Zinwell ZAT-970A? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 1146 Old 07-11-2008, 12:03 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
vwilliams322's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: TX
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone have this box? Does it have timers like the DTVPal?

Couldn't find it on the website:

http://www.zinwell.com.tw/index.php
vwilliams322 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 1146 Old 07-11-2008, 01:52 PM
Member
 
Lmvine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Central, VA
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Check this site & look at runner. All I know.
http://www.watchdigitaltv.com/
Lmvine is offline  
post #3 of 1146 Old 07-16-2008, 11:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
biker19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: McLean, VA
Posts: 3,696
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Let the comparisons with the DTVpal start......
biker19 is offline  
post #4 of 1146 Old 07-16-2008, 11:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
biker19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: McLean, VA
Posts: 3,696
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
From their web site:

Product Features
· Terrestrial 8-VSB demodulation
· ATSC 18 video formats decoding
· ATSC HDTV complaint MPEG2 MP@ML/ MP@HL decoder
· Compatible with HDTV, EDTV and SDTV displays
· User-selectable CH3/CH4 NTSC RF output
· ATSC AC3 audio decoding
· Modern design with user-friendly OSD interface.
· Aspect Ratio 16:9/ 4:3
· Multilingual support
· Automatic and manual channel scan
· Closed Caption, V-Chip and EAS (Emergency Alert System) Support
· Support Advances Rating (Rating Region Table downloadable)
· Software upgrade



Operation 120VAC, 60Hz, 8W max.
Standby <1W
Dimensions 175 x 135 x 33 mm
Weight 0.98lb.
External power adaptor
biker19 is offline  
post #5 of 1146 Old 07-16-2008, 11:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
biker19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: McLean, VA
Posts: 3,696
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The unit supposedly has an 8 event timer but it's not listed in the features.
biker19 is offline  
post #6 of 1146 Old 07-16-2008, 01:13 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
vwilliams322's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: TX
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They are not available until mid August and my last coupon expires 7/31. I guess I'll get the DTVPal
vwilliams322 is offline  
post #7 of 1146 Old 07-16-2008, 01:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
avnstf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Berkeley USA
Posts: 1,603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by biker19 View Post

The unit supposedly has an 8 event timer but it's not listed in the features.

it also only mentioned an rf output, which probably implies only mono audio, judging by the other boxes

OTA only. For signal strength at your location:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

TVGOS data: Sony 250 from 5.1?, LG3410a from
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
, not any more.

avnstf is offline  
post #8 of 1146 Old 07-16-2008, 01:33 PM
 
rrrrrroger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WHY on earth do they have 3 separate models??? If there's a difference between the 3, it's not apparent to me.

Do any of these have Separated-video?
rrrrrroger is offline  
post #9 of 1146 Old 07-16-2008, 01:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TalkingRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
The 970 has RCA connectors, and apparently an external power adapter:

http://www.zinwell.com.tw/Products/pdf/CECB.pdf
TalkingRat is offline  
post #10 of 1146 Old 07-17-2008, 06:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
biker19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: McLean, VA
Posts: 3,696
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Their HD STB sells for as low as $70 so I can see this unit retailing for well under the $60 norm.
biker19 is offline  
post #11 of 1146 Old 07-17-2008, 10:05 AM
Member
 
rperlberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by avnstf View Post

it also only mentioned an rf output, which probably implies only mono audio, judging by the other boxes

All CECB's are required by the NTIA to have both RF and A/V (stereo) outputs.
rperlberg is offline  
post #12 of 1146 Old 07-17-2008, 10:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gastrof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: my computer (or tablet)
Posts: 1,755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 16
The website watchdigitaltv.com has this message up-

The Zinwell ZAT-970A with Analog Pass Through and 8 Event Timers, Has Passed All of Our Tests ((( ETA second week of August )))......

They'll be selling the box, apparently.
gastrof is offline  
post #13 of 1146 Old 07-18-2008, 08:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
trp2525's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 675
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Here's the link to the full Zinwell ZAT-970A User Manual: http://www.zinnetusa.com/download/za...l-20080603.pdf

It is software upgradeable by either RS-232 or by air as referenced here in the user manual:

"Software Upgrade
On the Software Upgrade menu, press to
select an upgrade method and press ENTER
into the menu. You need to input the default
password 0000 " to enter each item as
follows:
Upgrade By RS-232
On Upgrade By RS-232 menu, press to
select the All/ Code/ Logo/ Database upgrade
item. Then move highlight to Start on master
receiver and press ENTER to start upgrade.
This function is reserved for factory s upgrade
currently.
Upgrade By Air
This function can upgrade the software
through signal from the cable. Input the
frequency value and download PID, and select
bandwidth."

