Device Comparison Chart - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 05-17-2012, 09:55 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
mproper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Palmyra, PA
Posts: 7,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I didn't see this posted, but thought it warranted its own thread (vs. being buried in the Best Device thread). I think it's relatively up-to-date, but unfortunately doesn't show FPS (it's my understanding that the new Tivo does 1080p/24).

Someone put together this comparison, which I think will be handy: http://blog.streamingmedia.com/the_b...one-chart.html

Here is the direct link to the PDF: http://blog.streamingmedia.com/2012-...hart-Final.pdf
mproper is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 05-17-2012, 10:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Wendell R. Breland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 52
2012 Best Home Media Server Comparisons and Reviews

Digital Media Player Review

IMO, there is no best player. They all seem to have their shortcomings. One would have thought the kinks would have been ironed out by now.
Wendell R. Breland is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 05-17-2012, 05:27 PM
Newbie
 
jaffrey@avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Washington DC (High Rise on the 11th Floor)
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wendell R. Breland View Post

2012 Best Home Media Server Comparisons and Reviews

Digital Media Player Review

IMO, there is no best player. They all seem to have their shortcomings. One would have thought the kinks would have been ironed out by now.

It depends on your set up. I use Apple TV (the new one) and it works flawlessly. I have all my digital content in iTunes so it works well for me. I also have a Blu Ray player for when I need optical.

I used to have a Roku but converted to Apple TV because of their UI and AirPlay. I just disconnected my cable service last weekend. No regrets so far

Since I got the Apple TV a couple if months ago it is used for 90% of my content. Blu Ray is the rest.

The survey is slightly off. Apple TV does support 1080p and does stream pictures. Both are shown as missing features.

Impressed by a clean installation.
jaffrey@avs is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 05-18-2012, 07:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mr.G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaffrey@avs View Post

It depends on your set up. I use Apple TV (the new one) and it works flawlessly. I have all my digital content in iTunes so it works well for me. I also have a Blu Ray player for when I need optical.

I used to have a Roku but converted to Apple TV because of their UI and AirPlay. I just disconnected my cable service last weekend. No regrets so far

Since I got the Apple TV a couple if months ago it is used for 90% of my content. Blu Ray is the rest.

The survey is slightly off. Apple TV does support 1080p and does stream pictures. Both are shown as missing features.

There is no player that does ALL of the content providers. The ATV3 is a nice player, my daughter owns one but she also owns the WDTV Live and the 'fat' PS3 for more content.

All I Really Need to Know I Learned in Movies

Mr.G is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 05-18-2012, 08:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Wendell R. Breland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaffrey@avs View Post

I use Apple TV (the new one) and it works flawlessly.

Does it play Blu-ray ISO or M2TS files? If so, will it pass through DD TrueHD and DTS Master Audio? Will it play WMA Lossless or FLAC files? If not then it does not even come close to being a universal media player.
Wendell R. Breland is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 05-19-2012, 08:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 29
I noticed a possible error on that Streamingmedia PDF. It says the WD TV Live has composite video and analog audio outputs. It does not, at least the latest version. It only has HDMI and optical audio.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 05-19-2012, 12:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mr.G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyross63 View Post

I noticed a possible error on that Streamingmedia PDF. It says the WD TV Live has composite video and analog audio outputs. It does not, at least the latest version. It only has HDMI and optical audio.

It comes with a mini-plug to composite video, stereo cable.

http://wdc.com/en/products/products.aspx?id=330
LL

All I Really Need to Know I Learned in Movies

Mr.G is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 05-19-2012, 02:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 29
I just noticed that when I was putting the box away. Looks like my old iPod in that it uses a triple-ring 1/8" plug.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 05-20-2012, 02:00 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 16,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 481
Quote:
Originally Posted by mproper View Post

... unfortunately doesn't show FPS (it's my understanding that the new Tivo does 1080p/24).

This is an actual weakness of the TiVo Premiere's player. It can only decode Netflix's 1080p24 video and pass it through--it cannot convert the framerate. Therefore, if your television cannot handle 24p input, it can't play 1080p Netflix as provided by the player in the TiVo Premiere (maybe some AVRs can do the conversion from 24p to 60p internally?). This would seem to be a unique hardware deficiency of the Premiere itself.

Also, because it can't do this, it always has to switch output resolutions to go to 1080p24, which takes a bit of adjustment for most displays, causing a visual "blip". Of course, if your available bandwidth to TiVo's servers is high and stable, it should only happen once.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
Reply Video Download Services & Hardware

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off