Channel Master CM-7000 Digital to Analog Converter - Page 9 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #241 of 1483 Old 05-08-2008, 07:24 AM
Member
 
ETGorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does the CM-7000 allow you to turn off the 4-hour default Auto Sleep Function? I noticed in the owner's manual that there is a selection called "Auto Power Down" in the Set Up menu.
ETGorm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #242 of 1483 Old 05-08-2008, 07:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Scooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Youngsville, NC USA
Posts: 5,062
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I haven't seen any CECBs yet that don't allow you to turn that off. I believe it is a requirement in the CECB specs to allow that, but most of them default to that feature being turned on (4 hour turn off) - also a requirement.

You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Being A Beacon of Knowledge in the darkness of FUD
Scooper is offline  
post #243 of 1483 Old 05-08-2008, 09:38 AM
 
rrrrrroger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdfox18doe View Post

That's funny.. the sticker on mine says "Made in Bulgaria".. (as noted by leo888 and DJ earlier in this thread)

Ooops. Well that's alright. My point about Higher fuel costs pressuring companies to move back "home" to the Americas still stands.
Quote:
Originally Posted by blue_z View Post

..they're building their new factory in So. Carolina! There was a front page article in yesterday's Los Angeles Times.

Well there you go. It's probably cheaper to build these things close to market, rather than ship them halfway around the world.
rrrrrroger is offline  
post #244 of 1483 Old 05-09-2008, 02:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
Malouff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HDTVexpert has a new review May 9, 2008
RCA DTA800 and Channel Master CM7000 Digital TV Converters


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Malouff is offline  
post #245 of 1483 Old 05-10-2008, 11:35 AM
Member
 
Rogee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried searching this thread but couldn't find a clear answer...

How does the volume control on this box work? Does it control the TVs volume, or does it control the actual unit's line out? If the latter, is there a display bar that shows the volume level?

Also, where should I buy this box if I want to use my coupon? In other words, who has it for a good price and accepts coupons?
Rogee is offline  
post #246 of 1483 Old 05-10-2008, 11:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dagger666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rogee View Post

I tried searching this thread but couldn't find a clear answer...

How does the volume control on this box work? Does it control the TVs volume, or does it control the actual unit's line out? If the latter, is there a display bar that shows the volume level?

Also, where should I buy this box if I want to use my coupon? In other words, who has it for a good price and accepts coupons?

SUMMIT SOURCE.COM
OR MOSQUITO'S WEB SITE
http://www.freedtvshop.com/fdtv/

BY THE WAY, SUMMIT CHARGED MY CREDIT CARD BUT HASN'T SHIPPED THE BOX, STILL ON BACKORDER UNTIL THE 19TH. IT CAME ON THIS MONTHS CREDIT CARD STATEMENT
dagger666 is offline  
post #247 of 1483 Old 05-10-2008, 12:14 PM
Member
 
jll544's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rogee View Post

How does the volume control on this box work? Does it control the TVs volume, or does it control the actual unit's line out? If the latter, is there a display bar that shows the volume level?

The remote controls the box's volume, and yes, there is a display.
jll544 is offline  
post #248 of 1483 Old 05-14-2008, 10:03 AM
Newbie
 
bromleyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by csgamer View Post

I need help deciding between the cm7000 and the digital stream.

Would you owners re-purchase the cm7000 now that you have tried it out?

NO WAY! I hate this thing. my video is jerky ALL THE TIME.

I am going to start paying DirecTV for local channels next year... It's that bad. at least it was cheap.
bromleyc is offline  
post #249 of 1483 Old 05-14-2008, 02:40 PM
Senior Member
 
northbear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: MSP
Posts: 243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by csgamer View Post

I need help deciding between the cm7000 and the digital stream.

Would you owners re-purchase the cm7000 now that you have tried it out?

I would rebuy... I am happy with it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bromleyc View Post

NO WAY! I hate this thing. my video is jerky ALL THE TIME.

I am going to start paying DirecTV for local channels next year... It's that bad. at least it was cheap.

