Best possible Netflix streaming device - Page 61 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 54Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1801 of 1855 Old 01-06-2016, 09:39 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I just tested Netflix for the first time today since they are now also widely available in Asia.
I tired it on my Ps4 and not having real 24p is a real deal breaker for me.

I prefere watching movies from my nut running openelec where I'm getting proper refresh rate switching and DTS-HD, TrueHd and Atmos.
I will have to look into getting netflix to run on Openelec or else I'll have to get a UHD Bluray player once they hit the market.
psysfaction is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1802 of 1855 Old 01-06-2016, 09:39 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I just tested Netflix for the first time today since they are now also widely available in Asia.
I tired it on my Ps4 and not having real 24p is a real deal breaker for me.

I prefere watching movies from my nut running openelec where I'm getting proper refresh rate switching and DTS-HD, TrueHd and Atmos.
I will have to look into getting netflix to run on Openelec or else I'll have to get a UHD Bluray player once they hit the market.
psysfaction is offline  
post #1803 of 1855 Old 01-07-2016, 03:24 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 20,517
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2844 Post(s)
Liked: 1516
Can you get NVIDIA Shield TV where you are? I believe that it can output 24p Netflix content at 24Hz.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
 
post #1804 of 1855 Old 01-07-2016, 11:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brian Conrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Martinez, CA, USA
Posts: 6,974
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1741 Post(s)
Liked: 1000
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post
Can you get NVIDIA Shield TV where you are? I believe that it can output 24p Netflix content at 24Hz.
Indeed there is a setting on the Shield TV for 24p but I turned it off as it was annoyingly dropping frames on 25p stuff on Netflix. Ideally it should recognize the frame rate as 24p and only do run it then as some BD players do. Not sure why that would be complicated.
Brian Conrad is online now  
post #1805 of 1855 Old 01-07-2016, 07:27 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Conrad View Post
Indeed there is a setting on the Shield TV for 24p but I turned it off as it was annoyingly dropping frames on 25p stuff on Netflix. Ideally it should recognize the frame rate as 24p and only do run it then as some BD players do. Not sure why that would be complicated.

Yes dynamic frame rate switching is essential.
That's why I love XbmC/Kodi so much since it plays all in it's original frame-rate.

I can not buy the shield here but I might get one when I go to Hong Kong the next time.

The reason i did not get one yet is that Kodi does not fully support Audio HD bit streaming with the Shield.
There is an experimental build but it's still early beta.

I have got various device running Kodi on Openelec and I tried to integrate Netflix.
It kind of works but only stereo sound and no frame rate switching since the video is playing inside of Chromium...
psysfaction is offline  
post #1806 of 1855 Old 03-29-2016, 06:07 AM
Member
 
GrandeBoma's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rocky3RD View Post
How would you guys rank the Samsung BD-J7500 as a Netflix streaming device?
I own the H-6500 and it is one of the best options, the one you mentioned should be very similar. It is one of the very few options for europeans seeking 24p recognition automatically on netflix and amazon, since we cannot use tivos. Moreover, it also outputs plain dolby digital over SPDIF for streams carrying the problematic dd+ track. The only thing i can complain about is the lack of an option to convert dolby digital plus to plain DD over HDMI (this function works on disc material, oddly, but not on VOD and file playback), which other streamers such as firetv do. Furthermore, you are limited in your setup for apps that all belong to the same country (e.g. you cannot install both u.s. amazon VOD and BBC iplayer simultaneously).
It also has pandora, hulu and vudu (although the latter only works on models with serial numbers for u.s.a. market).
HBO now is still missing but this might a be temporary thing.

In fact, in my opinion the thread should already have an answer, since I cannot fathom what else is to wish for in a netflix player that current samsung middle and high level players cannot already do. The latest model supporting BD4k should at this point even offer 4k streaming through hdmi 2.2 port
GrandeBoma is offline  
post #1807 of 1855 Old 05-10-2016, 09:18 AM
Member
 
SireTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I just wanted to mention that the Netflix app in the Panasonic DMP-BDT220 was updated several months ago to output DD+ (previously it only output DD) over HDMI. The Amazon app was updated to output DD+ a couple years ago. Unfortunately the Netflix interface is still slower than a snail on Benadryl but I guess with 24p output for both Netflix and Amazon I can't complain too much. I would assume the BDT230 (i.e., the 2013 model; 220 is the 2012 one) got the same update. I still find it unfathomable that getting 24p output out of Netflix seems to be such a challenging endeavor for the CE makers.
Bob R likes this.

