When do we start hacking the CECB's ? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 164 Old 03-11-2008, 11:50 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
wblynch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Mission Viejo, California
Posts: 1,536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was thinking quite a bit about this subject as other members have been cracking open their CECBs and posting photos of the guts.

I wonder what the first hacks will be and if there will be a possibility of getting into the firmware?

Some of the models appear to have capability for extra connections (S-video / Smart Antenna) and if those connections can be made live we would need to access the firmware to turn them on.

Also thinking about the EPGs and if there could be a possibility of expanding them through software mods.

Or am I just being fanciful in thinking there will be any interest in investing good hobby time and effort into these $50 devices?
wblynch is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 164 Old 03-11-2008, 07:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jim1348's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: MN
Posts: 876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well, I think that the time is now before the weather gets too nice to be stuck inside the house. The other reason is that because these are now available the time to start hacking is now. I am involved in a number of electronics pursuits, i.e. amateur radio, computers, GPS, scanners, flashlights, etc. so based on all of those where it is possible to take something and make it better there is no reason to think these would be any different.
Jim1348 is offline  
post #3 of 164 Old 03-12-2008, 04:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Laurel, MD
Posts: 671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Flashlights?

57 channels and nothing on
wmcbrine is offline  
post #4 of 164 Old 03-12-2008, 05:19 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcbrine View Post

Flashlights?

Yes, I hacked my MagLight, by replacing the Krypton bulb with the LED module.......

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #5 of 164 Old 03-12-2008, 05:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
Jim1348's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: MN
Posts: 876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
If you have any interest in flashlights, you owe it to yourself to snoop around here a little bit.
http://www.candlepowerforums.com/
Jim1348 is offline  
post #6 of 164 Old 03-12-2008, 12:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
Whidbey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Marysville, WA
Posts: 888
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wish someone would hack the Samsung DTB-H260F. Figure out if anything can be updated or modified through the USB port.

Enjoying crystal clear TV for free.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Whidbey is offline  
post #7 of 164 Old 03-15-2008, 08:46 AM
Member
 
aethyrmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: 18603, PA, USA
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm thinking of getting one of the Tivax units for use and hacking. They're supposed to have an RS-232 port, so that would make everything WORLDS simpler if we can use it to read/write to the device!
aethyrmaster is offline  
post #8 of 164 Old 04-02-2008, 03:26 PM
Newbie
 
rjune's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The first thing that should be hacked is the time out feature designed to save energy. The CECB's turn themselves off after about 4 hours of no activity. (I think the EchoStar model might have a VCR timer) Thus, if you will be gone all day and want to set your old VCR to tape a show, you're out of luck.
rjune is offline  
post #9 of 164 Old 04-02-2008, 03:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjune View Post

The first thing that should be hacked is the time out feature designed to save energy.

I've already hacked my Zenith to defeat that feature, using a little known keystroke:

Menu>Option>Auto Off>Off

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is online now  
post #10 of 164 Old 04-02-2008, 03:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Scooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Youngsville, NC USA
Posts: 5,062
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Ditto on my Philco TB100HH9 ..

You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Being A Beacon of Knowledge in the darkness of FUD
Scooper is offline  
post #11 of 164 Old 04-02-2008, 04:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TalkingRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdfox18doe View Post

I've already hacked my Zenith to defeat that feature, using a little known keystroke:

Menu>Option>Auto Off>Off


TalkingRat is offline  
post #12 of 164 Old 04-02-2008, 04:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Me three on the Digital Stream DTX 9900
jspENC is offline  
post #13 of 164 Old 04-02-2008, 11:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
tvropro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Chicago Illinois
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdfox18doe View Post

I've already hacked my Zenith to defeat that feature, using a little known keystroke:

Menu>Option>Auto Off>Off

That's the first thing I did on my Magnavox TB100MW9

Mad Scientist :)
tvropro is offline  
post #14 of 164 Old 04-03-2008, 05:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
tvropro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Chicago Illinois
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hacking the Magnavox firmware could prove interesting. It has the capability of doing SPDIF out, S video out, and it if you add a jumper on the PCB you enable RF signal pass. If those options could be turned on it would probably be the most desired unit if hacked.

