Serial control CECB - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 06-05-2008, 02:10 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jhfry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know of a CECB that can be controlled via a serial connection of some sort... preferably with passthrough and S-Video out as well.

I am hoping to use 2 of them to feed my mythtv server's tuner cards. I realize I could just get more HD tuners, but I intend to leave my SD tuner cards connected to cable anyway and I thought it might be nice to get my broadcast channels in crystal clear downscaled HD rather than noisy cable when my HD tuners are in use.

Anyway, I have no interest in dealing with ir blasters... they too flaky.
jhfry is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 06-05-2008, 02:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pixelation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,066
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
See the Tivax STB-T9 thread.
pixelation is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 06-06-2008, 03:15 AM
Member
 
whitis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhfry View Post

Anyone know of a CECB that can be controlled via a serial connection of some sort... preferably with passthrough and S-Video out as well.

FCC ID UVD20071228001 Shenzen MTC AT2016, Also known as Alpha Digital AT2016, AMTC AT2016, RJ-900ATSC, Mustek MAT-K50, an dTivax STB-T9.

This box has a serial port "for factory use only". If you connect a PC at 115200N81 you get a ZMon> prompt. Using the zir command, you can simulate the pressing of any button on the remote control.

Look in the Tivax STB-T9 EPG thread, starting around message #90.

You will need to hack your TiVo (get a shell prompt and all that) and figure out a way to get the tivo software to call a script when it needs to change channels or otherwise get control of which commands it sends (there may be a data file you can modify) or insert a programmable gadget between the two serial ports.
whitis is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 06-06-2008, 07:51 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jhfry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks guys... I'll investigate those devices. Any recommendations? Any of them have svideo out?
jhfry is offline  
Reply Coupon Eligible Converter Box (CECB)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off