Sony SRX-R110 & HDCP - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!

Forum Jump: 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 05-09-2010, 06:39 AM - Thread Starter
jtmetcalfe's Avatar
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have access to a very expensive Sony Projector (SRX-R110) which, in some sort of bizarre joke, is not HDCP compliant

I am now trying to figure out a way to use a non-hdcp signal blu-ray player, we have an Oppo BDP-80 and I'm wondering if there is a way to hack the firmware like the Oppo DV-970HD in order to strip the HDCP from the source

Anyone know of any other workarounds for this problem?
jtmetcalfe is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 6 Old 05-10-2010, 03:46 AM
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 16,163
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1438 Post(s)
Liked: 760
Send a message via Skype™ to CINERAMAX
Play from a pc.

rAVe Mag Best Audio Demo @ CEDIA 2016 (Yes I take 85% of the credit- MY IMMERSION 2025 BABY- Never haVE taken ANY prisoners in 6 show demos since Stereophile 94.:D) CINERAMAX Social Responsibilty Mission: REPRESENTATIVE CUSTODIAN OF HIGH END IMMERSIVE PRIVATE CINEMAS TO SMPTE AND THE ADVANCED IMAGING SOCIETY.:D
CINERAMAX is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 05-10-2010, 05:46 AM
AVS Special Member
LJG's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Brookville, NY
Posts: 4,651
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 283 Post(s)
Liked: 122
If it as RGBHV input then you can use a special box that the CRT'ers use. Moome and some others make the adapter


LJG is online now  
post #4 of 6 Old 05-11-2010, 11:28 AM
AVS Special Member
W.Mayer's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 212
you should ask sony as there new DVI input boards used in the 4k hdcp.
i am sure they can change it.
W.Mayer is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 05-30-2010, 11:41 AM
raus's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I guess you can just get a HDCP stripper somewhere, it shouldn't be that difficult, you'll have to "visit" some black market though

And it's probably the easiest (though a bit illegal in US :P ) way to solve such a problem.

I guess you can also mod it to use HDSDI (the HDSDI component is placed before the HDMI chip which encodes the signal), which may be slightly more legal
raus is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 06-05-2010, 07:50 AM
Senior Member
taker's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Federal Way
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16
HDFury ....

straight from there web site

"HDfury3 is the world’s most powerful HDCP deciphering converter ever built! Introducing new features such as two HDMI 1.3 inputs with Deep Colour(TM) support and auto/manual switching, 5.1 Dolby Digital/DTS sound, perfect image centering in both component and RGB modes, output resolution limiting, and user customizable options via DIP switches!"

good luck
taker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Reply D-cinema Equipment and Theaters

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page

Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off