Streaming Netflix with subtitles and component video - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 23 Old 12-20-2013, 10:34 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
WagGag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Boxford MA
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there any streaming device that has component video output and also has the Netflix subtitles option? For example, the original Roku had component output but no Netflix subtitles option; the later Rokus have the Netflix subtitles option but no component output; discontinued Sony media player has component but no subtitles; blu-ray players don't have component output; hdmi-to-component converter boxes yield poor quality...
WagGag is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 23 Old 12-21-2013, 09:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Westly-C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Techno World
Posts: 3,068
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 72

I believe that Netflix added subtitle support to their apps beginning  in 2011. Apps on models before then won't feature that capability. So, finding a device or br player with component and an app with subtitles may not be possible (2011 was the year component was being eliminated).

Composite with subs seem to be the only option, if your HDMI ports are occupied. The Panasonic 2011 BR Players have a NF app with subtitle and audio options as seen here https://picasaweb.google.com/112011548845311819722/Panasonic2011NetflixHTML5?authkey=Gv1sRgCKPXjcjg1LOdZg&feat=embedwebsite#5618885264419561186 , but have composite output, no component.


Dazed and confused over high tech.

Sigh...Concrap. The Internet Overlord Cometh
They're not com-tastic!
Westly-C is online now  
post #3 of 23 Old 12-22-2013, 08:06 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 17,745
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 953 Post(s)
Liked: 765
WD TV Live. I've never tried it, but it has the jack and comes with a cable. It's Netflix player is like this:

Embedded HTML5/Webkit Netflix (Click to show)
Netflix_zps7b3051e8.jpg

It has support for selectable captions/subs, 5.1 sound, Profiles and Netflix Kids.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #4 of 23 Old 12-22-2013, 08:12 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
WagGag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Boxford MA
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for your answers. Looks like there's no solution with component. Looks like WD TV Live is just HDMI and composite also.
WagGag is offline  
post #5 of 23 Old 12-22-2013, 10:20 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 17,745
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 953 Post(s)
Liked: 765
Quote:
Originally Posted by WagGag View Post

Thanks for your answers. Looks like there's no solution with component. Looks like WD TV Live is just HDMI and composite also.

I'm sorry--I was just looking at the information in its manual (see the illustration on page 9 and search the text for "component video"), but the connections on the back of the unit that I own are arranged differently and mine has a USB connection on the front instead of on the side. The design must have changed at some point.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #6 of 23 Old 12-22-2013, 10:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Westly-C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Techno World
Posts: 3,068
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 72

Seems the newer model WD TV Live doesn't have the component output jack that yours does. Wagdag might be able to find an older used one (the unit with the light colored [silver?] vented sides) on ebay. Worth a try at least.


Dazed and confused over high tech.

Sigh...Concrap. The Internet Overlord Cometh
They're not com-tastic!
Westly-C is online now  
post #7 of 23 Old 12-22-2013, 11:09 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 17,745
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 953 Post(s)
Liked: 765
Quote:
Originally Posted by Westly-C View Post

Seems the newer model WD TV Live doesn't have the component output jack that yours does. Wagdag might be able to find an older used one (the unit with the light colored [silver?] vented sides) on ebay. Worth a try at least.

Mine does not have it. It's not quite the same as the pictures in that manual. According to a Wikipedia article mine is the 3rd gen--"WD TV Live Streaming" as opposed to "WD TV Live" or "WD TV Live Plus". No such distinction was drawn on the Amazon entry; then again I was hardly looking for component.

It looks as though WD TV Live Hub has component, but it's $200+ (has internal HDD) as opposed to $75 for the Gen 3. Amazon is still listing TV Live and TV Live Plus, but they're at no-longer-manufactured-and-hard-to-find prices; might as well buy TV Live Hub.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #8 of 23 Old 12-22-2013, 11:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Westly-C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Techno World
Posts: 3,068
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 72

^^Ok, gotcha.

 

I did a search at ebay and found that older model seen in the linked manual.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=321261769620&fromMakeTrack=true&ssPageName=VIP:watchlink:top:en

 

The question will be if the Netflix app either has, or will be updated after activating, with a version featuring subtitle options.


Dazed and confused over high tech.

