Rca Dta800b1* - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > HDTV > HDTV Technical > Coupon Eligible Converter Box (CECB) > Rca Dta800b1*

Coupon Eligible Converter Box (CECB)

lexus2108's Avatar lexus2108
02:48 PM Liked: 10
post #1 of 105
04-02-2008 | Posts: 991
Joined: Mar 2008
RCA DTA800B1*

This box is now listed on the NTIA website as being new and having Analog passthrough. It is new to the RCA line up.

https://www.ntiadtv.gov/cecb_list.cfm

I called RCA and after 1 hour on hold and being transfered 5 times. I was told the number that handles the calls KNOWS nothing. They had no info on new box or where to buy it or who to call to get that info. Seems to me VERY POOR CUSTOMER service. imo

Does anyone know the following?

1) When will this box be available?

2) Where will this box be available?

3) How much will it be?

Since there are 7 low power stations in the area and we will loose these stations. We want analog passthru.

We only have RF connectors and no RCA/AV So no by passing.
lexus2108's Avatar lexus2108
09:59 AM Liked: 10
post #2 of 105
04-03-2008 | Posts: 991
Joined: Mar 2008
100 views and no one has the answer?
Beaker74's Avatar Beaker74
11:11 AM Liked: 10
post #3 of 105
04-03-2008 | Posts: 27
Joined: Mar 2008
It's obviously not available yet in retail channels. I guess you'll have to keep an eye out.
Ally31's Avatar Ally31
05:58 PM Liked: 10
post #4 of 105
04-21-2008 | Posts: 1
Joined: Apr 2008
I am in San Jose, CA, and am unable to find a RCA DTA800B1*.

I wonder when they will hit the stores. Does anyone know?

Thanks!
hphase's Avatar hphase
07:40 AM Liked: 10
post #5 of 105
04-22-2008 | Posts: 2,999
Joined: Mar 2001
How can you tell which one you have? I got an RCA recently and I'll be damned if I can find a model designation or build date.
lexus2108's Avatar lexus2108
09:49 AM Liked: 10
post #6 of 105
04-22-2008 | Posts: 991
Joined: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by hphase View Post

How can you tell which one you have? I got an RCA recently and I'll be damned if I can find a model designation or build date.

Sure I can help

800A- No smart antenna

800b- Smart Antenna BUT no Analog passthru

800b1 Smart antenna and passthru (not out yet)
firstsig's Avatar firstsig
12:10 PM Liked: 10
post #7 of 105
05-01-2008 | Posts: 15
Joined: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by lexus2108 View Post

Sure I can help

800A- No smart antenna

800b- Smart Antenna BUT no Analog passthru

800b1 Smart antenna and passthru (not out yet)

Where did you get the B1 info?
lexus2108's Avatar lexus2108
12:45 PM Liked: 10
post #8 of 105
05-01-2008 | Posts: 991
Joined: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by firstsig View Post

Where did you get the B1 info?

NTIA website. on their list
lexus2108's Avatar lexus2108
12:46 PM Liked: 10
post #9 of 105
05-01-2008 | Posts: 991
Joined: Mar 2008
plus I called them (RCA)
DTV Reviewer's Avatar DTV Reviewer
12:17 PM Liked: 10
post #10 of 105
06-17-2008 | Posts: 15
Joined: Jun 2008
Has anyone ever seen an RCA DTA800B1 for sale anywhere?
viewer29's Avatar viewer29
12:49 PM Liked: 10
post #11 of 105
06-17-2008 | Posts: 94
Joined: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by lexus2108 View Post

Sure I can help

800A- No smart antenna

800b- Smart Antenna BUT no Analog passthru

800b1 Smart antenna and passthru (not out yet)

From the outside of the box - how can you tell?

I haven't actually seen an RCA in the store, but have made several phone calls to retailers. Of the ones who say they have RCA, they can read off DTA800 but they say there is nothing more after that number. So, no A, no B, no B1.

Are the clerks blind? or is there really nothing on the RCA box that gives the complete model number?

