GRiDLink GLT-200 - Converter Box - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 04-17-2008, 02:54 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
northbear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: MSP
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just noticed this model. I am not really interested as it doesn't have S-video but the price is right. $40!! So free after coupon. The is only the second box I have heard of (the first being the ECHOSTAR box) being priced at $40.

Specs and links below.

Model

GLT-200

Features:

Over-The-Air Terrestrial 8VSB
Demodulation
Dolby Digital AC-3 Decoding
EPG (Electronic Program Guide)
V-Chip Lock (Parental Controls)
Close Captioning
Aspect Ratio 16:9 / 4:3
Picture Frame Freeze
Sleep Mode for Power Saving
Multi-Language Support
Compact and Stylish Design
Full Operation by Remote Control ATSC
Input Terminal: 75 Ohm Female F Connector
Receiving Frequency: 57 ~ 861 MHz, Channel 2-69
Bandwidth: 6 MHZ Demodulator 8VSB Video
Video Decoder: MPEG-2
Aspect Ratio: 16:9 or 4:3
Input Format: Supports 1080p/1080i/720p/480p/480i
Video Output: Composite (RCA) out

Audio
Audio Decoder: Dolby AC-3 2 Channels, MPEG Audio

Warranty

One year limited warranty

http://www.egridlink.com/

http://gridlinktech.com/coupon_eligible_converter.html

http://www.ezdigitaltv.com/Gridlink_GLT-200.html

http://gridlinktech.com/iptc_set-top_box_glt_200.html

Fairly certain this last link is for something else as it states: Video/Audio Output: 1xRCA for CVBS, 3xRCA for YUV, 1xS-Video, 1xHDMI
But it seems to have the same model number
northbear is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 04-17-2008, 06:29 PM
Senior Member
 
wh5916's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 394
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This reminds me of the Sansonic converter, right down to the remote.

Update--it may indeed be the same box. A rear photo at http://www.egridlink.com/Attaches/_6...r-Box-Back.JPG shows "Designed by Falcon." They also designed the Sansonic converter:

http://findarticles.com/p/articles/m...6/ai_n21169104
wh5916 is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 04-24-2008, 07:46 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
northbear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: MSP
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
User manual is at

http://www.ezdigitaltv.com/support-f...ser_manual.pdf

Didn't really look at it, but thought I would share
northbear is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 04-24-2008, 08:43 PM
Member
 
captylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well,
Looks like all the other Falcon box right down to the remote.
But, in the PDF Manual Page 11 Antenna Setup Example Ch 20 "509.000Mhz" over technical? Then it also shows Signal Strength: bar and a Signal Quality:bar?
Maybe the Sansonic people could comment?
captylor is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 04-24-2008, 09:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
Malouff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
captylor

It is a Falcon box here is the Sansonic FT300A DTV Converter Box Thread
MikeBiker said it is the same Manual and interface.
One thing is that it has no EPG just Channel Information/Program Information

One thing about the GLT-200 is that it is cheaper then the Sansonic if you buy from http://www.egridlink.com you just pay shipping
they told me about $10.00-$11.00 and $2.00 more if you want a second box.

I however think that I will pass on the Sansonic/Gridlink from initial reviews as it seams like it has less features then others.
Malouff is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 06-24-2008, 05:42 PM
Member
 
zqxthree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Downers Grove, IL
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone have any experience with the Gridlink GLT-200 Converter Box?

The web site is http://www.egridlink.com/products.aspx?PD=1
zqxthree is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 06-24-2008, 07:20 PM
Senior Member
 
johnied's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Im a little leary of that gridlink website.. It ate my coupon and the order failed.
NTIA website said it was cashed in. The order process broke midstream.

From what I gather that box is the same box as the Lasonic and the Sansonic.


John
johnied is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 06-25-2008, 07:17 AM
Newbie
 
Jshock's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you filed a complaint, did they follow through and get your box shipped out? Some of the companies I've read about on here leave a lot to be desired in the customer service dept.
Jshock is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 08-01-2008, 08:25 PM
Newbie
 
ASPushkin51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Gridlink made by Falcon arrived today. Cannot get the remote working, and the box has no buttons except one. Tried a universal remote, does not work either. The box does send a setup screen to the TV via composite, though.
Requested an RMA. Return has to be addressed to Canada!! Asked the distributor to pay for all shipping, but have not heard anything yet.
Considering that the same very box can be had from Target as Sansonic for $22.50 including tax, and you can exchange it within 30 days if anything goes wrong with it, I think with this kind of reliability Gridlink is not worth the money - with shipping and handling I had to pay US$15.26 + coupon.
Generally speaking, Gridlink and its siblings Sansonic and Lansonic belong to local brick-and-mortar stores, unless you can negotiate free RMA shipping with Internet retailers upfront.
Might be a nice box, once fixed. I know I am not getting a TV guide on it, but neither I am getting it on my Sharp HDTV. Maybe people will restore QAM eventually on these Falcon boxes.
ASPushkin51 is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 08-18-2008, 08:26 PM
Newbie
 
ASPushkin51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
At suggestion from this forum, I requested a replacement remote, instead of sending the box back. The remote arrived with fresh batteries, free of charge, and everything works now!

Now I have now two boxes off Internet and can compare them. One is DTVPal from www.dtvpal.com. Nice TV guide (the best among CECBs), analog pass-through, low sensitivity on channel 5-1 (NBC) on indoor anti-multipass array antenna. Well built, both box and remote. Price - $31.50 and you are harrassed a lot by Dish Network, trying to buy ONLY CECB from them and no satellite TV.

Another is Gridlink from www.EGridlink.com. No TV guide, except current channel info, very good tuner - channel 5.1 has good reception, no pass-through, box built solidly, but the remote is cheap (and first one faulty). Price - $15.50. Customer service is OK and friendly, shipped replacement remote fast.

Both boxes DO NOT see QAM channels on my Comcast cable (my LCD TV does). Any solution?
ASPushkin51 is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 08-18-2008, 09:49 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Topics merged.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 08-19-2008, 09:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MikeBiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Longmont, CO
Posts: 1,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by ASPushkin51 View Post


Both boxes DO NOT see QAM channels on my Comcast cable (my LCD TV does). Any solution?

No CECB box will decode QAM.
MikeBiker is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 09-09-2008, 11:50 AM
Newbie
 
thunderdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Gridlink is located in California not Canada, I already bought 2 for myself in May and 2 for my parents lately, all of them work fine so far and both video and audio quality is much better than my cable.
thunderdan is offline  
Reply Coupon Eligible Converter Box (CECB)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off