I have not had that problem at all. Did you check your signal strength? If it is marginal reception a better antenna is needed and the jerky video has nothing to do with the converter box you are using.
northbear is offline  
post #250 of 1483 Old 05-14-2008, 02:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Scooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Youngsville, NC USA
Posts: 5,062
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Concur - without adequate reception ANY box will have the jerky video problem.

You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Being A Beacon of Knowledge in the darkness of FUD
Scooper is offline  
post #251 of 1483 Old 05-14-2008, 07:03 PM
Member
 
CherylJosie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by n4yqt View Post

Bromleyc: It sounds like you have an antenna system issue.

I've said this before and I'll say it again!

The MOST important part of a Television Reception System is a PROPERLY INSTALLED and TUNED Antenna System!

(url's deleted since this is only my third post and it choked...)

Regarding the CM-7000, I'm planning to place an order for two of them by the end of this month, which is when my coupons expire.

I had a similar video quality issue with the Channel Master. I know the antenna is good because the Insignia and Digital Stream and Mitsubishi all worked OK in comparison, at least until the Insignia suddenly started acting strangely, but that may have been due to other problems...

By 'jerky video'... well actually what I experienced with the Channel Master was not the stuttering of signal dropout that bromleyc seems to have, but rather highly annoying gross blocky pixellation on instantaneous radical scene changes, jagged object boundaries with subtle movement, and motion blur. I have heard it is a function of the broadcaster rather than the box but my recollection is that for the brief time I owned the Channel Master, it performed substantially worse than the Mitsubishi I had here briefly and also worse than the Insignia and Digital Stream that I bought later on.

Could you do us all a favor and post an update of the comparative performance after you get yours working? I am particularly interested in how you rank the Channel Master vs the Digital Stream and Insignia/Zenith. I tried all three, and in terms of picture quality I ranked them in this order: Zenith, Digital Stream, Channel Master... which is curious, since given the features and price I would have expected them to fall out in opposite ranking order!

The problem I have here is that I cannot test them all side-by-side since there are limitations on the return policy and the Channel Master is already gone. That makes objective comparison of the picture quality more difficult because the testing environment is not exactly parallel... but I am curious!
CherylJosie is offline  
post #252 of 1483 Old 05-14-2008, 10:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
ota.dt.man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mid-Atlantic Region
Posts: 668
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malouff View Post

HDTVexpert has a new review May 9, 2008
RCA DTA800 and Channel Master CM7000 Digital TV Converters

Hi Malouff,

I'm not familiar with HDTVexpert. Is HDTVexpert considered the leading HDTV equipment reviewer? How impartial is HDTVexpert? Do they test samples provided by the manufacturer or do they purchase the units they test? Do they accept advertising?

Thanks

Broadcast TV - a vital national public resource


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Just say "no" to a never-ending subscription TV bill that increases faster than the rate of inflation.
ota.dt.man is offline  
post #253 of 1483 Old 05-14-2008, 10:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
Malouff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am not familiar with HDTVexpert but do like their reviews of these CECB's better than CNET.
They have reviewed the Zenith, GE, Digital Stream, RCA, and Channel Master.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Malouff is offline  
post #254 of 1483 Old 05-15-2008, 05:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
ota.dt.man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mid-Atlantic Region
Posts: 668
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
CNET Reviews user promise

CNET has not yet reviewed the CM-7000. However, they are commenting on it in other CECB reviews
(Insignia NS-DXA1, RCA DTA800, Zenith DTT900):
Quote:


Lastly, there are a few DTV boxes--such as the Channel Master CM-7000--that feature an S-Video output, which can provide better video quality than that composite video. This should only matter if you currently have a TV that has an S-Video input.


Broadcast TV - a vital national public resource


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Just say "no" to a never-ending subscription TV bill that increases faster than the rate of inflation.
ota.dt.man is offline  
post #255 of 1483 Old 05-16-2008, 09:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TheDreamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Manhattan, KS
Posts: 1,168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Lastly, there are a few DTV boxes--such as the Channel Master CM-7000--that feature an S-Video output, which can provide better video quality than that composite video. This should only matter if you currently have a TV that has an S-Video input.

