When do we start hacking the CECB's ? - Page 6 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #151 of 164 Old 06-09-2010, 12:50 PM
Member
 
nyc2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by blue_z View Post

Probably because you do not realize that the "HD tuner" also has a 32-bit RISC processor and memory plus D-to-A convertors.
.

maybe they should sell the boxes without those two and we can buy a faster processor and add more memory to the box on our own!
nyc2010 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #152 of 164 Old 06-09-2010, 05:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blue_z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: So Cal
Posts: 1,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyc2010 View Post

maybe they should sell the boxes without those two and we can buy a faster processor and add more memory to the box on our own!

That is wishful and uninformed thinking.

If you open up one of these tuners or look at photos of their interior, you would find no sockets for any of the components. Everything is soldered and surface mounted, meaning they are not user serviceable.

"Upgrading" would be a waste of time/money, since the embedded firmware is usually written for a specific hardware configuration. Changing any of the chips would probably render the box into a doorstop.

Besides, all the processor (actually SoC, or System on a Chip) and memory chips will be industrial/commercial components that are not sold by PC retailers. Heck we can't even find the datasheets for these SoCs on the web. You probably need to sign an NDA to get any info!

If you want to replace components/chips, then go build & use an HTPC.
blue_z is offline  
post #153 of 164 Old 06-10-2010, 08:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Floydage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 34
blue_z, please lighten up the way you talk down to folks here.

Floydage is offline  
post #154 of 164 Old 06-10-2010, 09:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blue_z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: So Cal
Posts: 1,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Sorry.
blue_z is offline  
post #155 of 164 Old 06-11-2010, 01:23 AM
Senior Member
 
WeAreNotAlone69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Floydage View Post

blue_z, please lighten up the way you talk down to folks here.


????, blue_z made some vaild points, upgrading these *CECB boxes isn't going to happen.
*There might be some upgradeability, more hacking options of the boxes that are released to the Canadian market...


Quote:
Originally Posted by blue_z View Post

That is wishful and uninformed thinking.

If you open up one of these tuners or look at photos of their interior, you would find no sockets for any of the components. Everything is soldered and surface mounted, meaning they are not user serviceable.

"Upgrading" would be a waste of time/money, since the embedded firmware is usually written for a specific hardware configuration. Changing any of the chips would probably render the box into a doorstop.

Besides, all the processor (actually SoC, or System on a Chip) and memory chips will be industrial/commercial components that are not sold by PC retailers. Heck we can't even find the datasheets for these SoCs on the web. You probably need to sign an NDA to get any info!

If you want to replace components/chips, then go build & use an HTPC.

WeAreNotAlone69 is offline  
post #156 of 164 Old 06-11-2010, 12:56 PM
Member
 
nyc2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WeAreNotAlone69 View Post

????, blue_z made some vaild points, upgrading these *CECB boxes isn't going to happen.
*There might be some upgradeability, more hacking options of the boxes that are released to the Canadian market...

when is that going to happen?
nyc2010 is offline  
post #157 of 164 Old 06-12-2010, 12:49 AM
Senior Member
 
WeAreNotAlone69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyc2010 View Post

when is that going to happen?

Google is your friend...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Digital...ion_transition

# Canada: The main FTA broadcasters (CBC, CTV, and Global) have launched HD streams of their programming in limited markets such as Toronto and Vancouver. On Thursday, May 17, 2007, the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC, Canada's broadcasting authority) ruled that television stations would be forced to switch to ATSC digital broadcasting by Wednesday, August 31, 2011, with minor exceptions in remote areas where analogue transmissions will not cause interference.[13]
As of May 2007[update] there were fewer than 20 digital television stations in Canada. Unlike in the other countries, Canada originally was allowing the market to determine when the analogue switch-off begins. As a result, while analogue and digital broadcasts currently co-exist, digital transmission penetration is still low, and the only way to receive Canadian digital TV in most areas is via cable or satellite TV. In Toronto it is possible to pick up DTV over the air; in Montreal, Ottawa and Quebec City a partial set of channels (most often CBC only) are offered – primarily as a vehicle for limited HDTV deployments. About one-half of Canadian homes have over-the-air access to high-powered US border stations, all of which offer ATSC DTV. New TV's and DVD recorders often include ATSC tuners but are not required to do so; retail-store availability of basic converters for existing NTSC TV's is limited.[14] (Wikinews)
Further information: Digital television transition in Canada

