More headaches for cable customers - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 63Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 210 Old 11-23-2015, 08:43 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mailiang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Springsteen Country
Posts: 8,172
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 968 Post(s)
Liked: 640
Exclamation More headaches for cable customers

And the beat goes on and on and on....Comcast injects copy right warnings!

and on... Comcast wants customer service reps to sell data caps

Ian

The best way to succeed in life is to act on the advice you give to others


Last edited by mailiang; 11-23-2015 at 08:49 AM.
mailiang is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 210 Old 11-23-2015, 11:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brian Conrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Martinez, CA, USA
Posts: 6,972
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1741 Post(s)
Liked: 1000
I read yesterday that data caps are only enforced where Comcast is the only game in town. They don't if there is competition.
Brian Conrad is offline  
post #3 of 210 Old 11-23-2015, 11:38 AM
Senior Member
 
jimv1983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 355 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Conrad View Post
I read yesterday that data caps are only enforced where Comcast is the only game in town. They don't if there is competition.
I guess that's something. The town I live in(just a few miles from you in Benicia, CA) has AT&T internet as well so I guess no caps. I know that no caps have been enforced on me for several years now. Maybe the competition is the reason. Honestly I'm pretty happy with Comcast service. Although the price could be a lot lower. If I ever get to the point where I can actually cancel cable server and the caps do get enforced in my area then I might have an issue but for now things are going just fine.
jimv1983 is offline  
 
post #4 of 210 Old 11-23-2015, 11:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
steve1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota.
Posts: 2,727
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 508 Post(s)
Liked: 439
Quote:
Originally Posted by mailiang View Post


And the bull**** articles just keep rolling on and on and on and on. As I have said before Comcast has been doing a test phase in 2 states regaurding Data Caps for the last 5 years so its nothing new and Comcast has said its nothing more then a test phase and thats it. Also they have never asked their reps to sell Data Caps so I call that article BS. Second. Comcast injects copy right warnings? I have never seen one and if they are its directed to illegal downloads with movies and music which people shouldnt be doing anyway because all its doing is stealing from the movie studios and the recording artists that make the music. So if that is what Comcast is doing then I support it all they way.
steve1971 is offline  
post #5 of 210 Old 11-23-2015, 11:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HockeyoAJB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2,022
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 975 Post(s)
Liked: 815
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Conrad View Post
I read yesterday that data caps are only enforced where Comcast is the only game in town. They don't if there is competition.
I assume that dial-up and 3 Mbps DSL are not considered to be competition?
HockeyoAJB is offline  
post #6 of 210 Old 11-23-2015, 12:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Westly-C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Techno World
Posts: 3,549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 357 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve1971 View Post
And the bull**** articles just keep rolling on and on and on and on. As I have said before Comcast has been doing a test phase in 2 states regaurding Data Caps for the last 5 years so its nothing new and Comcast has said its nothing more then a test phase and thats it.
Comcast had implemented data caps in more than just 2 states. And after the trial ends? Why the cap becomes permanent, of course.

Quote:
The Philadelphia company describes the data cap trials as localized. But data on the Comcast website shows it has expanded trials to 1,303 zip codes in 15 states - a significant part of Comcast's cable-TV franchise areas. On Wednesday, Comcast added several small towns and cities in Tennessee, Virginia and Louisiana to the trial.
Comcast adds data caps

Dazed and confused over high tech.

Sigh...Concrap. The Internet Overlord Cometh
They're not com-tastic!
Westly-C is offline  
post #7 of 210 Old 11-23-2015, 12:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brian Conrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Martinez, CA, USA
Posts: 6,972
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1741 Post(s)
Liked: 1000
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimv1983 View Post
I guess that's something. The town I live in(just a few miles from you in Benicia, CA) has AT&T internet as well so I guess no caps. I know that no caps have been enforced on me for several years now. Maybe the competition is the reason. Honestly I'm pretty happy with Comcast service. Although the price could be a lot lower. If I ever get to the point where I can actually cancel cable server and the caps do get enforced in my area then I might have an issue but for now things are going just fine.
AT&T has a section on their site to check data usage but if I go there and click it doesn't give data usage. Probably means for the moment they don't consider it. I read that the way U-Verse is set up it makes it difficult for them to discern between TV data, Internet and phone. I only have phone and Internet.

