Channel Master CM-7000 Digital to Analog Converter - Page 45 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1321 of 1483 Old 11-18-2009, 12:32 PM
Member
 
THX-1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
That's great news if it works.

The option shows up under Tools/ then Universal RC/

Pioneer Cable Code

Off
On

Enter to turn on Pioneer cable code support
_______________________________________

Version is

System katana2

S/W Version b7707_lpm
:52.5dc001

Built 20080616

Z_Corelib :0.4.0.3305

Z_ATSClib :2.1.1.3444

Z_DTVCClib :6.2.0.3327

on this box anyway.
THX-1138 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1322 of 1483 Old 11-19-2009, 10:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Floydage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by THX-1138 View Post

The option shows up under Tools/ then Universal RC/

Pioneer Cable Code

Off
On

Ah, I get it now, that mysterious menu option. The manual sucks on explanations and doesn't even show the same list of options in the pic (that one is missing).

When I turn that option off my U-remote won't control the CM anymore. Therefore it looks to be a switch to turn off the ability for the CM to be controlled by a remote using a Pioneer cable code. So if you have a remote using a Pioneer cable code for something other than a CM then this other remote won't conflict with the CM.

You can still try a U-remote or learning remote to reduce conflict, just be sure to turn this option on (may not be required on a learning remote though).

My version info is identical. I think the build date is the date the software was released for production (i.e. not to be confused with the box mfg date).

Floydage is offline  
post #1323 of 1483 Old 11-20-2009, 05:48 PM
Newbie
 
DidUHearThat?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I played with the remote settings and there is no conflict between my CM antenna rotor remote and CM-7000 remote. They work fine together.
DidUHearThat? is offline  
post #1324 of 1483 Old 11-21-2009, 12:05 AM
Senior Member
 
WeThePeople's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 456
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It seems to hinge on what firmware the two have.
Sometimes it is the rotor remote that controls the box,
sometimes it goes both ways.

A few examples, search for more if interested.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...&postcount=232

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...&postcount=238

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...&#post14350873

James Clerk Maxwell spins in his grave,
not along his long axis,
but head over heel
We The People
Doppler Effect: Effect of stupid ideas appearing smarter when they come at you rapidly!
WeThePeople is offline  
post #1325 of 1483 Old 11-24-2009, 07:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AntAltMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: College Park, MD
Posts: 3,532
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Yesterday, I saw that the CM7000 was listed as available at the ChannelMaster Store website for $70 with free shipping and no coupon elegibility, but when I called in to order some, I was told that they had none and that there would be no more.
AntAltMike is offline  
post #1326 of 1483 Old 11-24-2009, 08:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Floydage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by AntAltMike View Post

Yesterday, I saw that the CM7000 was listed as available at the ChannelMaster Store website for $70 with free shipping and no coupon elegibility, but when I called in to order some, I was told that they had none and that there would be no more.

In that case, read up on this box. Long-term reliability hasn't been established but from what I've read I'd say this is a good substitute for about the same price (it actually has more features than the CM).

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1196160

Floydage is offline  
post #1327 of 1483 Old 11-24-2009, 08:36 AM
Member
 
THX-1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
THX-1138 is offline  
post #1328 of 1483 Old 11-24-2009, 08:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AntAltMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: College Park, MD
Posts: 3,532
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Floydage View Post

In that case, read up on this box... I'd say this is a good substitute for about the same price...

What box? I'm going to be ordering five iNet SSR1921 boxes from EZDTV.com later today. That box has firm "power on" and selected channel memory, so I can put it in hotel headends. The price per box has gone up by five dollars since I first checked out this item a month ago.
AntAltMike is offline  
post #1329 of 1483 Old 11-24-2009, 09:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Floydage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Sorry, Mike, I forgot to add the link (doh!). Edited it back in above.

Floydage is offline  
post #1330 of 1483 Old 01-27-2010, 10:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AntAltMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: College Park, MD
Posts: 3,532
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by AntAltMike View Post

...I'm going to be ordering five iNet SSR1921 boxes from EZDTV.com later today. ...

"This domain name expired on 1/16/2010"

Hmmmm. I wish I has saved their telephone number, since their switchboard made them sound like they were a substantial distributor of some sort. Time to fish around for some inventory.
AntAltMike is offline  
post #1331 of 1483 Old 01-27-2010, 10:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AntAltMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: College Park, MD
Posts: 3,532
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I just found the Tivax STB-8, which is supposedly identical to the iNetSSR1921 (but doesn't look like it in the pictures) available in quantity from The Twister Group for $49.18 each. The ground shipping was steep ($51.76 for a shipment of four units) but the only other suppliers I found that could furnish it in quantity were looking for about $60 each.

