Netflix on PS3 "My List" disappearing when scrolling through... - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 Old 10-01-2013, 03:02 AM - Thread Starter
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 16,325
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4588 Post(s)
Liked: 4775
This has happened twice recently. Scrolling through "my list" all of a sudden it displays a box saying my list is empty and I should throw some titles in it. I power down and back up and it's back to normal each time. Maybe it's my Harmony remote but seems I'm only using the scrolling up/down and side/side arrows when this happens but maybe my fat fingers are doing something more. I'll try to see if I can induce it again but thought I'd ask if this is something anyone else has experienced.
lovinthehd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 Old 10-01-2013, 08:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Westly-C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Techno World
Posts: 3,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 322 Post(s)
Liked: 200

This happened frequently with my Insignia NSBRDVD4 Blu Ray player back in August. I assumed that because the player had an older Netflix app (that may not be capable of being updated directly by Netflix as the apps on newer players and game consoles can), that the switch in name plus the addition of profiles, may have been causing glitches.

The recommended fix for most problems with the app on the PS3 is to delete the NF folder under Game Data Utility and then reboot the console. You'll need to sign in again with your email and password. Give that a try.


Dazed and confused over high tech.

Sigh...Concrap. The Internet Overlord Cometh
They're not com-tastic!
Westly-C is offline  
post #3 of 21 Old 10-01-2013, 02:38 PM - Thread Starter
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 16,325
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4588 Post(s)
Liked: 4775
I'll try that after I see if I can't figure out that it was induce it to see if it's just me or the app...
lovinthehd is offline  
 
post #4 of 21 Old 10-02-2013, 01:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brian Conrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Martinez, CA, USA
Posts: 6,389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1420 Post(s)
Liked: 743
I've also been noticing th e "Home" screen changes on my Sony BD player. What is often missing is the New Releases section. I'm betting they are trying to keep us for jumping on all the new releases when they don't have the capacity for a large number of users to watch those titles at the same time.
Brian Conrad is offline  
post #5 of 21 Old 10-03-2013, 07:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 9,131
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 349 Post(s)
Liked: 204
What Netflix version # do you have on the PS3?
JChin is offline  
post #6 of 21 Old 10-03-2013, 03:39 PM - Thread Starter
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 16,325
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4588 Post(s)
Liked: 4775
I have no idea, how does one check that?
lovinthehd is offline  
post #7 of 21 Old 10-03-2013, 05:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Westly-C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Techno World
Posts: 3,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 322 Post(s)
Liked: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovinthehd View Post

I have no idea, how does one check that?

IIRC, using the arrow buttons (With the app active), you press UP-UP DOWN-DOWN, LEFT-RIGHT LEFT-RIGHT UP-UP-UP-UP.

400


Dazed and confused over high tech.

Sigh...Concrap. The Internet Overlord Cometh
They're not com-tastic!
Westly-C is offline  
post #8 of 21 Old 10-03-2013, 06:04 PM - Thread Starter
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 16,325
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4588 Post(s)
Liked: 4775
Is that some sort of inside PS3 joke?
lovinthehd is offline  
post #9 of 21 Old 10-03-2013, 06:13 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 16,555
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2371 Post(s)
Liked: 1907
You are not alone. And its not just on the PS3. It does it on my Panny tv also.

Licence to Kill
Bond 007 is offline  
post #10 of 21 Old 10-03-2013, 09:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Westly-C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Techno World
Posts: 3,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 322 Post(s)
Liked: 200

Just be happy you don't have to rub your head and stomach at the same time while doing that....:p

 

 

 

And for the record, no, it's not a joke. :rolleyes:


Dazed and confused over high tech.

Sigh...Concrap. The Internet Overlord Cometh
They're not com-tastic!
Westly-C is offline  
post #11 of 21 Old 10-03-2013, 11:06 PM - Thread Starter
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 16,325
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4588 Post(s)
Liked: 4775
Well, once I get the Netflix app active up (i.e. running, not just on the xmbc menu) all those instructions do is navigate among the various categories pointlessly. I'm using a Harmony remote. Is there something special about the arrow functions on the controllers or dedicated remote?

I've tried to induce the disappearing list and haven't (but only tried twice).

I'll try the head/stomach thing but isn't that supposed to be pat your head and rub your tummy at the same time (or is it vice versa?) smile.gif
lovinthehd is offline  
post #12 of 21 Old 10-04-2013, 08:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,529
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 85
I have the disappearing My List on my fat PS3 with the latest version of Netflix after I watch a movie and then delete that movie from my list.