Besides not only is Comcast also here but more recently Wave (was Astound) moved in. They offer a 110 mbps service with a cap.... of 1 TB. Problem is they aren't on my street yet.
Brian Conrad is offline  
post #8 of 210 Old 11-23-2015, 12:42 PM
Senior Member
 
tedhontz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 391
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 270 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by mailiang View Post
I live in Fort Wayne, Indiana and Comcast and Frontier (was Verizon) are battling it out. When Frontier took over from Verizon, Verizon had just finished up years worth of installing FIOS cable everywhere and people loved it but hated the Verizon customer service. Then, when Frontier took over, they ditched all offers for FIOS and penalized the people who demanded to keep FIOS by drastically increasing their bills. Comcast was rumored that their "system" with old COAX Cables could only handle 6Mbps but when Verizon introduced FIOS and offered more speed, Comcast immediately offered more speed.

Frontier seems to be losing in Fort Wayne but I hope both stay because of my bill. I get Internet only from Comcast and I use Apple TV and Netflix and my 4K Sony Media Server so I don't need cable and my cell phone has unlimited minutes so I don't need phone. Comcast charges me $66.95 a month, basically trying to penalize me for not getting cable. But I always call them every 18 months when they hike up my bill and I tell them I want to cancel and switch to Frontier. Comcast tries to offer me great packages but in the end I always get a good deal on Internet only. Right now my deal is $24.99 a month for 30 Mbps. I ran speedtest.net and I am clocking 33Mbps download and 7mbps upload.

Frontier just put up a Billboard simply saying "Switch to Frontier, Comcast is going out of business." The billboard didn't stay up too long and I'm pretty sure it'll get a nice lawsuit attached from Comcast. I just hope both companies stay forever and fight it out forever because I know if one of them leaves, my internet bill will skyrocket!
tedhontz is offline  
post #9 of 210 Old 11-23-2015, 12:55 PM
Senior Member
 
tedhontz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 391
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 270 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Conrad View Post
AT&T has a section on their site to check data usage but if I go there and click it doesn't give data usage. Probably means for the moment they don't consider it. I read that the way U-Verse is set up it makes it difficult for them to discern between TV data, Internet and phone. I only have phone and Internet.

Besides not only is Comcast also here but more recently Wave (was Astound) moved in. They offer a 110 mbps service with a cap.... of 1 TB. Problem is they aren't on my street yet.
110 mbps with a cap of 1 TB? That's unreal, awesome! How much does that cost? I run 2 Xbox Ones on Xbox Live while my daughter streams Netflix and my son streams Netflix and I am streaming an Apple TV Movie all at the same time and we noticed no stress on 30 Mbps so I wouldn't even know what to do with 1 TB!
tedhontz is offline  
post #10 of 210 Old 11-23-2015, 02:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brian Conrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Martinez, CA, USA
Posts: 6,972
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1741 Post(s)
Liked: 1000
Quote:
Originally Posted by tedhontz View Post
110 mbps with a cap of 1 TB? That's unreal, awesome! How much does that cost? I run 2 Xbox Ones on Xbox Live while my daughter streams Netflix and my son streams Netflix and I am streaming an Apple TV Movie all at the same time and we noticed no stress on 30 Mbps so I wouldn't even know what to do with 1 TB!
They were offering it this summer for 12 months for $40 a month this summer. But their prices don't often change just what they're pushing at the time. They also don't have contracts.
Brian Conrad is offline  
post #11 of 210 Old 11-23-2015, 03:51 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mailiang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Springsteen Country
Posts: 8,172
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 968 Post(s)
Liked: 640
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve1971 View Post
And the bull**** articles just keep rolling on and on and on and on. As I have said before Comcast has been doing a test phase in 2 states regaurding Data Caps for the last 5 years so its nothing new and Comcast has said its nothing more then a test phase and thats it. Also they have never asked their reps to sell Data Caps so I call that article BS. Second. Comcast injects copy right warnings? I have never seen one and if they are its directed to illegal downloads with movies and music which people shouldnt be doing anyway because all its doing is stealing from the movie studios and the recording artists that make the music. So if that is what Comcast is doing then I support it all they way.
Hmmm....why do I get the feeling you work for Comcast?


Ian
steve1971 likes this.

The best way to succeed in life is to act on the advice you give to others

mailiang is offline  
post #12 of 210 Old 11-23-2015, 05:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
steve1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota.
Posts: 2,727
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 508 Post(s)
Liked: 439
Quote:
Originally Posted by mailiang View Post
Hmmm....why do I get the feeling you work for Comcast?


