Who has HULU Plus? - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 196 Old 11-14-2014, 05:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 283 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Hulu Plus didn't reduce the ads. I gave up watching Shield every break had those long freaking worse annoying prescription drug ads which are long. I am going to watch the Dish recording.

I have Hulu Plus free until August 2015 then I will cancel a week before if I do it now I lose out on all those crappy free months. Now I am going to use my bing points towards discounts on Amazon it is more worth it.

Earthlink Extreme powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
ASUS RT-N66W Router 374.43 (Merlin Build) using OpenDNS.
Toshiba 39L2300U (My Bedroom) - Amazon Fire TV, Sony PS4 Wired. Apple TV Wireless.
Toshiba 32RV530U (Living Room) - Amazon Fire TV, Sony PS3 Slim Wired
.
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 196 Old 11-14-2014, 08:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CANNON-FODDER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 1,307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Conrad View Post
... According to the research that was done over the NFL kerfuffle it doesn't take many ads to pay for the show. Everything else is gravy. ...
I missed this, could you provide a reference? Searching for NFL kerfuffle took me down a whole bunch of different roads, but I did not find anything about the number of ads needed to fund a show.

v/r,
C-F
CANNON-FODDER is online now  
post #183 of 196 Old 11-15-2014, 02:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Conrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Martinez, CA, USA
Posts: 4,381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 302 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post
There is matrixed information encoded in the stereo sound for most shows and movies which have surround soundtracks for ProLogic, giving front left, front center, front right and a single rear channel, though the ProLogic mechanism can synthesize surround when that information is absent. My Onkyo AVRs can detect that information and enable ProLogic automatically. The matrixed encoded ProLogic can sound pretty damn good , though not as crisp as discrete digital surround.
My Yamaha does that but you have to learn it on automatically. Actually the BD Player is supposed to do that too but apparently not for streaming.
Brian Conrad is offline  
post #184 of 196 Old 11-16-2014, 01:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Conrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Martinez, CA, USA
Posts: 4,381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 302 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by CANNON-FODDER View Post
I missed this, could you provide a reference? Searching for NFL kerfuffle took me down a whole bunch of different roads, but I did not find anything about the number of ads needed to fund a show.

v/r,
C-F
Sorry but it was on the radio in an interview so there are no links. I'm also not a sports fan so it might been about another sports group starting streaming.
Brian Conrad is offline  
post #185 of 196 Old 11-27-2014, 02:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Conrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Martinez, CA, USA
Posts: 4,381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 302 Post(s)
Liked: 189
I checked new movies from this past week and they all show ad breaks in them. I did watch a new movie a week ago on my TV and indeed it had ads. Do they realize that will be a "deal breaker" for most folks? I can understand ads on the TV shows or maybe movies on the free version but not the subscription.
Brian Conrad is offline  
post #186 of 196 Old 11-27-2014, 03:24 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 18,420
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1349 Post(s)
Liked: 877
I think that I've only ever watch TV shows on Hulu. Did movies previously not have ad breaks?

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #187 of 196 Old 11-27-2014, 04:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Westly-C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Techno World
Posts: 3,100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 77
The handful of movies I watched during a trial period, did not contain any ad breaks. That was earlier this year.

Dazed and confused over high tech.

Sigh...Concrap. The Internet Overlord Cometh
They're not com-tastic!
Westly-C is online now  
post #188 of 196 Old 11-28-2014, 12:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Conrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Martinez, CA, USA
Posts: 4,381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 302 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Up until now I hadn't seen any ad breaks in movies on Hulu+ via TV. I think with just Hulu you would get ad breaks. Maybe they got lazy and decided they didn't want to do two setups anymore. I watched "Maniac Cop" last night and it had ads but except for the first two breaks they were mainly 15 second Hulu promos.
Brian Conrad is offline  
post #189 of 196 Old 12-05-2014, 07:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Conrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Martinez, CA, USA
Posts: 4,381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 302 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Just checked some of the new movies and two that had ad breaks in them no longer have them. So complaints from the members won out or someone (a new hire or intern maybe) at Hulu didn't know there weren't supposed to be ads on the movies for Hulu+.
Brian Conrad is offline  
post #190 of 196 Old 12-30-2014, 12:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Conrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Martinez, CA, USA
Posts: 4,381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 302 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Hmm, I see Hulu+ is now asking "which ad do you prefer" on the TV. When are they going to learn they walk a fine line if they want to keep subscribers?

