Netflix adds 3D and Super HD - Page 51 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1501 of 1920 Old 08-24-2013, 12:18 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 16,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 424 Post(s)
Liked: 547
As you point out in your "Whats up with most stuff being 'Available in HD on your TV' crap?" thread it's not just the stuff from the Epix deal, but all TV and movies from Fox and all movies from Paramount.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
" -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1502 of 1920 Old 08-24-2013, 12:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
mtallent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cecilia,KY
Posts: 865
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I just did some tests using my PS3. First I had it set for UNBlock-US DNS and it ramped up to 5800 in about 30 seconds using Example Short. I then switched the PS3 back to the default Comcast DNS and it went no higher than 3850 and did not display the SuperHD logo. I then set the PS3 to Google DNS and it did the exact same as with the Comcast DNS settings maxing out at 3850. I did this today, Saturday around Noon EDT. So nothing has changed with Comcast here.

Mike T

Size Matters

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mtallent is offline  
post #1503 of 1920 Old 08-24-2013, 01:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Maybe it's then just a TWC thing in selected markets. Netflix and TWC did make a big deal to stream there movies exclusively and I don't know if it is related or not. Just nothing in the news yet about it which might just make it a fluke. I will enjoy Super HD as long as it lasts then.

Earthlink Standard powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
ASUS RT-N66W Router 374.43 (Merlin Build) using OpenDNS.
Amazon Fire TV, Apple TV 3, Sony PS3 Slim, Sony PS4 all Wired.
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
post #1504 of 1920 Old 08-24-2013, 03:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Westly-C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Techno World
Posts: 3,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by reddice View Post

Maybe it's then just a TWC thing in selected markets. Netflix and TWC did make a big deal to stream there movies exclusively and I don't know if it is related or not.


LOL...No. The recent movie deal between Netflix was with The Weinstein Company-the other TWC, not the eeeevil Time Warner Co TWC.

http://flavorwire.com/newswire/netflix-and-the-weinstein-company-ink-multi-year-deal


Dazed and confused over high tech.

Sigh...Concrap. The Internet Overlord Cometh
They're not com-tastic!
Westly-C is offline  
post #1505 of 1920 Old 08-24-2013, 04:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 52
How many alias does TWC have?

Earthlink Standard powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
ASUS RT-N66W Router 374.43 (Merlin Build) using OpenDNS.
Amazon Fire TV, Apple TV 3, Sony PS3 Slim, Sony PS4 all Wired.
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
post #1506 of 1920 Old 08-24-2013, 04:52 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 16,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 424 Post(s)
Liked: 547
Quote:
Originally Posted by reddice View Post

How many alias does TWC have?

See this biggrin.gif. My personal favorite is Tylenol With Codeine cool.gif.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
" -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #1507 of 1920 Old 08-25-2013, 01:43 AM
Newbie
 
ivandragos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

i believe this will be of interest to some of you.

I am looking for some free testusers. Please keep in mind that it will only work for the devices listed below(PS3, PC(browser)).

If somebody wants to use

USA Netflix on the PC
USA Netflix on the PS3 in SuperHD and in 3D
USA Netflix on the AppleTV in SuperHD (untested but verified by somebody inside the USA, might require additional routing outside the USA)
Pandora on PC and mobile devices

please send me an email to need.moar.whitelist.spots(at)gmail(dot)com with your IP address. Afterwards i will send you my DNS server address to enter in your device.

If you do not have a static IP please send me your dyndns address. If you have a dynamic IP and do not currently use a dyndns like service you can sign up for free at http://freedns.afraid.org/ and create one in minutes.
ivandragos is offline  
post #1508 of 1920 Old 08-26-2013, 11:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Still nothing in the news about this except many stupid articles about Steve Ballmer retiring from Microsoft. Who cares.