I'm not willing to drive 30 miles to find out that I can't find out if it is the B1.
DTV Reviewer's Avatar DTV Reviewer
01:09 PM Liked: 10
post #12 of 105
06-17-2008 | Posts: 15
Joined: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by viewer29 View Post

From the outside of the box - how can you tell?

I haven't actually seen an RCA in the store, but have made several phone calls to retailers. Of the ones who say they have RCA, they can read off DTA800 but they say there is nothing more after that number. So, no A, no B, no B1.

Are the clerks blind? or is there really nothing on the RCA box that gives the complete model number?

I'm not willing to drive 30 miles to find out that I can't find out if it is the B1.

You are correct. The outside of the box only says DTA800 regardless of what is inside. You - or the clerk - must open the box and read the model number directly off the bottom of the unit. All I have ever seen is the DTA800B at Wal-Mart. I'm sure all original 800's are long gone as are the 800A's. Only B's now on sale. I'm looking for the B1 with analog pass through - but so far - I've never seen one.

I have a couple of B's - great little box. Trouble free - so far - and the nicest thing is any old existing universal remote control I have had laying around the house will operate all its functions using the standard RCA Cable Box or Satellite codes. Try that with any other unit available - I have never seen any other CECB (Zenith and it's clones, Magnavox and its clones, etc.) that can be operated with a universal remote - unless it's really expensive one or a learning remote where you have to program each function into it. RCA got it exactly right.
DigaDo's Avatar DigaDo
02:03 PM Liked: 23
post #13 of 105
06-17-2008 | Posts: 4,680
Joined: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by DTV Reviewer View Post

You are correct. The outside of the box only says DTA800 regardless of what is inside. You - or the clerk - must open the box and read the model number directly off the bottom of the unit. All I have ever seen is the DTA800B at Wal-Mart. I'm sure all original 800's are long gone as are the 800A's. Only B's now on sale. I'm looking for the B1 with analog pass through - but so far - I've never seen one.

I have a couple of B's - great little box. Trouble free - so far - and the nicest thing is any old existing universal remote control I have had laying around the house will operate all its functions using the standard RCA Cable Box or Satellite codes. Try that with any other unit available - I have never seen any other CECB (Zenith and it's clones, Magnavox and its clones, etc.) that can be operated with a universal remote - unless it's really expensive one or a learning remote where you have to program each function into it. RCA got it exactly right.

I have already responded to your observations concerning universal remotes. I have two inexpensive Philips universal remotes (one a standard model and the other a "learning" model, both priced under $10) that I use to control my Zenith CECBs. Both Philips universal remotes use code 0267 to activate the control signals for Zenith CECBs. The 0267 code is listed twice by Philips under Zenith in the SAT/DTV/WebTV, and DVR/SAT Combo sections in their twelve pages of codes.

See these earlier posts:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...0#post14094860

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...5#post14103065
holl_ands's Avatar holl_ands
05:03 PM Liked: 68
post #14 of 105
06-17-2008 | Posts: 3,754
Joined: Jun 2004
Couple weeks ago I was in Walmart specifically looking for B1, I'm sure one of the numbers
on the outside of the box said it was a "B" version. Anyone with a box care to chime in....
richardav's Avatar richardav
07:17 PM Liked: 10
post #15 of 105
06-17-2008 | Posts: 84
Joined: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by holl_ands View Post

Couple weeks ago I was in Walmart specifically looking for B1, I'm sure one of the numbers
on the outside of the box said it was a "B" version. Anyone with a box care to chime in....

In my case the main printing on the box only says DTA800, but in small print just below the bar code it does show DTA800B.
viewer29's Avatar viewer29
09:30 PM Liked: 10
post #16 of 105
06-17-2008 | Posts: 94
Joined: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by richardav View Post

In my case the main printing on the box only says DTA800, but in small print just below the bar code it does show DTA800B.

This is good news. Next time I call I'll have to push the retailer harder to look at the fine print. My 70 year old friend brought me the two coupons he received Saturday and said, "Get me whatever I need, and you can have the other coupon." Yipee - now I don't have to get something I really don't want with my 6/19 expiry coupon.

