Microprose MPI-500 - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 202 Old 07-18-2008, 11:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
Malouff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was looking at the Wikipedia CECB list today and noticed that
24.155.112.55 has added a reference to the NTIA alert for MicroProse
That users has also removed features from the MicroProse I think based off of that alert.

I could edit the page like I did for the DTVPal 72.174.173.157 but I think who ever did this edit is showing how that alert is still doing MicroProse harm.

Instead I will contact people to bring it to their attention and hopefully the NTIA will remove the alert or post something saying that they are now approved.
Malouff is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 202 Old 07-28-2008, 10:38 AM
Newbie
 
lsaxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Interesting, dtvboxanswers.com rated the MPI-500PT as "Best" (4 others of the 17 boxes reviewed have this rating) and giving it "good" ratings straight across the board in each rated subsection.

site.dtvboxanswers.com/reviews
lsaxx is offline  
post #183 of 202 Old 07-28-2008, 02:44 PM
Member
 
Lmvine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Central, VA
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lsaxx View Post

Interesting, dtvboxanswers.com rated the MPI-500PT as "Best" (4 others of the 17 boxes reviewed have this rating) and giving it "good" ratings straight across the board in each rated subsection.

site.dtvboxanswers.com/reviews

Depends a lot on what you are looking for - great tuner, s video, APT,etc.
Since he sells most of one that he high rated, I take rating with a grain of salt. He is hi priced on some models, example DTT901 68 vs 59 at watchdigitaltv. Of course both are out of stock on 901
Lmvine is offline  
post #184 of 202 Old 07-28-2008, 03:44 PM
Newbie
 
lsaxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lmvine View Post

Depends a lot on what you are looking for - great tuner, s video, APT,etc.
Since he sells most of one that he high rated, I take rating with a grain of salt. He is hi priced on some models, example DTT901 68 vs 59 at watchdigitaltv. Of course both are out of stock on 901

Understood, though if he's also rating items he sells that aren't the highest rated then that does make it a bit more even handed. But I think the appearance on the rating listing also works to alleviate concerns some of the previous posters had, on whether the PT model actually exists or not.
lsaxx is offline  
post #185 of 202 Old 07-28-2008, 04:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
Malouff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lsaxx View Post

I think the appearance on the rating listing also works to alleviate concerns some of the previous posters had, on whether the PT model actually exists or not.

Why would MicroProse go through all of the trouble to amend the MPI-500PT* to the NTIA list if it did not exist?
Malouff is offline  
post #186 of 202 Old 07-28-2008, 07:03 PM
Newbie
 
lsaxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malouff View Post

Why would MicroProse go through all of the trouble to amend the MPI-500PT* to the NTIA list if it did not exist?

Besides the fact it would have to exist for them to send a sample to the NTIA to get on the list.
lsaxx is offline  
post #187 of 202 Old 08-14-2008, 11:32 AM
Member
 
Aygeear's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Stockton, CA
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone have any news about Microprose? Their website is still online advertising their products, but their online store is gone. They have approval on both their CECB boxes, but no indication of where you can buy them. Are they still in business?
Aygeear is offline  
post #188 of 202 Old 08-14-2008, 12:27 PM
Member
 
NuovoTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ya gotta wonder how they stay in business, they do not answer their phone or emails. Supposedly they're sitting on a warehouse full of NTIA approved MPI-500PT's, yet they make no effort to sell them??? How in the world can they afford that!
NuovoTech is offline  
post #189 of 202 Old 08-14-2008, 03:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
Malouff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Kolton View Post

Right now all of our resources are
towards not only our ATSC box w/pass through, but also on approx. 10
other products we have in the works from video game controllers, to high
performance cabling systems to HDMI interconnects, so until late August
once our new phone and help desk support service goes online, responses
are a little slow.

Probaby why they do not answer their phone or emails. It's not late August.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Kolton View Post

At this time we will have state side inventory into our CA. warehouse on Sept. 19th and we are working with our sales rep firm to
look into retailer outlets and other avenues to sell the MPI-500PT's
Announcements should be forthcoming on our website in the coming weeks,
thank you for your support.

They are not in a state side warehouse yet.
Malouff is offline  
post #190 of 202 Old 08-14-2008, 03:53 PM
Member
 
NuovoTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


state side inventory into our CA. warehouse on Sept. 19th...

I wonder if it ever occured to them just how many americans would still have valid CECB coupons by then???
NuovoTech is offline  
post #191 of 202 Old 08-14-2008, 04:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
gerhard911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 735
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
5/20/2008 The MicroProse webstore is open and has quantity available too. Stock : 22166

Quote:
Originally Posted by Malouff View Post

They are not in a state side warehouse yet.

gerhard911 is offline  
post #192 of 202 Old 08-18-2008, 04:33 PM
Newbie
 
lsaxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NuovoTech View Post

I wonder if it ever occured to them just how many americans would still have valid CECB coupons by then???

Or if its occurred to other people that certification of a box on a list doesn't mean reinstatement by the NTIA of being able to process coupons yet? All being on that list means is that the box is up to specifications for eligibility in the program - it does not mean the company itself is able to accept and process coupons yet. My understanding is one has little to do with the other, other than one step needs to be completed before the other first. And in fact both steps (the decertification of the MPI-500 and the and the decertification of the Microprose web store) were done separately by the NTIA (i.e. first the mpi500 was decertified and then their web store coupon processing (which was never active) was decertified a few weeks later). Might the fact of the government summer recess and the fact that the NTIA has yet to issue anything regarding reinstatement of Microprose for coupon processing have something more to do with it?