Earthlink Standard powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
ASUS RT-N66W Router 374.43 (Merlin Build) using OpenDNS.
Amazon Fire TV, Apple TV 3, Sony PS3 Slim, Sony PS4 all Wired.
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
post #1509 of 1920 Old 08-27-2013, 02:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Well I lost Super HD this afternoon. I had it for four days. I knew that it was a fluke since I could not find ANY NEWS ANYWHERE that TWC signed up for Open Connect. NOTHING AT ALL. I also knew it was not going to last since the Netflix page said I was not configured for Super HD and on my PS3 I did not see NOT ONE Super HD logo.

Earthlink Standard powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
ASUS RT-N66W Router 374.43 (Merlin Build) using OpenDNS.
Amazon Fire TV, Apple TV 3, Sony PS3 Slim, Sony PS4 all Wired.
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
post #1510 of 1920 Old 08-27-2013, 03:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mailiang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Springsteen Country
Posts: 6,733
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 180 Post(s)
Liked: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by reddice View Post

Well I lost Super HD this afternoon. I had it for four days. I knew that it was a fluke since I could not find ANY NEWS ANYWHERE that TWC signed up for Open Connect. NOTHING AT ALL. I also knew it was not going to last since the Netflix page said I was not configured for Super HD and on my PS3 I did not see NOT ONE Super HD logo.


whirlgif 3.04 (c) dino@danbbs.dk 9 images



Ian biggrin.gif

The best way to succeed in life is to act on the advice you give to others

mailiang is offline  
post #1511 of 1920 Old 08-27-2013, 03:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Like I said it was fun when it lasted. The thing I don't understand though is since Super HD comes from the ISP's CDN using Open Connect and TWC does not support Open Connect where did the Super HD streams come from then? Unless Netflix CDN's do support Super HD on any ISP that can handle the stream but Netflix turns it off if the ISP is not supported.

Earthlink Standard powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
ASUS RT-N66W Router 374.43 (Merlin Build) using OpenDNS.
Amazon Fire TV, Apple TV 3, Sony PS3 Slim, Sony PS4 all Wired.
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
post #1512 of 1920 Old 08-27-2013, 03:58 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 16,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 424 Post(s)
Liked: 547
Quote:
Originally Posted by reddice View Post

Like I said it was fun when it lasted. The thing I don't understand though is since Super HD comes from the ISP's CDN using Open Connect and TWC does not support Open Connect where did the Super HD streams come from then? Unless Netflix CDN's do support Super HD on any ISP that can handle the stream but Netflix turns it off if the ISP is not supported.

Where does Super HD come from when you access it via Unblock or Unotelly? You can get to Netflix's Open Connect servers over the open Internet but Netflix wants ISPs to use dedicated lines and local cache servers for it.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
" -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #1513 of 1920 Old 08-27-2013, 04:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post

Where does Super HD come from when you access it via Unblock or Unotelly? You can get to Netflix's Open Connect servers over the open Internet but Netflix wants ISPs to use dedicated lines and local cache servers for it.

That is what I though. So Netflix supports Open Connect from there own CDN's but they most likely restrict it to your ISP otherwise they CDN's would get overloaded. Still I wonder why 4300 kbps is considered Super HD as I saw no difference compared to 3850 kbps non Super HD when 5800 kbps I noticed a little difference.

Earthlink Standard powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
ASUS RT-N66W Router 374.43 (Merlin Build) using OpenDNS.
Amazon Fire TV, Apple TV 3, Sony PS3 Slim, Sony PS4 all Wired.
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
post #1514 of 1920 Old 08-27-2013, 04:50 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 16,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 424 Post(s)
Liked: 547
It might have something to do with them having to pay more to transport streams from their CDN over the open Internet. In any case, using dedicated paths to the ISP's WANs along with caching servers is advantageous to both them and the ISP, at least on the face of it.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
" -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #1515 of 1920 Old 09-03-2013, 01:19 PM
Senior Member
 
gomo657's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I've watched two movies on two different days (ps3) and received super HD on Comcast Washington, D.C. thought it was a fluke although the flash page still says not configured for SHD

"well you know what doctor I'm going to go home take two aspirins and call you a b****"
gomo657 is offline  
post #1516 of 1920 Old 09-03-2013, 01:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 52
It won't last unless the Netflix page says you can get Super HD. To tell the truth the four days I had Super HD I could not really tell the difference from regular HD except that it used much more data using up to 16 GB in one day instead of 4 to 6 GB on regular HD.

