Netflix on PS3 "My List" disappearing when scrolling through... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 Old 10-01-2013, 02:02 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 6,830
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 298 Post(s)
Liked: 843
This has happened twice recently. Scrolling through "my list" all of a sudden it displays a box saying my list is empty and I should throw some titles in it. I power down and back up and it's back to normal each time. Maybe it's my Harmony remote but seems I'm only using the scrolling up/down and side/side arrows when this happens but maybe my fat fingers are doing something more. I'll try to see if I can induce it again but thought I'd ask if this is something anyone else has experienced.

lovinthehd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 Old 10-01-2013, 07:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Westly-C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Techno World
Posts: 3,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 65

This happened frequently with my Insignia NSBRDVD4 Blu Ray player back in August. I assumed that because the player had an older Netflix app (that may not be capable of being updated directly by Netflix as the apps on newer players and game consoles can), that the switch in name plus the addition of profiles, may have been causing glitches.

The recommended fix for most problems with the app on the PS3 is to delete the NF folder under Game Data Utility and then reboot the console. You'll need to sign in again with your email and password. Give that a try.


Dazed and confused over high tech.

Sigh...Concrap. The Internet Overlord Cometh
They're not com-tastic!
Westly-C is offline  
post #3 of 18 Old 10-01-2013, 01:38 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 6,830
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 298 Post(s)
Liked: 843
I'll try that after I see if I can't figure out that it was induce it to see if it's just me or the app...

lovinthehd is offline  
post #4 of 18 Old 10-02-2013, 12:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Conrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Martinez, CA, USA
Posts: 4,118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 147
I've also been noticing th e "Home" screen changes on my Sony BD player. What is often missing is the New Releases section. I'm betting they are trying to keep us for jumping on all the new releases when they don't have the capacity for a large number of users to watch those titles at the same time.
Brian Conrad is offline  
post #5 of 18 Old 10-03-2013, 06:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,546
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 134
What Netflix version # do you have on the PS3?
JChin is offline  
post #6 of 18 Old 10-03-2013, 02:39 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 6,830
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 298 Post(s)
Liked: 843
I have no idea, how does one check that?

lovinthehd is offline  
post #7 of 18 Old 10-03-2013, 04:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Westly-C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Techno World
Posts: 3,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovinthehd View Post

I have no idea, how does one check that?

IIRC, using the arrow buttons (With the app active), you press UP-UP DOWN-DOWN, LEFT-RIGHT LEFT-RIGHT UP-UP-UP-UP.

400


Dazed and confused over high tech.

Sigh...Concrap. The Internet Overlord Cometh
They're not com-tastic!
Westly-C is offline  
post #8 of 18 Old 10-03-2013, 05:04 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 6,830
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 298 Post(s)
Liked: 843
Is that some sort of inside PS3 joke?

lovinthehd is offline  
post #9 of 18 Old 10-03-2013, 05:13 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,287
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 341 Post(s)
Liked: 857
You are not alone. And its not just on the PS3. It does it on my Panny tv also.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is offline  
post #10 of 18 Old 10-03-2013, 08:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Westly-C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Techno World
Posts: 3,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 65

Just be happy you don't have to rub your head and stomach at the same time while doing that....:p

 

 

 

And for the record, no, it's not a joke. :rolleyes:


Dazed and confused over high tech.

Sigh...Concrap. The Internet Overlord Cometh
They're not com-tastic!
Westly-C is offline  
post #11 of 18 Old 10-03-2013, 10:06 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 6,830
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 298 Post(s)
Liked: 843
Well, once I get the Netflix app active up (i.e. running, not just on the xmbc menu) all those instructions do is navigate among the various categories pointlessly. I'm using a Harmony remote. Is there something special about the arrow functions on the controllers or dedicated remote?

I've tried to induce the disappearing list and haven't (but only tried twice).

I'll try the head/stomach thing but isn't that supposed to be pat your head and rub your tummy at the same time (or is it vice versa?) smile.gif

lovinthehd is offline  
post #12 of 18 Old 10-04-2013, 07:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 32
I have the disappearing My List on my fat PS3 with the latest version of Netflix after I watch a movie and then delete that movie from my list.
Postmoderndesign is offline  
post #13 of 18 Old 10-04-2013, 03:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Westly-C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Techno World
Posts: 3,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovinthehd View Post

Well, once I get the Netflix app active up (i.e. running, not just on the xmbc menu) all those instructions do is navigate among the various categories pointlessly. I'm using a Harmony remote. Is there something special about the arrow functions on the controllers or dedicated remote?

I wouldn't think so. You have to press the sequence pretty quickly. My controller is easiest at getting to the screen in my earlier post, but I also use a PS3 remote, that I find I must go as quickly as possible, or it won't work.


Dazed and confused over high tech.

Sigh...Concrap. The Internet Overlord Cometh
They're not com-tastic!
Westly-C is offline  
post #14 of 18 Old 10-04-2013, 04:21 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 17,293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 722 Post(s)
Liked: 687
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovinthehd View Post

Is that some sort of inside PS3 joke?

The sequence works on almost every device. It's an homage to an old video game cheat, known as the Konami Code.

It's the only way to remove a single device from your account; at the website you can only remove all devices, after which you'll have to reactivate all of the ones that you want.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #15 of 18 Old 10-04-2013, 06:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,546
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by Westly-C View Post

IIRC, using the arrow buttons (With the app active), you press UP-UP DOWN-DOWN, LEFT-RIGHT LEFT-RIGHT UP-UP-UP-UP.

Hi Westly-C, my version appears to be newer then yours.
JChin is offline  
post #16 of 18 Old 10-04-2013, 06:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,546
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovinthehd View Post

Well, once I get the Netflix app active up (i.e. running, not just on the xmbc menu) all those instructions do is navigate among the various categories pointlessly. I'm using a Harmony remote. Is there something special about the arrow functions on the controllers or dedicated remote?

Hi lovinthehd, no issue here using the Harmony remote ... pressing the buttons as normal (not fast or slow).
JChin is offline  
post #17 of 18 Old 10-05-2013, 09:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tom Imp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by Postmoderndesign View Post

I have the disappearing My List on my fat PS3 with the latest version of Netflix after I watch a movie and then delete that movie from my list.

Same here (slim PS3 though).

If I shut down Netflix and then restart it, my queue come back.
Tom Imp is offline  
post #18 of 18 Old 10-05-2013, 12:56 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 6,830
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 298 Post(s)
Liked: 843
Well I was going pretty slowly as I read the sequence....and just tried again going pretty quickly a few times and it didn't work then one last try at about the same speed and it did.

I have:

ESN NFPS3-001-E1UV31D90033NE4WZ8G024Y550

Software version Release-411

Certification version 2

Netflix version nrdapp 2013.1/ nrdlib 2013.1 / mdxlib 2013.1/ mdxjs2.0.6-r47 / sdk 4.0.0.0-dev / nrdjs

UI build release 551-t

lovinthehd is offline  
Reply Video Download Services & Hardware

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off