BD Players with best Netflix option? - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 40 Old 06-03-2013, 05:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Westly-C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Techno World
Posts: 3,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by reddice View Post

Mike maybe you should look into replaying that old Phat PS3 with a Slim. I have the first PS3 Slim 120gb model which I updated the HD to 320gb. I think it only uses 80 watts and it still is the best Netflix player out of all of them.

I might look into the new WDTV if it has the same UI as the PS3 and if it has a up to four minute buffer. What is the price and can I get it from Amazon? Anything got to be better than the Roku 3.

The average going price for a new WD TV Live player is around $69.00 on Amazon. There are refurbished units on ebay-a reputable seller is grassroots-computers, and they seem to get a steady supply of refurbs which you may be able to snag for a little less than full price.


Dazed and confused over high tech.

Sigh...Concrap. The Internet Overlord Cometh
They're not com-tastic!
Westly-C is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 40 Old 06-03-2013, 07:12 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 16,996
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 540 Post(s)
Liked: 596
Quote:
Originally Posted by reddice View Post

Mike maybe you should look into replaying that old Phat PS3 with a Slim. I have the first PS3 Slim 120gb model which I updated the HD to 320gb. I think it only uses 80 watts and it still is the best Netflix player out of all of them.

I don't play PS3 games enough to warrant spending $250 or more upgrading. Even the Super Slim seems to draw 65W while playing Netflix, several times what a BD player would, nearly 20 times what a Roku 3 does.

I think that both Sony and MS are rumored to be planning an inexpensive A/V-oriented release of their current gen consoles this year; MS' is supposed to be DVD-less. It'll be interesting to see what those cost.
Quote:
I might look into the new WDTV if it has the same UI as the PS3 and if it has a up to four minute buffer. What is the price and can I get it from Amazon? Anything got to be better than the Roku 3.

I don't believe that the PS3 has a 4 minute buffer; I'm sure that mine doesn't (although it's hard to compare since I can't prevent it sending me Super HD at a %50 higher bit rate). I don't think that your watching the activity light on your router is accurate. When you think the buffer's full, unplug its network cable and time how long it continues playing.

The WD TV Live does not have the PS3's latest fancy UI features, doesn't start streams as fast or immediately leap to the highest possible video encode bit rate.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
" -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #33 of 40 Old 06-04-2013, 11:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,867
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 381 Post(s)
Liked: 370
Thanks to all for the advice. I think I'll try to snag a WD TV Live from ebay and relegate my sony to disc playback only.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mdavej is offline  
post #34 of 40 Old 06-04-2013, 09:40 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 16,996
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 540 Post(s)
Liked: 596
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post

On Friday I had an exchange with the Netflixhelps Twitter account which I posted here. In it they kept urging me to additionally call the problem in so that their research department would be made aware of it (I don't understand what keeps them from forwarding our written exchange, sparing me the challenge of explaining it vocally). I may do that today.

I found that I could get to the same people by chat and did not have to try to explain the problem over the phone--I just wrote it up and pasted it into the chat. I posted about doing that here along with a log of my conversation. Sounds as if they understood what I was talking about and are going to make an effort to fix it. Keep your fingers crossed biggrin.gif.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
" -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #35 of 40 Old 06-05-2013, 12:42 PM
GGA
Advanced Member
 
GGA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Topanga CA
Posts: 704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 13
FWIW I reported in the other Netflix thread that on or about March 8 my Sony S790 would no longer stream at 5800 but only at 4300.

I was going to post this in the Neflix Chat link you posted but it looks like they no longer offer Chat.
GGA is online now  
post #36 of 40 Old 06-05-2013, 01:08 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 16,996
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 540 Post(s)
Liked: 596
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGA View Post

I was going to post this in the Neflix Chat link you posted but it looks like they no longer offer Chat.

Since yesterday??? This is the link at the bottom of their top support page; when I clicked it just now a little chat dialog box popped up with "You are now chatting with Kyle" on the header (having nothing to say, I immediately closed the box; hopefully Kyle wasn't disappointed biggrin.gif).

I doubt that it's that big of a data point that you noticed the problem a couple of weeks earlier than the earliest report that I found. Hopefully they're off to the races on solving it, or at least posted a prioritized detailed entry in their problem report system, to be picked up and dealt with by some engineer eventually (which is what would have happened in CE R&D companies that I've done software development for).

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
" -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #37 of 40 Old 06-05-2013, 01:30 PM
GGA
Advanced Member
 
GGA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Topanga CA
Posts: 704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Both of your links return identical pages with my Firefox browser. There is no link at the bottom of the page and there is no mention of Chat anywhere. Bizarre.

This is the address of the Chat link you provide:

https://help.netflix.com/help#startChat

But there is no mention of Chat. This is the only link they give for contacting them:

Want to speak to us?
Call Us


I thought giving a fairly precise inception date of the problem might be of some value.
GGA is online now  
post #38 of 40 Old 06-05-2013, 02:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Westly-C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Techno World
Posts: 3,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 63

Chat is currently being tested (for several months now) for a select group of NF subscribers, and isn't available to the wider customer base.

I've seen others mention it on Facebook, but it's never showed up for me.


Dazed and confused over high tech.

Sigh...Concrap. The Internet Overlord Cometh
They're not com-tastic!
Westly-C is online now  
post #39 of 40 Old 06-05-2013, 02:53 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 16,996
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 540 Post(s)
Liked: 596
Huh. I guess I was lucky. I'm really not sure that I'd have tried to make that report vocally over the phone, nor would I have given quite as much information if I had. If they'd given me some kind of case number I'd report your earlier encounter, GGA, but they didn't, so to get it in would mean making a whole new report. It might help in tracking down exactly which update manifested the problem (probably an update to the downloaded HTML5 components). You're welcome to call them on the phone and try biggrin.gif. Even without that it doesn't seem like the sort of problem it would be difficult to diagnose and correct.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
" -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #40 of 40 Old 06-05-2013, 03:04 PM
GGA
Advanced Member
 
GGA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Topanga CA
Posts: 704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Thanks for both your inputs.

I guess we will leave well enough alone and keep our fingers crossed!
GGA is online now  
Reply Video Download Services & Hardware

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off