Back in the old days, I had a CRT monitor....with only composite input. I found taking S-Video to the monitor and then using a converter plug on the monitor resulted in a sharper picture than running composite throughout.

The Dreamer.

You may be a dreamer, but I'm The Dreamer, the definite article you might say!
TheDreamer is offline  
post #256 of 1483 Old 05-18-2008, 06:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
ota.dt.man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mid-Atlantic Region
Posts: 668
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
To all who have purchased the CM-7000:
Are you satisfied with the following:
  1. Sensitivity
  2. Reception quality
  3. Picture quality with S-video output
  4. Picture quality with composite video output
  5. Analog audio quality
  6. Ease of use
  7. Would you buy another / recommend one to a friend?
If you wish, a 5-point scale can be used to rate these 7 questions where:
  • 5 = Very satisfied / yes
  • 1 = Not satisfied / no
  • ? = Unknown (For example, if you haven't tried one of the video outputs.)

Please indicate type of antenna and the size & type of TV/monitor.

Thanks!

Broadcast TV - a vital national public resource


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Just say "no" to a never-ending subscription TV bill that increases faster than the rate of inflation.
ota.dt.man is offline  
post #257 of 1483 Old 05-19-2008, 06:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dagger666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
sorry mine will not be here until next month
dagger666 is offline  
post #258 of 1483 Old 05-19-2008, 07:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dagger666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
my email to channel master
Will the Channel Master CM-7000 make use of the TV guides program screen shown in the link below ? If not can it be upgraded to do so through some kind of firmware upgrade ?
responce,
The CM-7000 does not incorporate this guide and probably never will. It has our own version of a 12 hour guide.
Regards,
Technical Analyst
dagger666 is offline  
post #259 of 1483 Old 05-19-2008, 10:26 AM
Senior Member
 
northbear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: MSP
Posts: 243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ota.dt.man View Post

To all who have purchased the CM-7000:
Are you satisfied with the following:
  1. Sensitivity
  2. Reception quality
  3. Picture quality with S-video output
  4. Picture quality with composite video output
  5. Analog audio quality
  6. Ease of use
  7. Would you buy another / recommend one to a friend?
If you wish, a 5-point scale can be used to rate these 7 questions where:
  • 5 = Very satisfied / yes
  • 1 = Not satisfied / no
  • ? = Unknown (For example, if you haven't tried one of the video outputs.)

Please indicate type of antenna and the size & type of TV/monitor.

Thanks!

1. 5
2. 5
3. 5
4. 3.5
5. 4.9
6. 3.5
7. 5

I have a Toshiba 32" flat screen CRT tv with an antenna in the attic.

RE question 1 &2
I have no problems at all with reception, but I had very good analog reception so it is not much of a challenge for a converter box .

RE Quesiton 3&4
For my setup S-video is better, but it not night and day better.
(see comments here = http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...1#post13776001)


RE question 5
rated 4.9 because I would really like digital audio (which no box is allowed to offer) ... other then that no problems!

RE question 6
Not hard to use but could be easier. There is no startup guide when you first turn it on for the first time (not a problem for me but would be nice for some people) clicking through the menus is a bit odd (pressing "back" and "enter" rather then the left arrow and right arrow to navigate) and to exit out of the guide you have to press the guide button again (should be able to press channel up or down and just have it go away) Once you get used to it it is not a problem though

RE Question 7

I would only consider another box if it had S-video and as there are no others at this time, this is the one for me!
northbear is offline  
post #260 of 1483 Old 05-19-2008, 02:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
ota.dt.man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mid-Atlantic Region
Posts: 668
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by northbear View Post

1. 5
2. 5
3. 5
4. 3.5
5. 4.9
6. 3.5
7. 5

I have a Toshiba 32" flat screen CRT tv with an antenna in the attic.

RE question 1 &2
I have no problems at all with reception, but I had very good analog reception so it is not much of a challenge for a converter box .

RE Quesiton 3&4
For my setup S-video is better, but it not night a day better.
(see comments here = http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...1#post13776001)


RE question 5
rated 4.9 because I would really like digital audio (which no box is allowed to offer) ... other then that no problems!