You can also manually modify the clock setting as referenced in the section on setting up your program timers:

"Current time information will display on the first row; if
the current time is incorrect, please modify the time
information in Time item"

In addition to 8 program timers there is also a sleep timer which can be set to off, 1 hour, 2 hours, 4 hours or 8 hours.

This box looks really good on paper and also in the online review I read. For those of you who haven't seen the hands-on online review yet, you can read it here: http://www.king-cart.com/18inch/prod...ct_match=exact
trp2525 is offline  
post #14 of 1146 Old 07-18-2008, 12:41 PM
Senior Member
 
visualsensation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It looks like this one will be everything that we had hoped the DTVPal would be. I just hope it becomes available before my next coupons expire on 8/15.
visualsensation is offline  
post #15 of 1146 Old 07-18-2008, 05:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
Malouff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't get digital but was wondering if the station is sending the wrong time for the clock
is the PSIP guide correct and independent of the time the station is sending?

If not then I don't see a manual clock setting helping anything.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Malouff is offline  
post #16 of 1146 Old 07-18-2008, 08:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Beeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: WI
Posts: 1,534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malouff View Post

I don't get digital but was wondering if the station is sending the wrong time for the clock
is the PSIP guide correct and independent of the time the station is sending?

If not then I don't see a manual clock setting helping anything.

The timers have two distinct external issues. The manual clock setting would somewhat help one of them.

Problems is, the Zinwell manual clock has already flunked a power disruption test and resets to 00:00 internal clock time. You would also need a backup power supply, which would also cure one of the issues with the Pal's timer.

Six to one, half dozen to the other.

Beeper
Beeper is offline  
post #17 of 1146 Old 07-18-2008, 08:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
Malouff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So the Zinwell's manual clock was just letting you set a manual time that it kept so long as it had power.

Even if they did add the extra cost for the parts for a true manual clock that can also drift it would not give any additional benefit other then keeping the clock during a power outage that you could not see or use.

Like you said you would need a power supply for both the converter and the recorder during the power loss.

I wonder how accurate it's manual time is then?
What is it using to keep time, probably something like a click count.

So do you think the manual time would fix anything if the Guide is also dependent on the station's time?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beeper View Post

The timers have two distinct external issues. The manual clock setting would somewhat help one of them.

I know that power supply is one external issue with the timers.

What is the other one that you are thinking of?

How would the manual clock setting help somewhat with the other?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Malouff is offline  
post #18 of 1146 Old 07-19-2008, 06:43 AM
Senior Member
 
visualsensation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Most VCR's in the homes of people who need a converter box don't retain their time or timers long after a power outage. I have had about 10 different VCR's over the years and none did. The newest ones automatically set the clock, but the timers are always gone. Of course they were all low to mid range models. The very expensive VCR's might, but most people who own those don't need a converter box because they don't get their signal OTA.

It is an inconvenience, but most people can live with it. But it is much, much better than having to check the timers each and every day just because at least one or two stations' time is or eventually will become inacturate.
visualsensation is offline  
post #19 of 1146 Old 07-19-2008, 08:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Beeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: WI
Posts: 1,534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malouff View Post

So the Zinwell's manual clock was just letting you set a manual time that it kept so long as it had power.

And letting you use it for the timers? I haven't personally tested it.

Quote:


Even if they did add the extra cost for the parts for a true manual clock that can also drift it would not give any additional benefit other then keeping the clock during a power outage that you could not see or use.

It's already been determined that the Zinwell manual clock will not keep time during a power disruption. It would still be an option to be used for the timers.

Quote:


Like you said you would need a power supply for both the converter and the recorder during the power loss.

Correct.

Quote:


I wonder how accurate it's manual time is then?
What is it using to keep time, probably something like a click count.

I haven't the foggiest.

Quote:


So do you think the manual time would fix anything if the Guide is also dependent on the station's time?

Yes. When the user chooses to set the internal clock manually, the manually set time would replace what the timer was using. (PSIP time.)

Quote:


I know that power supply is one external issue with the timers.

What is the other one that you are thinking of?

How would the manual clock setting help somewhat with the other?

The other external issue is the possibility of inaccurate individual station PSIP clock time.
The manual internal clock (if chosen as an option by the user) would fix that issue, since the box's timers would no longer find the PSIP clock time.

Beeper
Beeper is offline  
post #20 of 1146 Old 07-19-2008, 08:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Beeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: WI
Posts: 1,534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by visualsensation View Post

Most VCR's in the homes of people who need a converter box don't retain their time or timers long after a power outage. I have had about 10 different VCR's over the years and none did. The newest ones automatically set the clock, but the timers are always gone. Of course they were all low to mid range models. The very expensive VCR's might, but most people who own those don't need a converter box because they don't get their signal OTA.

It is an inconvenience, but most people can live with it. But it is much, much better than having to check the timers each and every day just because at least one or two stations' time is or eventually will become inacturate.

Hi neighbor!

Go Brewers!

