What is your DTVPAL's firmware version? - AVS Forum
View Poll Results: What software version does your DTVPal(s) have?
Dish Network (DTVPal.com) F101TCGH-N (1 or more boxes) 0 0%
Dish Network (DTVPal.com) F100TCGH-N (1 or more) 0 0%
Dish Network with a different Software Version (1 or more) 0 0%
Dish Network (DTVPal.com) F100 and F101 (2 or more boxes) 0 0%
Dish Network (DTVPal.com) F100 or F101 and different Version(s) (2 or more) 0 0%
non-DTVPAL.com vendor with version F101TCGH-N (1 or more boxes) 0 0%
non-DTVPAL.com vendor with version F100TCGH-N (1 or more) 0 0%
non-DTVPAL.com vendor with Another Software Version (1 or more) 0 0%
non-DTVPAL.com vendor with F100 and F101 (2 or more boxes) 0 0%
non-DTVPAL.com vendor with F100 or F101 and different Version(s) (2 or more) 0 0%
Voters: 0. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-04-2008, 11:53 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
lgodave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: WI
Posts: 1,121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A possible "bug" in at least some current DTVPALs may be preventing the "Event Timer" feature from turning ON a DTVPAL from it's standby mode... preventing the "Event" from being recorded/viewed.

There is currently mixed results as to which DTVPALs exhibit this problem.

Please vote for the category that best fits your DTVPAL(s). They are sorted by software version and vendor. If you bought from DTVPAL.com and a different vendor please select from the non-DTVPAL.com catergory.


Also please post comments on how your version(s) handle Turning ON for a Event Timer.

Thank You,
lgodave is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-05-2008, 12:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
lexus2108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey dave you might want to change the original question. When I saw " Where did your DTVPAL's firmware come from?"

I first thought of Mexico lol

As Soon as I get my box I will do the poll
lexus2108 is offline  
Old 07-05-2008, 06:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dagger666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
lexus2108 you ordered a dtvpal, i thought you wanted a maxmedia box...
dagger666 is offline  
Old 07-10-2008, 07:24 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
lgodave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: WI
Posts: 1,121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My 2 DTVPALs arrived from "CDC" (Cheapdigitalconverters.com / Ditec) today.

I was surprised to see that they are both version F101. Considering early speculation suggested that F100 was likely for "everybody but Dish". Also, I ordered part of the "first batch" that "CDC" had for sale on 6/24. Figured that might have been "old" product.

First impressions. The EPG populated very fast... Had nearly 12 hours advance programming in the first few minutes. (Mileage May Vary) I need to get my old OTA antenna dusted off and aim it and see if I can get the DTVPAL to get a FIRM signal lock on my locals. I seem to be getting high numbers and then it drops... so not sure if that is the antenna or the DTVPAL's fault.

More later.
lgodave is offline  
Old 07-11-2008, 04:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Beeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: WI
Posts: 1,534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
07/11/2008 received 2 DTV Pal's from Digitalstar.com.

First one opened and set up;
Software version F101TCGH-N
Bra strap version 1812TCGH
Processor ID 28390260 (differs on second box)

After firing the second one I'll add to the poll.
Beeper is offline  
Old 07-11-2008, 04:59 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
lgodave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: WI
Posts: 1,121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beeper View Post

07/11/2008 received 2 DTV Pal's from Digitalstar.com.

First one opened and set up;
Software version F101TCGH-N
Bra strap version 1812TCGH

If you test out the second DTVPAL be sure to take add yourself to one of the Non-DTVPAL w/F101 (and F10X) Poll Questions...
lgodave is offline  
Old 07-11-2008, 05:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
Whidbey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Marysville, WA
Posts: 888
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
TEN choices? How many versions of the software are out there? I thought there was only two. I'm confused, if and when I get my DTVPal, how will I know what software I have and which button to select from the TEN choices?

Enjoying crystal clear TV for free.

http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html
Whidbey is offline  
Old 07-11-2008, 07:38 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
lgodave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: WI
Posts: 1,121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whidbey View Post

TEN choices? How many versions of the software are out there? I thought there was only two. I'm confused, if and when I get my DTVPal, how will I know what software I have and which button to select from the TEN choices?

So far there are only two. (That I know of.) There could be an F10? or XXX? version out there so I left that option open. Also since it would be possible someone could buy more then 1 DTVPAL from a retailer that I should allow for "Mixed" batches. Including F100/F101/FXXX options. A poll that doesn't allow for multiple answers isn't very accurate.

If you think I can streamline the Poll let me know.

Eventually I might have to track down if someone has a list of where the DTVPAL Serial #s go from 100 to 101 to XXX ... maybe cross that with which companies each range ended up...