Last edited by SireTV; 05-10-2016 at 09:25 AM.
SireTV is offline  
post #1808 of 1855 Old 07-23-2016, 06:46 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by SireTV View Post
I just wanted to mention that the Netflix app in the Panasonic DMP-BDT220 was updated several months ago to output DD+ (previously it only output DD) over HDMI. The Amazon app was updated to output DD+ a couple years ago. Unfortunately the Netflix interface is still slower than a snail on Benadryl but I guess with 24p output for both Netflix and Amazon I can't complain too much. I would assume the BDT230 (i.e., the 2013 model; 220 is the 2012 one) got the same update. I still find it unfathomable that getting 24p output out of Netflix seems to be such a challenging endeavor for the CE makers.
Got Amazon Prime free for a while. Fooling around with the app on my BDT220. I'm wondering if it can output 1080p as it only shows "HD" on the display and all of the newer Amazon Prime Video devices can show "1080p".

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #1809 of 1855 Old 07-23-2016, 03:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mailiang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Springsteen Country
Posts: 8,173
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 970 Post(s)
Liked: 640
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post
Got Amazon Prime free for a while. Fooling around with the app on my BDT220. I'm wondering if it can output 1080p as it only shows "HD" on the display and all of the newer Amazon Prime Video devices can show "1080p".
My Roku 3600 has shown 1080, but lately it's seems to only display HD.

Ian

The best way to succeed in life is to act on the advice you give to others

mailiang is offline  
post #1810 of 1855 Old 07-23-2016, 08:43 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by mailiang View Post
My Roku 3600 has shown 1080, but lately it's seems to only display HD.

Ian
I've never seen 1080p displayed on my BDT220. It's an older device, I'm wondering if it just can't do it. The only advantage to using it is that it can display 24p on streaming services.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #1811 of 1855 Old 07-24-2016, 12:25 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 20,517
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2844 Post(s)
Liked: 1516
I see "HD 1080p" on the player on my TiVo and the player in my smart TV; I suspect that I would also see that on my Fire TV stick, but it's on loan to some of my housemates. The player on my Roku 3 (original version) just says "HD", but I never use that so I don't know whether it can display "HD 1080p"--it's a completely different UI. All video players on Xbox 360 are constrained to 720p other than MS' service and VUDU and the player on my Xbox One apparently cannot display resolution. My PS3 and Panny BD player aren't hooked up so I can't check them.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #1812 of 1855 Old 07-24-2016, 07:00 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post
I see "HD 1080p" on the player on my TiVo and the player in my smart TV; I suspect that I would also see that on my Fire TV stick, but it's on loan to some of my housemates. The player on my Roku 3 (original version) just says "HD", but I never use that so I don't know whether it can display "HD 1080p"--it's a completely different UI. All video players on Xbox 360 are constrained to 720p other than MS' service and VUDU and the player on my Xbox One apparently cannot display resolution. My PS3 and Panny BD player aren't hooked up so I can't check them.
I've definitely seen HD 1080p on Amazon using my Roku 3. I just checked it. Same goes for my PS3. The BDT220 can do 1080p on the other streaming services (Netflix, Vudu) so who knows?

It would be nice if Amazon compiled a list and showed what the maximum resolution of each device was. Too much to ask for I guess.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #1813 of 1855 Old 07-24-2016, 08:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mailiang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Springsteen Country
Posts: 8,173
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 970 Post(s)
Liked: 640
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post
I've definitely seen HD 1080p on Amazon using my Roku 3. I just checked it. Same goes for my PS3. The BDT220 can do 1080p on the other streaming services (Netflix, Vudu) so who knows?