Earthlink Standard powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
ASUS RT-N66W Router 374.43 (Merlin Build) using OpenDNS.
Amazon Fire TV, Apple TV 3, Sony PS3 Slim, Sony PS4 all Wired.
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
post #1517 of 1920 Old 09-03-2013, 09:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Westly-C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Techno World
Posts: 3,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by gomo657 View Post

I've watched two movies on two different days (ps3) and received super HD on Comcast Washington, D.C. thought it was a fluke although the flash page still says not configured for SHD

Perhaps you could run a tracert on your pc while streaming something that says SHD on your PS3...Maybe the CDN that would be listed after the trace leaves your ISP's network, would be one that Netflix uses for Open Connect. I can't recall the name-maybe michaelscott may remember(?)

 

To run a trace, Go to Command Prompt (on the pc), type tracert netflix.com (be sure there's a space between the 2 words), then hit Enter.

 

Quote:
 

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\tracert netflix.com

Tracing route to netflix.com [67.216.222.14]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  .ibone.comcast.net
12    81 ms    77 ms   100 ms  te0-0-0-19.ccr21.atl02.atlas.cogentco.com [154.5
4.10.233]
 13    76 ms    93 ms    75 ms  be2053.mpd22.atl01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.3.
145]
 14    77 ms   107 ms    82 ms  be2101.mpd22.ord01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.29
.81]
 15   100 ms    82 ms    77 ms  te4-3.ccr01.ord04.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.24.
182]
 16    89 ms    82 ms    83 ms  te4-3.ccr01.mke02.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.3.5
8]
 17    87 ms    84 ms    87 ms  38.122.82.18
 18   120 ms    91 ms    90 ms  67.216.222.14

Trace complete.

C:\Documents and Settings\>


Dazed and confused over high tech.

Sigh...Concrap. The Internet Overlord Cometh
They're not com-tastic!
Westly-C is offline  
post #1518 of 1920 Old 09-03-2013, 11:59 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 16,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 424 Post(s)
Liked: 547
One Netflix Open Connect CDN domain is nflxvideo.net; there may be others but I think that the content servers are there. I find that sub-Super-HD-bit-rate video encodes might come from other servers but Super HD ones always come from those.

I don't know what good running a tracert is going to do. The way I've determined what Netflix was getting content from involved looking at a list of connections using the Tomato variant firmware running in my router. Running the Win8 app, I could use the Resource Monitor as per this procedure.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
" -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #1519 of 1920 Old 09-04-2013, 10:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Westly-C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Techno World
Posts: 3,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 63

^^Thanks, I got the process confused. Didn't remember that you're getting info from your router, with a particulat firmware loaded on it. The mystery of intermittent S-HD showing up for another member has me intrigued.


Dazed and confused over high tech.

Sigh...Concrap. The Internet Overlord Cometh
They're not com-tastic!
Westly-C is offline  
post #1520 of 1920 Old 09-13-2013, 07:47 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I found this page where someone asked a question about turning off subtitles to some programs in Norway:
Quote:
Turn off subtitles?
Questions from Grizzle:

For alot of us who usually download series, we watch them without subtitles.

I've noticed (for example on How I met your Mother) that you cannot turn off subtiltes? Why is this not an option?

Reading subtitles takes away the focus from the movie/tvseries alot..
Answer:

For many titles on Netflix we offer full flexibility when it comes to subtitles and audio options, giving you the option to turn these on and off as you please. However, there are some titles where we were only able to license the movie or show with subtitles embedded. Unfortunately this is not up to us.

