Zinwell ZAT-970A? - Page 34 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #991 of 1146 Old 07-23-2009, 01:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TalkingRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
yes I do... I'll fix it.
TalkingRat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #992 of 1146 Old 07-23-2009, 02:02 PM
Member
 
JoeM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by systems2000 View Post

The 0920 doesn't have the hidden EPG, it has a different remote, and it uses a 12-hour clock instead of a 24-hour clock. I haven't compared them line-by-line yet. I don't know about other versions.

Ops, I made a mistake. I meant to ask, what's the difference between the 0827 and 0830 versions ?
JoeM is offline  
post #993 of 1146 Old 07-23-2009, 02:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
systems2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Central Franklin County, PA.
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After looking back through this thread, I've found three more versions (0831, 0841, 0844).

I can't tell you the difference between the 0827 and the 0830 or the differences between the others. I do believe the ZAT-970 had the 0827 firmware.
systems2000 is offline  
post #994 of 1146 Old 07-23-2009, 03:50 PM
Member
 
JoeM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by systems2000 View Post

After looking back through this thread, I've found three more versions (0831, 0841, 0844).

I can't tell you the difference between the 0827 and the 0830 or the differences between the others. I do believe the ZAT-970 had the 0827 firmware.

Those are just a part of the serial number (maybe it's a production run number embedded in the serial number), not versions. I believe there have only been two versions of the 970 or 970A (so far), although we identify them by that part of their serial number. Those that have the EPG, 24 hr time, etc (usually 0830 and below), and those that don't (no units over 0830 have been found with the EPG, etc yet).
JoeM is offline  
post #995 of 1146 Old 07-25-2009, 07:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
EscapeVelocity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 5,640
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Im looking to purchase an early production Zinwell 970A if anybody has an extra that they are willing to part with.

Thanks.

Vizio VP322 Plasma / Vizio GV42LF LCD / Denon 2200 Silicon Image DVD / Panasonic S97 Faroudja Genesis DVD / Oppo 970HD Mediatek DVD / Oppo 983H Anchor Bay DVD / Panasonic LX-600 Laserdisc / Aiwa MX100 Multi-region VCR / JVC S7600 S-VHS / PS2 / Sega Genesis / Nintendo SNES / Roku 2 XS & HD-XR / Realistic STA-90 Reciever / Realistic Minimus 7 / Antennacraft G1483 Hoverman / Belden 7915A RG6 / Channel Master 7777 Titan 2 UHF/VHF / Panasonic AX-200u / Optoma Graywolf 92" / Draper Luma 92"
EscapeVelocity is offline  
post #996 of 1146 Old 07-26-2009, 09:04 AM
Senior Member
 
cheaplikeafox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by EscapeVelocity View Post

Im looking to purchase an early production Zinwell 970A if anybody has an extra that they are willing to part with.

Thanks.

i have one i'm willing to part with. I sent you a pm.
cheaplikeafox is offline  
post #997 of 1146 Old 07-26-2009, 09:23 AM
Member
 
THX-1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I would be interested in one too.
THX-1138 is offline  
post #998 of 1146 Old 07-26-2009, 09:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
EscapeVelocity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 5,640
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Does anybody have a dollar tree remote they are willing to part with?

Are they still available at teh dollar tree stores aor have they largely been sold out for awhile now?

Thanks.

Vizio VP322 Plasma / Vizio GV42LF LCD / Denon 2200 Silicon Image DVD / Panasonic S97 Faroudja Genesis DVD / Oppo 970HD Mediatek DVD / Oppo 983H Anchor Bay DVD / Panasonic LX-600 Laserdisc / Aiwa MX100 Multi-region VCR / JVC S7600 S-VHS / PS2 / Sega Genesis / Nintendo SNES / Roku 2 XS & HD-XR / Realistic STA-90 Reciever / Realistic Minimus 7 / Antennacraft G1483 Hoverman / Belden 7915A RG6 / Channel Master 7777 Titan 2 UHF/VHF / Panasonic AX-200u / Optoma Graywolf 92" / Draper Luma 92"
EscapeVelocity is offline  
post #999 of 1146 Old 07-27-2009, 06:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
EscapeVelocity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 5,640
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Can someone post a pic of the $Tree 6in1 Universal Remote? Is it black? Is it silver? Did it have a "brand" name on the package?