I want the RCA B1 for him for a lot of reasons, not the least of which is the larger buttons. Pass through is essential or he loses his Sunday afternoon ball games transmitted on a LP translator that is not converting to digital in Feb.
spokybob's Avatar spokybob
09:49 PM Liked: 10
post #17 of 105
06-17-2008 | Posts: 470
Joined: Mar 2008
I could only find a Magnavox today. I'll see if it is a B1 model when the truck comes in on Friday.
(Psst. Hey buddy. Got any coupons?")
EDIT: The young man there says he does not know if a Magnavox or RCA will arrive. They have the same reference number.
richardav's Avatar richardav
10:23 PM Liked: 10
post #18 of 105
06-17-2008 | Posts: 84
Joined: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by viewer29 View Post

This is good news. Next time I call I'll have to push the retailer harder to look at the fine print.

Tell them the model number is printed on the bar code label.
DTV Reviewer's Avatar DTV Reviewer
04:29 PM Liked: 10
post #19 of 105
06-19-2008 | Posts: 15
Joined: Jun 2008
Checked with Wal-Mart again yesterday and found out what is usually the case around here (Washington State) - once again - had no RCA DTA800B's in stock. They did tell me they received a letter from the manufacturer apologizing for the lack of production. Demand has been very high and they are sorry for the lack of production but hope to be on track again soon. So keep watching for them. Perhaps the B1's will begin showing up someday soon.
DAVIDBRUCE's Avatar DAVIDBRUCE
05:38 PM Liked: 10
post #20 of 105
06-22-2008 | Posts: 1
Joined: Jun 2008
There is something phony about the fact that the only places on-line that have analog passthru boxes want to sell them for $79 or higher. Supposedly these were supposed to be available in mid June 2008. NO manufacturer's have yet to show up in the low $49-$59 price range.
Walmart does NOT have any pass thru boxes.
There is a quirk in the law that says "only full power TV stations are required to go digital in Jan 09" This means repeaters and low power stations DO NOT have to comply.
The solution to having a non-pass thru box is to put a two outlet splitter before the box and an antenna switch behind the box. This allows you to switch the box in or out of the antenna system. This solution is a lot cheaper than paying $79 for the passthru boxes.

avnstf's Avatar avnstf
08:15 PM Liked: 10
post #21 of 105
06-22-2008 | Posts: 1,603
Joined: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by DAVIDBRUCE View Post

There is something phony about the fact that the only places on-line that have analog passthru boxes want to sell them for $79 or higher. Supposedly these were supposed to be available in mid June 2008. NO manufacturer's have yet to show up in the low $49-$59 price range.
Walmart does NOT have any pass thru boxes.
There is a quirk in the law that says "only full power TV stations are required to go digital in Jan 09" This means repeaters and low power stations DO NOT have to comply.
The solution to having a non-pass thru box is to put a two outlet splitter before the box and an antenna switch behind the box. This allows you to switch the box in or out of the antenna system. This solution is a lot cheaper than paying $79 for the passthru boxes.

radio shack has the digital stream pass-through on its site for $59
Malouff's Avatar Malouff
07:47 PM Liked: 10
post #22 of 105
06-23-2008 | Posts: 819
Joined: Mar 2008
The NTIA moved the RCA DTA800B1* to the Approved & Available list today.
I guess that means we will be seeing them soon.

How soon is anyone's guess as the DISH Network DTVPal* is also in that section.

I will admit there are some Dish Network Sale Reps do offer to sell but it is like being
at a auction with this converter box. The Shipping charges change on you and so does the price.
cia_viewer's Avatar cia_viewer
04:03 PM Liked: 10
post #23 of 105
06-27-2008 | Posts: 304
Joined: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by viewer29 View Post

This is good news. Next time I call I'll have to push the retailer harder to look at the fine print. My 70 year old friend brought me the two coupons he received Saturday and said, "Get me whatever I need, and you can have the other coupon." Yipee - now I don't have to get something I really don't want with my 6/19 expiry coupon.

