WD TV live support Netflix DD+ 5.1? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 05-08-2012, 03:24 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
david0406's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Does the WD TV live streamimg device support Netflix in 5.1 DD+?
david0406 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 05-08-2012, 03:34 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
david0406's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Netflix website states WD TV Live Hub and WD TV Live Plus supports 5.1 DD+. Is there a difference between WD TV Live and WD TV Live Plus? I notice new version of this box is WD TV live.
david0406 is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 05-08-2012, 05:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mr.G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by david0406 View Post

Does the WD TV live streamimg device support Netflix in 5.1 DD+?

Yes, which is the reason I purchased the WD TV Live streamer, my other streamer the Roku XD did not provide 5.1 DD+ on Netflix.

All I Really Need to Know I Learned in Movies

Mr.G is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 05-08-2012, 06:53 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
david0406's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.G View Post

Yes, which is the reason I purchased the WD TV Live streamer, my other streamer the Roku XD did not provide 5.1 DD+ on Netflix.

Thanks! My Roku2 XD is causing handshake issues with my Onkyo NR 609 when I stream in DD+ on Netflix. I can stream Netflix all day long in 2.0 stereo and handshakes are completed every time when switching hdmi inputs. So I thought I would try a different device to see if the Onkyo or the Roku2 is causing the issue plus the WD live has Vudu which I have yet to have on any device.
david0406 is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 05-09-2012, 07:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mr.G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by david0406 View Post

... So I thought I would try a different device to see if the Onkyo or the Roku2 is causing the issue plus the WD live has Vudu which I have yet to have on any device.

I've watched 5 movies with 5.1 DD+ on VUDU and the WDTV Live does a great job.

All I Really Need to Know I Learned in Movies

Mr.G is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 05-11-2012, 06:59 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
david0406's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.G View Post

Yes, which is the reason I purchased the WD TV Live streamer, my other streamer the Roku XD did not provide 5.1 DD+ on Netflix.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.G View Post

I've watched 5 movies with 5.1 DD+ on VUDU and the WDTV Live does a great job.

WOW! I was not expecting what I got when I got this new device. I don't want to sit here and beat down the Roku2 but the difference in video quality is stunning in my opinion. The colors all seem correct and there is no black level issues. I never expected to see this difference. This is making my Netflix subscription that much more enjoyable. I have been a fan of Roku since I hopped on to this technology but I must say that I would have to recommend my new device hands down over the Roku2 for video quality. Now that being said if you are looking for quantity of content then Roku is king. This device does not have near the content that Roku has but makes up for it in video quality. I also now have You tube, Vudu, and Spotify. Apps Roku does not have. And guess what else. I HAVE NO HANDSHAKE ISSUES. ALL HANDSHAKE ISSUES COMPLETE WHEN SWITCHING INPUTS ON MY REPEATER ( AVR) . This device does have a power button so I am assuming that it does actually turn itself on and off. Maybe this is what is causing the handshake issues on the Roku since the HDMI signal is always present. Well 2 weeks of frustration has finally ended and I am ECSTATIC. Sorry Roku but you have been dethroned in my house. Correct colors and no black level issues. Just WOW. I really never expected it.
david0406 is offline  
Reply Video Download Services & Hardware

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off