Clarification around "buffering" and does equipment contribute? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 12-17-2012, 03:57 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tealboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am still new to the smart equipment and netflix but attempted to watch Black Hawk Down on netflix, streaming via my new samsung E5900 smart blu ray and the buffering & reloading was so frustrating, I eventually turned it off. In one hr, i got 30-40 interupptions, it was horrible. I then decided to try my new smart tv, a samsung plasma 7000 series and turned the same movie on and didn't have any trouble at all even though it is in the next room, slightly further away. I then tried a second samsung blue ray e5900 (i bought 2) to see if the smart tv simply worked better than the blu ray. I loaded black hawk via the blu ray and no buffering. My wifi in the house is 72 mbps so i think that is good.

I went back to the other room where i had so much trouble and loaded a different netflix movie and had some, but much less buffereing this time, but its still frustrating. I later loaded seal team six on netflix and oddly, watched the entire movie on the same equipment and don' tthink it buffered at all.

I just don't understand what's going on here
tealboy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 12-17-2012, 06:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 279
What's the speed of your Internet service, not your wifi?
mdavej is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 12-17-2012, 01:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Conrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Martinez, CA, USA
Posts: 3,869
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 92
When I got a new Sony player at the beginning of the year it would take forever to connect with Netflix. I had a Samsung before which had no problems (just occasional rebuffering issues). I changed the DNS and it connected fine. Whatever DNS server was default (probably Sony's own) was not up to the job. The solution came from reading the Sony support site where others had the same issue until they changed the server. So your set might be using a different DNS server than the BD player.
Brian Conrad is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 12-17-2012, 03:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,675
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 25
The device should be using whatever DNS your system tells it to. They should not be bypassing it, at least by default.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is online now  
post #5 of 7 Old 12-18-2012, 04:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Conrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Martinez, CA, USA
Posts: 3,869
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 92
If the Sony player was using the default DNS from my router then why didn't it work? I didn't set the DNS on the Samsung player. I think your assumption may be incorrect.
Brian Conrad is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 12-19-2012, 03:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,675
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 25
If it's properly using DHCP, it should pick up all of the addresses automatically from the router. It should not override them unless you go into the settings and manually set things.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is online now  
post #7 of 7 Old 12-20-2012, 12:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Conrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Martinez, CA, USA
Posts: 3,869
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 92
The solution worked, otherwise the player would have gone back. Just sayin' the default wasn't working. The default worked on Samsung player. The option is there so why not use it. There are no hard fast rules in IT.
Brian Conrad is offline  
Reply Video Download Services & Hardware

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off