DtvPal Lost Kera(PBS) Digital 14.1 in Dallas TX - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 09-26-2008, 05:20 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
dbrenner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Garland TX
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have been using my F100 DtvPal's since the first of July.
Yes I have multiple boxes.
They are connected to an antenna on top of the 2nd story of my home.
I have been experiencing the same problems as mentioned in this forum.
The heat issue is more of a problem with one particular box.
I have been receiving all the stations in the Dallas area.
On Friday afternoon Sept. 19 all signals on all boxes(including my Insignia box) went weak for about an hour.
When the signals came back up to the levels I was used to seeing, my
DtvPals would no longer lock onto KERA digital 14.1.
The signal meter fluctuates between 0 and 80.
I have checked all of my antenna connections, grounding and cabling.
I even tried a different(same make and model) antenna on the the roof.
I dropped a coax directly from the antenna to the DtvPal.
I sent an e-mail to KERA asking if they made any changes but have not received a response.
My Insignia box still locks on to the KERA signal.
Has anyone else experienced a similar situation?
Any suggestions?

If I said it, it must be my opinion.
dbrenner is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 09-26-2008, 06:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
TheKrell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I have experienced a similar situation with WETA here in Washington DC. It used to be golden at all times of the day or night. But, starting on Labor Day weekend, my Kworld 340U tuner stick can no longer tune any of their channels during the day. It still tunes them in fine from approximately 1AM until nearly 6AM. During the rest of the time, the signal strenght varies from 0 to 4 bars, when normally it is pegged at the max (6 bars). None of the DTV channels on WETA can be tuned at all during the rest of the day and evening.

My DTVpal is unaffected by whatever changed, and my Kworld tuner is unaffected (and still works) on all other digital TV stations in the area. Emails to WETA go unanswered, other than once when they claimed they were already at full power and I should check my antenna. Posts elsewhere on AVSforum go unanswered. I would really like to know if the sensonic/lasonic crowd with a silicon tuner can still tune in WETA, because I sure as h&&& can't... Except with my DTVpal! Go figure.
TheKrell is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 09-26-2008, 06:50 PM
Newbie
 
bluebird5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am in the Dallas area and is having the same problem. I think it started sometime over the last weekend. My TR40 (F103) lost KERA digital 13.1. After a rescan, it found 14.1, 14.2 and 14.3, but the TR40 was not able to lock on to the very weak signals.

This problem is not limited to the TR40, I have a CM-7000 also, and it shows the same problem.

My other CECBs, a RCA DTA800B and a Zenith DTT900 pick up 13.1 just fine. So is my HDTV, which picks up both the digit and analog channels for KERA with no problem.

So much for the sensitibility for the pal and CM.
bluebird5 is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 09-26-2008, 07:35 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
dbrenner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Garland TX
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I might need to correct some info I posted.
KERA digital is on RF channel 14 frequency 473000.
It is virtual channel 13.1
After the final conversion in Feb. it is suppose to still be on RF 14.
But what counts is I lost the signal on Sept. 19.

If I said it, it must be my opinion.
dbrenner is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 09-29-2008, 02:09 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
dbrenner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Garland TX
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I never did get a reply from KERA. Sometime after noon today all of my DtvPals
started locking on to KERA again. Since I have not changed anything in my setup,
I have to believe it was something the at the station.

If I said it, it must be my opinion.
dbrenner is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 09-29-2008, 08:29 PM
Member
 
Amiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbrenner View Post

I never did get a reply from KERA.

I called and left a message for the station engineer and of course, he never returned my call.

Quote:
Sometime after noon today all of my DtvPals
started locking on to KERA again.

KERA returned for me too, but the signal is not as strong.

Quote:
Since I have not changed anything in my setup,
I have to believe it was something the at the station.

Yeah, they did something. Their 16:9 is now squished into 4:3. I watch everything in normal picture format. Anyone else able to confirm this?

Amiga is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 09-30-2008, 02:00 AM
 
electrictroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 776
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's probably the station. I lost WGAL8-DT in my area. I used to be able to get it with just a plain, ordinary UHF loop, and then suddenly it disappeared! I later learned their power was turned-down so now I can only get 8 via the rooftop.

Probably your station did the same thing.
electrictroy is offline  
Reply Coupon Eligible Converter Box (CECB)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off