Best possible Netflix streaming device - Page 30 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #871 of 1530 Old 04-13-2012, 01:32 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 17,417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 784 Post(s)
Liked: 708
Quote:
Originally Posted by RangerOne View Post

The last time I spoke to TiVo about it was January. Personally, I hope they found a way to jump right to DD+. We'll know at the end of the month!

My TiVo is the original Series3 so I won't get the app. I'd upgrade except that I have lifetime service on it which isn't transferable. If they ever make a temporary PLS transfer available I'll do it.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #872 of 1530 Old 04-13-2012, 01:37 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,724
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 786 Post(s)
Liked: 767
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post

My TiVo is the original Series3 so I won't get the app. I'd upgrade except that I have lifetime service on it which isn't transferable. If they ever make a temporary PLS transfer available I'll do it.

Just sell it. Lifetime boxes have an excellent resale value. When new models come out, I sell my older lifetime TiVos to cover 80% to 100% of the cost of the new TiVos with lifetime service. I did it most recently when the Premieres were first released in March 2010 and then when the Elite was first released in October 2011. And now I will do it again with a second Elite I got last week.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is online now  
post #873 of 1530 Old 04-13-2012, 01:59 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
rpauls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone compared the video quality of the new ATV3 with the PS3 for HD Netflix streams?
rpauls is offline  
post #874 of 1530 Old 04-28-2012, 04:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
Talk2Me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Marin,CA./ Burton, OH
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post

The Roku boxes are somewhat questionable. I have the latest Roku 2 XS that works fine via ethernet and consistently get 40 to 50 Mbs DL speeds. However, when connected via wifi to my airport extreme it drops to 5 to 6 Mbs. All my other wifi devices, including ATV3, computers, etc maintain a 40 to 50 Mbs DL on wifi. The Roku is a bit flakey with wifi.

Excellent point, and not mentioned enough (not Roku but wifi streaming). Where I live, Comcast allows only 1 ethernet connection per houshold and that goes to the computer room. My a/v room is on the other side of my house.

**Lilyhammer rocks! Whats not to like Stevie Van Zandt surrounded by 50 naked Norwegian high school girls jogging?
Talk2Me is offline  
post #875 of 1530 Old 04-28-2012, 05:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,712
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Why not run an Ethernet cable to that room? You can then use an Ethernet switch there to split it up as much as you want. Alternatively, you could possibly use a standalone receiver (I keep forgetting the name) that is placed to get a good WiFi signal and hook the switch up to that. This would give you a known good signal instead of relying on each devices individual receiver that may not be optimally oriented for a good signal.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is offline  
post #876 of 1530 Old 05-02-2012, 11:39 AM
Newbie
 
mzamudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

Has anyone got this error codes while trying to access Netflix from a PS3?
ui-200, ui-108, or
ui-502, ui-100
They are shown together in pairs, as listed in each row above.

They show everytime I cannot access Netflix from the PS3 (even if the internet connection is fine).

Any help will be appreciated.
mzamudio is offline  
post #877 of 1530 Old 05-10-2012, 12:29 PM
Member
 
sbiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Tampa, FL, USA
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.techofthehub.com/2012/05/...on-review.html

TiVo has just released a new Netflix player as part of their 2012 spring software update. In addition to being able to browse the Netflix catalog, the new TiVo Premiere Netflix player comes with support for 1080P HD video, Dolby Digital Plus surround sound and closed captions. When you add in TiVo's comprehensive search capability and the convenience it offers (given TiVo usually lives on HDMI1), this is one of the best Netflix streaming implementations available.
sbiller is offline  
post #878 of 1530 Old 05-10-2012, 04:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
xcrunner529's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Wow, it does 1080P/24 as well. This might persuade me to go back to TiVo. I am certainly annoyed at all the issues I have with WMC and the Prime and having Netflix intergrated with my Cable was nice, since those are the two things I watch the most.
xcrunner529 is offline  
post #879 of 1530 Old 05-14-2012, 07:39 AM
Member
 
sbiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Tampa, FL, USA
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by xcrunner529 View Post

Wow, it does 1080P/24 as well. This might persuade me to go back to TiVo. I am certainly annoyed at all the issues I have with WMC and the Prime and having Netflix intergrated with my Cable was nice, since those are the two things I watch the most.