BTW, the Channel Master online store site now says that they expect the CM-7000 to become available again in February, but I have had about half a dozen of mine fail, so unless these iNets ot Tivaxes start failing on me soon, I don't expect to be going back to the CM-7000s.
AntAltMike is offline  
post #1332 of 1483 Old 01-28-2010, 06:06 AM
Member
 
THX-1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Any idea why the channelmasters died?
Were they early versions?
I have had no issues with mine.
I never turn them off.


The TRT is still for sale too.
THX-1138 is offline  
post #1333 of 1483 Old 01-28-2010, 06:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AntAltMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: College Park, MD
Posts: 3,532
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Some of them were in environments with higher than average temperatures, but as I think I mentioned in a post earlier in this thread, several of them kept losing the audio on my local 7.1, which I could restore simply by touching any of the three panel buttons. I use them as channel sources for master antenna system headends in multiple dwelling units.
AntAltMike is offline  
post #1334 of 1483 Old 01-28-2010, 06:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AntAltMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: College Park, MD
Posts: 3,532
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by THX-1138 View Post

The TRT is still for sale too.

Does it have a firm memory that retains power-on status and channel selection after a ower interruption. I need that for tuners in my headends, and it is the reason I chose the CM-7000 and the SSR1921s.
AntAltMike is offline  
post #1335 of 1483 Old 01-28-2010, 06:49 AM
Member
 
THX-1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
They power up after a short power cut, but they come on on channel 5, the local nbc station.
There may be a default power up setting I can't find.
It seems like it hasn't always been this station.
It might be worth asking the factory.
If all the other stations are erased, it might be forced to come on on the right one anyway.
THX-1138 is offline  
post #1336 of 1483 Old 01-28-2010, 10:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Floydage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 32
[I created this for someone via email but find it handy]

Here's some links to check on occasion for deals and inventory stock:

http://www.amazon.com/b/ref=dp_brlad...node=979935011

^The ones near the top that say "Eligible for FREE Super Saver Shipping" are sold by Amazon. I've bought from Amazon before (good seller) but I can't attest to the others shown on Amazon.

http://www.meritline.com/digital-tv-...---c-7689.aspx

https://secure.freetvsignal.com/viewAll.php

http://www.solidsignal.com/cview.asp...verter%20Boxes

http://www.freedtvshop.com/fdtv/converters.php

http://www.digital-tv-converter.net/...boxonline.aspx

Floydage is offline  
post #1337 of 1483 Old 01-28-2010, 04:22 PM
Member
 
tk54911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought from SolidSignal over a year ago and had no issues. I tried to buy from them again in DECEMBER 2009 and STILL have not received product. I've contacted them maybe 10 times and continue to get the runaround (of course they charged my credit card within a day of the order, promised they had it in stock, and it would ship that day or the next). I suppose I'll have to go through the hassle of disputing the charges with my credit card company. What a pain. Wish I had never heard of them. They seem like a few companies I tried to deal with back when 35mm cameras were the only game in town (prior to digital), mostly from New York and New Jersey; they'd claim they had a product, charge the card, and product would never arrive. I've also seen a couple of companies going out of business do the same type of thing; they stop paying bills to their suppliers, suppliers stop supplying them, but they still try anything to get your money before they go out of business, then good luck trying to get your money out of them. I will NOT do business with SolidSignal again, even if they do stay in business. I don't want to see anyone else get taken by them.
tk54911 is offline  
post #1338 of 1483 Old 01-28-2010, 06:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AntAltMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: College Park, MD
Posts: 3,532
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by tk54911 View Post

I bought from SolidSignal over a year ago and had no issues.

I've bought around seventy or so from Solid Signal. The problems I have incurred are problems that residential users would not notice, because they would not leave the receiver permanently on and tuned to the same channel.



Quote:


I tried to buy from them again in DECEMBER 2009 and STILL have not received product. I've contacted them maybe 10 times and continue to get the runaround (of course they charged my credit card within a day of the order, promised they had it in stock, and it would ship that day or the next). I suppose I'll have to go through the hassle of disputing the charges with my credit card company. ...

Solis Signal has a good reputation on the TV/AV/satellite user boards. I think they are even registered on this site or at DBSTalk as "solidsignal". If you can find their screen name in th members list here or there and send a PM to their forum representative, I would bet that he can clear up the problem for you. At present, no one has the CM-7000s in any quantity, but the Channelmaster Store site is "taking pre-orders", where, if you buy something -anything -from them now, they'll reserve one from their first shipment when it comes in mid February but not bill you until they ship it.

