Dish DTVPal / Echostar TR40 digital to analog converter - Page 19 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 6754 Old 06-07-2008, 07:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TalkingRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Two weeks, and we'll have an answer. Think we will have a DTVPal newsletter before the boxes hit the street? I keep wondering if my spam blockers are blocking it. It's weird how quiet all these CECB mfgrs are about product introduction.
TalkingRat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 6754 Old 06-07-2008, 07:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
Malouff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know what you mean TalkingRat.
Why have a sign-up for a DTVPal newsletter and never send it out.
Kind of dumb to send one after we get one.

pabeader from satelliteguys.us also gave me the following to think about.
Quote:
Originally Posted by pabeader View Post

might it not be able to scan the PSIP data in the background?

I wonder what the Pal might do while it is off? I am not speculating.

I thought about what he said and BINGO I get what he is hinting at

That the DTVPal could be gathering PSIP data for the Program Guide when it is off.

Dave Zatz did say the "Downloading Guide" screen was activated when he pulled up the guide to get more/new info. He however, did not say how long the box was plugged in for when he tested the box that was already set up so it might not have had all the PSIP data loaded

I also asked pabeader if he agreed that it looked similar to the Dish DVR-921
and posted images of the programming search and event timers
Quote:
Originally Posted by pabeader View Post

i've never seen a screen that looks like either of those. with or without preview

the only Dish satellite receivers i've ever seen were the old 5000 receiver, the old 2600 receiver,
the 301, the 311 and the 625.

I added links to event timer images.
Looking at the User Guides I think Rammitinski is right the closest is the 322 that is a downgrade of the 522/625.
Malouff is offline  
post #543 of 6754 Old 06-07-2008, 09:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Symbios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Bennett, CO
Posts: 1,198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ahem...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Symbios View Post

Unless it does like the Humax HFA-100 did and collect EPG data when the unit is off. But I don't see how it could do that without consuming more than 1 watt.

Symbios is offline  
post #544 of 6754 Old 06-07-2008, 10:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
Malouff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DTVPal .......................... 322 ............................................................
■ Browse Banner
vs
■ Program Guide
vs

Images for those who would like to see if they were also similar in a few weeks
■ Programming search

■ Program Banner, Inactivity, and Alternate Audio

■ Parental controls - Ratings Locks & Channel Locks

Event timer - Timer icon on EPG, Timer Conflict


■ Program Guide Updates
Malouff is offline  
post #545 of 6754 Old 06-07-2008, 11:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
biker19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: McLean, VA
Posts: 3,696
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Little of this speculation on EPG helps much - everyone will be at the mercy of the TV stations. As that display shows, everyone will have get used to seeing the EPG with many chs showing just "DTV Program".
biker19 is offline  
post #546 of 6754 Old 06-08-2008, 12:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
lexus2108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there a list of places that will carry this box? Do we know who will carry this box? Any major stores?
lexus2108 is offline  
post #547 of 6754 Old 06-08-2008, 03:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
kb7oeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Phoenix,Arizona
Posts: 850
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by avnstf View Post

does anyone know how the RCA box updates its multichannel now/next screen?

It continually scans while you have the guide open and remembers from channels that you have previously tuned.
kb7oeb is offline  
post #548 of 6754 Old 06-08-2008, 11:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
Avio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: ABQ: NM
Posts: 826
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lexus2108 View Post

... Do we know who will carry this box? Any major stores?

One chain store that will carry this box is Ultimate Electronics. Dish/EchoStar announced a partnership with Ultimate in a press release. See my quote below:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Avio View Post

I just spoke with the store manager of my local B&M Ultimate Electronics and he confirmed that he heard that the "EchoStar/Dish Converter Boxes" would be arriving in store in "a week or two." He suggested calling back on Friday evenings after the weekly truck had been unloaded. He did not know the model number, but I informed him that it could only be the DTVPal or the EchoStar TR-40. He agreed that there was only one model made by EchoStar/Dish.