If we know how the range breaks up and if the "good" and "problem" DTVPALs fit certain serial # "blocks" then we can better determine how to resolve the issue.
lgodave is offline  
Old 07-12-2008, 07:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Beeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: WI
Posts: 1,534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
07/11/2008 received 2 DTV Pal's from Digitalstar.com.

Second one opened and set up;
Software version F101TCGH-N
Bra strap version 1812TCGH
Processor ID 28386129 (differs on first box)


Beeper
Beeper is offline  
Old 07-12-2008, 10:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
Whidbey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Marysville, WA
Posts: 888
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lgodave View Post

If you think I can streamline the Poll let me know.

No need, I can see what you did and why. The only way you could simplfy would be if users were allowed to vote twice, for those who bought two different versions from the same vendor, which clearly you accounted for.

I was predicting that the only difference in software would be where they came from... kinda like how Costco has unique model numbers on many items, but that doesn't seem to be the case. It will be interesting if someone who bought two different versions can do a comparison and see if they can identify the differences.

Enjoying crystal clear TV for free.

http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html
Whidbey is offline  
Old 07-12-2008, 10:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
Malouff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whidbey View Post

It will be interesting if someone who bought two different versions can do a comparison and see if they can identify the differences.

Try asking Dish Network or try to email ceo@echostar.com that question
They still haven't answered me but I may already be on their ignore list.
Malouff is offline  
Old 07-12-2008, 10:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
Whidbey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Marysville, WA
Posts: 888
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malouff View Post

Try asking Dish Network or try to email ceo@echostar.com that question
They still haven't answered me but I may already be on their ignore list.

I would rather hear from someone here. More likely to get an answer based on experience.

Enjoying crystal clear TV for free.

http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html
Whidbey is offline  
Old 07-12-2008, 11:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
lexus2108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dagger666 View Post

lexus2108 you ordered a dtvpal, i thought you wanted a maxmedia box...

it never came it is GHOSTware. So I went to other boxes. I will never look at that LUTRO new max box either. They are scam artists
lexus2108 is offline  
Old 07-12-2008, 11:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
lexus2108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lgodave View Post

My 2 DTVPALs arrived from "CDC" (Cheapdigitalconverters.com / Ditec) today.

I was surprised to see that they are both version F101. Considering early speculation suggested that F100 was likely for "everybody but Dish". Also, I ordered part of the "first batch" that "CDC" had for sale on 6/24. Figured that might have been "old" product.

First impressions. The EPG populated very fast... Had nearly 12 hours advance programming in the first few minutes. (Mileage May Vary) I need to get my old OTA antenna dusted off and aim it and see if I can get the DTVPAL to get a FIRM signal lock on my locals. I seem to be getting high numbers and then it drops... so not sure if that is the antenna or the DTVPAL's fault.

More later.

same here dave F101 and same results as you
lexus2108 is offline  
Old 07-12-2008, 11:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
Malouff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
lexus2108,
Your DTVPal is also not getting high numbers and then drops, not getting a FIRM signal lock on locals.
Malouff is offline  
Old 07-12-2008, 12:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
lexus2108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malouff View Post

lexus2108,
Your DTVPal is also not getting high numbers and then drops, not getting a FIRM signal lock on locals.

Sorry. I must be tired

First impressions. The EPG populated very fast... Had nearly 12 hours advance programming in the first few minutes. (Mileage May Vary)

I meant this part only. Oppps. Anyway so far it is good. When I go back I will check closer for the white line in normal mode. My aunt keeps it is zoom 24/7 She likes it that way. Since I traded her for her zenith.
lexus2108 is offline  
Old 07-12-2008, 06:15 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
lgodave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: WI
Posts: 1,121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malouff View Post

lexus2108,
Your DTVPal is also not getting high numbers and then drops, not getting a FIRM signal lock on locals.

I was able to "smooth" the edges a bit using an "in-line" bullet amplifier (which I had from the analog days) that significantly boosted the signal of most of the DTV channels. The next best thing is probably to reconnect my rotor control and make sure it can still do a 360 without snagging anything in the attic space.

Side note: Not sure what DTVPAL considers a FIRM lock... since I've gotten some in the 50% range that are "locked" but with Picture/Audio problems. Seems to like 60% +... any "fast" drops into the 50s or less and it freaks. While (using a different scale it seems) I've seen an RCA 800B (Right model?) that has an OK signal at less then 30%.
lgodave is offline  
Old 07-12-2008, 06:18 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
lgodave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: WI
Posts: 1,121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lexus2108 View Post

Anyway so far it is good. When I go back I will check closer for the white line in normal mode. My aunt keeps it is zoom 24/7 She likes it that way. Since I traded her for her zenith.