Ian
No Ian, my wife does. As a matter of fact I am letting her conclude all negative remarks here. So here is my wife, Tennie
Hello.... my name is Tennie, I am an employee of Comcast. I just wanted to say, The data caps are not only testing phase, NM and AZ but it has been going on for 5 plus years. The reason for data caps is because there are people out there who only want internet services through Comcast for streaming movies/videos. Therefore they have to pay a certain amount if you go over the data cap. If people would get cable/internet services then they won't have to worry about the data cap. As far as lying to customers that is ONE thing we can lose our jobs over, so no not EVERYONE lies to customers about these data caps. Then Prism TV that is another story, it is only starting for RICH folks and in certain areas not ALL, and the price is going to be jacked up more than you know. If folks think they can do better going elsewhere, go for it, ie: Direct TV you will have bad signal/interrupted during storms, etc. Pricing will increase in less time than they quote. Early Term Fees are $500.00 to cancel with them however, with Comcast it is starting at $230.00 and decreases if in an agreement.
steve1971 is offline  
post #13 of 210 Old 11-23-2015, 06:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kucharsk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Louisville, CO
Posts: 5,994
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1444 Post(s)
Liked: 783
Quote:
Originally Posted by mailiang View Post
And the beat goes on and on and on....Comcast injects copy right warnings!
Good for them; I don't understand why more ISPs don't do this to combat IP theft.
kucharsk is offline  
post #14 of 210 Old 11-23-2015, 07:33 PM
Senior Member
 
jimv1983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 355 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Conrad View Post
AT&T has a section on their site to check data usage but if I go there and click it doesn't give data usage. Probably means for the moment they don't consider it. I read that the way U-Verse is set up it makes it difficult for them to discern between TV data, Internet and phone. I only have phone and Internet.

Besides not only is Comcast also here but more recently Wave (was Astound) moved in. They offer a 110 mbps service with a cap.... of 1 TB. Problem is they aren't on my street yet.
1 TB cap? That's pretty impressive. I've seen the Astound trucks around (didn't know it changed names). If I ever cut cable and find Comcast starts enforcing the cap then hopefully Wave will be on my side of the bridge.
jimv1983 is offline  
post #15 of 210 Old 11-23-2015, 07:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,540
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 536 Post(s)
Liked: 941
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve1971 View Post
No Ian, my wife does. As a matter of fact I am letting her conclude all negative remarks here. So here is my wife, Tennie
Hello.... my name is Tennie, I am an employee of Comcast. I just wanted to say, The data caps are not only testing phase, NM and AZ but it has been going on for 5 plus years. The reason for data caps is because there are people out there who only want internet services through Comcast for streaming movies/videos. Therefore they have to pay a certain amount if you go over the data cap. If people would get cable/internet services then they won't have to worry about the data cap. As far as lying to customers that is ONE thing we can lose our jobs over, so no not EVERYONE lies to customers about these data caps. Then Prism TV that is another story, it is only starting for RICH folks and in certain areas not ALL, and the price is going to be jacked up more than you know. If folks think they can do better going elsewhere, go for it, ie: Direct TV you will have bad signal/interrupted during storms, etc. Pricing will increase in less time than they quote. Early Term Fees are $500.00 to cancel with them however, with Comcast it is starting at $230.00 and decreases if in an agreement.
I only hope the Socialists win big and rein in this kind of corporate greed. There is absolutely no reason the USA should have such high rates: http://www.bbc.com/news/magazine-24528383 I mean really. What exactly does Brian L. Roberts do for his over $200 a minute salary...
reddice and Modicen like this.

🔥🔥🔥 Sent from my Samsung Note 7 Using Ove Glove™ 🔥🔥🔥
olyteddy is offline  
post #16 of 210 Old 11-23-2015, 09:05 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mailiang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Springsteen Country
Posts: 8,172
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 968 Post(s)
Liked: 640
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve1971 View Post
If folks think they can do better going elsewhere, go for it, ie: Direct TV you will have bad signal/interrupted during storms, etc. Pricing will increase in less time than they quote. Early Term Fees are $500.00 to cancel with them however, with Comcast it is starting at $230.00 and decreases if in an agreement.
I have Directv (no contract) as my carrier, plus Cablevison as my ISP in my main resistance. I also have Comcast in another house my wife owns, with a similar service plan. Directv offers better service, I rarely experience signal interruptions, and it's cheaper, even when I add Cablevison in the mix. But then, that's my situation.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kucharsk View Post
Good for them; I don't understand why more ISPs don't do this to combat IP theft.
I believe it's more about how they do it. Can anyone say George Orwell's 1984?


Ian

The best way to succeed in life is to act on the advice you give to others


Last edited by mailiang; 11-23-2015 at 09:09 PM.
mailiang is offline  
post #17 of 210 Old 11-23-2015, 09:16 PM
Senior Member
 
tedhontz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 391
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 270 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by mailiang View Post
I have Directv (no contract) as my carrier, plus Cablevison as my ISP in my main resistance. I also have Comcast in another house my wife owns, with a similar service plan. Directv offers better service, I rarely experience signal interruptions, and it's cheaper, even when I add Cablevison in the mix. But then, that's my situation.