Ultimate Electronics is a chain of consumer electronics stores in Arizona, Colorado, Illinois, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Nevada, New Mexico, and Oklahoma.

Avio
Avio is offline  
post #549 of 6754 Old 06-08-2008, 02:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
lexus2108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Avio View Post

One chain store that will carry this box is Ultimate Electronics. Dish/EchoStar announced a partnership with Ultimate in a press release. See my quote below:



Avio

Since the store is not near me. Will they have it on the internet or ship it from store?
lexus2108 is offline  
post #550 of 6754 Old 06-08-2008, 02:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
Avio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: ABQ: NM
Posts: 826
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lexus2108 View Post

Since the store is not near me. Will they have it on the internet or ship it from store?

I don't think it will be available from the UE website and I doubt if the NTIA rules allow shipment from the store.

Here's some other options from Malouff's CECBs Electronic program guide (EPG) Thread:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Malouff View Post


EcoStar/SlingMedia DTVPal* ...

$21.94 @ http://www.solidsignal.com | $48.99 + $9.95 shipping | 6% sales tax Michigan
$9.95 @ CheapDigitalConverters.com | $39.99 + $9.95 shipping | ? sales tax CA
$9.45 Provantage @ 1-800-336-1166 | $42.50 + $6.95 shipping | ? sales tax Ohio
$12.45 @ http://www.freedtvshop.com | $42.50 + $9.95 shipping | 6.5% Sales Tax Minnesota


SolidSignal is not accepting coupon orders it is listed above as if they did
CheapDigitalConverters has a form to be notified of pre-orders

Provantage was accepting coupon orders and has stopped and been removed from the NTIA list
FreeDTVShop received their maximum number of pre-orders.

Avio
Avio is offline  
post #551 of 6754 Old 06-08-2008, 02:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
lexus2108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks man
lexus2108 is offline  
post #552 of 6754 Old 06-08-2008, 02:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
Malouff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You would think that EchoStar/Sling Media would post a list of participating stores.
Malouff is offline  
post #553 of 6754 Old 06-08-2008, 06:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
Malouff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rammitinski View Post

The guide also looks a lot like Dish's 322 I can see where the "tie in" is as far as putting Dish Network into people's consciousness (or sub-consciousness). People that get used to this box will immediately be familiar with and pretty much already know how to work a basic Dish tuner. Pretty smart when you think about it.

I agree this box was a smart move to get Dish Network into people's sub-consciousness.
Think about it every time you use the Guide or look at the remote you will see Dish Network and the name will stick.

I don't think Dish Network would go as far as AccessHD did and have in your face advertisements to get into your consciousness as this would turn most people way but you never know.
The DTVPal could also get away with it more then the AccessHD because they have no clones.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill R (# 2) View Post

The Access boxes have one VERY annoying "feature". Any slight drop out in signal (however brief) results in a popup that gives you a number to call where they try to sell you "a better antenna". The popup is WAY more annoying than the slight picture breakups.

I do wonder however if they will also be promoting SlingMedia with the DTVPal in the same way or if they just being used them to gain entrance into retailers.
Malouff is offline  
post #554 of 6754 Old 06-08-2008, 07:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jim1348's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: MN
Posts: 878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I wonder if either Radio Shack or Sears will carry these. I think both retailers currently carry Dish Network satellite receivers, but I realize that does not necessarily mean that they will carry the DTV Pal/TR-40.
Jim1348 is online now  
post #555 of 6754 Old 06-08-2008, 08:50 PM
Newbie
 
StarHunter5's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malouff View Post

Neat seeing the TR-40 and DTVPal together

That is a big Size Difference, it makes me wonder what was changed inside?
StarHunter5 is offline  
post #556 of 6754 Old 06-08-2008, 09:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
seatacboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,065
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malouff View Post

Try contacting these:
Francie Bauer
720-514-5839

Here is the DTVPal phone number
1-888-638-9912
EchoStar Press

The last time I contacted Francie Bauer - I tried to tell them they should changed their NTIA listing from the Dish Network DTVPal to EchoStar and SlingMedia the brands they will be sold under so they don't hit any snags
and they will get noticed by people twice in the list.