Anál nathrach, orth’ bháis’s bethad, do chél dénmha
Postmoderndesign is offline  
post #13 of 21 Old 10-04-2013, 04:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Westly-C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Techno World
Posts: 3,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 322 Post(s)
Liked: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovinthehd View Post

Well, once I get the Netflix app active up (i.e. running, not just on the xmbc menu) all those instructions do is navigate among the various categories pointlessly. I'm using a Harmony remote. Is there something special about the arrow functions on the controllers or dedicated remote?

I wouldn't think so. You have to press the sequence pretty quickly. My controller is easiest at getting to the screen in my earlier post, but I also use a PS3 remote, that I find I must go as quickly as possible, or it won't work.


Dazed and confused over high tech.

Sigh...Concrap. The Internet Overlord Cometh
They're not com-tastic!
Westly-C is offline  
post #14 of 21 Old 10-04-2013, 05:21 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 22,581
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2706 Post(s)
Liked: 1429
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovinthehd View Post

Is that some sort of inside PS3 joke?

The sequence works on almost every device. It's an homage to an old video game cheat, known as the Konami Code.

It's the only way to remove a single device from your account; at the website you can only remove all devices, after which you'll have to reactivate all of the ones that you want.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #15 of 21 Old 10-04-2013, 07:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 9,131
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 349 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by Westly-C View Post

IIRC, using the arrow buttons (With the app active), you press UP-UP DOWN-DOWN, LEFT-RIGHT LEFT-RIGHT UP-UP-UP-UP.

Hi Westly-C, my version appears to be newer then yours.
JChin is offline  
post #16 of 21 Old 10-04-2013, 07:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 9,131
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 349 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovinthehd View Post

Well, once I get the Netflix app active up (i.e. running, not just on the xmbc menu) all those instructions do is navigate among the various categories pointlessly. I'm using a Harmony remote. Is there something special about the arrow functions on the controllers or dedicated remote?

Hi lovinthehd, no issue here using the Harmony remote ... pressing the buttons as normal (not fast or slow).
JChin is offline  
post #17 of 21 Old 10-05-2013, 10:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Tom Imp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Arizona
Posts: 2,505
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 279 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by Postmoderndesign View Post

I have the disappearing My List on my fat PS3 with the latest version of Netflix after I watch a movie and then delete that movie from my list.

Same here (slim PS3 though).

If I shut down Netflix and then restart it, my queue come back.
Tom Imp is offline  
post #18 of 21 Old 10-05-2013, 01:56 PM - Thread Starter
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 16,325
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4588 Post(s)
Liked: 4775
Well I was going pretty slowly as I read the sequence....and just tried again going pretty quickly a few times and it didn't work then one last try at about the same speed and it did.

I have:

ESN NFPS3-001-E1UV31D90033NE4WZ8G024Y550

Software version Release-411

Certification version 2

Netflix version nrdapp 2013.1/ nrdlib 2013.1 / mdxlib 2013.1/ mdxjs2.0.6-r47 / sdk 4.0.0.0-dev / nrdjs

UI build release 551-t
lovinthehd is offline  
post #19 of 21 Old 03-24-2016, 09:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
MPNASCAR24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Batavia, NY
Posts: 664
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 30
My List Shows Missing

Starting last night every time i open netflix on my ps3 or computer some of the shows that are in my list are not listed under my list but if i search for the shows that are missing it will still say it's in my list but it won't show it in my list. I've also noticed the shows that ended up missing from my list keeps changing at random times. I've tried removing all my shows from my list and putting them back & that didn't help. I've also tried rebooting my internet modem which has wi-fi built in, i reset the netflix app on my ps3, used a wired & wireless connection to ps3 & computer. None of this has resolved my issue. I'm assuming this problem is not at my end but i need help making sure this is true before i call netflix. My Netflix version information from my PS3 is in the attached images.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20160324_112019.jpg
Views:	116
Size:	113.2 KB
ID:	1334274   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20160324_112124.jpg
Views:	104
Size:	143.7 KB
ID:	1334282  
MPNASCAR24 is offline  
post #20 of 21 Old 03-24-2016, 02:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Westly-C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Techno World
Posts: 3,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 322 Post(s)
Liked: 200
This looks like a problem originating at Netflix and not your equipment. Checking on a pc and tablet, My List isn't showing the full list on either.

Don't worry, all Queue/List info is saved under our accounts, and they will be able to restore everything when they work out whatever is going on.

Dazed and confused over high tech.

Sigh...Concrap. The Internet Overlord Cometh
They're not com-tastic!
Westly-C is offline  
post #21 of 21 Old 03-26-2016, 03:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
MPNASCAR24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Batavia, NY
Posts: 664
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Just wanted to let you know that my list on netflix has been fixed because all of my shows are back. It started working normally either last night or the night before...i'm not sure at the moment. Westly-C thanks for confirming that this issue was at netflix end and not my equipment.
MPNASCAR24 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Video Download Services & Hardware

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off