Can a CECB be used as an RF demodulator? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 03-30-2008, 01:59 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gtuturbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have 2 coax cables coming into my shop 100 feet away from my home.
One is diplexed from my DISH 222 and my amplified OTA antenna.
I am using an old VCR as an RF demodulator so I can send the picture to the TV with the coax and the audio to my stereo receiver.

The other cable is an extension of the radio freq antenna that the 222 (dual tuner) has, so I can change channels on the sat from the shop.


The system works fine as it is currently set up.

My question is since the TV has no ATSC tuner, and I am going to need to get a converter box with my coupons,

WILL THESE BOXES PERFORM DUAL DUTY TO ACT AS AN RF DEMODULATOR
AND A DIGITAL TO ANALOG CONVERTER, SO I CAN DUMP THE VCR?

Any insight would be greatly valuable...
gtuturbo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 03-30-2008, 03:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Scooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Youngsville, NC USA
Posts: 5,058
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
NO !

No built in NTSC (read analog) tuner of any kind.

If you shop for the right one, the best you can hope for is working analog RF pass through.

You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...
http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

Being A Beacon of Knowledge in the darkness of FUD
Scooper is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 03-30-2008, 05:58 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gtuturbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for your response. I understand they don't have a tuner, my TV has the tuner I would be using after I got rid of the VCR.

I guess I didn't ask the question clearly enough.

Will the converter box allow analog pass through and converted signals to my TV at the same time?
Like I said, I would have a diplexed cable going into it.
gtuturbo is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 03-30-2008, 06:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Scooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Youngsville, NC USA
Posts: 5,058
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
If you find the right model. - start reading for features. I happen to have a Philco TB100HH9 that does analog pass through (but it's not for sale - look at www.solidsignal.com for one).

You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...
http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

Being A Beacon of Knowledge in the darkness of FUD
Scooper is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 03-31-2008, 05:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Scooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Youngsville, NC USA
Posts: 5,058
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtuturbo View Post

Will the converter box allow analog pass through and converted signals to my TV at the same time?
Like I said, I would have a diplexed cable going into it.

Ok - usually in the context of "diplexers" , we usually mean combining DBS signal with OTA (Over the air) or cable channels. You would use one diplexer to combine them, and at the other end another to split them back out. You can't do something like that with OTA analog and OTA digital signals - they are all in the same bands.

So - do you mean that you have COMBINED the RF output from TV2 output of the 222 with the OTA antenna ? If you are already getting OTA signals from this, all you need to do is add one of the CECBs so you can get digital OTA signals as well. The Philco unit I have would be perfect for this - set it to RF pass through, then connect the A/V outputs to the A/V inputs of your VCR. Then you would get stereo audio out of the CECB as well the 222 RF output. You can accomplish the same thing by using a splitter (one side to a CECB, the other to the VCR) and again use the A/V outs on the CECB to the A/V inputs on the VCR for stereo.

I suppose the next pertinent question is how do you get the signal from the VCR to your TV ? and also what other input choices (besides RF) are available on the TV ?

You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...
http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

Being A Beacon of Knowledge in the darkness of FUD
Scooper is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 04-01-2008, 04:02 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gtuturbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for helpin',once again.


"So - do you mean that you have COMBINED the RF output from TV2 output of the 222 with the OTA antenna ?"

YES

"If you are already getting OTA signals from this, all you need to do is add one of the CECBs so you can get digital OTA signals as well. The Philco unit I have would be perfect for this - set it to RF pass through, then connect the A/V outputs to the A/V inputs of your VCR."

I want to get rid of the VCR, and use the tuner inside the TV for channel changing. I am only using the VCR because it can demod the audio to RCA.

"I suppose the next pertinent question is how do you get the signal from the VCR to your TV ? and also what other input choices (besides RF) are available on the TV ?"

I currently feed the TV with composite video.
The TV has all inputs available except HDMI(like it would matter...).
No outputs.
gtuturbo is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 04-01-2008, 04:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Scooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Youngsville, NC USA
Posts: 5,058
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
OK -
So, instead of the VCR, feed your TV with the CECB. Depending on which CECB you get, you either use a splitter (in the case that the CECB does not do analog pass through), or you pass through the CECB. Use the TV's builtin analog tuner (out the TVs speakers) for analog, and use the CECB for digital. You can split the audio out on the CECB to get better sound if you want, or just run the audio to your external audio amp.

If you do it this way - you lose the Stereo coming from the VCR for analog into your sound system. But it would work for casual viewing.

You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...
http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

Being A Beacon of Knowledge in the darkness of FUD
Scooper is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 04-01-2008, 05:59 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gtuturbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
"If you do it this way - you lose the Stereo coming from the VCR for analog into your sound system. But it would work for casual viewing."

Yes, this is my biggest problem.

Do I run all my channels from the sat through the weak,little TV speakers -OR
do I keep the VCR for it's audio outputs?

I was hoping a $50 or $60 box would do it all...
gtuturbo is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 04-01-2008, 06:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Scooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Youngsville, NC USA
Posts: 5,058
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtuturbo View Post

"If you do it this way - you lose the Stereo coming from the VCR for analog into your sound system. But it would work for casual viewing."

Yes, this is my biggest problem.

Do I run all my channels from the sat through the weak,little TV speakers -OR
do I keep the VCR for it's audio outputs?

I was hoping a $50 or $60 box would do it all...

Hence my suggestion to run the CECB through the VCR's A/V inputs.... It would have the plus of an easy remote controlled source changer.


Here - let me throw you MY tale of woe -

Around August / September 2007, we bought a 14 inch CRT TV with built in analog and digital tuners to replace a comparable sized Panasonic TV/VCR combo that was over 10 years old. I have Dish Network, and run both OTA and modulated signals all over the house. Thinking ahead, as it were, for D-Day (Feb 17, 2009).

Well a couple months later - one of our cats knocked the TV off the bookshelf it was on - about a 3-4 foot drop to the carpeted floor. TV came out relative unscathed - except that now the ANALOG tuner and S-Video input don't work ! So, now I'm in the unenviable position of a Digital (only) TV that I needed analog RF as well. I got out the old JVC stereo VCR, used the A/V outputs to feed the TV, and run RF pass through to the TVs digital tuner !

And yes - I did take the TV to a shop to see about replacing the tuner - that would have cost as much as the original price of the TV ! Until the TV or VCR gives up the ghost, that's my bedroom setup.

You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...
http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

Being A Beacon of Knowledge in the darkness of FUD
Scooper is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 04-02-2008, 05:19 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gtuturbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I only wanted to get rid of the VCR because space is at a premium on that part of my workbench. The little TV speakers can't overcome air tools,grinders, the compressor, and other loud tools.
I need the db's I can get from my stereo receiver, so I guess I keep the VCR.
gtuturbo is offline  
Reply Coupon Eligible Converter Box (CECB)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off