I got a nasty response and further eMails from me have never be answered.

Perhaps your requests hit a raw nerve at Echostar's corporate office. Companies which have weak internal communication or destructive office politics tend to have difficulty responding sensibly to suggestions or requests from the general public. I don't know if that's the case at Echostar - and we will never learn the truth - but this might explain why your inquiry was rudely ignored.
seatacboy is offline  
post #557 of 6754 Old 06-08-2008, 09:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Symbios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Bennett, CO
Posts: 1,198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by StarHunter5 View Post

That is a big Size Difference, it makes me wonder what was changed inside?

The power supply is now external. I'm sure that has a lot to do with the size reduction.
Symbios is offline  
post #558 of 6754 Old 06-08-2008, 10:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
avnstf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Berkeley USA
Posts: 1,603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim1348 View Post

I wonder if either Radio Shack or Sears will carry these. I think both retailers currently carry Dish Network satellite receivers, but I realize that does not necessarily mean that they will carry the DTV Pal/TR-40.

hmm...I didn't know what carried Dish...don't think I've ever seen one...but maybe that means they WOULD carry this unit (as well as the TR-50), if it ever makes it out of fantasy land...

OTA only. For signal strength at your location: FCC DTV reception map
TVGOS data: Sony 250 from 5.1?, LG3410a from my DTVPal setup here, not any more.

avnstf is offline  
post #559 of 6754 Old 06-08-2008, 10:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
Malouff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Symbios View Post

The power supply is now external. I'm sure that has a lot to do with the size reduction.

vs

Speaking of the power supply does anyone know of a DC power supply
(cigarette adapter) that will plug into the DTVPal?
Malouff is offline  
post #560 of 6754 Old 06-08-2008, 10:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
EscapeVelocity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 5,655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Where are the pics of the 2 units?

Vizio VP322 Plasma / Vizio GV42LF LCD / Denon 2200 Silicon Image DVD / Panasonic S97 Faroudja Genesis DVD / Oppo 970HD Mediatek DVD / Oppo 983H Anchor Bay DVD / Panasonic LX-600 Laserdisc / Aiwa MX100 Multi-region VCR / JVC S7600 S-VHS / PS2 / Sega Genesis / Nintendo SNES / Roku 2 XS & HD-XR / Realistic STA-90 Reciever / Realistic Minimus 7 / Antennacraft G1483 Hoverman / Belden 7915A RG6 / Channel Master 7777 Titan 2 UHF/VHF / Panasonic AX-200u / Optoma Graywolf 92" / Draper Luma 92"
EscapeVelocity is offline  
post #561 of 6754 Old 06-08-2008, 11:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Symbios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Bennett, CO
Posts: 1,198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malouff View Post

vs

Speaking of the power supply does anyone know of a DC power supply
(cigarette adapter) that will plug into the DTVPal?

Looks proprietary. You'd probably have to cut the end off the included AC adapter and attach it to a 12v adapter.


Quote:
Originally Posted by EscapeVelocity View Post

Where are the pics of the 2 units?

Symbios is offline  
post #562 of 6754 Old 06-09-2008, 04:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,475
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by Symbios View Post

The power supply is now external. I'm sure that has a lot to do with the size reduction.

Actually, usually has more to do with safety and UL/CE certification..It costs thousands of dollars to get the testing done. Use a pre-approved wall wart and you're off the hook from a leagl standpoint.

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #563 of 6754 Old 06-09-2008, 07:09 AM
Senior Member
 
Bill R (# 2)'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Ohio Valley, USA
Posts: 493
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim1348 View Post

I wonder if either Radio Shack or Sears will carry these. I think both retailers currently carry Dish Network satellite receivers, but I realize that does not necessarily mean that they will carry the DTV Pal/TR-40.

