Roku HD-XR and NetFlix -- Questions - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 20 Old 08-08-2010, 10:24 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I am completely new to movie streaming.

I currently have wireless internet (both cable and DSL) and an Onkyo 705 receiver.

I do understand that NetFlix does not stream true HD content but I would be happy with DVD-grade streams.

Using the Roku HD-XR, would I just connect it straight to my Onkyo via HDMI then output to my TV -- a 6-year-old Westinghouse 32" 1080i LCD?

I do like the idea of unlimited downloads via NetFlix.

Any input would be appreciated.

Note: Found the answer to my question.

Alan
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 Old 08-08-2010, 07:14 PM

Liked: 10
Yes Alan.

But you already know that now.
post #3 of 20 Old 08-08-2010, 09:04 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 25
That's what this place is for, to ask questions. I've been helped many times. I have two Roku boxes and love them. No problems whatsoever, PQ is very good and I never have problem finding things to watch. Usually have 70-80 items in my que. Hope you enjoy your purchase.

post #4 of 20 Old 08-21-2010, 05:53 PM

I have found that my ROKU HD-XR puts out a good quality picture when running at 480 lines over HDMI or component. The picture quality is much worse on composite. Maybe it's my TV but I doubt it. My old DVD player looks good on the TV hooked up either composite or component. Anyone else compared the outputs of the HD-XR?
Bill
post #5 of 20 Old 08-22-2010, 09:06 AM

My Roku HD-XR and my Sharp Aquos TV have handshake problems over HDMI. The ROKU screen locks up and I was having to unplug and plug it back in over and over. Then I found I could power the TV off and back on again and the ROKU lock up would be solved each time.