Will other Universal Remotes work with this unit to access the Extended EPG and specifically the Signal Meter sticky feature?

Vizio VP322 Plasma / Vizio GV42LF LCD / Denon 2200 Silicon Image DVD / Panasonic S97 Faroudja Genesis DVD / Oppo 970HD Mediatek DVD / Oppo 983H Anchor Bay DVD / Panasonic LX-600 Laserdisc / Aiwa MX100 Multi-region VCR / JVC S7600 S-VHS / PS2 / Sega Genesis / Nintendo SNES / Roku 2 XS & HD-XR / Realistic STA-90 Reciever / Realistic Minimus 7 / Antennacraft G1483 Hoverman / Belden 7915A RG6 / Channel Master 7777 Titan 2 UHF/VHF / Panasonic AX-200u / Optoma Graywolf 92" / Draper Luma 92"
EscapeVelocity is offline  
post #1000 of 1146 Old 07-28-2009, 05:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
systems2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Central Franklin County, PA.
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It is UNBRANDED and can be found in Silver or Black. It's sold in blister packaging. It has a blue background that says "6 IN 1 REMOTE CONTROL." The packaging lists the following devices TV, SAT, DVD, VCR, CD, and AMP. It uses 2 "AAA" batteries and is 7¾"x2".

I believe there is a picture somewhere in this thread.
systems2000 is offline  
post #1001 of 1146 Old 07-28-2009, 09:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
golinux's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 886
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by systems2000 View Post

It is UNBRANDED and can be found in Silver or Black. It's sold in blister packaging. It has a blue background that says "6 IN 1 REMOTE CONTROL." The packaging lists the following devices TV, SAT, DVD, VCR, CD, and AMP. It uses 2 "AAA" batteries and is 7¾"x2".

I believe there is a picture somewhere in this thread.

There's a link to an image in this post.
golinux is offline  
post #1002 of 1146 Old 07-28-2009, 10:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
EscapeVelocity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 5,640
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Thanks, I located some on the bay if anybody needs one or an extra. Search 6 in 1 remote.

Vizio VP322 Plasma / Vizio GV42LF LCD / Denon 2200 Silicon Image DVD / Panasonic S97 Faroudja Genesis DVD / Oppo 970HD Mediatek DVD / Oppo 983H Anchor Bay DVD / Panasonic LX-600 Laserdisc / Aiwa MX100 Multi-region VCR / JVC S7600 S-VHS / PS2 / Sega Genesis / Nintendo SNES / Roku 2 XS & HD-XR / Realistic STA-90 Reciever / Realistic Minimus 7 / Antennacraft G1483 Hoverman / Belden 7915A RG6 / Channel Master 7777 Titan 2 UHF/VHF / Panasonic AX-200u / Optoma Graywolf 92" / Draper Luma 92"
EscapeVelocity is offline  
post #1003 of 1146 Old 07-28-2009, 11:05 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rammitinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 17,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by EscapeVelocity View Post

Thanks, I located some on the bay if anybody needs one or an extra. Search 6 in 1 remote.

I wouldn't pay more than 5 bucks for it (that includes shipping). It's the cheapest, flimsiest remote I've ever seen or owned. You should probably buy more than one, because I wouldn't expect it to last too long - especially the buttons (that's what some people here did).
Rammitinski is offline  
post #1004 of 1146 Old 08-02-2009, 03:32 PM
Newbie
 
mikislate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
viewmaster on page 24 explained exactly the problems I have with the 970A I bought 2 months ago. Right down to the "settled down" part. The wake up channels would always change to the last on the list but all of a sudden this last week they are staying. Then there is the Zinwell service rep who tells me - "the timer problem is one and the only problem that we are encountering now, and there is no solution to that". Everybody should should see if the BBB can do anything because I still don't trust it.
mikislate is offline  
post #1005 of 1146 Old 08-05-2009, 04:48 PM
Senior Member
 
visualsensation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
If they would just fix the timer problem in units produced going forward, I'd go out and buy 2 more just for that reason. I like every other aspect of this box, unfortunately there's nothing more reliable out there.
visualsensation is offline  
post #1006 of 1146 Old 08-05-2009, 08:42 PM
Senior Member
 
pm3839's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: midwest, usa
Posts: 333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by visualsensation View Post

If they would just fix the timer problem in units produced going forward, I'd go out and buy 2 more just for that reason. I like every other aspect of this box, unfortunately there's nothing more reliable out there.

please summarize the timer problems you are referring to.....

