Netflix auto play? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 42 Old 03-21-2012, 01:48 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
RadRacer513's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know of any way to auto-play the next episode in a series through netflix? I'll turn spongebob on for my son and have to restart it after every episode; when I'm watching Supernatural I have to keep the keyboard close by so I can start the next episode, etc etc. Anyway to get this implemented?
RadRacer513 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 42 Old 03-21-2012, 03:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mproper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Palmyra, PA
Posts: 7,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
If you're using a PC, yes.

Don't think you can on other devices. I doubt they'll ever put this in. It's sortof an automatic "are you still paying attention" functionality by making you acknowledge that you're still awake and paying attention. Less tax on their system if they prevent people from loading up a series that has 100 episodes in it and then falling asleep and letting it play all night long (or just putting a series on for background noise while they do household chores or something).
mproper is offline  
post #3 of 42 Old 03-21-2012, 03:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
xcrunner529's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 15
^ sucks though, because I'm one of those weird people who has have the TV on when I'm going to sleep/falling asleep and I'd love Netflix to have that option. I like how on the Xbox version (despite how horrible it is IMO), it let's you play the next episode with one click right at the end of the current one for TV shows. Closer.
xcrunner529 is offline  
post #4 of 42 Old 03-22-2012, 09:23 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
RadRacer513's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Forgot to mention I'm streaming through my HTPC using the MC7 plug in
RadRacer513 is offline  
post #5 of 42 Old 03-22-2012, 10:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mproper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Palmyra, PA
Posts: 7,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
In that case, try this: http://code.google.com/p/autoflix/

I haven't tried it, but that might work.
mproper is offline  
post #6 of 42 Old 03-22-2012, 02:46 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
RadRacer513's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tried autoflix and it didn't work :-/
RadRacer513 is offline  
post #7 of 42 Old 03-26-2012, 10:05 PM
Newbie
 
brandongarletts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Check out Next-Flik. I use it to automatically play the next episode. It supports multiple seasons as well.

http://www.next-flik.com

brandongarletts is offline  
post #8 of 42 Old 03-29-2012, 01:49 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
RadRacer513's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by brandongarletts View Post

Check out Next-Flik. I use it to automatically play the next episode. It supports multiple seasons as well.

next-flik.com

Have you used it in the windows media center plugin for windows 7? Just want to verify it works before I buy it
RadRacer513 is offline  
post #9 of 42 Old 03-30-2012, 03:28 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
RadRacer513's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This program doesn't work either. It seems the few programs that are out there use the "play next episode" button which doesn't show up in media center. I emailed the creator of next-flik and he was nice and even refunded me when it didn't work. Told him my setup and he said he'd work on implementing it into media center and get back with me
RadRacer513 is offline  
post #10 of 42 Old 04-09-2012, 09:01 PM
Newbie
 
octalmage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Guys!

I'm the developer of autoFlix and I'm sorry the application didn't work. I just took a look at the Media Center Netflix and there doesn't seem to be an obvious way to implement this. Since it doesn't show a play next button of any kind.

If anyone would like a refund please email me at octalamge@gmail.com

Jason Stallings
octalmage is offline  
post #11 of 42 Old 04-10-2012, 08:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
etrin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have a ruku and for some reason a few of the new tv series will autoplay the next episode.

I do not know why or if its a glitch or what.
I was watching Futurama when they said they added the new season and when the episode was over the next one started.
I didn't try other episodes or older seasons, this was in the new season they said they had just added.
etrin is offline  
post #12 of 42 Old 04-12-2012, 08:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
dfiler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I would bet that Netflix intentionally leaves this functionality out of their interfaces. It ensures that bandwidth isn't wasted when someone hits play and forgets to stop playback before leaving on a multi-day vacation.

Granted, there are work arounds for the suitably motivated. Just ruminating about why the functionality isn't included.
dfiler is offline  
post #13 of 42 Old 04-12-2012, 12:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mproper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Palmyra, PA
Posts: 7,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
^ Agreed. I said as much in the second post.
mproper is offline  
post #14 of 42 Old 05-19-2012, 08:24 AM
Member
 
Ace_TX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
you know at minimum they can add a "next episode" button or leave the episode tab there

if bandwidth is the reason they purposely left the autoplay off then would it be so hard to make it easier to play the next episode by manually click a button

i have to click outside the show info box, then click the show again reopen the show info box then scroll to the episode tab, then scroll thru the episodes

that sheeet is annoying

---
Ace_TX is offline  
post #15 of 42 Old 05-19-2012, 11:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
xcrunner529's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 15
^ Get a real netflix client like the PS3 or Xbox which both have next episode buttons that do what you want.
xcrunner529 is offline  
post #16 of 42 Old 05-19-2012, 02:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,712
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 34
On my WDTV, after an episode finishes, it returns to the selection screen and is already pointing at the next. Basically, all you need to do is hit OK and go.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is offline  
post #17 of 42 Old 04-19-2013, 03:53 PM
Newbie
 
theshadygrass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Fordsville,ky
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm using my iPad to supply my 2 year old daughter with Netflix in her room. Found here my answer of course there is no way to make netfix auto start the next episode. Keeps me walking in there and clicking the next episode button so that's not fun. But owell
theshadygrass is offline  
post #18 of 42 Old 04-20-2013, 09:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,401
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 236
Quote:
Originally Posted by theshadygrass View Post

I'm using my iPad to supply my 2 year old daughter with Netflix in her room. Found here my answer of course there is no way to make netfix auto start the next episode. Keeps me walking in there and clicking the next episode button so that's not fun. But owell
WTH she's 2 years old already. Train her to press the next button. That's way too much to ask of a parent. eek.gif
olyteddy is online now  
post #19 of 42 Old 05-02-2013, 03:47 PM
Newbie
 
BrookeB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Dlink streaming media player does autoplay. It aso supports youtube and pandora.
BrookeB is offline  
post #20 of 42 Old 05-02-2013, 03:49 PM
Senior Member
 
yaomizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
It automatically starts the next episode on my oppo


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

yaomizzle is offline  
post #21 of 42 Old 05-02-2013, 08:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 224 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Glad the Roku does not have autoplay. I hate autoplay.

