CinemaNow - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-26-2011, 05:34 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
PupfosterG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My new Sony BDP-s185 clearly states on the box CinemaNow, along with Hulu and Netflix. When I attempt to access CinemaNow the on screen logo states "coming soon". I have a hand full of CinemaNow gift cards, which were purchased at Best Buy, which were displayed near the Sony players. Oh the frustration! I called Sony Support and CinemaNow and both acknowledge that CinemaNow wasn't available yet, but would be in the future. In searching online I find this was announced earlier in the year. Yet, neither website mentions any delay in the roll out. Does anyone know whats up? Contract dispute, software issue, etc? Thanks
PupfosterG is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-26-2011, 05:52 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Tulpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 10,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 60
They were acquired by Best Buy last year, and I recently read they were having some issues rolling it out in Canada. That's about it.

Don't believe everything on the Interwebz! A duck's quack DOES echo!
Tulpa is offline  
Old 01-13-2012, 10:28 PM
Member
 
smooth tha boss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 15
yea sony just got cinemanow for the ps3 so it should be soon
smooth tha boss is offline  
Old 01-14-2012, 12:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Conrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Martinez, CA, USA
Posts: 4,614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 450 Post(s)
Liked: 231
My Sony player says "coming soon" but I already had it on the Samsung. It duplicates a lot of offerings found elsewhere.
Brian Conrad is offline  
Old 01-14-2012, 12:28 PM
Senior Member
 
donthetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: somewhere on planet Earth
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Conrad View Post

My Sony player says "coming soon" but I already had it on the Samsung. It duplicates a lot of offerings found elsewhere.

The last part of your post is very true.....I checked out offerings on Blockbuster, CinemaNow, and VUDU.....Amazon is not available on my device yet(WDTV Live Hub).....Both BB and CN have a lot of catching up to do in terms of equaling VUDU, plus their SD prices are high in comparison, they do not offer HD(as far as I know, only to Intel ICore powered PC's)....On the plus side, they offer downloading to my device, when VUDU does not, but I have no interest in downloading SD films.....
donthetech is offline  
Old 01-16-2012, 09:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
moviegeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 1,715
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I live in the US and CinemaNow is available on my Sony devices(SMP N100 and S570), make sure you update the list(Options->Update List) and select "Auto Software Notification" in setup. VUDU is only available on 2011 and newer Sony devices, Amazon VOD usually has better prices.
moviegeek is offline  
Old 01-17-2012, 12:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Conrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Martinez, CA, USA
Posts: 4,614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 450 Post(s)
Liked: 231
Cinemanow is not available yet on the Sony S480 and it has "Auto Software Notification" on.
Brian Conrad is offline  
Old 01-17-2012, 12:23 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 18,846
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1631 Post(s)
Liked: 953
Looks like the OP's BD player has VUDU, a service with a superior selection, PQ and AQ. Given that, why would anyone care about CinemaNow? My BD player has Netflix, Amazon, VUDU and CinemaNow for movies and I've never felt any need for CN.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
Old 01-17-2012, 03:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,792
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Conrad View Post

Cinemanow is not available yet on the Sony S480 and it has "Auto Software Notification" on.

It may only be added to newer models. I have both an S370 and S380 in two rooms. They are virtually the same, yet the 370 has no Vudu (but does have DLNA.)

Welcome to the future. To add a new 'channel', you have to buy new hardware every year!!!

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is offline  
Old 01-17-2012, 08:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
moviegeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 1,715
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I read that the older models aren't getting VUDU or the Netflix update* because they don't support streaming 5.1 audio. I don't believe it because I can stream 5.1 via DLNA, Sony probably wants you to buy new hardware.

*subtitles and 5.1 audio
moviegeek is offline  
Old 01-17-2012, 09:50 PM
Senior Member
 
maggiefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have the Sony N460 which is the first model that has streaming and it has the CinemaNow. But it never got the Sony one. I can't remember the name, it starts with a Q.

Larry
maggiefan is offline  
Old 01-18-2012, 12:47 AM
EJ
AVS Special Member
 
EJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Minot, ND
Posts: 2,779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a launch PS3, and it has Vudu. I'm too cheap to rent the movies, but the trailers sure are fun to watch!

Former USSB uplink operator.
EJ is offline  
Old 01-18-2012, 02:59 PM
Senior Member
 
donthetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: somewhere on planet Earth
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post

Looks like the OP's BD player has VUDU, a service with a superior selection, PQ and AQ. Given that, why would anyone care about CinemaNow? My BD player has Netflix, Amazon, VUDU and CinemaNow for movies and I've never felt any need for CN.

