now  
post #12 of 32 Old 01-29-2009, 09:57 PM
EJ
AVS Special Member
 
EJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Minot, ND
Posts: 2,779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Everdog View Post

Than what? I had a 20GB PS3 (one of the first ones) and that sucker sounded like a jet engine!
That's not even a option though because Sony won't do Netflix.

Checkout Playon that will allow streaming of netflix,hulu and others to your ps3. not hd, but I love it!

http://www.themediamall.com/playon

Former USSB uplink operator.
EJ is offline  
post #13 of 32 Old 01-30-2009, 05:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Everdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 4,278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by EJ View Post

Checkout Playon that will allow streaming of netflix,hulu and others to your ps3. not hd, but I love it!

http://www.themediamall.com/playon

Very interesting! I already use TVersity which is similar, but does not have access to Netflix and others. That would just add icing to my cake!
Everdog is offline  
post #14 of 32 Old 02-05-2009, 02:55 PM
Member
 
GG_Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The reason why you are not seeing HD content streamed to your PC is because the movie studios will not allow HD content to be stream over open IP to computers.

Tivos, Xboxes, and other closed STBs are ok for HD content.
GG_Guy is offline  
post #15 of 32 Old 02-05-2009, 03:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kevivoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,831
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by EJ View Post

Checkout Playon that will allow streaming of netflix,hulu and others to your ps3. not hd, but I love it!

http://www.themediamall.com/playon

Is this legit? I wonder if Sony will have a cow over this? I might give it a try since I want to see what Netflix has to offer relative to Vudu. Do they offer more or different titles?
kevivoe is offline  
post #16 of 32 Old 05-09-2009, 08:03 AM
Newbie
 
kc99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by EJ View Post
Checkout Playon that will allow streaming of netflix,hulu and others to your ps3. not hd, but I love it!

But still no HD or even 720p through PlayOn/PS3

kc
---
Motorola 6412 (x2)
Hitachi 36UDX10S
Sony STR-DE845
Kameleon URC9960
kc99 is offline  
post #17 of 32 Old 11-23-2009, 05:06 AM
Member
 
leckig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
any news on the HD streaming to PC? I was just going to start building HTPC but with no HD Netflix streaming its value drops like a brick.
leckig is offline  
post #18 of 32 Old 11-23-2009, 06:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mproper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Palmyra, PA
Posts: 7,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I haven't heard anything. Best thing to do would get a device (if you're building an HTPC, $100 for a Roku is not that much)
mproper is offline  
post #19 of 32 Old 11-23-2009, 09:07 AM
Member
 
leckig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mproper View Post

I haven't heard anything. Best thing to do would get a device (if you're building an HTPC, $100 for a Roku is not that much)

yeah, about 1/4 of my HTPC budget and even more clutter.

This is just not right - we pay the same fee every month but get inferior streaming quality.
leckig is offline  
post #20 of 32 Old 11-23-2009, 01:48 PM
Member
 
leckig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I called Netflix. The rep did not have any answer so he put me on hold to speak with his super. After 3 minutes he came back and said the problem is that they cannot detect if the particular computer screen can accept 720p resolution. Until they find a way to detect that, they will not stream 720.

Sounds like a cheap excuse to me but maybe it is true.

I recon: if Netflix would get more phone calls about this, they would do it.
leckig is offline  
post #21 of 32 Old 11-25-2009, 12:00 PM
Member
 
speedklz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Really has nothing to do with it. Otherwise hulu and abc.com couldnt do it either. Just another cheap excuses. You can feed the computer any res and the computer will do the rest...feed it 720p and your screen is 1080! or 420p dont matter.

Rotting my brain one movie at a time!

Sony 55A3000

Sony 5100 BD

Mitsu 73837

speedklz is offline  
post #22 of 32 Old 11-25-2009, 12:17 PM
 
PSound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would call it less than a cheap excuse and simply just bad information.

The reason they do not stream HD to PCs is fear of piracy. There are no technical limitations to achieving HD to PC via streaming.
PSound is offline  
post #23 of 32 Old 12-01-2009, 06:37 PM
Member
 
leckig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
fear of piracy... so pirating SD content is OK for netflix but HD not? I am not sure. I will email their CS just for the heck of it.
leckig is offline  
post #24 of 32 Old 12-01-2009, 06:38 PM
Member
 
leckig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
right... email netflix, anyone knows their email address?
leckig is offline  
post #25 of 32 Old 12-02-2009, 03:26 AM
Newbie
 
frenzejeans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I haven't heard NF mention a timetable for HD on PC, but they rarely announce new features or upgrades until they are about to be released.

I disagree that the lack of HD for PC is "wrong." Disappointing, yes; legally actionable, no. NF makes streaming available to more devices as they are able. There was a long period of time since March 2007 that the only way to stream was through PC. Since then, they have added Mac, Roku, XBox, various TVs & Blu-ray players and recently PS3. Should they have waited to release streaming to any of these devices until they could release it to all of them? Wii and Linux users still don't have access, should they stop streaming to all of us (including you and your PC) until they have access?
frenzejeans is offline  
post #26 of 32 Old 12-02-2009, 08:14 AM
Member
 
richb1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Fischer, Tx, about 45 miles N of San Antonio
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am seeking information on the validity of "Stream Direct". For 40 bucks or so they claim 4500 tv channels are available via an internet connection directly to my computer. If I am on the wrong forum please point me in the right direction.
richb1 is offline  
post #27 of 32 Old 12-03-2009, 03:28 PM
Member
 
speedklz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Save your money, you can find pleanty of free sd and hd streams on the net that dont cost. ABC.com, CBS.com, Crackle.com, HULU.com, TV.com and so on and so on.

Rotting my brain one movie at a time!

Sony 55A3000

Sony 5100 BD

Mitsu 73837

speedklz is offline  
post #28 of 32 Old 12-03-2009, 04:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
miata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Silicon Valley, Earth
Posts: 2,946
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by speedklz View Post

Save your money, you can find pleanty of free sd and hd streams on the net that dont cost. ABC.com, CBS.com, Crackle.com, HULU.com, TV.com and so on and so on.

Do any of these have movies like NetFlix? I would love to find a source of commercial free HD movies like NetFlix.
miata is offline  
post #29 of 32 Old 12-03-2009, 06:35 PM
Member
 
leckig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by miata View Post

Do any of these have movies like NetFlix? I would love to find a source of commercial free HD movies like NetFlix.

looks like there is a market opportunity for someone there!
leckig is offline  
post #30 of 32 Old 12-14-2009, 06:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mallu2u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sterling, VA
Posts: 3,073
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks to me that their not supporting HD on PC is a marketing ploy so that they can sell HD streaming players like Roku, DVD Players etc.
mallu2u is offline  
Reply Video Download Services & Hardware

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off