converter box hook up - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 05-24-2008, 07:41 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
roeav's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I will need a rooftop antenna, a preamp, and a distribution amp to send the OTA signal to a converter box for one analog TV and to a DVDR HD recorder for the other analog TV. How should I connect these components, i.e. in what order? I apologize if I have used the wrong forum to post this question.
roeav is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 05-27-2008, 02:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
narkspud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Tustin, CA
Posts: 1,952
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Put a splitter on the antenna line, send one side to the box, the other to the HD recorder. (The recorder has the ATSC tuner in it, right?) You'd use the HD recorder as the tuner on the 2nd TV.

If you still want to watch analog, that complicates things a bit.

And what's with all the amplifiers? Are you in the middle of the desert or something?
narkspud is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 05-27-2008, 09:19 PM
Member
 
Popeetheus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here's my attic set up.

antenna ----> amplifier -----> splitter

I have about one foot of coax from the antenna to the amplifier. My amp is a box with one input and one out, not an inline coax type, and not a multi-output amp type.

I had to use a light socket - power outlet adaptor to plug the amp into.

There is about 6 inches of coax between the amp and the splitter, and some 30 feet to seperate ends of the house from there.

I think my amp mostly keeps the signal strong throught the long runs of coax rather than pulling in weaker stations. I could be wrong.

You might want to use this pathway : Antenna --->preamp ---->distro amp,

but you might get away just using: Ant ---->distro amp

Keep your coax from the Ant to amp (or preamp) as short as possible.
Popeetheus is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 02-13-2009, 10:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
tom.green@iwon.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Rosharon, Tx. USA
Posts: 533
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm trying to hookup up the converter box to my progressive scan DVD recorder (analog tuner).

Can't get a picture or sound. Anyone know the problem? I'm thinking it's in the DVD recorder somewhere.

Manual shows how to hook up to a VCR...tried that.

"Some mornings it just doesn't seem worth it to gnaw through the leather straps." - Emo Phillips
tom.green@iwon.com is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 02-13-2009, 11:04 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rammitinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 17,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Do you have the progressive scan on? Try turning that off and see if that helps.
Rammitinski is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 02-13-2009, 11:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
tom.green@iwon.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Rosharon, Tx. USA
Posts: 533
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rammitinski View Post

Do you have the progressive scan on? Try turning that off and see if that helps.

I did...no difference...

"Some mornings it just doesn't seem worth it to gnaw through the leather straps." - Emo Phillips
tom.green@iwon.com is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 02-13-2009, 01:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Scooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Youngsville, NC USA
Posts: 5,058
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Ant - (whatever preamps / splitters) -Ant in on CECB -

ANT OUT on CECB to DVDR ANT IN . Tune the DVDR to channel 3 (that's what most all of them default to). If you want slightly better video /stereo audio, use the AV outputs on the CECB to the AV Inputs on the DVDR.

If you're still having issues - start by hooking the CECB directly to the TV first, making sure you get picture and sound, before putting your DVDR into the mix.

You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...
http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

Being A Beacon of Knowledge in the darkness of FUD
Scooper is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 02-13-2009, 01:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
IDRick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Eastern Idaho
Posts: 1,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom.green@iwon.com View Post

I'm trying to hookup up the converter box to my progressive scan DVD recorder (analog tuner).

Can't get a picture or sound. Anyone know the problem? I'm thinking it's in the DVD recorder somewhere.

Manual shows how to hook up to a VCR...tried that.

Does your dvdr allow multiple inputs? Have you cycled between the inputs with your remote? My inputs for my Panny dvdr are: composite on rear = input 1, composite on front = input 2, and NTSC input = input 3.
IDRick is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 02-14-2009, 12:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
tom.green@iwon.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Rosharon, Tx. USA
Posts: 533
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by IDRick View Post

Does your dvdr allow multiple inputs? Have you cycled between the inputs with your remote? My inputs for my Panny dvdr are: composite on rear = input 1, composite on front = input 2, and NTSC input = input 3.

Yes, nothing...but I'll try again...might have missed something.

"Some mornings it just doesn't seem worth it to gnaw through the leather straps." - Emo Phillips
tom.green@iwon.com is offline  
Reply Coupon Eligible Converter Box (CECB)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off