Sigh...Concrap. The Internet Overlord Cometh
They're not com-tastic!
Westly-C is online now  
post #9 of 23 Old 12-22-2013, 11:17 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
WagGag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Boxford MA
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow thanks guys, I can get a used "old version" (with the jack) for $60. I'll give it a try.

Edit: Cool - even better - refurb for $53
WagGag is offline  
post #10 of 23 Old 12-22-2013, 11:21 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 17,745
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 953 Post(s)
Liked: 765
Quote:
Originally Posted by WagGag View Post

Wow thanks guys, I can get a used "old version" (with the jack) for $60. I'll give it a try.

The question is what Netflix player it'll be running. Maybe not the newer one with 5.1/1080p/CC/Profiles/Kids support.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #11 of 23 Old 12-22-2013, 11:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Westly-C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Techno World
Posts: 3,068
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 72

Hoboy....let's not get too excited. After reading the Wikpage, then googling the model number from the ebay unit I posted, Netflix may not be available on this model at all... It's difficult to determine for sure, A Canadian Amazon page has this model listed and specifically says it does.

 

Please contact any seller and ask before buying, and note their return/refund policy, and restock fees if you need to send it back.

 

Edit, and now I've found this at the WD Help forum. http://wdc.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/5467/session/L3RpbWUvMTM4Nzc4MjA1Ny9zaWQvcWdvSHd3SWw%3D

So it will have Netflix, but as we're cautioning, we don't know if the NF app will be capable of displaying subtitles.


Dazed and confused over high tech.

Sigh...Concrap. The Internet Overlord Cometh
They're not com-tastic!
Westly-C is online now  
post #12 of 23 Old 12-23-2013, 01:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Conrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Martinez, CA, USA
Posts: 4,215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 221 Post(s)
Liked: 164
That's why I'm dumping my old 53" Pioneer which has component in only and sits behind my new 55" panel. I have a friend who bought the WD TV when it first came out and told me it didn't have component out. I used an HDFury but that only worked if you could set the device to 1080i. Options are pretty limited on old sets and new sets pretty inexpensive anymore.
Brian Conrad is offline  
post #13 of 23 Old 12-23-2013, 09:04 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
WagGag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Boxford MA
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I seem to have stumbled onto a solution. I'm trying this software program called PlayOn - set it up on my PC, and it feeds an app to the streaming device. So I use a 1st-gen Roku (which has component output), and create a new PlayOn channel - within this PlayOn channel are a selection of "subchannels", one of which is Netflix. This new Netflix app has subtitles. And excellent picture quality. Looks good as of now.

Thanks for all your help. I discovered this PlayOn thing when I was researching the WD TV Live - apparently that's the way Netflix is set up with that device.
WagGag is offline  
post #14 of 23 Old 12-26-2013, 09:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
mtallent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cecilia,KY
Posts: 867
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
The WD Live and HUB component outputs will NOT output anything higher than DVD resolution when streaming Netflix HD.

Mike T
mtallent is offline  
post #15 of 23 Old 12-26-2013, 01:48 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
WagGag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Boxford MA
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, this is only a DVD-quality solution, but that's what I was looking for since my objective was to do the best I could with an "enhanced definition" tv (my good old 37" panasonic plasma).
WagGag is offline  
post #16 of 23 Old 12-26-2013, 11:46 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Might be easier just to buy a HDMI to Component converter box.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #17 of 23 Old 12-27-2013, 12:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Conrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Martinez, CA, USA
Posts: 4,215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 221 Post(s)
Liked: 164
An HDMI to component converter won't solve the problem if the subtitles are CC. That may be more up to the player itself and I don't think that the component signal can carry CC.
Brian Conrad is offline  
post #18 of 23 Old 12-27-2013, 02:55 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 17,745
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 953 Post(s)
Liked: 765
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Conrad View Post

An HDMI to component converter won't solve the problem if the subtitles are CC. That may be more up to the player itself and I don't think that the component signal can carry CC.

Netflix subtitles are always rendered by the player; they are in the video image and not sent as an ancillary data stream like closed captioning in television broadcasts.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #19 of 23 Old 12-27-2013, 08:58 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
WagGag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Boxford MA
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I did try an HDMI-to-component converter box, but I couldn't get a good enough quality picture. I streamed to a Roku 2 box and converted with an HDFury - couldn't get "DVD quality". I get better quality going component directly out of a gen-1 Roku.
WagGag is offline  
post #20 of 23 Old 12-27-2013, 09:25 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by WagGag View Post

I did try an HDMI-to-component converter box, but I couldn't get a good enough quality picture. I streamed to a Roku 2 box and converted with an HDFury - couldn't get "DVD quality". I get better quality going component directly out of a gen-1 Roku.