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Digital...tion_in_Canada
WeAreNotAlone69 is offline  
post #158 of 164 Old 06-12-2010, 08:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Floydage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by WeAreNotAlone69 View Post

????, blue_z made some vaild points, upgrading these *CECB boxes isn't going to happen.

Yes he did and it was very interesting too but that wasn't what I was getting at (previous posts too).

Thank you blue_z for the apology.

Floydage is offline  
post #159 of 164 Old 06-12-2010, 08:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Floydage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by WeAreNotAlone69 View Post

About one-half of Canadian homes have over-the-air access to high-powered US border stations, all of which offer ATSC DTV.

Interesting. Sounds like they have no urgent rush to go digital as they can sniff off 'US.'

Floydage is offline  
post #160 of 164 Old 06-12-2010, 12:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blue_z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: So Cal
Posts: 1,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Floydage View Post

...but that wasn't what I was getting at (previous posts too).

You're probably refering to post #149?
You responded to the "i don't get it why ..." as if it was a request for information.
I read that same "i don't get it why..." as an argumenative statement when combined with some previous posts. I essentially responded to the "i don't get it..." part, rather than the "...why..." part of that statement.

I just don't get why people have to preface questions with phrases like "i don't get it why ..." or "Am I right that ...".
http://www.at91.com/forum/viewtopic....,16451/#p16451

Regards
blue_z is offline  
post #161 of 164 Old 06-13-2010, 09:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Floydage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by blue_z View Post

I just don't get why people have to preface questions with phrases like "i don't get it why ..." or "Am I right that ...".

Ah, I see. Understood.

Floydage is offline  
post #162 of 164 Old 07-17-2010, 12:19 AM
Member
 
bizzybody's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There's a couple of really big reasons why the cheap CECB's exist.

#1 The FCC said such inexpensive converter boxes had to exist so us proles could continue to get our prolefeed. Y'know, like "American Idle" and soap operas.

#2 Great heaping gobs of "government money". The $40 from each of those coupons gets split between the retailer and the manufacturer, plus there's money above the $40 for CECB's with a price higher than $40.

The transcripts of the meetings and the manufacturers' input while the CECB specs were being hashed out is interesting reading. IIRC the FCC wanted to make some more advanced features *optional* but Funai convinced them to specifically prohibit them. Fortunately some manufacturers insisted on being allowed the option of S-Video, though few chose to include it.

They even got as nit-picky as discussing whether or not batteries for the remote had to be included.

The bit about requiring auto power off/sleep and having it enabled being the default is in there, so is mandating the option to disable that "feature".

I'm from the BRS school of power control. On is ON and Off is effing OFF.

BRS = Big Red Switch, like the giant toggle on the IBM PC/XT power supply.
bizzybody is offline  
post #163 of 164 Old 07-17-2010, 10:21 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rammitinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 17,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by bizzybody View Post

#1 The FCC said such inexpensive converter boxes had to exist so us proles could continue to get our prolefeed. Y'know, like "American Idle" and soap operas.

I'm sure our government didn't care anywhere near as much about us continuing to receive the programming as they did the commercial ads that went along with it.
Rammitinski is offline  
post #164 of 164 Old 07-17-2010, 04:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Floydage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Many of us can't afford subscription TV. There's also the issue of public address/warning system.

I don't see how a mfger could get by on $20. Of course I'm assuming you meant an even split.

I think the sleep function was an energy efficiency mandate.

Floydage is offline  
Reply Coupon Eligible Converter Box (CECB)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off