Edit: Looks like SolidSignal's last post here was on August 5, 2009.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...=#post16949853

If you click on their screen name there, you should still be able to use that link to sent them a private message.
AntAltMike is offline  
post #1339 of 1483 Old 01-28-2010, 11:28 PM
Member
 
confuzzled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Dunno. My CM7000 has been powered on almost continually since I got it several months ago with no problem. The box isn't even overly warm to the touch.
confuzzled is offline  
post #1340 of 1483 Old 01-29-2010, 08:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Floydage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 32
I'm surprised about the SolidSignal complaint. I bought twice from them last year with no problem and their website gives me the perception of a premier retailer of this genre.

Floydage is offline  
post #1341 of 1483 Old 01-29-2010, 08:48 AM
Member
 
confuzzled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Same here. Ordered twice. No problems. But that was last year, not recently. Maybe they're having problems now.
confuzzled is offline  
post #1342 of 1483 Old 01-29-2010, 02:00 PM
Member
 
tk54911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by confuzzled View Post

Dunno. My CM7000 has been powered on almost continually since I got it several months ago with no problem. The box isn't even overly warm to the touch.

Same here. I have two of them, powered on 24/7, and no problems at all.
tk54911 is offline  
post #1343 of 1483 Old 01-29-2010, 02:02 PM
Member
 
tk54911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Floydage View Post

I'm surprised about the SolidSignal complaint. I bought twice from them last year with no problem and their website gives me the perception of a premier retailer of this genre.

40 days ago, I would have agreed with you 100%. Now I will never buy/order from them again. ymmv
tk54911 is offline  
post #1344 of 1483 Old 01-29-2010, 04:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Floydage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 32
One of you guys was looking for a Tivax and I just spotted this 'new still in box' one on CL for 20 bills in my area:

http://dallas.craigslist.org/dal/ele/1577013557.html

Maybe pay him to ship it, still cheap. Of course the warranty is probably long gone; looks to me like folks pack-ratted these boxes with their freebie coupons and I see many saying "new in the box" but fail to tell ya the warranty won't be any good anymore.

Speaking of which, I've seen some good TV/CECB package deals; trying to get rid of the ol' analog CRT TV and they throw in the box. I saw a 27" Sony with reverse speakers + a CM7000 for $87. Might keep my eyes open for a flat tube deal.

Floydage is offline  
post #1345 of 1483 Old 01-29-2010, 04:56 PM
Member
 
THX-1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Were any of the warranties worth anything anyway?
THX-1138 is offline  
post #1346 of 1483 Old 01-30-2010, 05:37 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have never had a problem with solid signal, but anything's possible.

I have also used warren electronics many times, with absolutely no problems.
http://warrenelectronics.com/antennas/7000.htm
arxaw is offline  
post #1347 of 1483 Old 01-30-2010, 08:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Floydage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by THX-1138 View Post

Were any of the warranties worth anything anyway?

LOL, ironically I was thinking the same thing right after I wrote that. IMO they should be 1 yr, not 90 days, based on similar products other than the fact that this stuff was kind of cheap-priced for what we got. Maybe it should have been one of the gov't rqts. I thought I saw a few rare boxes with 1 yr warranties although that might have been just for parts (other than the remote if they consider the entire unit a 'part,' seems useless vs the price of labor). What bothered me about the 90 day W is that the design engineers don't even have to perform a MTBF reliability analysis; be careful which one you buy...

Floydage is offline  
post #1348 of 1483 Old 01-30-2010, 04:06 PM
Member
 
THX-1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
When sony and everyone else dropped their decent warranties, I stopped buying new products.
If I can find it used, I buy used now.

I wonder if the manufacturers thought that through?


I have bought kenwood excelon due to the 2 year warranty, though I've never had an issue.
Even a one year warranty is ridiculous.
Why should I pay for new?
THX-1138 is offline  
post #1349 of 1483 Old 01-31-2010, 08:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Floydage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 32
I think they did it on some products because the price dropped so low. Marginal utility decreases (i.e. the increased availablity of a good causes the value of additional units to decline) such that it costs them too much to provide much of a warranty; they could 'keep up' the warranty but the price would have to go up. Sucky viscious circle that is causing this stuff to fill up our landfills faster.

Floydage is offline  
post #1350 of 1483 Old 01-31-2010, 03:12 PM
Member
 
THX-1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
If it costs so little to make, a warranty should be easier to provide...unless you produce garbage.
I think it's just a case of providing as little as allowed.
It is a neon sign that they don't think the product will hold up.

I find TV descriptions of insoluble issues that the factory never bothers with.
Even Panasonic never seemed to fix the audio issues with one of their DVD recorders.
They just replaced it with a new model.

I will buy new according to how reliable I think the factory is.
I pay a lot for things with lifetime warranties.
A 90 day warranty is worth nothing to me.

And if a factory doesn't stock parts on older devices, why should I think they'll support new product?

The best marketing device is still old electronics that won't die.
THX-1138 is offline  
Reply Coupon Eligible Converter Box (CECB)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off