I believe it's more about how they do it. Can anyone say George Orwell's 1984?


Ian
I'm never in any contracts but if you call them to cancel they will give you a good deal for 18 months to stay with them. After the 18 months I call and cancel again and again I get another 18 months of good prices.
tedhontz is offline  
post #18 of 210 Old 11-23-2015, 10:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
Carrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Florida
Posts: 538
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 466 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by tedhontz View Post
I'm never in any contracts but if you call them to cancel they will give you a good deal for 18 months to stay with them. After the 18 months I call and cancel again and again I get another 18 months of good prices.
I only get 3 months of a Premium channel.

Quote:
Originally Posted by steve1971 View Post
If people would get cable/internet services then they won't have to worry about the data cap.
Not true, I have had triple play for 3 years and lately the X1 system ($215+ a month) and 4-6 weeks ago I received a letter stating I currently had a 300GB cap, as part of a test, and soon they would be selling plans in 30GB increments. I was just looking for the letter but can't find it, it'll turn up somewhere. Even though Comcast owns a skyscraper, has a hold on MSNBC, Verizon and who knows what else - they just can't stop trying to manipulate the public interest. It has been shown that most people only watch maybe twenty channels on a regular basis, but in order to get access to them a customer needs to get everything else. Great for Comcast and bad for its customers. I am so close to just keeping internet and putting up an antenna, but not sure it would be equitable since the are now charging $100/mo for internet and a year ago it was $60/mo.
reddice likes this.
Carrick is offline  
post #19 of 210 Old 11-23-2015, 10:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kucharsk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Louisville, CO
Posts: 5,994
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1444 Post(s)
Liked: 783
Quote:
Originally Posted by mailiang View Post
I believe it's more about how they do it. Can anyone say George Orwell's 1984?
It's not like they're peeking in your window, they're looking at the content you're transferring over their network.

It's like being upset at a police officer for pulling you over for breaking a traffic law on a public street.
kucharsk is offline  
post #20 of 210 Old 11-23-2015, 10:21 PM
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 16,242
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4588 Post(s)
Liked: 4783
Quote:
Originally Posted by kucharsk View Post
It's not like they're peeking in your window, they're looking at the content you're transferring over their network.

It's like being upset at a police officer for pulling you over for breaking a traffic law on a public street.
Yeah, that's what VPNs are for....
lovinthehd is offline  
post #21 of 210 Old 11-23-2015, 10:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
Carrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Florida
Posts: 538
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 466 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by mailiang View Post
I have Directv , I rarely experience signal interruptions, and it's cheaper.
My Comcast service has interruptions at least 5-20 times per day and this increased when they passed a new fiber cable just 3 months ago. It does not make sense and when the tech came out he said I was not getting all of my "packets." He did something and it got better for 2-3 days but since then it's back to the same terrible service. Comcast controls just about everything locally so there is nothing anyone can do about it in this internet age, just pout and complain to one another. Now I feel better after sharing my rant. Big brother is watching!
Carrick is offline  
post #22 of 210 Old 11-23-2015, 10:38 PM
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 16,242
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4588 Post(s)
Liked: 4783
I noticed the Comcast employee passing on the misinfo that you get a lot of interruptions with D*; while that may be true for an internet connection, my D* is way better than the Comcast cable service for tv I had in the bay area....the Comcast service had issues daily. I used the Comcast service for just internet once I had D* and that was still with issues, I kept having to pay for additional "speed" which I really didn't get at all times. I can't even remember a D* service interruption caused by weather where I live now, and in my last place it was only due to very tall redwoods surrounding my house and in a wind it would interfere with signal on occasion but that was more a dish positioning issue. Comcast has always sucked in my experience.
lovinthehd is offline  
post #23 of 210 Old 11-23-2015, 10:57 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mailiang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Springsteen Country
Posts: 8,172
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 968 Post(s)
Liked: 640
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by kucharsk View Post
It's not like they're peeking in your window, they're looking at the content you're transferring over their network.

It's like being upset at a police officer for pulling you over for breaking a traffic law on a public street.
IMO, it is still an invasion of privacy. It's not the ISP's job to police the internet. If consumers are caught with their hands in the cookie jar, the government needs to address the jar, which in this case are the content providers, such as file sharing sites violating copyright laws.

