Audio Level variations - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 09-05-2008, 08:23 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mkfs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Inside the Beltway
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have a Insignia and a DigitalStream DTX9950. While in general I'm happier with the 9950, as it has a much better field of view on the remote and better audio output level; I have found it to have one major issue.

That's the variation in audio level from channel to channel & program to commercial -- with the 9950 it is far worse than the Insignia. This is with the composite output in both cases, not the RF.

I'm regularly jumping for the remote to throttle it back, or restore the level when the show resumes.

Has anyone else noticed this problem? Do you find one model better or worse than others?
mkfs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 09-07-2008, 07:58 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mkfs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Inside the Beltway
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My point was one box is far worse than the other......
mkfs is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 09-07-2008, 10:11 PM
Member
 
bountyh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have noticed audio differences between boxes as well: I have three different inputs on my TV so I can flip across them all tuned to the same channel. The volume changes, but the stereo separation changes as well.

I have noticed the same audio variations between VCR's (analog) flipping between them on the same program. I have no idea why the sound should be so different.
bountyh is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 09-17-2008, 05:00 AM
Member
 
massavfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkfs View Post

I have a Insignia and a DigitalStream DTX9950. While in general I'm happier with the 9950, as it has a much better field of view on the remote and better audio output level; I have found it to have one major issue.

That's the variation in audio level from channel to channel & program to commercial -- with the 9950 it is far worse than the Insignia. This is with the composite output in both cases, not the RF.

I'm regularly jumping for the remote to throttle it back, or restore the level when the show resumes.

Has anyone else noticed this problem? Do you find one model better or worse than others?

I have the exact same issues with my two Channel Master 7000s. The left & right audio outputs are used in both cases...didn't check the RF out.
massavfan is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 09-19-2008, 03:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mikemikeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: DC Area
Posts: 1,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bountyh View Post

I have noticed the same audio variations between VCR's (analog) flipping between them on the same program. I have no idea why the sound should be so different.

It's because of the Dolby Digital dialnorm settings of the digital stations; they're set differently between networks, for whatever reason.

The Digital Stream has more audio level variation because the default dynamic range compression is greater than the Insignia's; note the louder audio level -- that's a result of the compression. To explain without getting too technical: The compression increases the given volume of a given channel by a certain, fixed percentage. This percentage is apparently higher on the Digital Stream than the Insignia. Because the volume of each channel is amplified by a greater amount on the Digital Stream, the final differences in audio level are greater.
mikemikeb is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 09-19-2008, 07:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
systems2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Central Franklin County, PA.
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It appears we may have a new criteria to be testing for across all the boxes that are out there. Is there some way, to either physically or technically, judge this issue?
systems2000 is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 09-20-2008, 07:45 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mkfs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Inside the Beltway
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
FWIW: It seems to be the secondary channels [for example: here, 7.3 which carries RTN] suffer from this audio variation far more than the primary ones.

So I suspect it's the lack of attention by the station. I'd never ever accuse a station with pulling that cheap late-night stunt of cranking up the audio during the commercials.....not me!

[My TV has Smart Sound so if I ran the audio through it, I suspect it would regulate it to a constant level. But I instead use external amplified speakers for far better quality...]
mkfs is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 09-20-2008, 08:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
golinux's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 886
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkfs View Post

FWIW: It seems to be the secondary channels [for example: here, 7.3 which carries RTN] suffer from this audio variation far more than the primary ones.

Regarding RTN which runs on a CBS sub-channel in my market . . .

In my talks to the CBS engineers, they have complained that the low volume is coming from RTN transmission. They have been trying to get RTN to up their volume but I haven't seen much dif yet. Maybe there are technical reasons why CBS can't up the volume on their end - dunno the details.
golinux is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 09-20-2008, 08:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
systems2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Central Franklin County, PA.
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The more times you increase the level of low input levels, the more you increase the previous noise floor. This decreases the quality of the audio.
systems2000 is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 09-20-2008, 03:45 PM
Member
 
bountyh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikemikeb View Post

It's because of the Dolby Digital dialnorm settings of the digital stations; they're set differently between networks, for whatever reason.

That doesn't answer my question: why is it I have two or three different VCR's all tuned to the SAME station and as I switch between those VCRs (selecting which one to watch with my TV) I hear very noticible differences in both volume and stereo image.

each VCR is connected to an identical input on my TV.
bountyh is offline  
Reply Coupon Eligible Converter Box (CECB)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off