I want the RCA B1 for him for a lot of reasons, not the least of which is the larger buttons. Pass through is essential or he loses his Sunday afternoon ball games transmitted on a LP translator that is not converting to digital in Feb.

Magnavox TB100MG9 PassThrough is Klutzy {menu=>analog;button=>digital}
Zenith DTT901 PassThrough is straight forward {CECB-Off=>analog;CECB-ON=>digital}
viewer29's Avatar viewer29
06:35 PM Liked: 10
post #24 of 105
06-27-2008 | Posts: 94
Joined: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by cia_viewer View Post

Magnavox TB100MG9 PassThrough is Klutzy {menu=>analog;button=>digital}
Zenith DTT901 PassThrough is straight forward {CECB-Off=>analog;CECB-ON=>digital}

Unfortunately as I've posted elsewhere, the DTT901 is unavailable here.

I have a Philco and completely agree with your assessment of the MG9. Only I'd likely use a stronger word than "klutzy".
cia_viewer's Avatar cia_viewer
07:22 AM Liked: 10
post #25 of 105
06-28-2008 | Posts: 304
Joined: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by viewer29 View Post

Unfortunately as I've posted elsewhere, the DTT901 is unavailable here.

I have a Philco and completely agree with your assessment of the MG9. Only I'd likely use a stronger word than "klutzy".


The Insignia NS-DXA1-APT is claimed to be identical to the Zenith DTT901.
My local Best Buy has been carrying the Insignia NS-DXA1 (NoPassThru) and, over the phone, says they will not carry the Insignia NS-DXA1-APT , but is expecting to receive the Apex DT250 , instead, to provide PassThru.
DD210's Avatar DD210
04:39 PM Liked: 10
post #26 of 105
07-05-2008 | Posts: 101
Joined: Jun 2008
Two days after an RCA technician said the DTA800b1 was unavailable, I walked out of my local WalMart with one in hand. The box is label DTA800b1 and says it has analog pass through. The technician said there are no other changes other than the analog pass through. I have not opened the box to confirm this, but will give an update on it's performance as soon as I've had a chance to use it.
DD210's Avatar DD210
05:02 PM Liked: 10
post #27 of 105
07-05-2008 | Posts: 101
Joined: Jun 2008
The technician was WRONG. According to the manual, the RCA DTA800b1 now has the ability to add channels not found in the initial scan. Still have not hooked it up, but this puts the RCA back on some people's list.
cia_viewer's Avatar cia_viewer
02:41 PM Liked: 10
post #28 of 105
07-06-2008 | Posts: 304
Joined: Feb 2008
I do not have an RCA.

My Zenith DTT901 has an excellent thermal design:
1) ventilated with plenty of perforations top, bottom, left & right.
2) metal case (aluminum?)
3) black case for good radiation
I have started keeping it powered up continuously and it stays cool.

How is the RCA DTA800b1?
stk3171's Avatar stk3171
05:32 PM Liked: 10
post #29 of 105
07-06-2008 | Posts: 2
Joined: Jul 2008
Picked one up at Walmart. Hooked it up and works great with passtrough.
Like it better than the zenith 900
Dan
davewilks's Avatar davewilks
06:17 PM Liked: 10
post #30 of 105
07-07-2008 | Posts: 3
Joined: Jul 2008
I just purchased a DTA800B1 using the $40 coupon from wal-mart this morning. The device works great EXCEPT that I am unable to program the STB remote to work with the RCA model T09081BC 9" TV/VCR combo manufactured 1999. I have tried all 30 codes provided in the STB manual for RCA TVs at least two times each with no joy.

This TV/STB combo is in a guest room so I guess I will have to write a little instruction manual telling my guests to use the "little RCA remote" to turn the STB box on and off and to change the channels and to use the "big RCA remote" to turn the TV on and off and to change the volume or the mute the TV.

It seems to me that a company that has been in business as long as RCA should have these issues figured out.

Dave Wilks

Reply Coupon Eligible Converter Box (CECB)

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3