People like Gerhard can roll their eyes without actually taking these facts in to consideration, but I'm just worried how this is effecting them financially having to sit on product all this time waiting for the NTIA to decide on what they're going to do now for over 2 months since they apparently appealed. Or their ability to manufacture any more boxes when resources and materials (components, etc.) are in high demand among manufacturers right now according to sources.
lsaxx is offline  
post #193 of 202 Old 08-18-2008, 04:49 PM
Senior Member
 
pestocat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Palo Alto CA
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why are people waiting for this unit with analog pass-through. The Zenith DTT-901 has the pass-through and is readily available. Just get one and work out the possible problems with coax cable, antenna, etc. Just do it now.
pestocat is offline  
post #194 of 202 Old 08-18-2008, 07:20 PM
Newbie
 
lsaxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pestocat View Post

Why are people waiting for this unit with analog pass-through. The Zenith DTT-901 has the pass-through and is readily available. Just get one and work out the possible problems with coax cable, antenna, etc. Just do it now.

I think its more of the drama that's gone on around it regarding the triangle of NTIA--CBA--Microprose, and the fact Microprose was trying to specifically support low power stations with the pass through (rather than including it as an afterthought).
lsaxx is offline  
post #195 of 202 Old 09-09-2008, 01:42 PM
Member
 
Dan Kolton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Detroit area
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried the Microprose website yesterday and found that it is now called Legacy Engineering Group. I've no info on whether they have anything to do with CECB now.

Dan
Dan Kolton is offline  
post #196 of 202 Old 09-09-2008, 03:07 PM
Member
 
Aygeear's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Stockton, CA
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like Microprose.... "has left the building". Since Microprose, Insignia, and Zenith all share the same LG internals, market timing was crucial, and the NTIA delay on the Microprose box was enough to give Zenith a whopping headstart (over a million units sold). Too late to play catch up........
Aygeear is offline  
post #197 of 202 Old 09-10-2008, 10:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
Malouff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The website change was also news to me and understandable but they should have posted some sort of a statement as I don't think MicroProse will ever get off the ground as their WebStore was never approved by the NTIA.

The also had a relatively small order for the number of CECB's they were going to distribute compared to others?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malouff View Post

Stock : 22166

By now all of the larger companies have probably bought out nearly all raw components and none of the suppliers would want to deal with MicroProse and even with the components they would still be faced with the NTIA WebStore Delay.

At least it didn't waste any money just time.

I did get a DTVPal when they first came out but am thinking I should have just skipped this whole NTIA program as it if full of Junk with software/hardware bugs and just waited for next years PVR's from all these companies to start coming out.
Malouff is offline  
post #198 of 202 Old 09-30-2008, 10:12 AM
Newbie
 
D. Check's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It is now late September. I ordered the MPI-500PT back in mid May. After some back-and-forth emails, I was told that they had replacement coupons (on August 12th) and that they would be mailed by the end of the week. Nothing showed up yet.
I emailed Curt Vendal and Sales at Microprose yesterday. I'm not holding out much hope anymore. If anybody knows of a better way to get any kind of a response from these people, I'd like to hear it. Their silence is getting irratating.
D. Check is offline  
post #199 of 202 Old 09-30-2008, 01:41 PM
Member
 
Dan Kolton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Detroit area
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
D. Check,
I got my coupon in July after ordering in June. If you go to the Micropose website now, you'll find that it has been renamed Legacy Engineering See the 2 or 3 posts prior to yours). I think they are now in some consulting business. If Micropose burned you coupon when you ordered (check the government site), they would send a replacement that had belonged to an employee. If you just let it expire while you waited for them, that's on you. Lots of luck!

Dan
Dan Kolton is offline  
post #200 of 202 Old 10-01-2008, 11:55 AM
Newbie
 
D. Check's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, Dan.
I just called a Legacy Engineering Group at 917-416-8893. After a very long ring time, I got the voice mail of Curt Vendal, my contact from MicroProse. I left him a voice mail with the order number, order date, work phone, and cell phone number. Again, I'm not holding my breath. The coupons are not transferable so "a replacement that belonged to an employee" would have been useless.
Regarding the expiration of the coupon, I was told it was used when I placed the order, and was always of the opinion that the MPI-500PT was eventually going to arrive. That's what I was told so I'm still waiting. We'll see if I hear back from Curt.
Strange thing though... the Legacy Engineering Group web site seems to have all the connectivity of the MicroProse site; none.
__________________
Don

P.S. I just checked the Government Site. "Your Coupon has been used to purchase a converter box and is no longer active."
D. Check is offline  
post #201 of 202 Old 10-01-2008, 12:08 PM
Member
 
Dan Kolton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Detroit area
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I used my coupon to buy a Zenith DTT901. The name on the coupon was not mine. Anyone can use any coupon at this point. You can get one from a relative or friend who doesn't plan to buy a box.

Dan
Dan Kolton is offline  
post #202 of 202 Old 04-02-2012, 07:20 AM
Newbie
 
JonT43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malouff View Post

Here are some sites with information about Curt Vendel if you do a simple Google Search.

I did, and learned that he hasn't paid his taxes for at least the past 2 years. Both him and his wife owe the state of NY over 17 THOUSAND dollars:

http://www.pcnr.com/news/2010-10-13/..._NEW_YORK.html

http://www.putnamcountyny.com/financ...dvert_List.pdf
JonT43 is offline  
Reply Coupon Eligible Converter Box (CECB)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off