Dish Network DTVPal Plus - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 401 Old 09-24-2008, 07:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lgodave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: WI
Posts: 1,119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rec630 View Post

Has anyone read if the Plus will be sold at the retailers like Sears?

Maybe if I wait, the TR40-CRA Plus will show up and I can save $20...

That'd be nice all the users wanting a Dish to release a TR40-CRA+ will get their wish. Somebody can have a laugh.

I would have been in the market for a + model since I've several stations that are on the fringe. I wonder if it's just a DTVPAL/TR40 with a small built in amp... which someone could "add on" to a regular model themselves and save the money.
lgodave is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 401 Old 09-24-2008, 07:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lgodave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: WI
Posts: 1,119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oh, I wonder if "plus" is actually a software (firmware) update and not a hardware upgrade. F106 to the rescue.
lgodave is offline  
post #33 of 401 Old 09-24-2008, 07:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Symbios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Bennett, CO
Posts: 1,198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It uses a new silicon based tuner instead of the Thomson can. If they were like any other consumer electronics company, they would have just released this as a Pal with a new hardware version number. But since they are Dish, they're going to milk this for everything it's worth PR wise and jack the price up.
Symbios is offline  
post #34 of 401 Old 09-25-2008, 04:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
biker19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: McLean, VA
Posts: 3,696
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by nwiser View Post

heres my question...why bother updating the tuner and not adding in S-video. thats just silly.

Not silly at all - they need something to justify the price increase of the DTVPal Advanced with s-video output.
biker19 is offline  
post #35 of 401 Old 09-25-2008, 04:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
biker19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: McLean, VA
Posts: 3,696
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So the grand total now is 3 models with 4? firmware versions and we have 5 months till the transition. Anyone care to guess what'll be the grand total by then?
biker19 is offline  
post #36 of 401 Old 09-25-2008, 05:40 AM
Newbie
 
Colin09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Symbios View Post

It uses a new silicon based tuner instead of the Thomson can. If they were like any other consumer electronics company, they would have just released this as a Pal with a new hardware version number. But since they are Dish, they're going to milk this for everything it's worth PR wise and jack the price up.

Microtune MT2131 tuner?
Colin09 is offline  
post #37 of 401 Old 09-25-2008, 06:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Beeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: WI
Posts: 1,534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Reportedly the tuner is built into the main board. No tuner brand name on the beta versions.
Beeper is offline  
post #38 of 401 Old 09-25-2008, 04:06 PM
Senior Member
 
rec630's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colin09 View Post

Microtune MT2131 tuner?

This was posted on a SatelliteGuys thread:

It's the same one in the DVR as in the Plus. The DTVPal Plus uses a Silicon tuner from Microtune instead of the old Thompson "can" tuner.

FYI, it's the same tuner as in the Sansonic and Lasonic CECBs that got top ratings for picture quality.
rec630 is offline  
post #39 of 401 Old 09-25-2008, 04:34 PM
Senior Member
 
uniquelyme's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rec630 View Post

This was posted on a SatelliteGuys thread:

It's the same one in the DVR as in the Plus. The DTVPal Plus uses a Silicon tuner from Microtune instead of the old Thompson "can" tuner.

FYI, it's the same tuner as in the Sansonic and Lasonic CECBs that got top ratings for picture quality.

In the digital world, the tuner has nothing to do with picture quality (other than possibly getting pixelation break-up if it's not receiving a station well enough).
uniquelyme is offline  
post #40 of 401 Old 09-25-2008, 10:56 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rammitinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 17,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by biker19 View Post

So the grand total now is 3 models with 4? firmware versions and we have 5 months till the transition. Anyone care to guess what'll be the grand total by then?

As many as people are stupid enough to buy.
Rammitinski is offline  
post #41 of 401 Old 09-26-2008, 11:18 AM
Senior Member
 
N8YWF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Boondocks
Posts: 200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by partsman_ba View Post

Oooh! With an "enhanced" digital tuner! For $69.99!