So apparently it's a licensing issue. Plainly some people who live in Nordic regions are just as annoyed about it as we are,

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #1521 of 1920 Old 09-13-2013, 07:10 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 16,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 424 Post(s)
Liked: 547
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post

I found this page where someone asked a question about turning off subtitles to some programs in Norway:
Quote:
Turn off subtitles?
Questions from Grizzle:

For alot of us who usually download series, we watch them without subtitles.

I've noticed (for example on How I met your Mother) that you cannot turn off subtiltes? Why is this not an option?

Reading subtitles takes away the focus from the movie/tvseries alot..
Answer:

For many titles on Netflix we offer full flexibility when it comes to subtitles and audio options, giving you the option to turn these on and off as you please. However, there are some titles where we were only able to license the movie or show with subtitles embedded. Unfortunately this is not up to us.

So apparently it's a licensing issue. Plainly some people who live in Nordic regions are just as annoyed about it as we are,

On many titles in the non-US regions the players don't give you an option to go without subtitles, but I've noticed that there is always a "None" subtitles option for those titles in the Roku player.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
" -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #1522 of 1920 Old 09-14-2013, 04:37 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post

On many titles in the non-US regions the players don't give you an option to go without subtitles, but I've noticed that there is always a "None" subtitles option for those titles in the Roku player.
I tried to watch Collateral the other day in Denmark region and the forced subs were really quite annoying. If I didn't have so many players already I'd pick up a Roku3.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #1523 of 1920 Old 09-14-2013, 07:53 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 16,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 424 Post(s)
Liked: 547
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post

I tried to watch Collateral the other day in Denmark region and the forced subs were really quite annoying. If I didn't have so many players already I'd pick up a Roku3.

I just tried that. You get stuck with subs in one of the Nordic languages on most devices (defaulting to Danish, of course) on everything that I tried (Win8 app, WD TV Live, TiVo Premiere and Xbox 360) except Roku cool.gif. It just seems so stupid not to have an option to not do something rolleyes.gif. Of course, there are other things you don't have the option not to do (if the player features it), like post-play.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
" -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #1524 of 1920 Old 09-22-2013, 05:43 AM
Newbie
 
dreameral's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm using windows 8.1 beta app. I also have an atv3 and a roku xd. All three can stream up to 5300 using the short example clip on netflix. The windows app Is by far the softest of the bunch.(even my wife can notice). I am using a nvidia gt610 video card in an old xeon server. It's as if the windows beta 8.1 app can't get to the last bit of super hd. When I use the roku, there is three changes to the resolution that I can see. Crappy to hd then a subtle difference to super hd. Does any one notice the windows app is less clear or are your results the same as the other streaming devices
dreameral is offline  
post #1525 of 1920 Old 09-24-2013, 02:48 PM
Newbie
 
jebeltra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Agree with you. Who in Heck does NF think they are!!. Yes, sorry the largest streamer in the world.
But that does not make it right to limit the quality of content I get from them, I am paying the same that the guy next door is paying. I am sure that my 80/35 Fios connection will take anything.

My thoughts:
It cost NF to use anybody else's CDN,
It may/may not cost ISPs to pipe NF directly through NF's CDN we do not know
Regardless, why will ISPs help another business reduce its costs w/o getting a piece of the action?.
If NF goal with it own CDN is to cut its costs, then it is their problem to strike a deal with ISPs to make it work

If my broadband provider gives me enough bandwidth to be able to get anything NF can put out there, why is NF not allowing me to get it!!. It is their problem it is costing them x instead of Y. It is not my ISPs problem or business to save NF money.

A business can not "force" another business to take their terms, specially by trying to leverage their customers.