In general the reviews of the new Netflix implementation on Tivo Community have been favorable. The picture quality is outstanding once the stream switches to 1080P24. As long as there is a very solid network connection and the Netflix servers aren't having problems things are good. Its a bit annoying when the service switches from 1080i to 1080p since the HDMI renegotiation takes about 3 seconds on my Kuro Plasma.

I'm hoping Netflix can figure out a way to start out at a low-quality 1080p and avoid the switchover all-together.
sbiller is offline  
post #880 of 1530 Old 05-15-2012, 03:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
dfiler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbiller View Post

In general the reviews of the new Netflix implementation on Tivo Community have been favorable. The picture quality is outstanding once the stream switches to 1080P24. As long as there is a very solid network connection and the Netflix servers aren't having problems things are good. Its a bit annoying when the service switches from 1080i to 1080p since the HDMI renegotiation takes about 3 seconds on my Kuro Plasma.

I'm hoping Netflix can figure out a way to start out at a low-quality 1080p and avoid the switchover all-together.

Are you saying that it switches output resolution in the middle of playing video? At first I thought I misunderstood because to do that is beyond idiotic. It was too ludicrous to believe. But apparently, that's what's going on?

All other devices maintain a constant video output resolution. The stream bit-rate/resolution can waver all it wants, up to but not exceeding the output resolution.

Giving it a bit more thought though, perhaps it isn't too surprising given the downward spiral of the Tivo user experience. Every hardware revision gets more and more sluggish to user button presses and UI interaction.
dfiler is offline  
post #881 of 1530 Old 05-15-2012, 03:06 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,724
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 786 Post(s)
Liked: 767
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfiler View Post

Are you saying that it switches output resolution in the middle of playing video? At first I thought I misunderstood because to do that is beyond idiotic. It was too ludicrous to believe. But apparently, that's what's going on?

All other devices maintain a constant video output resolution. The stream bit-rate/resolution can waver all it wants, up to but not exceeding the output resolution.

Giving it a bit more thought though, perhaps it isn't too surprising given the downward spiral of the Tivo user experience. Every hardware revision gets more and more sluggish to user button presses and UI interaction.

Other devices maintain an output resolution because they are scaling that content. The TiVO is unable to scale to 1080p. It can only passthrough 1080p24. Other devices scale to 1080p60. The TiVO can scale to 1080i and lower. So to avoid the issue you would have to set the TiVO to only output One HD resolution. Either 720p or 1080i. But not both.

But I think the TiVO is one of the few devices that can output the native 1080p24 stream which allows an external scaler to do the job which can be better than other devices like the roku2 and the ps3. Either way there is a trade off.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is online now  
post #882 of 1530 Old 05-15-2012, 03:12 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 17,417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 784 Post(s)
Liked: 708
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

Other devices maintain an output resolution because they are scaling that content. The TiVO is unable to scale to 1080p. It can only passthrough 1080p24. Other devices scale to 1080p60. The TiVO can scale to 1080i and lower. So to avoid the issue you would have to set the TiVO to only output One HD resolution. Either 720p or 1080i. But not both.

Ah--now I understand. This erases any consideration of my possibly upgrading my S3 because the Premiere now has that player. There's just no way around that

The TiVo's inability to upscale to 1080p is a sad design deficiency. I have two BD players, a PS3 and a Roku 2 which can do it; why not the latest and greatest TiVo products?

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #883 of 1530 Old 05-15-2012, 04:40 PM
Senior Member
 
Brandenborg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

But I think the TiVO is one of the few devices that can output the native 1080p24 stream which allows an external scaler to do the job which can be better than other devices like the roku2 and the ps3. Either way there is a trade off.

I believe the 2012 Panasonic bluray players also output 1080p24 (at least from Netflix). And of course 1080p60 for other content.