I'm looking forward to future press releases to see what kind of spin Baghdad Francie will put on it.
N8YWF is offline  
post #42 of 401 Old 09-26-2008, 03:51 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,061
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 266 Post(s)
Liked: 354
Quote:
Originally Posted by Symbios View Post

It uses a new silicon based tuner instead of the Thomson can. If they were like any other consumer electronics company, they would have just released this as a Pal with a new hardware version number. But since they are Dish, they're going to milk this for everything it's worth PR wise and jack the price up.

Sounds like they have learned from Microsoft.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #43 of 401 Old 09-26-2008, 09:17 PM
Member
 
equivocal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northern California
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lgodave View Post

Good that you were able to "trade it in". Have a few C64 units myself. From what I've read the Plus/4 was just not "compatible" enough for North American Market and the popularity of the C64. Did you trade in for a C128 or a C64?

I liked the Plus/4. Its BASIC made easy things that took lots of POKEing and ML routines on the C64. By then, Commodore's only distribution channel was sitting through a timeshare spiel. Got a C16 that way. Traded it for the Plus/4 someone else got.

Sorry to drift off off-topic, I thought I read that silicon tuners are supposed to run cooler than the can tuners. Maybe that means the DTVPal/Plus won't have to use the antenna as a heatsink.

equivocal is offline  
post #44 of 401 Old 09-30-2008, 05:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
systems2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Central Franklin County, PA.
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There are others that use the Microtune chip.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Compari...nits#CECB_List

USEFUL LINKS:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
systems2000 is offline  
post #45 of 401 Old 09-30-2008, 11:07 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rammitinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 17,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by electrictroy View Post

Dish claims the "plus" has a more sensitive tuner to get more stations. (1) Have any beta testers been able to verify this claim?

Don't ask me. If that's the only difference, then I certainly have no intention of ever ordering one.
Rammitinski is offline  
post #46 of 401 Old 09-30-2008, 11:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Symbios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Bennett, CO
Posts: 1,198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't think anyone here has ordered one. I wonder how many they've sold so far?
Symbios is offline  
post #47 of 401 Old 09-30-2008, 11:47 AM
 
electrictroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 776
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by systems2000 View Post

There are others that use the Microtune chip. ----- http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Compari...nits#CECB_List

The only Microtune-equipped unit which I've tested is the Zinwell ZAT, and its tuner does not seem any better than the existing DTVpal's Thomson tuner. Hmmm.

Also:

I see the CM7000 has a Thomson tuner, and I think it's the best box, and yet I think the DTVpal is the worst box (in terms of sensitivity). Hmmm. Maybe there's more to the reception of channels than just dropping a tuner in a circuit.
electrictroy is offline  
post #48 of 401 Old 09-30-2008, 12:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TalkingRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
If you mean the Zat 970A, it's a Sanyo can tuner.
TalkingRat is offline  
post #49 of 401 Old 09-30-2008, 01:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
systems2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Central Franklin County, PA.
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I updated the Wiki page on Sunday, after I opened my ZAT-970A to confirm the internals. Zinwell does have a couple of units that use the silicon tuner.

USEFUL LINKS:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
systems2000 is offline  
post #50 of 401 Old 09-30-2008, 01:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mdputnam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Kalifornia
Posts: 1,346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
No, he means the ZAT-756A

Human perception is not a direct consequence of reality, but rather an act of imagination. - Michael Faraday
mdputnam is offline  
post #51 of 401 Old 09-30-2008, 02:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TalkingRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I know a couple Zats have Microtune, but IIRC electrictroy said he got the 970A for the timers -- and it is Sanyo.
TalkingRat is offline  
post #52 of 401 Old 09-30-2008, 02:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
golinux's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 886
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by TalkingRat View Post

I know a couple Zats have Microtune, but IIRC electrictroy said he got the 970A for the timers -- and it is Sanyo.

Is there any way to know without taking it apart? The tuner in my Zat970A is excellent so I'm thinking it might be a Sanyo.

I now have a M-F timer set and it fires perfectly at the appointed time. If another coupon comes my way, I'll probably get another ZAT as DTVPal still isn't fixed, it seems.
golinux is offline  
post #53 of 401 Old 09-30-2008, 03:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TalkingRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
yes, golinux, read Systems2000's comments post #67.
TalkingRat is offline  
post #54 of 401 Old 09-30-2008, 05:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
systems2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Central Franklin County, PA.
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by golinux View Post

Is there any way to know without taking it apart?