Miller's gone, Bud is gone, whos' next?

Beeper
Beeper is offline  
post #21 of 1146 Old 07-19-2008, 05:31 PM
Senior Member
 
visualsensation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Ya, Sabathia has been lights out so far....Just need the Cubs and Cardinals to cool off a little.
visualsensation is offline  
post #22 of 1146 Old 07-21-2008, 10:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DigaDo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pacific Northwest.
Posts: 4,669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by visualsensation View Post

It looks like this one will be everything that we had hoped the DTVPal would be. I just hope it becomes available before my next coupons expire on 8/15.

My familiy's last remaining coupons expire 8/18.

Here we go again!

"A ROSE BY ANY OTHER NAME WILL SMELL AS SWEET. BUT IT DOES NOT FOLLOW THAT WHATEVER WE CHOOSE TO CALL A ROSE WILL POSSESS THE ROSE'S FRAGRANCE."

--Benjamin Breckinridge Warfield (1917)
DigaDo is offline  
post #23 of 1146 Old 07-21-2008, 11:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Beeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: WI
Posts: 1,534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Yeah, and Poovantage is taking pre-orders...................................................... ....................................................... Not.
Beeper is offline  
post #24 of 1146 Old 07-21-2008, 11:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
Malouff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigaDo View Post

My familiy's last remaining coupons expire 8/18.

Here we go again!

Did you ask Zinwell who will be selling the converter?

So far only one retailer has been mentioned Bruce's Antenna Systems

Have you tried to ask FreeDTVShop if they will sell the Zinwell?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Malouff is offline  
post #25 of 1146 Old 07-21-2008, 04:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DigaDo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pacific Northwest.
Posts: 4,669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Perhaps we shouldn't get too excited just yet . . .

We'll just have to wait and see . . .

"A ROSE BY ANY OTHER NAME WILL SMELL AS SWEET. BUT IT DOES NOT FOLLOW THAT WHATEVER WE CHOOSE TO CALL A ROSE WILL POSSESS THE ROSE'S FRAGRANCE."

--Benjamin Breckinridge Warfield (1917)
DigaDo is offline  
post #26 of 1146 Old 07-21-2008, 04:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TalkingRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigaDo View Post

There is one Zinwell model on the NTIA approved/available list and three more Zinwell models on the approved/unavailable list, none of them the ZAT-970 or ZAT-970A.

Actually, there are 3 Zinwell models on the approved and available list -- the NTIA just needs someone who knows how to alphabetize. The first two Zinwellls, the 970 and 970A, appear on the list ahead of Zenith, that's all.
TalkingRat is offline  
post #27 of 1146 Old 07-21-2008, 04:47 PM
Member
 
ownersedge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: San Jose CA - "Valley of Hearts Delight" - Silicon Valley, Hwy 85&87
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Notice the Zinwell as NO EPG apparently, so timers will mean little to me. TitanTV.com excellent Guide is on my computer away across the house; any way to feed it to my TVs?

How long should I hold out before buying? I mainly want the D2A tuner to bring EPG to my RCA HDTV. And for my analog TVs in my motorhome. So is there a history of these boxes being significantly updated by download?
The Gemstar Guide+ EPG has very limited subchannels in its platform, and no ability to add any subs as they become available. Like it is a hard-wired 2005 model; I am on a budget.

All suggestions welcome !

Bob - Inactive & available: 2 SD Sony SAT-W60 DVRs
ownersedge is offline  
post #28 of 1146 Old 07-21-2008, 08:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DigaDo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pacific Northwest.
Posts: 4,669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by ownersedge View Post


All suggestions welcome !

Whew! Fix the font size.

"A ROSE BY ANY OTHER NAME WILL SMELL AS SWEET. BUT IT DOES NOT FOLLOW THAT WHATEVER WE CHOOSE TO CALL A ROSE WILL POSSESS THE ROSE'S FRAGRANCE."

--Benjamin Breckinridge Warfield (1917)
DigaDo is offline  
post #29 of 1146 Old 07-21-2008, 08:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
Malouff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigaDo View Post

Perhaps we shouldn't get too excited just yet . . .

We'll just have to wait and see . . .

I don't want the Zinwell.
I thought you did and was trying to help you.

I think it won't have a EPG and will work like the Gridlink, Lasonic, and Sansonic category of boxes.

I do admit I am curious but have a full plate with a DTVPal in hand a waiting for my beloved MicroProse


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Malouff is offline  
post #30 of 1146 Old 07-21-2008, 10:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TalkingRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Yes, the lack of EPG would make it less useful. I'm not sure why the Lasonic/Sansonic got such fantastic reviews by Consumer Reports. Microtune may mean it does well with adjacent channel interference, which they probably had where CR was testing.
TalkingRat is offline  
Reply Coupon Eligible Converter Box (CECB)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off