It would be nice if Amazon compiled a list and showed what the maximum resolution of each device was. Too much to ask for I guess.
I believe it has to do with the video you are watching. Sometimes my Roku shows 1080 other times HD. However, I haven't noticed any real difference in the PQ on my pdp.

Ian

The best way to succeed in life is to act on the advice you give to others

mailiang is offline  
post #1814 of 1855 Old 07-24-2016, 11:10 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 20,517
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2844 Post(s)
Liked: 1516
As I recall, Amazon didn't have everything in 1080p resolution (Netflix doesn't quite either, but it's close) so maybe I wasn't playing something which has 1080p. I just checked and it does show "HD 1080p" for Kung Fu Panda (which I seem to own a copy of on Amazon but have no idea why).
mailiang likes this.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #1815 of 1855 Old 07-24-2016, 12:10 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13,434
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2273 Post(s)
Liked: 992
Keep in mind the BDT220 is 4 years old and running an old Amazon app. The Amazon app on Panasonics of that era always had issues ramping up to 1080p (I know, I used to have one). You need a different/newer device if it's that important to you.
mdavej is offline  
post #1816 of 1855 Old 07-24-2016, 12:24 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 31,278
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6402 Post(s)
Liked: 3960
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post
As I recall, Amazon didn't have everything in 1080p resolution (Netflix doesn't quite either, but it's close) so maybe I wasn't playing something which has 1080p. I just checked and it does show "HD 1080p" for Kung Fu Panda (which I seem to own a copy of on Amazon but have no idea why).
You probably got it the same way as me. It was free for some reason in the past.
aaronwt is online now  
post #1817 of 1855 Old 07-24-2016, 02:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LowellG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Helotes, TX
Posts: 2,129
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 523 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by psysfaction View Post
Yes dynamic frame rate switching is essential.
That's why I love XbmC/Kodi so much since it plays all in it's original frame-rate.

I can not buy the shield here but I might get one when I go to Hong Kong the next time.

The reason i did not get one yet is that Kodi does not fully support Audio HD bit streaming with the Shield.
There is an experimental build but it's still early beta.

I have got various device running Kodi on Openelec and I tried to integrate Netflix.
It kind of works but only stereo sound and no frame rate switching since the video is playing inside of Chromium...
SPMC on the Shield, which is Kodi, (I think that is the beta you are referring to), plays HD Audio fine to include Atmos and DTS:X. The Kodi Alpha 17 is very buggy though.

Lowell


The MarvelAtmos Home Theater: http://www.avsforum.com/forum/19-ded...e-theater.html
LowellG is offline  
post #1818 of 1855 Old 07-24-2016, 03:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mailiang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Springsteen Country
Posts: 8,173
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 970 Post(s)
Liked: 640
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post
I just checked and it does show "HD 1080p" for Kung Fu Panda (which I seem to own a copy of on Amazon but have no idea why).
I'm not surprised. You don't seem like the 'Kung Fu Panda' type.

Ian

The best way to succeed in life is to act on the advice you give to others

mailiang is offline  
post #1819 of 1855 Old 07-24-2016, 03:43 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 20,517
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2844 Post(s)
Liked: 1516
Quote:
Originally Posted by mailiang View Post
I'm not surprised. You don't seem like the 'Kung Fu Panda' type.

Ian

I've enjoyed those movies and recently bought KFP 3 during a sale on Google Play (haven't watched it yet). I just had no recollection of buying the original on Amazon, but as aaronwt states, it was probably a recent give away. I got The Bourne Ultimatum from some service or other recently (maybe FandangoNow); it's UltraViolet so I can watch it with VUDU.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #1820 of 1855 Old 07-24-2016, 08:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mailiang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Springsteen Country
Posts: 8,173
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 970 Post(s)
Liked: 640
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post
I've enjoyed those movies and recently bought KFP 3 during a sale on Google Play (haven't watched it yet). I just had no recollection of buying the original on Amazon, but as aaronwt states, it was probably a recent give away. I got The Bourne Ultimatum from some service or other recently (maybe FandangoNow); it's UltraViolet so I can watch it with VUDU.



