Amazon VOD (Prime) gets HD on XBOX but not Roku and Panny Blu-Ray - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 09-21-2012, 11:46 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
fcwdev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I'm trying to understand what's the issue here. My XBOX 360 gets the "HD" signal strength indicator all the time (and looks good), however, my ROKU and Panasonic Blu-Ray player hardly ever. They are more or less in the same location. What could be the cause?

I do not prefer using my XBOX because of fan noise and the clunky interface. Ideally my blu-ray player would get the HD connection but hardly ever does. Once it did, but could not sustain it. I have Comcast (30+ mbps burst) and wonder what tricks they may be doing. Perhaps Amazon streams are artificially down throttled (unless via XBOX). Any info is appreciated. (on the blu-ray player) I've tried Wireless G and Wireless N. I may try a wired connection as a test.
fcwdev is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 09-21-2012, 12:44 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 18,450
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1577 Post(s)
Liked: 895
Using a wired connection to all devices is the only way to level the playing field. Wireless reception is different in each location.

Also, reboot your Comcast modem in case it needs to update firmware. There were some recent updates rolled out by Comcast. Mine has an April 2012 date on the firmware.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #3 of 7 Old 09-24-2012, 12:14 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
fcwdev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Wired connection solves the problem. I now get "HD" on my panasonic blu-ray player. Perhaps the Wireless modem in the player is sub par.
fcwdev is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 09-24-2012, 02:52 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 22,346
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2553 Post(s)
Liked: 1353
It's gotta be pretty frickin' sub-par. HD Amazon Instant Video with 5.1 sound comes in at 2.3 Mbps, or so sayeth Roku's player's debug message. You wouldn't need more than 3.5 Mbps or so to keep ahead of that.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 09-24-2012, 06:11 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 28,950
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4753 Post(s)
Liked: 2804
Nothing on the Roku should be an issue for wifi streaming if the wireless N network is setup properly.. Even 9Mb/s from VUDU 3 bar HDX should be no issue for wifi on the Roku2. Mine always connects at a 65Mb/s rate(20Mhz bandwidth) to my APs so it should be good for half that bandwidth of 32.5Mb/s. And of course none of the streaming services come close to 32.5Mb/s. Whether they are connected wirelessly or wired mine are just as fast with the streaming services.

53TB unRAID2--41TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
Sony 65x850C--Samsung UBD-K8500--Sony HT-NT3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 09-25-2012, 09:30 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
fcwdev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

Nothing on the Roku should be an issue for wifi streaming if the wireless N network is setup properly.. Even 9Mb/s from VUDU 3 bar HDX should be no issue for wifi on the Roku2. Mine always connects at a 65Mb/s rate(20Mhz bandwidth) to my APs so it should be good for half that bandwidth of 32.5Mb/s. And of course none of the streaming services come close to 32.5Mb/s. Whether they are connected wirelessly or wired mine are just as fast with the streaming services.

I am using Wireless G. I'm not sure if my ROKU has Wireless N, it is an older model then the current batch. Anyways, more specifically, are there settings in my Netgear router that I should be using to be "setup properly". Thanks
fcwdev is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 09-26-2012, 12:54 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 22,346
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2553 Post(s)
Liked: 1353
You should probably check out the "Optimize your streaming experience", "Compatible Wireless Routers and Access Points" and "FAQ: Networking 101 and your Roku Player" threads in the Roku Forums.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Video Download Services & Hardware

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off