Did anyone watch season one of "THE WRONG MANs" last year and recall it being in "scope" (2:35:1) . I don't but season two is and checking season one now it is too.
Brian Conrad is offline  
post #191 of 196 Old 12-30-2014, 08:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CANNON-FODDER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 1,307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have seen the "Which Ad" off and on for quite some time through the Roku, although it is usually three ads from the same company. Could be a year or more, since I thought it was during last fall's Grimm when the girlfriend remarked about one of the commercials...

v/r,
C-F
CANNON-FODDER is online now  
post #192 of 196 Old 12-31-2014, 01:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Conrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Martinez, CA, USA
Posts: 4,381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 302 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Those ads sit there for several seconds unless you click on one of them. Click on the one less "relevant" to screw up their profiling.
Brian Conrad is offline  
post #193 of 196 Old 01-01-2015, 04:43 PM
Member
 
buttplug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Conrad View Post
Did anyone watch season one of "THE WRONG MANs" last year and recall it being in "scope" (2:35:1) . I don't but season two is and checking season one now it is too.
Did you check any season one episodes beyond the beginning few minutes? All of the season one episodes, while framed at 1280x720, have 2:35:1 aspect (with black bars) for the first 2-5 minutes (depending on the episode) and then transition to 1:78:1.

I downloaded the season one episodes from hulu when they were first made available - and I just checked one now, and it is still the same way. Episode one of season one, for example, transitions at 5 min 18sec.

Season two episodes are 2:35:1 the whole way through, with black bars in 1280x720 frame (assuming you're watching the HD version).
buttplug is offline  
post #194 of 196 Old 01-02-2015, 12:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Conrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Martinez, CA, USA
Posts: 4,381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 302 Post(s)
Liked: 189
No, I only watched the opening and didn't bother going further in. I don't remember the opening from a year ago.

Another annoyance is I've heard and read good things about "Jane the Virgin" so went to watch it. Hulu+ has episode 3 then skips to 6. I liked the episode and was surprised to see who directed it, Brad Silberling who is an old friend of my sister's family. I see he also directed the pilot.
Brian Conrad is offline  
post #195 of 196 Old 01-02-2015, 09:20 PM
Member
 
calculon68's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Was surprised to see Watership Down in their Criterion Collection a few days ago. (No ads either.) And the Blu-Ray issue doesn't ship until February.
calculon68 is offline  
post #196 of 196 Old 01-07-2015, 02:52 PM
Senior Member
 
ToonMasterTim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Has anyone compared video quality of Hulu Plus using a device supporting the older UI versus the new one? For instance, I have a 2013 Panasonic BD player and a 2013 Panasonic TV. Both have the same, older, version of the Hulu Plus app. The PS3 has a newer UI and different version. I'm not sure what the version numbers are, as I am not in front of the TV right now.

Recently I compared the video quality of a show via all three devices. I noticed that the PS3 with the newer version has lower quality. Meaning, I saw way more pixelation and heavy banding that was a lot less visible, if not entirely indiscernible, on the Panasonic devices running the older UI. I typically use my TV's app since it loads quickly and generally performs great, but sometimes I'll have the PS3 on and just use it instead. The PS3 has historically had fewer issues with buffering, although that has not been a problem on the TV or BD player lately. All devices are wired.

Last edited by ToonMasterTim; 01-07-2015 at 02:54 PM. Reason: Grammar correction.
ToonMasterTim is offline  
Reply Video Download Services & Hardware



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off