Ahhhh......

Ian

The best way to succeed in life is to act on the advice you give to others

mailiang is offline  
post #1821 of 1855 Old 03-10-2017, 03:52 PM
 
synccoil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: the western left coast
Posts: 1,241
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 437 Post(s)
Liked: 159
This may be noted priorly here,


1920x1080p @ 24P (23.96) in Netflix video diag overlay on Windows 10 and Edge web browser ,Also same movie @24p in the Windows 10 Netflix UWP app video diag overlay also.

My primary TV /Storage media / Movie content screen is a 2015 Sony XBR 4K HDR TV and 5.1 with a Sony ES AVR in this room .

EDIT:

The Sony TV Android platform Netflix browser does not report the frame rates in the display info function of the TV but mostly only throughput , resolution and 5.1 audio and sometimes 4K SDR/ HDR is much slower to ramp up to 2160p than 1080p content on a 1080p selection even with an ATT/Netflix direct connect here .



latest model Roku 2 here presumably like all or most Roku is a no show at 24p ,that said it can get you out of a crummy HDR production locked in at Netflix and Amazon in the Smart TV platforms that may look better on the Roku at 1080p

Last edited by synccoil; 03-10-2017 at 05:13 PM.
synccoil is offline  
post #1822 of 1855 Old 03-10-2017, 05:17 PM
 
synccoil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: the western left coast
Posts: 1,241
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 437 Post(s)
Liked: 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post
I've enjoyed those movies and recently bought KFP 3 during a sale on Google Play (haven't watched it yet). I just had no recollection of buying the original on Amazon, but as aaronwt states, it was probably a recent give away. I got The Bourne Ultimatum from some service or other recently (maybe FandangoNow); it's UltraViolet so I can watch it with VUDU.
The Bourne Ultimatum at 1080p Vudu HDX is real decent ,Vudu 1080p HDX at times is nearly indistinguishable from blu ray disc to the eye on a decent 4K HDR TV or a decent 1080p TV
synccoil is offline  
post #1823 of 1855 Old 04-23-2017, 11:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DigitalfreakNYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 5,973
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by synccoil View Post
The Bourne Ultimatum at 1080p Vudu HDX is real decent ,Vudu 1080p HDX at times is nearly indistinguishable from blu ray disc to the eye on a decent 4K HDR TV or a decent 1080p TV
If you think that then I question your eye.
aaronwt likes this.

"I have never seen it, but by all accounts it is terrible. However, I have seen the house that it built, and it is terrific." - Michael Caine, on Jaws the Revenge
DigitalfreakNYC is offline  
post #1824 of 1855 Old 04-23-2017, 12:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brian Conrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Martinez, CA, USA
Posts: 6,974
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1741 Post(s)
Liked: 1000
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalfreakNYC View Post
If you think that then I question your eye.
Some of these companies have moved from h264 to h265 (HEVC) which is a far richer encode even for 1080p than the high bitrate (usually around 25 Mbps) of h264 Blu-ray.
Brian Conrad is online now  
post #1825 of 1855 Old 04-23-2017, 04:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DigitalfreakNYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 5,973
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Conrad View Post
Some of these companies have moved from h264 to h265 (HEVC) which is a far richer encode even for 1080p than the high bitrate (usually around 25 Mbps) of h264 Blu-ray.
Since when?