Mad Scientist :)
tvropro is offline  
post #15 of 164 Old 04-03-2008, 08:33 AM
Member
 
donnyjaguar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I love hacking electronics of all descriptions. I find with newer products its not so easy to do. There are several reasons, the primary is the difficulty in getting schematic diagrams. Many (most) manufacturers don't issue these any more due to intellectual property concerns. Even the patent site doesn't show schematics for products anymore. Another reason is that most newer products are so feature rich that there isn't that much room for improvement. I've never been able to get the schematic for my Garmin eMap GPS, and there are a couple of things I would've like to do with it. I'd love to modify my big screen TV to report channel selection out the back RS232 port. This could be used to switch antennas, antenna position etc. Hacking a STB is kinda pointless though. If you have to use one of these things to convert HDTV to SDTV then I'm sorry, you just aren't a play-ah.
donnyjaguar is offline  
post #16 of 164 Old 04-03-2008, 08:46 AM
Member
 
aethyrmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: 18603, PA, USA
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by donnyjaguar View Post

I love hacking electronics of all descriptions. Hacking a STB is kinda pointless though.

Come now! How is hacking or trying to hack a(n) STB pointless? It's not about the kill, it's about the thrill of the hunt!

I understand what you're saying. It's much more worthwhile to try to add features to a full HD STB or TV, than one of our silly CECBs. However, lacking the funds for THAT sort of venture, I'd still throw an hour at a CECB with a serial port, and if I get data out of it, I'd be happy and call it time well spent in a hobby I enjoy.

Time isn't wasted if you're having fun wasting it!
aethyrmaster is offline  
post #17 of 164 Old 04-03-2008, 09:21 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
wblynch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Mission Viejo, California
Posts: 1,536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My wife hacked her Swifter !

It's fun just to do something the manufacturer thought you couldn't.
wblynch is offline  
post #18 of 164 Old 04-03-2008, 09:53 AM
Member
 
aethyrmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: 18603, PA, USA
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Granted it's off topic, but I HAVE TO KNOW!

How in the pants do you hack a Swiffer?
aethyrmaster is offline  
post #19 of 164 Old 04-03-2008, 10:01 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
wblynch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Mission Viejo, California
Posts: 1,536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aethyrmaster View Post

Granted it's off topic, but I HAVE TO KNOW!

How in the pants do you hack a Swiffer?

hahaha...

she hacked it to work with another brand of liquid. The danged thing is designed to only accept Swifter brand solution which, apparently, is twice the price of her preferred brand.

She was pretty proud of herself.
wblynch is offline  
post #20 of 164 Old 04-03-2008, 10:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by aethyrmaster View Post

How in the pants do you hack a Swiffer?

sheesh.. everyone knows you take a big knife and start whacking..

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is online now  
post #21 of 164 Old 04-03-2008, 10:35 AM
Member
 
DJ99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvropro View Post

That's the first thing I did on my Magnavox TB100MW9

Ditto with the C/M 7000.
DJ99 is offline  
post #22 of 164 Old 04-03-2008, 11:24 AM
Member
 
aethyrmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: 18603, PA, USA
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wblynch View Post

hahaha...

she hacked it to work with another brand of liquid. The danged thing is designed to only accept Swifter brand solution which, apparently, is twice the price of her preferred brand.

She was pretty proud of herself.

Nice.
aethyrmaster is offline  
post #23 of 164 Old 04-09-2008, 09:27 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
mrvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 6,244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdfox18doe View Post

I've already hacked my Zenith to defeat that feature, using a little known keystroke:

Menu>Option>Auto Off>Off

Especially when it is a requirement that it be an option

"What do you say Beckett. Wanna have a baby?" - Castle to Det. Beckett
"How Long have I been gone?" Alexis after arriving home and seeing Castle and Beckett w/ the baby - Castle - 11/25/13
Mr. Video

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

mrvideo is offline  
post #24 of 164 Old 04-10-2008, 10:18 AM
Senior Member
 
doublejack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by donnyjaguar View Post

I love hacking electronics of all descriptions. ... Hacking a STB is kinda pointless though.

No, you're missing a huge possibility. If a CECB could be hacked to tune in channels via QAM that would be a massive breakthrough. There are probably many others like me that have premium cable service only to their primary TV. That works because I can pull in a limited number of analog channels to my other TV's, like the one in the garage. Now, I could buy something like a Samsung 260 but it would be hard to justify that level of expenditure for a seldom used 13" junk TV. Or I could deal with the hassle of an antenna and a stock CECB, but that isn't really cheap either. Optimally, if I could pair a CECB with the cable already run to the TV that would be the cat's meow. Even if I didn't use a coupon for the purchase, it would still be worth $50 to me to buy a CECB for face value and mod it to work.

The trick is finding a CECB that should have the native ability to tune in QAM, and then figuring out how to enable that feature.

Quote:
Originally Posted by wblynch View Post

hahaha...

she hacked it to work with another brand of liquid. The danged thing is designed to only accept Swifter brand solution which, apparently, is twice the price of her preferred brand.

She was pretty proud of herself.