I guess I'm one of the rare breed that likes to download from these online services instead of stream....I have my reasons for this....I was disappointed that VUDU does not support downloading to my Live Hub, it doesn't make sense to approve a device that has the ability to download, then don't support it, this was a deal breaker for me...The Hub was approved along with the newer WDTV Live streaming player.....so I will watch C/N and Blockbuster's progress to see if they truly want to compete with VUDU in terms of a superior experience.....Now with Amazon's deal to join Ultraviolet and offer WB movies, things could get interesting....
donthetech is offline  
Old 01-18-2012, 05:33 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 18,846
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1631 Post(s)
Liked: 953
Quote:
Originally Posted by EJ View Post

I have a launch PS3, and it has Vudu. I'm too cheap to rent the movies, but the trailers sure are fun to watch!

I rarely rent anything but the 99 cent movie of the day.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
Old 01-19-2012, 05:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cinema13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,829
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post

Looks like the OP's BD player has VUDU, a service with a superior selection, PQ and AQ. Given that, why would anyone care about CinemaNow? My BD player has Netflix, Amazon, VUDU and CinemaNow for movies and I've never felt any need for CN.

I can see little PQ/AQ difference between CN and Vudu, as both offer 1080p and Dolby Digital Plus. Actually, there is one difference that I noticeed...CN's prices are a dollar or two less than Vudu for the 1080p/DD+ flicks.
cinema13 is offline  
Old 01-19-2012, 05:16 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 18,846
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1631 Post(s)
Liked: 953
Quote:
Originally Posted by cinema13 View Post

I can see little PQ/AQ difference between CN and Vudu, as both offer 1080p and Dolby Digital Plus.

That CN has 1080p/DD+ for any title is news to me (the last time I looked, many months ago, they didn't). Given that I suppose it's worth complaining about your device not having it as promised.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
Old 01-20-2012, 05:12 PM
Senior Member
 
donthetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: somewhere on planet Earth
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cinema13 View Post

I can see little PQ/AQ difference between CN and Vudu, as both offer 1080p and Dolby Digital Plus. Actually, there is one difference that I noticeed...CN's prices are a dollar or two less than Vudu for the 1080p/DD+ flicks.

What device are you using to get 1080P and DD+ with CN? I definitely DO NOT get either one on my Live Hub.....Movies are available in SD only with stereo sound.....
donthetech is offline  
Old 01-20-2012, 09:43 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 18,846
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1631 Post(s)
Liked: 953
Quote:
Originally Posted by donthetech View Post

What device are you using to get 1080P and DD+ with CN? I definitely DO NOT get either one on my Live Hub.....Movies are available in SD only with stereo sound.....

I just installed it on my PS3 and created an account. Bizarre "slot machine" UI, not nearly as nice as VUDU's. Looking at "Technical Details/High Definition" for an arbitrary title, it says:

Video: 1080p, Adaptive H.264 (4.0/8.0 Mbps)
Audio: AAC stereo (192 Kbps) | DD+ 5.1 (256 Kbps)

I assume that "4.0/8.0 Mbps" means some set of encodings ranging from 4 to 8 Mbps according to available bandwidth; VUDU's 1080p HDX tier is 4.5 to 9 Mbps. The bit rate for DD+ is lower than Netflix is using (384 Kbps) but it's there. There's an option to enable surround sound, which is enabled by default.

There's no extra charge for 1080p as on VUDU; it's $5 for new release HD, $1 cheaper than HDX or Zune HD (adaptive up to 1080p if you pay for HD).

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
Old 01-21-2012, 08:46 AM
Senior Member
 
donthetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: somewhere on planet Earth
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post

I just installed it on my PS3 and created an account. Bizarre "slot machine" UI, not nearly as nice as VUDU's. Looking at "Technical Details/High Definition" for an arbitrary title, it says:

Video: 1080p, Adaptive H.264 (4.0/8.0 Mbps)
Audio: AAC stereo (192 Kbps) | DD+ 5.1 (256 Kbps)

I assume that "4.0/8.0 Mbps" means some set of encodings ranging from 4 to 8 Mbps according to available bandwidth; VUDU's 1080p HDX tier is 4.5 to 9 Mbps. The bit rate for DD+ is lower than Netflix is using (384 Kbps) but it's there. There's an option to enable surround sound, which is enabled by default.

There's no extra charge for 1080p as on VUDU; it's $5 for new release HD, $1 cheaper than HDX or Zune HD (adaptive up to 1080p if you pay for HD).

Strange, the UI on my device is like a horizontal scroll configuration, no option at all for HD nor DD 5.1.....It does offer SD downloads, though, I don't have a NAS set up yet, but I think this service would even download to it if it was online, if that is the case, that would be a plus IMO.....
donthetech is offline  
Old 01-21-2012, 02:13 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 18,846
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1631 Post(s)
Liked: 953
Quote:
Originally Posted by donthetech View Post

Strange, the UI on my device is like a horizontal scroll configuration, no option at all for HD nor DD 5.1.....It does offer SD downloads, though, I don't have a NAS set up yet, but I think this service would even download to it if it was online, if that is the case, that would be a plus IMO.....