Ian

The best way to succeed in life is to act on the advice you give to others

mailiang is offline  
post #24 of 210 Old 11-24-2015, 06:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HockeyoAJB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2,022
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 975 Post(s)
Liked: 815
Quote:
Originally Posted by mailiang View Post
IMO, it is still an invasion of privacy. It's not the ISP's job to police the internet. If consumers are caught with their hands in the cookie jar, the government needs to address the jar, which in this case are the content providers, such as file sharing sites violating copyright laws.

Ian
Which government? Are you suggesting that the US government should have an agency staffed with government employees, whose job it is to monitor Internet traffic going to and coming from consumers/corporations in the U.S. for the purpose of enforcing copyright laws? And that other nations should do the same? How is that any better than enlisting the ISP's to do this themselves?

Regarding the "jar", how do you propose to stop sites from illegally sharing copyrighted content without monitoring Internet traffic in order to discover violations, so that the perpetrators (both the sender and the recipient) can be prosecuted? How is it the ISP's fault (or a flaw in the Internet itself) that people can use the Internet to commit crimes? This sounds a lot like liberals blaming gun manufacturers or guns in general for the acts of criminals who use them to commit crimes.
HockeyoAJB is offline  
post #25 of 210 Old 11-24-2015, 06:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GreySkies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Bucks County, PA
Posts: 3,996
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 620 Post(s)
Liked: 436
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve1971 View Post
Hello.... my name is Tennie, I am an employee of Comcast.
...
The reason for data caps is because there are people out there who only want internet services through Comcast for streaming movies/videos. Therefore they have to pay a certain amount if you go over the data cap. If people would get cable/internet services then they won't have to worry about the data cap.
In other words, it's not about network capacity, but about Comcast protecting and forcing consumers into their TV service.
GreySkies is offline  
post #26 of 210 Old 11-24-2015, 07:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
steve1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota.
Posts: 2,727
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 508 Post(s)
Liked: 439
I appreciate my wife putting her 2 cents in on this discussion. I didnt want her to get involved but she insisted. Bottom line is this and thats that if your not happy with Comcast or whatever Cable/Sattelite provider you may have then go with someone else or put an antenna on your roof and enjoy tv that way. None of these buisneses are forcing you to buy their services so again if we dont like it then go with something else. Thats just my two cents.
steve1971 is offline  
post #27 of 210 Old 11-24-2015, 08:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
metalsaber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Western, Pennsylvania
Posts: 5,282
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1029 Post(s)
Liked: 844
Everyone complaining about caps realize that other internet providers already have caps? This isn't new. While I'm grateful to be in a comcast area that doesn't enforce caps, but I do foresee them coming. Why should I complain? Govt created monopolies. Remove the barriers and let competition handle this.


We see what happens with competition in the cell phone market. prices going down, speeds going up, caps going up...etc.
metalsaber is offline  
post #28 of 210 Old 11-24-2015, 08:28 AM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 20,150
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1297 Post(s)
Liked: 2787
my Comcast Blast service has a cap of 250 GB but they are not enforcing it in my area: good thing because my average usage is over 1000GB per month: so I am concerned: this could get expensive

I can understand Comcast wants you to use their sources rather than a competing service to say, download a movie: just makes sense

please take the high road in every post:do not respond to or quote a problematic post: report it
HDMI.org:what a mess this is a red flag issue
HDCP = Hollywood's Draconian Copy Protection system
Test Reports HDMI Cables that support 18GBPS&HDMI 2.0b
markrubin is offline  
post #29 of 210 Old 11-24-2015, 08:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GreySkies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Bucks County, PA
Posts: 3,996
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 620 Post(s)
Liked: 436
Quote:
Originally Posted by markrubin View Post
my Comcast Blast service has a cap of 250 GB but they are not enforcing it in my area: good thing because my average usage is over 1000GB per month: so I am concerned: this could get expensive

I can understand Comcast wants you to use their sources rather than a competing service to say, download a movie: just makes sense
It'd be nice if they could convince consumers via superior service, instead of wielding the stick of monopoly.
GreySkies is offline  
post #30 of 210 Old 11-24-2015, 08:44 AM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 20,150
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1297 Post(s)
Liked: 2787
Quote:
Originally Posted by GreySkies View Post
It'd be nice if they could convince consumers via superior service, instead of wielding the stick of monopoly.
agreed

But I think they they have gotten better:

the new X1 DVR is excellent: so now they have a good platform to push their own download services

Internet speeds are increasing: at least in my area

I was surprised to see my usage was so high: would hate to have to cut it back...

please take the high road in every post:do not respond to or quote a problematic post: report it
HDMI.org:what a mess this is a red flag issue
HDCP = Hollywood's Draconian Copy Protection system
Test Reports HDMI Cables that support 18GBPS&HDMI 2.0b
markrubin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Video Download Services & Hardware

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off