*** its high time to go back to OTA antennas and CANCEL our cable/satellite pay tv services! their greed is totally & insanely out of control! ***
pm3839 is offline  
post #1007 of 1146 Old 08-07-2009, 12:28 PM
Senior Member
 
visualsensation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The channel that a timer is set to will switch to the highest virtual channel without notification. It seems to be correlated to whenever a channel changes something about its PSIP settings (channel name, for certain), adds/removes a subchannel, or when there is a power outage. But there may be other reasons too. Sometimes only a single timer is affected, sometimes they all are.

I had a stretch of about 6 weeks without problems, but since then it seems to happen at least once a week, and occasionally multiple times per day.
visualsensation is offline  
post #1008 of 1146 Old 08-13-2009, 09:35 AM
Member
 
Yankee495's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a 970A (0920).

Do you guys believe they removed the hidden guide (all code), changed the remote code or what?

It sure would be nice to have access to it on the original remote.

Why don't one of you guys run on down to Zinwell headquarters and do some arm twisting till you get some answers...We'll all chip in on bail...we promise!
Yankee495 is offline  
post #1009 of 1146 Old 08-13-2009, 10:11 AM
Member
 
JoeM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yankee495 View Post

I have a 970A (0920).

Do you guys believe they removed the hidden guide (all code), changed the remote code or what?...

They somehow disabled the feature on the newer boxes. The command to display it was never on the original remote. You had to get a Dollar Tree (or I think, Channel Master) remote to display it on the older boxes.
JoeM is offline  
post #1010 of 1146 Old 08-14-2009, 09:38 AM
Newbie
 
jimbo60640's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Seems the zinwell zat-970 is discontinued! See savinglots.com/lotprod.asp?item=ZAT970
jimbo60640 is offline  
post #1011 of 1146 Old 08-31-2009, 12:16 PM
Newbie
 
maynard7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbo60640 View Post

Seems the zinwell zat-970 is discontinued! See savinglots.com/lotprod.asp?item=ZAT970

Good riddance! This is the buggiest piece of hardware I have ever used. The only reason I bought this model is because it had program timers. Like many people have said before, you can't count on them. If you have a really important program you want to record, you have to double-check that the box hasn't changed the programmed channels all by itself. Also, sometimes the unit will set itself to the year 2047, so nothing records. The only good thing about mine is that it works with that Dollar Tree remote to display the program guide.
maynard7 is offline  
post #1012 of 1146 Old 08-31-2009, 01:09 PM
Member
 
howie14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Eldersburg MD
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by visualsensation View Post

The channel that a timer is set to will switch to the highest virtual channel without notification. It seems to be correlated to whenever a channel changes something about its PSIP settings (channel name, for certain), adds/removes a subchannel, or when there is a power outage. But there may be other reasons too. Sometimes only a single timer is affected, sometimes they all are.

I had a stretch of about 6 weeks without problems, but since then it seems to happen at least once a week, and occasionally multiple times per day.

I have a 970 and it certainly seems to have that bug in just the way you describe. I now make sure to check the timers regularly.

I also found that after a power outage I need to power up and power down just to get the timers to fire at all.

Despite these quirks, the unit has helped make our DVD/HDD recorder continue to be a useful product.
howie14 is offline  
post #1013 of 1146 Old 08-31-2009, 04:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DigaDo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pacific Northwest.
Posts: 4,661
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by EscapeVelocity View Post

Can someone post a pic of the $Tree 6in1 Universal Remote? Is it black? Is it silver? Did it have a "brand" name on the package?

The Dollar Tree remotes are of the poorest quality. One of the four I purchased was "DOA." These remotes are distributed by Greenbrier International, Inc. of Chesapeake, VA.

From the original Zinwell remote I transfered the regular commands to a learning remote. Then I transfered the EPG command from the Dollar Tree remote to the learning remote.

Here are photos of the Dollar Tree remotes:
LL
LL
LL

"A ROSE BY ANY OTHER NAME WILL SMELL AS SWEET. BUT IT DOES NOT FOLLOW THAT WHATEVER WE CHOOSE TO CALL A ROSE WILL POSSESS THE ROSE'S FRAGRANCE."