Michael, you had the Panny 220/320, right? Please correct me if I'm wrong.
Brandenborg is offline  
post #884 of 1530 Old 05-15-2012, 05:30 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 17,417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 784 Post(s)
Liked: 708
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandenborg View Post

I believe the 2012 Panasonic bluray players also output 1080p24 (at least from Netflix). And of course 1080p60 for other content.

Michael, you had the Panny 220/320, right? Please correct me if I'm wrong.

Yep--the 2012 Panasonics can output 24p from VOD services (Netflix, VUDU, Amazon, etc). You have to turn it on every time (at least once per session with the player--I don't have a television which can accept 24p), but it can do it.

It's true that the Roku 2, Sony BD players and PS3 are going to output 1080p60, but they can convert everything to that.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #885 of 1530 Old 05-15-2012, 06:15 PM
Senior Member
 
Brandenborg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post

Yep--the 2012 Panasonics can output 24p from VOD services (Netflix, VUDU, Amazon, etc). You have to turn it on every time (at least once per session with the player--I don't have a television which can accept 24p), but it can do it.

It's true that the Roku 2, Sony BD players and PS3 are going to output 1080p60, but they can convert everything to that.

Got it, thanks. Our Mits DLP does accept 24p, but it's only 60hz anyway, so it doesn't matter either way. That's about the only feature I miss in this 4 year old TV: 120 or 240 hz.
Brandenborg is offline  
post #886 of 1530 Old 07-12-2012, 04:12 AM
Member
 
gaidin43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am using a TiVo Premiere with a Samsung LN550 to watch netflix on. I have an HTPC hooked up as well as my Bluray player and secondary viewer. I have my tv set to just scan for the HTPC or else, the display is cut off for some reason.

However, my issue that I am having is as I watch netflix on my TiVto through my samsung tv it will adjust the from 1080i60hz to 1080 24hz and back again over and over again. How can I get my tv or my tivo to settle at 24hz and stay there? I have set the TiVo to just show 1080i now in its settings to make netflix watchable, but there is a noticeable difference.

Anyone have any ideas other then setting the TiVo to only display 1080i? for the TV or otherwise?
gaidin43 is offline  
post #887 of 1530 Old 07-12-2012, 07:08 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 17,417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 784 Post(s)
Liked: 708
Quote:
Originally Posted by gaidin43 View Post

I am using a TiVo Premiere with a Samsung LN550 to watch netflix on. I have an HTPC hooked up as well as my Bluray player and secondary viewer. I have my tv set to just scan for the HTPC or else, the display is cut off for some reason.
However, my issue that I am having is as I watch netflix on my TiVto through my samsung tv it will adjust the from 1080i60hz to 1080 24hz and back again over and over again. How can I get my tv or my tivo to settle at 24hz and stay there? I have set the TiVo to just show 1080i now in its settings to make netflix watchable, but there is a noticeable difference.
Anyone have any ideas other then setting the TiVo to only display 1080i? for the TV or otherwise?
Netflix uses a technology called Adaptive Bit-rate Streaming (ABS) which chooses one of several possible encodings of the title based on whether current conditions (bandwidth available on its connection to Netflix's servers, the current responsiveness of those servers) are such that it can keep its buffer full of the selected encoding. If conditions worsen and it can't keep the buffer full, it will drop back to a lower bit rate, lower PQ encoding; when things improve it will change to a higher bit rate, higher PQ encoding. The idea is that it should never pause for buffering.

This works best if you can set output of the Netflix player to a fixed resolution. Unfortunately, TiVo cannot scale anything else to 1080p24; it can only play a 1080p24 source as 1080p24. There's really nothing that you can do other than get better network service which can always guarantee the 6 or 7 Mbps needed to keep ahead of the 5.2 Mbps average 1080p24 w/5.1 sound stream. Even that won't work if the problem is with your local Netflix servers being overloaded and unable to send the stream fast enough to keep up.