RE question 6
Not hard to use but could be easier. There is no startup guide when you first turn it on for the first time (not a problem for me but would be nice for some people) clicking through the menus is a bit odd (pressing "back" and "enter" rather then the left arrow and right arrow to navigate) and to exit out of the guide you have to press the guide button again (should be able to press channel up or down and just have it go away) Once you get used to it it is not a problem though

RE Question 7

I would only consider another box if it had S-video and as there are no others at this time, this is the one for me!

Northbear,

I appreciate your detailed reply about the performance of the CM-7000, especially since we also have Toshiba CRTs (27 & 36") with S-video in and an attic antenna.

Since our area is more fringe ~40 miles, it would be good to read how other people with similar locations evaluate the CM=7000's fringe performance.

Thanks!

Broadcast TV - a vital national public resource


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Just say "no" to a never-ending subscription TV bill that increases faster than the rate of inflation.
ota.dt.man is offline  
post #261 of 1483 Old 05-19-2008, 08:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
csgamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
*still patiently waiting for summitsource to ship mine*

Been almost a month now from order.
csgamer is offline  
post #262 of 1483 Old 05-19-2008, 09:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BenCJedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Winchester
Posts: 1,141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Summitsource charged me about a month ago and it has yet to ship. They said May 19th, right? Did the boat from Bulgaria sink?
BenCJedi is offline  
post #263 of 1483 Old 05-20-2008, 02:27 AM
Member
 
Javachip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why are so many people in this forum buying these boxes online? I was at Fry's today here in San Diego and there are shelves and shelves of CM-7000 for $80 plus tax, before coupon. The lowest I found online was $70 plus shipping, before coupon. Am I missing something?
Javachip is offline  
post #264 of 1483 Old 05-20-2008, 04:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
abward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 663
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I could be wrong, but I think I read that Fry's does not participate in the coupon program. That's why.
abward is offline  
post #265 of 1483 Old 05-20-2008, 05:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
johnpost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 783
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by abward View Post

I could be wrong, but I think I read that Fry's does not participate in the coupon program. That's why.

You could be wrong but you are not. Fry's does not take CECB coupons.
johnpost is offline  
post #266 of 1483 Old 05-20-2008, 02:53 PM
Member
 
Tommy63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Reading, PA
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not feeling the love for Summitsource.

Not sure, if the CM box had been delivered in a reasonable amount of time, that I would have ordered from them in the future. But, with this wait, I'm sure I won't order from Summitsource again.
Tommy63 is offline  
post #267 of 1483 Old 05-20-2008, 04:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
abward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 663
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnpost View Post

You could be wrong but you are not. Fry's does not take CECB coupons.

I thought I was wrong once before, but I was wrong.
abward is offline  
post #268 of 1483 Old 05-20-2008, 05:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Mesickstan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well, I hope they put a "boatload" of CM-7000's on that boat from Bulgaria, because I'm waiting on Summit Source, too. Gretchen says it will be shipped Friday (5/23). We'll see...
Mesickstan is offline  
post #269 of 1483 Old 05-20-2008, 07:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
csgamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mesickstan View Post

Well, I hope they put a "boatload" of CM-7000's on that boat from Bulgaria, because I'm waiting on Summit Source, too. Gretchen says it will be shipped Friday (5/23). We'll see...

I hope this 5/23 date sticks. Man if i wanted to wait this long, i would have ordered the maxmedia vaporware.
csgamer is offline  
post #270 of 1483 Old 05-20-2008, 08:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 1,692
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by csgamer View Post

I hope this 5/23 date sticks. Man if i wanted to wait this long, i would have ordered the maxmedia vaporware.

It's not just Summit Source - I've checked a few other vendors and basically, if they take the coupon, they're on backorder. Seems the only place with CM-7000's right now is Fry's

And it's not just Channel Master either - I waited five weeks on a lowly Philco because I needed the analog pass-thru. It seems if you need any special features (except, for some reason, a smart antenna interface) and you actually expect to use your coupon, you're going to be waiting
JHBrandt is offline  
Reply Coupon Eligible Converter Box (CECB)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off