RCA DTA800B1 no audio? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-12-2008, 08:27 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Russell_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I just noticed I'm not getting any audio on PBS Soundstage (HD programming). I've connected the box to the TV using the RF cable. A different converter box (Insignia) connected to a different TV using RCA plugs has no problem delivering audio for this program. No problem getting audio on HD programming on other channels. Ideas anyone?
Russell_ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-13-2008, 02:59 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Russell_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I guess the equivalent of rebooting it? I'll try that the next time the issue occurs.
Russell_ is offline  
Old 07-13-2008, 08:57 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Russell_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Rebooting didn't help. Once again no audio on the PBS station tonight.
Russell_ is offline  
Old 07-13-2008, 10:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
seatacboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,073
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Russell_ View Post

Rebooting didn't help. Once again no audio on the PBS station tonight.

What about your other stations?
seatacboy is offline  
Old 07-14-2008, 05:50 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Russell_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Other stations work fine. And, mentioned in the OP. While this box was having audio issues the Insignia / DTT900 was doing fine on a different TV.
Russell_ is offline  
Old 07-14-2008, 09:26 AM
Member
 
Replay3030Owner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The RCA800B (no APT) also has a problem dropping audio for me if it gets a low signal. Changing channel doesn't bring it back, I must turn it off an on. I never had to do a power-pull though.

Seems to be a bug in it's chipset. If it was not for this the RCA would be a really good box.
Replay3030Owner is offline  
Old 07-14-2008, 09:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
golinux's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 895
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Russell_ View Post

Rebooting didn't help. Once again no audio on the PBS station tonight.

Don't know where you are but I was informed by the local Austin PBS engineer that their digital multiplexer went down last night. The sound went out before the video finally crashed. So could it be a multiplexer problem at your PBS station?
golinux is offline  
Old 07-14-2008, 10:15 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Russell_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 22
As I've mentioned twice :-), a different converter box hooked to another TV, gets the audio at the exact same time.
Russell_ is offline  
Old 07-18-2008, 05:59 PM
Member
 
DD210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Replay3030Owner View Post

The RCA800B (no APT) also has a problem dropping audio for me if it gets a low signal. Changing channel doesn't bring it back, I must turn it off an on. I never had to do a power-pull though.

Seems to be a bug in it's chipset. If it was not for this the RCA would be a really good box.

In my brief experience with the DTA800B, I experienced one instance of the sound going out. I was able to restore the audio by entering and exiting the menu. I have not experienced any problems with the DTA800B1, but it has had only limited use because it is not hooked up to my primary TV. Also, the antenna (external) is a more reliable than the one (indoor) used with the DTA800B. (These are located in two different households.)
DD210 is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off