If you set your TiVo output to 1080i only, you will get the 1080p24 encodings when possible, scaled to 1080i30. Uniquely among Netflix players, if you set your TiVo's output to 720p60-only it will still ask for the 1080p24 encoding (if conditions are right) and play it, scaling it to 720p60. (All the other many Netflix playing devices that I own will never ask for encodings at higher resolution than their maximum output resolution, which is a bit of a waste of bandwidth).

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #888 of 1530 Old 07-12-2012, 10:54 AM
Member
 
gaidin43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I should enable 720p and it might settle out the issue a little? I have fios and a massive download bandwidth so that shouldn't be the issue but it might be the Netflix server.
gaidin43 is offline  
post #889 of 1530 Old 07-12-2012, 04:53 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 17,417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 784 Post(s)
Liked: 708
Quote:
Originally Posted by gaidin43 View Post

So I should enable 720p and it might settle out the issue a little? I have fios and a massive download bandwidth so that shouldn't be the issue but it might be the Netflix server.
Adding 720p will just make thing possibly worse--with 720p, 1080i and 1080p selected, it shouldn't ever choose 1080i while using Netflix. and if conditions aren't good, it will bobble back and forth between 720p60 and 1080p24, with a visual gap of 2 or 3 seconds with each switch.

Sadly, the only thing you can do which will get your 1080 resolution out of Netflix without disruptive changes into and out of 1080p24 is to set 1080i as the only output resolution while watching Netflix or any other ABS streamer. It will play the 1080p encoding for your title if there is one and conditions allow, scaled to 1080i30. People on TiVo Community Forums have suggested that they have a separate resolution setting for Netflix. (Shame that the TiVo doesn't offer a 1080p60 output choice, or some framerate evenly divisible by 24).

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #890 of 1530 Old 07-12-2012, 06:19 PM
Senior Member
 
RangerOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Melrose, MA, USA
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post

If you set your TiVo output to 1080i only, you will get the 1080p24 encodings when possible, scaled to 1080i30. Uniquely among Netflix players, if you set your TiVo's output to 720p60-only it will still ask for the 1080p24 encoding (if conditions are right) and play it, scaling it to 720p60. (All the other many Netflix playing devices that I own will never ask for encodings at higher resolution than their maximum output resolution, which is a bit of a waste of bandwidth).

FYI, the Barnes and Noble Nook tablet asks for a higher quality encode than it can display. It probably has to do with the fact that it's screen is 1024x600. More info here:
http://pogue.blogs.nytimes.com/2011/12/01/nooks-advertising-is-corrected/
RangerOne is offline  
post #891 of 1530 Old 07-13-2012, 11:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Conrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Martinez, CA, USA
Posts: 4,138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 180 Post(s)
Liked: 154
These 1024x600 screens are a bit of an oddball and Android doesn't handle them very well. The KindleFire (the emulator I don't have one) shows up as an extra large screen when I think it should be a large screen which would be more compatible. Makes supporting these devices a headache.
Brian Conrad is offline  
post #892 of 1530 Old 07-13-2012, 12:54 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 17,417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 784 Post(s)
Liked: 708
I own a Nook Color and like the 7" form-factor but have avoided buying a new tablet until a screen with at least 1280x800 res became more affordable, as they are this summer, starting with Google's Nexus 7.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #893 of 1530 Old 07-25-2012, 07:59 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 17,417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 784 Post(s)
Liked: 708
Well, here's a new one--Vizio's "Co-Star", a $100 Google TV box with a two-sided remote, a full keyboard on one side. Not much detail available at Vizio's site, but a very unique feature of it is an ability to play full-on 3D PC games streamed from OnLive. (OnLive runs the games on their servers and stream the video in 720p to your device and accepts control from it). OnLive is a service which runs console and PC games (actually, I think it's an Android app, so it probably worked on all Google TV platforms, but this is the first Google TV device to advertise it). When the service appeared a few years back I gave it a try on my PC; owning an Xbox 360 and a PS3 I didn't have much use for it but I was blown away by the sheer coolness of their UI.