What will they want next, to have the ISPs contribute to their content costs so they can deliver even a better NF experience???
jebeltra is offline  
post #1526 of 1920 Old 09-24-2013, 03:23 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 16,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 424 Post(s)
Liked: 547
Quote:
Originally Posted by jebeltra View Post

If my broadband provider gives me enough bandwidth to be able to get anything NF can put out there, why is NF not allowing me to get it!!. It is their problem it is costing them x instead of Y. It is not my ISPs problem or business to save NF money.

It's also their problem if they lose money by doubling or tripling what they pay the commercial CDNs for storage of their library and go out of business. If you don't like that you can't get Super HD and 3D from Netflix through your ISP, vote with your dollars and cancel your Netflix subscription.
Quote:
A business can not "force" another business to take their terms, specially by trying to leverage their customers.

I don't see them trying to "force" anything. The ISPs are free to ignore them and the two largest (Comcast and TWC) are doing just that so far, as is Verizon. All they can do is encourage. It's exactly the same as those commercials for cable services which end in "Ask your provider to add Channel-X today!", except in this case "Channel-X" might actually save your provider money and free up bandwidth with which to provide their customers data from other sources.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
" -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #1527 of 1920 Old 09-24-2013, 04:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mailiang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Springsteen Country
Posts: 6,733
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 180 Post(s)
Liked: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post

It's also their problem if they lose money by doubling or tripling what they pay the commercial CDNs for storage of their library and go out of business. If you don't like that you can't get Super HD and 3D from Netflix through your ISP, vote with your dollars and cancel your Netflix subscription.
I don't see them trying to "force" anything. The ISPs are free to ignore them and the two largest (Comcast and TWC) are doing just that so far, as is Verizon. All they can do is encourage. It's exactly the same as those commercials for cable services which end in "Ask your provider to add Channel-X today!", except in this case "Channel-X" might actually save your provider money and free up bandwidth with which to provide their customers data from other sources.


In a few more years you won't even have to make this argument since Netflix claims they will only be delivering through Open Connect. It just makes economic sense. If there are ISP's left that still don't want to play ball, their customers will either have to bite the bullet or go somewhere else.


Ian wink.gif

The best way to succeed in life is to act on the advice you give to others

mailiang is offline  
post #1528 of 1920 Old 09-24-2013, 05:30 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 16,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 424 Post(s)
Liked: 547
Quote:
Originally Posted by mailiang View Post

In a few more years you won't even have to make this argument since Netflix claims they will only be delivering through Open Connect. It just makes economic sense. If there are ISP's left that still don't want to play ball, their customers will either have to bite the bullet or go somewhere else.

Perhaps that's based on projected Open Connect adoption? It's difficult to believe that they'll just up and drop a potential pool of 40 million US subs or more if more ISPs don't sign up.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
" -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #1529 of 1920 Old 09-24-2013, 09:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mailiang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Springsteen Country
Posts: 6,733
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 180 Post(s)
Liked: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post

Perhaps that's based on projected Open Connect adoption? It's difficult to believe that they'll just up and drop a potential pool of 40 million US subs or more if more ISPs don't sign up.

Possibly:
Quote:
YouTube, has long had its own content delivery network. Given our size and growth, it now makes economic sense for Netflix to have one as well. We’ll continue to work with our commercial CDN partners for the next few years, but eventually most of our data will be served by Open Connect


They said most. tongue.gif


Ian

The best way to succeed in life is to act on the advice you give to others

mailiang is offline  
post #1530 of 1920 Old 09-24-2013, 09:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post

Perhaps that's based on projected Open Connect adoption? It's difficult to believe that they'll just up and drop a potential pool of 40 million US subs or more if more ISPs don't sign up.
With the three major ISPs not supporting Open Connect that will be a lot of subscribers. They would be stupid to do that.

Earthlink Standard powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
ASUS RT-N66W Router 374.43 (Merlin Build) using OpenDNS.
Amazon Fire TV, Apple TV 3, Sony PS3 Slim, Sony PS4 all Wired.
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
Reply Video Download Services & Hardware

Tags
Netflix

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off