Earthlink Extreme powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
ASUS RT-N66W Router 374.43 (Merlin Build) using OpenDNS.
Amazon Fire TV, Apple TV 3, Roku 3, Sony PS3 Slim, Sony PS4 all Wired.
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
post #22 of 42 Old 05-03-2013, 02:02 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 17,333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 742 Post(s)
Liked: 701
Though I didn't like the idea I've gotten used to it. Usually when I'm watching a television series on Netflix I'll watch episode after episode until I get tired of it. A lot of heavily dialog-oriented things I'll listen to more than watch (the Law & Order series for example), playing puzzle games on my phone or tablet biggrin.gif. When I watch on the Roku I'm momentarily confused when it doesn't start the next episode.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #23 of 42 Old 05-03-2013, 08:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 224 Post(s)
Liked: 57
I don't watch the same series episodes back to back so I find it annoying. I change series after one episode finishes.

Earthlink Extreme powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
ASUS RT-N66W Router 374.43 (Merlin Build) using OpenDNS.
Amazon Fire TV, Apple TV 3, Roku 3, Sony PS3 Slim, Sony PS4 all Wired.
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
post #24 of 42 Old 05-04-2013, 06:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Wendell R. Breland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,378
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by reddice View Post

I don't watch the same series episodes back to back so I find it annoying.

Same here, and if the next episode starts to play before you intervene results in the database being up dated so when you do come back it will be on the wrong episode. They ought to make things like this settable by the user but one size fits all is cheaper to do.
Wendell R. Breland is offline  
post #25 of 42 Old 05-04-2013, 07:44 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Don't fall asleep w/Netflix on while watching a long series. You'll never find where you left off.biggrin.gif

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #26 of 42 Old 05-06-2013, 02:52 AM
Member
 
mike1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by reddice View Post

Glad the Roku does not have autoplay. I hate autoplay.

I'm glad it doesn't happen on the Roku too, because I hate it too. It reminds me of regular TV, which is something I don't want to be reminded of darn it!!! They need to just leave the end credits be at full screen for crying out loud!
mike1977 is offline  
post #27 of 42 Old 05-06-2013, 10:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 224 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike1977 View Post

I'm glad it doesn't happen on the Roku too, because I hate it too. It reminds me of regular TV, which is something I don't want to be reminded of darn it!!! They need to just leave the end credits be at full screen for crying out loud!
I agree. Next thing they start inserting network bugs, hastag text and scrolling animated promos for other shows. If they ever do that they will lose me as a subscriber.

Earthlink Extreme powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
ASUS RT-N66W Router 374.43 (Merlin Build) using OpenDNS.
Amazon Fire TV, Apple TV 3, Roku 3, Sony PS3 Slim, Sony PS4 all Wired.
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
post #28 of 42 Old 07-27-2013, 01:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 224 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post

Though I didn't like the idea I've gotten used to it. Usually when I'm watching a television series on Netflix I'll watch episode after episode until I get tired of it.
I get tired of it after one episode unless it is a two part episode otherwise after one episode it is off to a different show which is why I hate autoplay and the Roku 3 is now my primary device.

Earthlink Extreme powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
ASUS RT-N66W Router 374.43 (Merlin Build) using OpenDNS.
Amazon Fire TV, Apple TV 3, Roku 3, Sony PS3 Slim, Sony PS4 all Wired.
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
post #29 of 42 Old 08-02-2013, 09:14 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 17,333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 742 Post(s)
Liked: 701
Quote:
Originally Posted by reddice View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post

Though I didn't like the idea I've gotten used to it. Usually when I'm watching a television series on Netflix I'll watch episode after episode until I get tired of it.
I get tired of it after one episode unless it is a two part episode otherwise after one episode it is off to a different show which is why I hate autoplay and the Roku 3 is now my primary device.

Are you responding to my 3-month old post biggrin.gif? In any case I now find that of the many Netflix playing devices that I own, only the web site player, Win8 app and PS3 shrink the credits. WD TV Live, TiVo Premiere, Panasonic DMP-BDT220 and Sony BDP-S390 do not.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #30 of 42 Old 08-02-2013, 10:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 224 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Now using my PS3 again for Netflix because of reliability problems with the Roku 3 I really hate the autoplay. At least it should wait until the credits are over before it counts down to play the next episode like the other devices except the PC does.

Earthlink Extreme powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
ASUS RT-N66W Router 374.43 (Merlin Build) using OpenDNS.
Amazon Fire TV, Apple TV 3, Roku 3, Sony PS3 Slim, Sony PS4 all Wired.
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
Reply Video Download Services & Hardware

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off