Download capability is nice--VUDU now has the option for that to the PS3. It allows people who lack the bandwidth to stream it in high definition to view titles in those resolutions at the full bit rate. It might take hours to download, but who cares? Just set it up and walk away and you have the same amount of time to play it when the download finishes as you would have if you'd streamed it.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
Old 01-22-2012, 07:34 AM
Senior Member
 
donthetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: somewhere on planet Earth
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post

Download capability is nice--VUDU now has the option for that to the PS3. It allows people who lack the bandwidth to stream it in high definition to view titles in those resolutions at the full bit rate. It might take hours to download, but who cares? Just set it up and walk away and you have the same amount of time to play it when the download finishes as you would have if you'd streamed it.

Absolutely, and that is why VUDU not allowing downloading to the Live Hub was a deal breaker, I still stream movies that I own with them, but have stopped any new purchases or rentals, which had been a substantial amount....Both Blockbuster and CinemaNow have basically the same UI on my device, powered by RoxioNow....Prices are varied between the services, but all have the new releases save for an exclusive here and there.....

With issues concerning hackers on the 'Net causing all kinds of chaos, I want the ability to download my films to local storage...Cloud storage is nice until the "Net comes crashing down, or ISP's cap the hell out of their services, etc......

I don't know how serious BB and CN are about competing in this VOD space, but they better get their act in gear or be left in the dust by VUDU.....I also think Amazon's decision to join Ultraviolet and distribute Warner's movies is a huge step forward for digital distribution of content.....I will monitor that development closely....
donthetech is offline  
Old 01-22-2012, 11:39 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 18,846
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1631 Post(s)
Liked: 953
I'd be surprised if downloading VUDU ("VUDU-to-Go") doesn't come to the WD TV Live Hub in an update soon. It's only been a couple of months since VUDU announced the feature in mid-November.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
Old 01-23-2012, 08:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
moviegeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 1,715
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by maggiefan View Post

I have the Sony N460 which is the first model that has streaming and it has the CinemaNow. But it never got the Sony one. I can't remember the name, it starts with a Q.

It's called Qriocity and it's expensive compared to the competition, besides I don't trust Sony with my CC info(they were hacked last year).
moviegeek is offline  
Old 01-23-2012, 02:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,792
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Actually, it has been renamed. It's now "Video Unlimited" and "Music Unlimited".

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is offline  
Old 01-23-2012, 06:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
moviegeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 1,715
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyross63 View Post

Actually, it has been renamed. It's now "Video Unlimited" and "Music Unlimited".

I guess it was as catchy as "Qwikster" was, the website is still www.qriocity.com though.
moviegeek is offline  
Old 01-24-2012, 08:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,792
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Want to mention that CinemaNow is active on my Sony TV (KV-EX700), but is still 'Coming Soon' on the two Sony BD players. Did 'activate' the TV, but you can't even watch $0 stuff without a credit card on-file.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is offline  
Old 01-24-2012, 06:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Phantom Gremlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tualatin Oregon
Posts: 1,407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by moviegeek View Post

I guess it was as catchy as "Qwikster" was, the website is still www.qriocity.com though.

That name probably wasn't picked by a Japanese executive with English as a second language. I'm sure that Sony employs plenty of American-born marketing morons.

The really really sad part is there are people in this country, adult American citizens even, who thought it was a good idea to choose "qriocity" and in the same vein "qwikster" as names for web sites. How much more of a "pro eugenics" argument do you need? Despite that, some people remain opposed to involuntary euthanasia.
Phantom Gremlin is offline  
Old 01-24-2012, 06:55 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Huh. CinemaNow offers 1080p/24 and DD+ bitstreaming? I'll have to check this out... I wouldn't think the PS3 could bitstream DD+ outside of a Blu-Ray as there's a bug, but the WD TV Live should be able to do it...

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
Old 01-24-2012, 07:00 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11,227
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1108 Post(s)
Liked: 601
PS3 slim seems to bitstream DD+ for Netflix at least (I get the right lights on my receiver and can hear all the channels). What is the bug? I've never tried CinemaNow on it.
mdavej is offline  
Old 01-24-2012, 07:28 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post

PS3 slim seems to bitstream DD+ for Netflix at least (I get the right lights on my receiver and can hear all the channels). What is the bug? I've never tried CinemaNow on it.

No it doesn't. The PS3 slim cannot bitstream DD+ (except for Blu-Ray), there's a known bug which Sony apparently has no intentions on fixing. It downconverts everything to standard 640K DD.

Ironically the PS3, which cannot bitstream DD+, gets the better CinemaNow client here. The WD TV Live, which can bitstream DD+, gets the crappy no-HD, no DD+ client. Oh well...

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off