A couple of weeks ago when I was shopping around for a box (one of my coupons was close to expiring) I stopped by a local Radio Shack. They had zero boxes and did not know when they were getting more. I noticed a big display of Echostar receivers and asked if they were going to carry their box (the DTVPal). The sales person said "it would not make sense for a satellite company to sell a converter box" (he was the manager) so (apparently) he does not have a clue.

Hopefully, the DTVPal will be widely available from local retailers. We will just have to wait and see.

Bill R
Bill R (# 2) is offline  
post #564 of 6754 Old 06-09-2008, 07:59 AM
Senior Member
 
N8YWF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Boondocks
Posts: 200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Symbios View Post

Looks proprietary. You'd probably have to cut the end off the included AC adapter and attach it to a 12v adapter.

I swear that I read somewhere that the wallwart was 5v DC. I just can't remember where I read it. Please correct me if I'm wrong.

If it is 5v, then you would need a supply than steps 12v down to 5v if you wanted to use it in the van, RV, boat, ect.
N8YWF is offline  
post #565 of 6754 Old 06-09-2008, 08:09 AM
Member
 
daiquiri's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will the orders from Provantage be honored? It still says that my order is in progress and that there is no firm shipping date.
daiquiri is offline  
post #566 of 6754 Old 06-09-2008, 08:50 AM
Member
 
Nighttime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by N8YWF View Post

I swear that I read somewhere that the wallwart was 5v DC. I just can't remember where I read it. Please correct me if I'm wrong.

If it is 5v, then you would need a supply than steps 12v down to 5v if you wanted to use it in the van, RV, boat, ect.

Along with voltage need the current requirements. If low enough. Could use a car to usb adapter.
Nighttime is offline  
post #567 of 6754 Old 06-09-2008, 11:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
Whidbey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Marysville, WA
Posts: 888
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malouff View Post

That the DTVPal could be gathering PSIP data for the Program Guide when it is off.

Dave Zatz did say the "Downloading Guide" screen was activated when he pulled up the guide to get more/new info. [b]He however, did not say how long the box was plugged in for when he tested the box that was already set up so it might not have had all the PSIP data loaded

More likely is that the PSIP data is updated every time you access the full guide. It only takes a few seconds. Even then, wouldn't it only be able to populate the grid with channels you can receive with your current antenna orientation? Other channels in the memory may only show "No Program Data" or similar. I don't think it matters how long the box was plugged in.

Enjoying crystal clear TV for free.

http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html
Whidbey is offline  
post #568 of 6754 Old 06-09-2008, 11:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TalkingRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Speculation follows: On the remote there is a recessed "sys info" button. Maybe that's what updates the guide when the converter is on, and when it's in standby mode it updates itself. A beta tester had posed the question, why couldn't it update itself when the converter was off (and by off I assume he means still plugged in).
TalkingRat is offline  
post #569 of 6754 Old 06-09-2008, 01:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bradtothebone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Shawnee, Kansas
Posts: 643
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
On other E* receivers, "sys info" brings up a screen with the receiver's serial number, smart card number, remote address(es), etc. This box may or may not have that screen. Populating the program guide while the box is off would be an elegant way of doing it (maybe too elegant for E*, though!).

Brad

"I can't complain, but sometimes I still do!"
- Joe Walsh
Bradtothebone is offline  
post #570 of 6754 Old 06-09-2008, 03:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
Malouff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I agree the "sys info" button will show the System Info like it does on Dish receivers.


It could be used for diagnostics looking up the firmware version.
This would mean it could receive over the air updates.

I do remember reading that some boxes said there were capable of doing this.
bdfox18doe might know more about if stations can and will be sending firmware updates.
Malouff is offline  
Reply Coupon Eligible Converter Box (CECB)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off