I'd like to see more details of what it can do but I may have to buy one for the hell of it biggrin.gif.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #894 of 1530 Old 07-26-2012, 06:35 AM
Member
 
kmueller44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm in the market for a streaming device. What's the best device under $75? My wife pointed out a Sony (SMPN200) that was $49.99. That prompted me to start doing research to see what else is out there.

Any suggestions? Is the sony decent for Netflix?
kmueller44 is offline  
post #895 of 1530 Old 07-26-2012, 11:22 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 17,417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 784 Post(s)
Liked: 708
Quote:
Originally Posted by kmueller44 View Post

I'm in the market for a streaming device. What's the best device under $75? My wife pointed out a Sony (SMPN200) that was $49.99. That prompted me to start doing research to see what else is out there.
Any suggestions? Is the sony decent for Netflix?
Do you require any service other than Netflix (Amazon, Hulu Plus, VUDU, etc) and if so, what? Do you care about 1080p HD (as opposed to 720p, which most can provide)? Do you care about 5.1 sound for the subset of Netflix titles which have it?

If all you're looking for is Netflix, I'd recommend the Roku 2 XD, though it's slightly over your stated price cap ($79.99 at Roku w/free shipping, $78 Prime Eligible at Amazon); full-featured Netflix, Amazon and Hulu Plus players and an endless variety of other streamers which can be downloaded into it (though sadly not VUDU). If you don't care about 1080p, the Roku 2 LT is out there for $50.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #896 of 1530 Old 07-26-2012, 11:29 AM
Member
 
kmueller44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post

Do you require any service other than Netflix (Amazon, Hulu Plus, VUDU, etc) and if so, what? Do you care about 1080p HD (as opposed to 720p, which most can provide)? Do you care about 5.1 sound for the subset of Netflix titles which have it?

We don't have Hulu Plus, no clue what VUDU is, I think the TV we are hooking up to is 720p, don't need 5.1. It's the TV in our bedroom, so we don't need it to be a movie theater.

I guess, what's the best bang for the buck? I suppose the more services the better in case we want to sign up for any of them down the road. I don't care about streaming games, but music might be a good thing to have.
kmueller44 is offline  
post #897 of 1530 Old 07-26-2012, 11:35 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 17,417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 784 Post(s)
Liked: 708
Quote:
Originally Posted by kmueller44 View Post

We don't have Hulu Plus, no clue what VUDU is, I think the TV we are hooking up to is 720p, don't need 5.1. It's the TV in our bedroom, so we don't need it to be a movie theater.
I guess, what's the best bang for the buck? I suppose the more services the better in case we want to sign up for any of them down the road. I don't care about streaming games, but music might be a good thing to have.

If I were you, I'd go for the Roku 2 LT for $50 (apparently a new list price that I'm only seeing at Roku's site--most others seem to want $60 for it). It has all the popular streaming services other than VUDU (a high-quality-oriented streaming rental service) and 720p output. You can see its available services here.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #898 of 1530 Old 07-26-2012, 03:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,712
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Just be aware that only the top-end Roku has WIRED networking. The lower two models are wireless ONLY.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is offline  
post #899 of 1530 Old 07-26-2012, 03:45 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 17,417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 784 Post(s)
Liked: 708
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyross63 View Post

Just be aware that only the top-end Roku has WIRED networking. The lower two models are wireless ONLY.
It's the reason that I bought the XS--the XD has all the same capabilities w/o a wired Ethernet connection; I don't use wireless for anything other than portable devices. But I think that the great majority of people like the convenience of wireless and I'm willing to bet that he doesn't have a network cable running to his bedroom television.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #900 of 1530 Old 07-26-2012, 04:28 PM
Member
 
kmueller44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post

But I think that the great majority of people like the convenience of wireless and I'm willing to bet that he doesn't have a network cable running to his bedroom television.

Bingo
kmueller44 is offline  
Reply Video Download Services & Hardware

Tags
Samsung Bd D6700 3d Blu Ray Disc Player
Gear in this thread - D6700 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off