Amazon Prime Instant Video - Page 46 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 12Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1351 of 1362 Old 10-08-2014, 02:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rf13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 592
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 206 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudy1 View Post
I just checked and neither "Vendetta" nor "Time Runners" (or any other titles, for that matter) are showing up as being available in UHD. No "UHD" tag in the banner, either. This, on a Samsung 2014 UHD set.
Yea same here. I have a Lg 2014 UHD set. i think it may be a partial rollout.
Rf13 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1352 of 1362 Old 10-08-2014, 04:09 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 17,760
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 958 Post(s)
Liked: 769
Nothing shows up UHD for me anymore either. I have photographic evidence:


https://www.dropbox.com/s/i2s7foy152...55.33.jpg?dl=0
https://www.dropbox.com/s/iefkwfds1u...54.03.jpg?dl=0
https://www.dropbox.com/s/4fx0bn5jws...53.35.jpg?dl=0


It's possible that this stuff was never meant to be seen by users. I informed Dave Zatz and he posted about it in his blog here. Perhaps that was seen and someone took steps to correct it.

I was never entirely convinced that those titles actually were 4K, but someone in the Vizio P-Series owner's thread felt strongly that he could tell that they were 4K on his 70".

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #1353 of 1362 Old 10-10-2014, 05:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,056
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Getting 1080p playback it shows it in the display Warehouse 13 on the Fire TV.

I guess the kiddy nick show I watched yesterday was not in 1080p.

Earthlink Extreme powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
ASUS RT-N66W Router 374.43 (Merlin Build) using OpenDNS.
Toshiba 39L2300U - Amazon Fire TV, Sony PS4 Wired. Apple TV Wireless.
Toshiba 32RV530U - Roku 3, Sony PS3 Slim Wired.

Cats are the best pets.

Last edited by reddice; 10-10-2014 at 08:33 PM.
reddice is offline  
post #1354 of 1362 Old 10-26-2014, 04:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rf13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 592
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 206 Post(s)
Liked: 72
October is pretty much over and still no UHD content... Amazon must be planning to release it on Halloween or something.
Rf13 is offline  
post #1355 of 1362 Old 10-26-2014, 06:00 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,956
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 927 Post(s)
Liked: 813
I watched the second Season of Alpha House this weekend. The seven episodes I watched on my FireTV all showed "HD 1080" at the bottom left. But the three episodes I watched on my Sony S6200 only showed "HD".

40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #1356 of 1362 Old 10-27-2014, 06:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,056
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I watched the second Season of Alpha House this weekend. The seven episodes I watched on my FireTV all showed "HD 1080" at the bottom left. But the three episodes I watched on my Sony S6200 only showed "HD".
I too get that sometimes with Warehouse 13 the last few episodes of season 1 said 1080p while the first episode of season 2 only showed HD. Same with Doctor Who where the first HD episode "Planet of the Dead" only showed HD while "The Waters of Mars" showed 1080 HD. Really Amazon regular 720p HD looks really great and I can't even tell the difference sometimes unlike Netflix bitstarved 720p which is like night and day compared to there 1080p.

Earthlink Extreme powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
ASUS RT-N66W Router 374.43 (Merlin Build) using OpenDNS.
Toshiba 39L2300U - Amazon Fire TV, Sony PS4 Wired. Apple TV Wireless.
Toshiba 32RV530U - Roku 3, Sony PS3 Slim Wired.

Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
post #1357 of 1362 Old 10-31-2014, 10:09 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 17,760
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 958 Post(s)
Liked: 769
TiVo Roamio just got an Amazon Instant Video streaming app (previously it was download only of rental and purchased video, no Prime). It's the same UI as PS3's, though a little sluggish in response to UI navigation commands. It is, however, 1080 res capable, with 24 Hz output of 24p encoded titles and DD+ surround, which makes it the best of several devices that I have which stream Amazon. (They added a VUDU player as well). Since Netflix, Amazon, VUDU and Hulu Plus are my primary streaming video sources my Roku 3 is going to start collecting dust .

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #1358 of 1362 Old 11-01-2014, 02:50 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 178 Post(s)
Liked: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post
TiVo Roamio just got an Amazon Instant Video streaming app (previously it was download only of rental and purchased video, no Prime). It's the same UI as PS3's, though a little sluggish in response to UI navigation commands. It is, however, 1080 res capable, with 24 Hz output of 24p encoded titles and DD+ surround, which makes it the best of several devices that I have which stream Amazon. (They added a VUDU player as well). Since Netflix, Amazon, VUDU and Hulu Plus are my primary streaming video sources my Roku 3 is going to start collecting dust .
Is it available to the mini's? If so, how do you access it?

Do you have to do something to the main unit first?

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is offline  
post #1359 of 1362 Old 11-01-2014, 02:58 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 17,760
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 958 Post(s)
Liked: 769
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post
Is it available to the mini's? If so, how do you access it?

Do you have to do something to the main unit first?

I believe that it is available on minis. It's part of the 20.3.5 firmware release. I have that already because I registered my Roamio Basic on the priority update page. The firmware update will roll out to Premieres as well but they won't get the new apps until 2015; I guess that they need to work on optimizing performance for the slower boxes.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill

Last edited by michaeltscott; 11-01-2014 at 03:15 AM.
michaeltscott is offline  
post #1360 of 1362 Old 11-01-2014, 09:14 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,956
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 927 Post(s)
Liked: 813
Yes my four Minis all have access to the Amazon and Vudu streaming apps. I signed up all my boxes to the TiVo priority update page. Which updated them to the newer software on Tuesday(v20.4.5). Then on Thursday, after my Minis made a connection to TiVo, the Amazon and Vudu apps showed up. They are also on my Roamio Pro and Roamio Basic. And are supposed to come to the TiVo Premieres sometime in 2015.

40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

Last edited by aaronwt; 11-01-2014 at 09:21 AM.
aaronwt is offline  
post #1361 of 1362 Old 11-14-2014, 01:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Conrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Martinez, CA, USA
Posts: 4,216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Just noticed last night that "American Horror Story: Freakshow" was in DD+.
Brian Conrad is offline  
post #1362 of 1362 Old 11-25-2014, 05:17 PM
Member
 
passingbat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Is anyone using a 2014 LG Bluray player to access Amazon Prime video? And if so are you getting 5.1 audio on titles marked as 5.1?


I'm in the UK and accessing UK Amazon Prime and only getting stereo on my LG Bluray player. I don't know if it's a player problem or a problem with Amazon UK (Prime video has only been available for 10 months in the UK).


If people in the USA are getting 5.1 from an LG player, it may help to narrow down the cause of the problem.


I know LG is not the most popular choice for a BR player, but here in the UK, it is the only non games console streaming device that will get all three main services; Netflix, Amazon and Now TV (Now TV is the only way to stream current HBO content here).


Thanks for any help.
passingbat is online now  
Reply Video Download Services & Hardware

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off