The ZAT-970A was the simplest CECB that I've taken apart. Just remove all the phillips screws that you see. I haven't taken apart my APEX DT502, because of a warranty tag that would be broken and I don't feel like voiding my one year warranty, on the box.

USEFUL LINKS:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
systems2000 is offline  
post #55 of 401 Old 10-01-2008, 05:34 AM
Newbie
 
Colin09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by electrictroy View Post

(2) Do any other boxes use the DTVpal-Plus's tuner module/chip?

Microtune has a list on their website: NTIA-Certified Converter Boxes that Contain Microtune Technology

A Consumer Reports comparison of several CECBs from earlier in the year had the Sansonic and Lasonic boxes listed as the highest picture quality of the 10 or so that they tested. I don't remember what other boxes were tested.
Colin09 is offline  
post #56 of 401 Old 10-01-2008, 06:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
systems2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Central Franklin County, PA.
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As stated on Microtune's website:

Quote:
The MT2131 tuner exceeds the minimum requirements for RF phase noise, adjacent channel rejection, taboo channel rejection, and minimum and maximum input signal levels--the key tuner-related parameters specified for receiver performance in a NTIA coupon-eligible converter box (CECB)(1).

What CECB doesn't? If this is what makes a "Silicon Tuner" better than a "Can Tuner", I don't get it. ???

I thought the "Silicon Tuner" was supposed to outperform and exceed the capabilities of the "Can Tuner." From what I read the Sansonic and Lasonic, don't perform well at all.

USEFUL LINKS:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
systems2000 is offline  
post #57 of 401 Old 10-01-2008, 01:19 PM
Newbie
 
Colin09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by systems2000 View Post

As stated on Microtune's website:
What CECB doesn't? If this is what makes a "Silicon Tuner" better than a "Can Tuner", I don't get it. ???

Actually, most of the "can" tuners don't, which is why Microtune sent letters the the NTIA to report them (after the manufacturers did nothing to fix the problems). Of course, the government did nothing...

Quote:
Originally Posted by systems2000 View Post

I thought the "Silicon Tuner" was supposed to outperform and exceed the capabilities of the "Can Tuner." From what I read the Sansonic and Lasonic, don't perform well at all.

There are other issues with the Sansonic and Lasonic boxes that are unrelated to the tuners.
Colin09 is offline  
post #58 of 401 Old 10-01-2008, 03:05 PM
 
electrictroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 776
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colin09 View Post

Quote:


(2) Do any other boxes use the DTVpal-Plus's tuner module/chip?

A Consumer Reports comparison of several CECBs from earlier in the year had the Sansonic and Lasonic boxes listed as the highest picture quality .....

That was not why I asked the question. A box can have fantastic picture quality, but it's worthless if it only gets 1 station. But a box that gets 20, I'd probably $100 just to acquire that, even if the picture looked like VHS.

More stations == more choice == better.
electrictroy is offline  
post #59 of 401 Old 10-03-2008, 12:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
johnwcookjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Papillion, Ne
Posts: 812
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DTVPal Plus arrived today. I don't have a DTVPal to compare it against however using the same antenna and location comparing channels received with ATI's TV Wonder USB 600 the DTVPal Plus receives 18 channels here in the office while the ATI stick only receives 8 channels.

We ordered the Plus from DTVPal.com on Monday and it's here by Friday via UPS...

Firmware is F106

Building our dream theater one component at a time.. Thanks AVS for years of great advice and support!

Come visit The Pit

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
johnwcookjr is offline  
post #60 of 401 Old 10-03-2008, 12:42 PM
 
slprp1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York City
Posts: 998
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colin09 View Post

Microtune has a list on their website: NTIA-Certified Converter Boxes that Contain Microtune Technology

A Consumer Reports comparison of several CECBs from earlier in the year had the Sansonic and Lasonic boxes listed as the highest picture quality of the 10 or so that they tested. I don't remember what other boxes were tested.

......They recently updated their ratings and found the Channel Master to have the best PQ......
so much for the tuner influencing the PQ!

......perhaps it's more the overall design vs. the type of tuner used?
slprp1 is offline  
Reply Coupon Eligible Converter Box (CECB)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off