Some of those converters are better than others. You might need to experiment for best results. In the long run it will probably be easiest just to replace your TV.

How about a cheap, used "white" XBOX 360 (plenty on ebay)? Sure it's 720p, but it should do the trick. Only thing is you'll have to pay $50 for Xbox "Gold" to use Netflix.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #21 of 23 Old 12-28-2013, 02:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Conrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Martinez, CA, USA
Posts: 4,215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 221 Post(s)
Liked: 164
As much as some of the videophiles on AVS like their RPTVs, options are severely limited with these old sets because they don't support 1080p or HDMI. My 13 year old Pioneer had a wonderful picture for movies since the blur of the CRTs took away the "crystalline" look like you get on an LCD. LCD (LED) sets are so inexpensive anymore it was worth the changeover and get 1080p streams using a Chromecast on NF and Hulu+. I also couldn't watch certain films from Netflix with subtitles because they weren't burned in and my Sony BD player didn't handle ones that weren't burned in and the Chromecast does.
Brian Conrad is offline  
post #22 of 23 Old 12-29-2013, 01:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
undecided's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,556
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Conrad View Post

As much as some of the videophiles on AVS like their RPTVs, options are severely limited with these old sets because they don't support 1080p or HDMI. My 13 year old Pioneer had a wonderful picture for movies since the blur of the CRTs took away the "crystalline" look like you get on an LCD. LCD (LED) sets are so inexpensive anymore it was worth the changeover and get 1080p streams using a Chromecast on NF and Hulu+. I also couldn't watch certain films from Netflix with subtitles because they weren't burned in and my Sony BD player didn't handle ones that weren't burned in and the Chromecast does.

The top 4 TVs on the CNET reviews are Panasonic Plasmas which are being discontinued http://reviews.cnet.com/best-tvs/

The ST series seems to be the best value - quoting from the review ' I'll cut to the chase: if you value picture quality, don't have money to burn, and don't game seriously enough to worry about input lag, you should buy the Panasonic TC-PST60'

Edit - another quote from the CNET reviews 'The Panasonic VT60 produces the second-best picture quality of any TV we've ever reviewed, equal to or better than our in-house Pioneer Kuro reference and surpassed only by the ZT60' (the ZT60 is one of the top four reviewed Panasonic TVs)

I have a 2011 Panasonic Plamsa as our main TV - but if didn't I would get one of the 2013 Panasonic Plasmas - it seems unlikely their combination of picture quality and value will be matched in the next few years....
undecided is offline  
post #23 of 23 Old 12-29-2013, 09:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mailiang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Springsteen Country
Posts: 6,865
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 349
Quote:
Originally Posted by undecided View Post

The top 4 TVs on the CNET reviews are Panasonic Plasmas which are being discontinued http://reviews.cnet.com/best-tvs/

The ST series seems to be the best value - quoting from the review ' I'll cut to the chase: if you value picture quality, don't have money to burn, and don't game seriously enough to worry about input lag, you should buy the Panasonic TC-PST60'

Edit - another quote from the CNET reviews 'The Panasonic VT60 produces the second-best picture quality of any TV we've ever reviewed, equal to or better than our in-house Pioneer Kuro reference and surpassed only by the ZT60' (the ZT60 is one of the top four reviewed Panasonic TVs)

I have a 2011 Panasonic Plamsa as our main TV - but if didn't I would get one of the 2013 Panasonic Plasmas - it seems unlikely their combination of picture quality and value will be matched in the next few years....

I agree. I just bought an S60, which comes close to the PQ of the ST60. ( I wasn't about to spend more money on 3D and extra internet apps that I didn't need.) This is my second Panasonic plasma and the contrast, black levels, along with excellent color accuracy, makes BD and many Super HD titles look stunning. It blows away my 2010 PDP and Toshiba LCD.


Ian wink.gif

The best way to succeed in life is to act on the advice you give to others

mailiang is offline  
Reply Video Download Services & Hardware

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off