My wife did this too, or something similar. What she did is figured out how to open up the Swifter brand bottles and fill them with whatever cleaner she desired. The way they are made is as a one-time use disposable item. So not only is she saving money and using better chemicals (per her determination), but she's also recycling!
doublejack is offline  
post #25 of 164 Old 04-10-2008, 10:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
Whidbey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Marysville, WA
Posts: 888
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by doublejack View Post

No, you're missing a huge possibility. If a CECB could be hacked to tune in channels via QAM that would be a massive breakthrough. There are probably many others like me that have premium cable service only to their primary TV. That works because I can pull in a limited number of analog channels to my other TV's, like the one in the garage. Now, I could buy something like a Samsung 260 but it would be hard to justify that level of expenditure for a seldom used 13" junk TV. Or I could deal with the hassle of an antenna and a stock CECB, but that isn't really cheap either. Optimally, if I could pair a CECB with the cable already run to the TV that would be the cat's meow. Even if I didn't use a coupon for the purchase, it would still be worth $50 to me to buy a CECB for face value and mod it to work.

The trick is finding a CECB that should have the native ability to tune in QAM, and then figuring out how to enable that feature.


I'm really not totally understanding this - you want to hack a CECB to tune "in the clear" QAM channels, which I assume are just HD counterparts to the SD channels already available without a box, and the CECB will downcovert them to SD for an older TV. Why? Are there extra channels on QAM?

Enjoying crystal clear TV for free.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Whidbey is offline  
post #26 of 164 Old 04-10-2008, 11:57 AM
Member
 
adrianblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: West Hollywood, CA
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not sure if you guys saw my post in the DTX9900 thread, but I have a DigitalStream DTX9900 converter and took it apart after I got it.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/adrianb...75058/sizes/l/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/adrianb...n/photostream/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/adrianb...n/photostream/

I put the serial TX pin on my O-scope and found it to be transmitting data when turning the box on and off and also when pushing buttons and changing channels.

So I bought a serial converter board and am going to see what kind this port can do. I'll post and update when I crack open the box again.

adrianblack is offline  
post #27 of 164 Old 04-10-2008, 12:25 PM
Senior Member
 
doublejack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whidbey View Post

I'm really not totally understanding this - you want to hack a CECB to tune "in the clear" QAM channels, which I assume are just HD counterparts to the SD channels already available without a box, and the CECB will downcovert them to SD for an older TV. Why? Are there extra channels on QAM?

The reason why is because my cable provider is steadily eliminating analog channels. I know it won't be long before they go all digital and my older TV's are useless without some type of box, be it one from the cable co. (which I'm sure would have a monthly rent fee) or a 3rd party one. I'm fairly certain that they intend to go digital when the OTA changeover happens, even though the law does not apply to cable operators. (after all, there is so much misinformation about the change over among consumers that it's a great time for them to push digital on everyone)

And yes, there are already "in the clear" QAM channels that are gone from my analog service. Local community info channels for example, as well as foreign language channels and the Retro Television Network. So there are valid reasons to want / need an inexpensive QAM tuner.
doublejack is offline  
post #28 of 164 Old 04-10-2008, 12:31 PM
Member
 
tzank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whidbey View Post

I'm really not totally understanding this - you want to hack a CECB to tune "in the clear" QAM channels, which I assume are just HD counterparts to the SD channels already available without a box, and the CECB will downcovert them to SD for an older TV. Why? Are there extra channels on QAM?

The digital clear QAM channels would be of much better video quality then the analog cable ones your old set is now picking up. Also, depending upon the cable system, you may pick up some SD or converted HD channels not available with basic or expanded basic cable. It is also fun picking up the VOD feeds that are available in areas where the cable company has not encrypted such feeds yet.

Tiim
tzank is offline  
post #29 of 164 Old 04-10-2008, 02:06 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
wblynch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Mission Viejo, California
Posts: 1,536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by adrianblack View Post

Not sure if you guys saw my post in the DTX9900 thread, but I have a DigitalStream DTX9900 converter and took it apart after I got it.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/adrianb...75058/sizes/l/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/adrianb...n/photostream/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/adrianb...n/photostream/

I put the serial TX pin on my O-scope and found it to be transmitting data when turning the box on and off and also when pushing buttons and changing channels.

So I bought a serial converter board and am going to see what kind this port can do. I'll post and update when I crack open the box again.

Cool find.
wblynch is offline  
post #30 of 164 Old 04-10-2008, 03:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dattier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago IL, Northwest Side
Posts: 2,912
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 28
The menus of the Digital Stream DTX-9900 include a function to scan for QAM channels.  I'm surprised it wasn't removed for the CECB version.  Naturally I couldn't resist sticking the cable company coax into it and trying a scan, and of course it found no channels.
dattier is offline  
Reply Coupon Eligible Converter Box (CECB)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off