--Benjamin Breckinridge Warfield (1917)
DigaDo is offline  
post #1014 of 1146 Old 09-02-2009, 06:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
systems2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Central Franklin County, PA.
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In my opinion, I've discovered who's at fault for the bug. The broadcast stations, for not having stable PSIP data. Everytime I find a station has dropped or altered there PSIP data, for any reason, it will cause the ZAT to default to channel 68 (for me).

WMAR has been dropping to it's true RF for identification lately and everytime it did, my ZAT timers needed to be reset.
systems2000 is offline  
post #1015 of 1146 Old 09-02-2009, 07:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dattier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago IL, Northwest Side
Posts: 2,882
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 28
S2K: I disagree.  Often there are legitimate reasons for a station to change its PSIP information, and for example my Zinwell has exhibited this problem every time any station added a new subchannel.  If Zinwell's CECBs can't cope with it, that's their mistake, not that of the station for changing its PSIP assignments.
dattier is offline  
post #1016 of 1146 Old 09-02-2009, 08:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
systems2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Central Franklin County, PA.
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm not talking about adding or removing sub-channels, I'm only experiencing the problem when a station looses it's Virtual Channel Identifier.
systems2000 is offline  
post #1017 of 1146 Old 09-03-2009, 08:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dattier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago IL, Northwest Side
Posts: 2,882
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Ah.  Well, then both there are preventable occurrences and legitimate ones that can cause the ZAT-970A to move the timer events to wrong channels.
dattier is offline  
post #1018 of 1146 Old 09-07-2009, 10:04 PM
Newbie
 
StarHunter5's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by systems2000 View Post

OK! I've gone through the buttons on my Dollar Tree 6in1 $1.00 UPC #639277711847 universal remote (SAT or CBL option with code 015) and here is what I came up with, for my ZAT-970A 0827 CECB:

BUTTON RESPONSE
#1 No Response
#2 Aspect Control
#3 Expanded EPG (works on 0830 ZAT's and below)
#4 Language Change for Menu/Info
#5 No Response
#6 Detailed Channel Frequency Information
#7 Channel List
#8 Favorite Channel Group Selection
#9 Sleep Timer Adjustment
#1-/11  
#0/10 Menu/Exit
#2-/12  
TV/CATV Toggles Favorite Groups
TV/VCR OFF
Audio (Top) No Response
Video (Left) Volume Down
Video (Right) Mute
Audio (Bottom) Toggles Favorite Groups
Orange Key (Audio) Channel Down
Blue Key (Menu) Channel Down
Green Key (Video) Auto Channel Scan
CH+ Volume Up
CH- Channel Up
Mute No Response
VOL+ Channel Up
VOL- Video Freeze
MTS No Response

Operation Note: I could not access more than 48 hours of EPG information. Did anyone get more?

Purchase Note: The following B&M stores are known to carry some combination of the 970, 970A, & 950 CECB's: Acme, Albertson's, Jewel/Osco, Shaw's, & Shopper's Food Warehouse

SIDE NOTE: Took me longer to find how to create columns for the table, then it did to go through the remote buttons.

Has anyone found out if there are any hidden codes for the Zenith DT901?
StarHunter5 is offline  
post #1019 of 1146 Old 09-08-2009, 05:33 PM
Member
 
JoeM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by StarHunter5 View Post

Has anyone found out if there are any hidden codes for the Zenith DT901?

Wouldn't the place to ask this be the Zenith thread ?
JoeM is offline  
post #1020 of 1146 Old 09-09-2009, 11:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Floydage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,418
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 33
I experienced a problem where a program time landed on a sleep end time resulting in no recording. I think I had it set like this:

Record #1 (CH X): 6:57 PM
Sleep timer: 2 hours (end at 8:57 PM)
Record #2 (CH Y): 8:57 PM

Basically recording one hour, skip an hour, than recording another hour and with a two hour sleep timer setting; not uncommon. Evidently the sleep timer takes priority when they occur at the same time (sleep timer also requies a remote control action to interrupt it). I'll have to modify my program margins (3 minutes in this example). Gotta watch this goofy stuff. And no I don't want to leave the box on longer than 2 hours.

Floydage is offline  
Reply Coupon Eligible Converter Box (CECB)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off