Colors completely messed up - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 09-16-2008, 09:58 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
tnforevre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all, brand new forumer here.

I have a Sunkey SK-801ATSC box, connected to a 10 year old Sony Trinitron KV-32V26.

The box outputs audio fine, but video is messed up. While the picture shows up completely, the colors are constantly flashing. I've tried connecting the box to 2 VCRs that work normally, and there's no improvement. A good cable was also used, to no avail. The TV is fine from all other sources, incl normal analogue channels.

So, simple, right? The box is at fault. But no, it was brought back to the retailer and the owner plugged it into his TV, and it was fine! So I'm wondering what the problem is.

Any help is appreciated, a video of what it looks like is below. Thanks!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QkCaLpt4E_8
tnforevre is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 09-17-2008, 05:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
systems2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Central Franklin County, PA.
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Try connecting directly to a different TV in your house. The VCR's probably don't have anything to do with it.

Did you use the RCA's or the RF connection?
systems2000 is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 09-17-2008, 08:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TalkingRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
With my 28 year old set, when I connected the CECB (RF connection only), I got b/w. I still get that or bad color occasionally. Flipping channels or turning the tv off and on again (leaving CECB on) is such an easy fix, I haven't checked into what's doing it.

You know it's not the box, but you can test to see if it's your tv, antenna, the contact, or cable itself. I took my indoor antenna with a recently purchased cable to a friend's to compare antennas. [Mine worked better than the rooftop antenna.] Back at home, I reconnected the cable in the reverse direction it had been originally, and got a better signal. Either I got better contact the second time (I'd been careful the first time) or I relieved a crimp somewhere along the line. But I've swapped CECBs around enough to know that contact with CECB or tv can look fully seated, when it's not.
TalkingRat is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 09-17-2008, 11:30 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
tnforevre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by systems2000 View Post

Try connecting directly to a different TV in your house. The VCR's probably don't have anything to do with it.

Did you use the RCA's or the RF connection?

I'm not quite sure what you mean. The box only had ant in, ant out, and composite out.

Pretty straightforward set up, ant in to antenna, ant out to TV, composite to video input

I will try to get it into another TV, the problem is the rest of the TVs in the house are all LCDs/Plasmas

What I do find strange is that not only the picture that is received OTA is affected, but the menus of the box themselves are affected too. I admit I'm an amateur when it comes to A/V things, but would the antenna have an effect on what is displayed by the box itself to the screen?
tnforevre is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 09-17-2008, 11:33 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
tnforevre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TalkingRat View Post

With my 28 year old set, when I connected the CECB (RF connection only), I got b/w. I still get that or bad color occasionally. Flipping channels or turning the tv off and on again (leaving CECB on) is such an easy fix, I haven't checked into what's doing it.

You know it's not the box, but you can test to see if it's your tv, antenna, the contact, or cable itself. I took my indoor antenna with a recently purchased cable to a friend's to compare antennas. [Mine worked better than the rooftop antenna.] Back at home, I reconnected the cable in the reverse direction it had been originally, and got a better signal. Either I got better contact the second time (I'd been careful the first time) or I relieved a crimp somewhere along the line. But I've swapped CECBs around enough to know that contact with CECB or tv can look fully seated, when it's not.

I know it's not the composite cable, and it shouldn't be the antenna cable (though I can try). Good point about the antenna cable, though, the cable the box came with is kinda crap, I've never come across a antenna cable that's harder to screw in.

Unfortunately, my dad has an absolute "waste not want not" attitude, but I will try to leave the box on for a day to see if it helps.

Thanks for all the suggestions so far
tnforevre is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 09-17-2008, 12:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TalkingRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
tnforevre

I don't mean leaving the CECB on for a long time, just while I switch the tv off and back on again. I get the color back immediately when I cycle the tv off/on.
TalkingRat is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 09-17-2008, 12:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Symbios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Bennett, CO
Posts: 1,198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It looks like your TV's tuner isn't quite locking onto the signal. But that's assuming you're using RF. You never said if you were using RF or composite (your post seems to indicate you have both connected?).
Symbios is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 09-17-2008, 01:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Scooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Youngsville, NC USA
Posts: 5,062
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Don't be too surprised if it's a crappy RG59 cable from the CECB to the TV. Replacing that might fix it.

You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...
http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

Being A Beacon of Knowledge in the darkness of FUD
Scooper is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 09-17-2008, 04:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
systems2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Central Franklin County, PA.
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tnforevre View Post

I'm not quite sure what you mean. The box only had ant in, ant out, and composite out.

Pretty straightforward set up, ant in to antenna, ant out to TV, composite to video input

The "Ant. Out" is the RF and the "Composite" is the RCA. You use the RF for "Analog Pass-Through" (APT) and the RCA for better video quality. APT does not work through the RCA connection. If you don't need APT, then the best way to connect the box is through the RCA connection.

Have you tried connecting directly to the TV, instead of through the VCR's? Your post gives the impression that you have both type of connections hooked-up. Do you have this problem on both the Video Input and the Channel 3 or 4?
systems2000 is offline  
Reply Coupon Eligible Converter Box (CECB)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off