Glad to hear you were able to get the DTVPAL in time for the "trade". Hope it gives her plenty of trouble free operation.
lgodave is offline  
Old 07-22-2008, 05:03 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
lgodave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: WI
Posts: 1,121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is some talk of newer firmware and exchanges going on to "fix" issues with problem DTVPALs.

Anyone either pickup a "new" firmware DTVPAL direct from a vendor OR possible get DISH to send you one for exchange?
lgodave is offline  
Old 07-22-2008, 05:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Beeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: WI
Posts: 1,534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Sears has F100 software versions on the shelf as of today.
Beeper is offline  
Old 07-22-2008, 06:24 PM
Member
 
Ol'BK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lgodave View Post

There is some talk of newer firmware and exchanges going on to "fix" issues with problem DTVPALs.

Anyone either pickup a "new" firmware DTVPAL direct from a vendor OR possible get DISH to send you one for exchange?

A couple of us are expecting replacement boxes from Dish this week. Firmware version? TBD.
See the Dish DTVPal/Echostar TR40 thread.
Ol'BK is offline  
Old 07-22-2008, 07:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
Malouff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beeper View Post

Sears has F100 software versions on the shelf as of today.

Looks like Sears has both software versions.
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthDallasGuy View Post

I bought a 2nd DTVPal at a Sears store in the Dallas area yesterday and it had the F101 software version


I only know of three software versions.
aha1tcgh-n = beta tester
F100TCGH-N & F101TCGH-N = general public
Malouff is offline  
Old 07-22-2008, 08:04 PM
Senior Member
 
rec630's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there a relationship between firmware version and serial numbers of the DTVPal?
rec630 is offline  
Old 07-22-2008, 09:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
Malouff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rec630 View Post

Is there a relationship between firmware version and serial numbers of the DTVPal?

We haven't been posting serial numbers on the box so a relationship can't be made.
Malouff is offline  
Old 07-22-2008, 09:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Beeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: WI
Posts: 1,534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by rec630 View Post

Is there a relationship between firmware version and serial numbers of the DTVPal?

Yes.


I'm not sure where the change over is.

Lower serial numbers have the old software. The serial number is readable on the outside of the box.

R16473438xx is F100

R16473551xx is F101

Beeper
Beeper is offline  
Old 07-25-2008, 03:14 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
lgodave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: WI
Posts: 1,121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beeper View Post

Yes.


I'm not sure where the change over is.

Lower serial numbers have the old software. The serial number is readable on the outside of the box.

R1647343xxx is F100

R1647367xxx is F101

Beeper

Update: lowest F101 you've found so far is R164735510x .

If anyone wants to "narrow" the gap and post their 100 or 101 serial #'s please do so here.

My F101's are:

R16473695XX and
R16473760XX

Thanks,
lgodave is offline  
Old 07-27-2008, 09:42 AM
Newbie
 
Ray E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I received 2 DTVPal's from Bsat on 7/25/08 with soft ware version P353 CLCD.
Ser # E4ETCT 43858F--Model ID 3900 Upgraded.
Ray E is offline  
Old 07-27-2008, 05:35 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
lgodave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: WI
Posts: 1,121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray E View Post

I received 2 DTVPal's from Bsat on 7/25/08 with soft ware version P353 CLCD.
Ser # E4ETCT 43858F--Model ID 3900 Upgraded.

Just to correct your post with info. you updated on another thread.

Your DTVPAL has F101. The above info. is from a Dish Receiver.

If you'd like to edit your post and take the Poll that'd be great.'

Thanks,

David
lgodave is offline  
Old 07-28-2008, 12:45 PM
Senior Member
 
MikeySoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: about 21 miles from Boston's TV antennas
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Someone posted on a different DTVPal thread they got a firmware update over the air. Someone else also posted a link to a company which may allow this to happen but does not know if the DTVPal can really upgrade its firmware over the air. I can no longer fine these posts.

Has anyone experience a firmware upgrade over the air?
Anyone remember the link to the company which could allow this to happen?
MikeySoft is offline  
Old 07-28-2008, 12:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Beeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: WI
Posts: 1,534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeySoft View Post

Someone posted on a different DTVPal thread they got a firmware update over the air. Someone else also posted a link to a company which may allow this to happen but does not know if the DTVPal can really upgrade its firmware over the air. I can no longer fine these posts.

Has anyone experience a firmware upgrade over the air?
Anyone remember the link to the company which could allow this to happen?

The Zinwell CECB is suppose to allow OTA software updates as one option. Check that thread.

My DISH satellite receiver was updated OTA. Through the coax. It can be done.
Beeper is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off