"I have never seen it, but by all accounts it is terrible. However, I have seen the house that it built, and it is terrific." - Michael Caine, on Jaws the Revenge
DigitalfreakNYC is offline  
post #1826 of 1855 Old 04-23-2017, 05:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brian Conrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Martinez, CA, USA
Posts: 6,974
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1741 Post(s)
Liked: 1000
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalfreakNYC View Post
Since when?
AVC (H264) is an old technology and there were many improvements made with HEVC (H265) as well as VP9. At least on my Shield TV Netflix is streaming 1080p using HEVC instead of AVC. Probably the same with my Roku TV but on the Shield I can verify looking at the logs. Of course I am watching on a 4K TV so that helps too. BD's are no longer the best PQ.
Brian Conrad is online now  
post #1827 of 1855 Old 04-23-2017, 05:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DigitalfreakNYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 5,973
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Conrad View Post
AVC (H264) is an old technology and there were many improvements made with HEVC (H265) as well as VP9. At least on my Shield TV Netflix is streaming 1080p using HEVC instead of AVC. Probably the same with my Roku TV but on the Shield I can verify looking at the logs. Of course I am watching on a 4K TV so that helps too. BD's are no longer the best PQ.
4K is different from 1080p. I'm looking for evidence that 1080p is being encoded with HEVC. I'm aware of the various codecs but I don't think there's any truth to anything else you're saying. And, from all opinions I've heard, 4k Netflix is about on par with a Blu-ray. But you're still missing lossless sound. So there's that.

So, yeah, BD's are the best PQ when it comes to both 1080p and 4k.

"I have never seen it, but by all accounts it is terrible. However, I have seen the house that it built, and it is terrific." - Michael Caine, on Jaws the Revenge
DigitalfreakNYC is offline  
post #1828 of 1855 Old 04-23-2017, 05:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brian Conrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Martinez, CA, USA
Posts: 6,974
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1741 Post(s)
Liked: 1000
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalfreakNYC View Post
4K is different from 1080p. I'm looking for evidence that 1080p is being encoded with HEVC. I'm aware of the various codecs but I don't think there's any truth to anything else you're saying. And, from all opinions I've heard, 4k Netflix is about on par with a Blu-ray. But you're still missing lossless sound. So there's that.

So, yeah, BD's are the best PQ when it comes to both 1080p and 4k.
The logs I've collected recently on my Nvidia Shield TV show Netflix 1080p titles encoded using HEVC. We're been discussing it in the other threads here. That's not only a bandwidth saver but others have noticed much better picture quality. Same most likely true with my 4K Roku TV which of course supports HEVC and VP9 but I can't get logs on it. In fact Roku does not support h264 for 4K encodes. Since BD's are at best only 1080p they won't have the detail of 4K.

What's your experience with creating video as well as software development?
Brian Conrad is online now  
post #1829 of 1855 Old 04-24-2017, 09:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DigitalfreakNYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 5,973
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Conrad View Post
Since BD's are at best only 1080p they won't have the detail of 4K.
BD's are only 1080p? Really? I guess you've never heard of UHD. Those are Blu-ray's.

"I have never seen it, but by all accounts it is terrible. However, I have seen the house that it built, and it is terrific." - Michael Caine, on Jaws the Revenge
DigitalfreakNYC is offline  
post #1830 of 1855 Old 04-24-2017, 11:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mailiang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Springsteen Country
Posts: 8,173
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 970 Post(s)
Liked: 640
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Conrad View Post
The logs I've collected recently on my Nvidia Shield TV show Netflix 1080p titles encoded using HEVC. We're been discussing it in the other threads here. That's not only a bandwidth saver but others have noticed much better picture quality. Same most likely true with my 4K Roku TV which of course supports HEVC and VP9 but I can't get logs on it. In fact Roku does not support h264 for 4K encodes. Since BD's are at best only 1080p they won't have the detail of 4K.

What's your experience with creating video as well as software development?
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalfreakNYC View Post
BD's are only 1080p? Really? I guess you've never heard of UHD. Those are Blu-ray's.

Just my two cents gentleman, but although 2160p offers more detail, it's negligible unless you have a very large set, or you like sitting very close to your screen. The difference comes down to HDR, which is paramount when it comes to providing a significant improvement in picture quality. It has been proven through countless reviews by professional calibrators, that UHD BD offers the best HDR experiance, even when comparing the best Dolby Vison streams to HDR10 Blu-Ray. Also, as good as 1080p streams have gotten, I have yet to see one that looks better then a top quality, 1080p Blu-Ray, on my Panasonic S60 PDP.

Ian

The best way to succeed in life is to act on the advice you give to others

mailiang is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Video Download Services & Hardware

Tags
Samsung Bd D6700 3d Blu Ray Disc Player

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off