Devices/ways to stream espn3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 Old 10-30-2011, 03:43 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
cburbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Somewhere in Oregon
Posts: 2,892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I am looking at different ways that espn 3 can be streamed to a TV. Please let me know what I may missing from my current list.

Hardware Devices:
1) Xbox 360 + membership
2) Boxee Box plus plugin
3) Google TV (Sony and Logitech) Recent flash update has broken it.

Media Centers
1) Windows Media Center + Plugin
2) Boxee + Plugin but looks like something broke as it doesn't go full screen
3) XMBC + Plugin

Software on PC with some type of media Device:

1) Playon Client on PC, Streams to certain devices Supported Devices
2) Orb Client on PC with Orb BD(Disc for certain Blu Ray Players)
PS-3, Oppo Players, Panasonic Players(Panasonic DMP BD65, Panasonic DMP BD85, Panasonic DMP BD100, Panasonic DMP BD110
Panasonic DMP BD210)
3) Zinc TV

"Dang! You got shocks, pegs... lucky! You ever take it off any sweet jumps? "

Sony 55EX500 Settings
cburbs is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 Old 10-30-2011, 04:51 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 10,222
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 220
Google TV (Sony and Logitech). On the Boxee Box you don't need a plugin as it will stream fine using their browser.
Charles R is offline  
post #3 of 18 Old 10-30-2011, 06:09 PM
Senior Member
 
Cygnus2112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
GoogleTV no longer plays ESPN3 with the flash software update. This could change with HC update tho.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles R View Post

Google TV (Sony and Logitech). On the Boxee Box you don't need a plugin as it will stream fine using their browser.

Cygnus2112 is offline  
post #4 of 18 Old 10-30-2011, 06:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jagouar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 5,762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Something to make note of... and this might not be true anymore but the xbox at the time it was released was the only option for getting espn3 in hd.
jagouar is online now  
post #5 of 18 Old 10-30-2011, 09:24 PM
Senior Member
 
gonzo90017's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 17
You can also use the PC version of Zinc to watch ESPN 3.
gonzo90017 is offline  
post #6 of 18 Old 10-30-2011, 11:16 PM
Senior Member
 
WackyPacks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 33
I prefer to stick with devices that are officially supported. Unofficial stuff can be hit/miss or just not work one day because of change on streamer's website. So for me, it is just a regular pc hooked up to a tv.
WackyPacks is offline  
post #7 of 18 Old 10-31-2011, 11:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tighr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 3,246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 66
There is an ESPN3 plugin for WMC? That would make things slightly easier. I will attempt to use The Google.

~Tighr: Not helping the situation since 1983

tighr is offline  
post #8 of 18 Old 10-31-2011, 04:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 35
In addition to the device, make certain your ISP is paying Disney the money to allow you to watch it on their network.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is online now  
post #9 of 18 Old 10-31-2011, 04:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tighr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 3,246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyross63 View Post

In addition to the device, make certain your ISP is paying Disney the money to allow you to watch it on their network.

What's interesting about this is that I have full access to ESPN3, but I don't have access to the watchESPN Android App.

And there is still no way to watch Monday Night Football using the ESPN3 service.

~Tighr: Not helping the situation since 1983

tighr is offline  
post #10 of 18 Old 11-01-2011, 04:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Odds are, ISP's would also have to pay Disney for WatchESPN. Given the pressure on pricing, I think many ISP's and cable companies are starting to play hardball.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is online now  
post #11 of 18 Old 11-01-2011, 08:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Cygnus2112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You are getting access to ESPN3 via your ISP and they are not paying for the ability to stream ESPN's other channels. MNF comes on ESPN, not ESPN3.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tighr View Post

What's interesting about this is that I have full access to ESPN3, but I don't have access to the watchESPN Android App.

And there is still no way to watch Monday Night Football using the ESPN3 service.

Cygnus2112 is offline  
post #12 of 18 Old 11-01-2011, 08:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tighr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 3,246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cygnus2112 View Post

You are getting access to ESPN3 via your ISP and they are not paying for the ability to stream ESPN's other channels. MNF comes on ESPN, not ESPN3.

I suppose I should have phrased it in such a way that implied that I am STILL not able to watch Monday Night Football, which is regretful. I realize MNF is not on ESPN3. I'm definitely paying attention to my options regarding what sports content I can access.

Monday Night Football is however available from the WatchESPN desktop app (its blacked out on mobile), but my ISP is not paying for watchESPN.

Here's a handy dandy link telling more about the features of WatchESPN:
http://espn.go.com/watchespn/faq

~Tighr: Not helping the situation since 1983

tighr is offline  
post #13 of 18 Old 11-06-2011, 09:33 AM
Newbie
 
dm41398's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cygnus2112 View Post

GoogleTV no longer plays ESPN3 with the flash software update. This could change with HC update tho.

Still crashes sometimes, but espn3 does work with the honey comb update for google tv. Did yesterday and this morning anyway.
dm41398 is offline  
post #14 of 18 Old 11-06-2011, 02:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tighr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 3,246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 66
I installed the ESPN3 plugin for WMC yesterday and used it to watch a few college games. I ended up not liking it very much. It didn't list all the games that were available. Still has a very much "beta" feel to it, also.

I went back to the web launcher.

~Tighr: Not helping the situation since 1983

tighr is offline  
post #15 of 18 Old 11-06-2011, 08:22 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
cburbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Somewhere in Oregon
Posts: 2,892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by tighr View Post

I installed the ESPN3 plugin for WMC yesterday and used it to watch a few college games. I ended up not liking it very much. It didn't list all the games that were available. Still has a very much "beta" feel to it, also.

I went back to the web launcher.

Yeah I noticed that as well. Though if I go back to it an hour later it might have everything listed - not sure why.

"Dang! You got shocks, pegs... lucky! You ever take it off any sweet jumps? "

Sony 55EX500 Settings
cburbs is online now  
post #16 of 18 Old 11-08-2011, 06:00 PM
Newbie
 
Ashleywind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Google TV (Sony and Logitech). On the Boxee Box you don't need a plugin as it will stream fine using their browser.
Ashleywind is offline  
post #17 of 18 Old 11-26-2012, 02:03 PM
Member
 
whitenack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Allow me to bump this old, old thread. Sorry if this is bothersome.

I am in the market for a video streamer to provide me access to ESPN3 for our bedroom. I currently have a logitech review in my living room, that is connected to an old Tivo. It is able to access ESPN3 without much trouble. I am getting a TV for the bedroom that I want to do the same thing with, but all of these Google TV boxes only have HDMI connections. I do not have cable, just an antenna, and no tivo in the bedroom. My antenna can connect straight to the TV, but it would bypass the video streamer and require me to have two separate inputs instead of the GTV overlay that was designed.

I see Boxee TV as an option, but I worry about the ESPN3 functionality. I could always buy an old Tivo without the monthly service just create the connection for a GTV, but in the best case scenario that is adding $50-75 to the setup.

How reliable is Boxee TV's (not boxee box) ESPN3 functionality?
whitenack is offline  
post #18 of 18 Old 12-01-2012, 06:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tenthplanet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Mexico, South of Oregon, Not as far east as Vegas
Posts: 1,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Could you just run ethernet to your bedroom and you use a google tv box wth hdmi with the television. It might be the easiest way it would also give you the option of using a regular computer is you wanted to.

"Bring out yer dead!".."Wait I'm not dead yet!"..(Sound Austrian here) "WRONG !!" (You know what happens next..)
tenthplanet is offline  
Reply Video Download Services & Hardware

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off